Mahaica grandmother struggles to raise children orphaned by tragedy
By FRANCES ABRAHAM | LOCAL | SATURDAY, AUGUST 6, 2011

At 62, Lilowtie Deephia knows the daily struggle to care for the nine children of her son, Budram ‘David’ Persaud who is in jail after he killed the children’s mother, Rubeena Sammy, five years ago. Deephia is ill and, in the yard of her 56 David Rose Housing Scheme, Mahaica home yesterday, she told Stabroek News that it has been very difficult to maintain the children but she tries her best. She has to be mother and father to Timothy Persaud, 7, Aliya Persaud, 8, Debra Persaud, 9, Sara Persaud, 11, Abiola Persaud, 14, Parbattie Persaud, 15, Mahendra Persaud, 17 and Bhanmattie Persaud, 20. Premchand Sammy, 22, grew up at his grandmother’s home. The children came to Deephia five years ago, scarred by the killing of their mother and the subsequent arrest of their father for the offence. Last Thursday, Persaud, 39, pleaded guilty to manslaughter in the High Court and was sentenced to 15 years in jail.

The Sammy children in a photograph taken five years ago.

Although, the children were younger when their mother died, they remember her and what happened vividly, Deephia said. She has struggled to raise the children but manages to send them to school. Now, the family is slowly being split. Bhanmattie explained that an aunt, her mother’s sister, recently promised to take care of one of the younger girls since she is in a better position and one has since moved to the aunt’s Good Hope home. This aunt, Bhamnattie said, does not take the child to visit her family nor does she speak to them.

“De father de want see her before school open but I don’t know if they will send her,” Deephia added. She said that the children were very close to their maternal relatives but they have drifted apart since Rubeena’s death. “They don’t even come to see them…they probably say the boy wrong and don’t want anything to do with them…that’s what I consider,” she said. Other members of her family, Deephia stated, would usually offer whatever assistance they can afford during their visits.

In the five years since the death of their mother, the two eldest siblings have gotten married. Sadly, Bhanmattie’s husband, a fisherman, died two years ago at sea, leaving her to provide for their 4-year-old daughter. However, she is unemployed and is dependent on Premchand, who is a fisherman like his grandfather. They support the household. Because her husband is a diabetic, Deephia explained, he works only part time. The woman explained that these earnings are barely enough and it has gotten harder since they now receive public assistance for only the two youngest children, which is $5,500 each per month. “In 2008 I been get book for all of them but then they tek it back in 2010,” she said. The elderly woman recalled that she had asked about the matter at a meeting in January but was told that only two of the children qualify.

It was difficult to get the assistance, she said. Deephia explained that in order to have this done, she was required to produce Rubeena’s death certificate, along with her identification card and the childrens’ school letters. “I had to beg the children aunty (maternal) to give me it but she give me a photocopy of it,” the woman recalled. Deephia revealed also that Sara and Debra do not have their birth certificates as they were never registered. According to her, she attempted numerous times to have this done but was never successful. The children, she said, really need these documents for school. This also contributes to the fact that these children are no longer offered public assistance. “They used to use they clinic card but now the people saying they need the birth certificate,” she explained.

Deephia said that though she does not mind caring for her grandchildren, she needs to focus on herself as well. “I didn’t know I had diabetes…only three weeks now I know,” she said. The woman recalled that about a month ago, she visited the Mahaicony Hospital and was told that she had an infection in her kidney. “They didn’t do any test or nothing…just give me de tablets just so and when I start taking de medication like I start getting more sick,” she recalled. This prompted her to return to the hospital where she met another doctor who informed her that the previous diagnosis was incorrect. “The other doctor did some tests and then she ask me if I know I’m a diabetic…I said no and start to cry… it was 400 over 4. She say if I de wait lil bit more, I woulda fall in a coma,” Deephia said sadly.

She is feeling much better at the moment and is happy to be in better health since she has to continue taking care of the younger children. “I does got to look after them myself. I have to make their tea, make sure they go to school, prepare they lunch and everything for them,” she said, adding “it’s been rough and it is getting harder.” When asked how she felt about her son’s sentence, Deephia responded, “What I gon say? If he de get a smaller sentence he might of able to come out and help with he children. It would be better but what I gon do?”

Mrs Seephia’s plight
By STABROEK STAFF | EDITORIAL | MONDAY, AUGUST 8, 2011

When the contestants for the presidency mount the platform in the city, Black Bush Polder or Waramadong they are likely to utter many of the platitudes that proliferate at times like this. They will likely speak in abstract terms about topics like poverty. The poverty of the type that has beset 62-year-old Mrs Lilowtie Deephia who has been left to take care of nine of the children of her son who has just been imprisoned for 15 years for killing his wife. Many tragedies have intersected in this Mahaica family. The most challenging at the moment is that this aging grandma with health issues now has to dedicate every living day to the welfare of her grandchildren. She is getting public assistance for two of the younger children but there isn’t much else and her husband is sickly. The reality of her son being sentenced and therefore being unable to contribute to his children’s welfare and the family coffers for the next 15 years is beginning to set in following his sentencing last week.

One would hope that non-governmental groups and the residents of the community that Mrs Deephia dwells in would rise to the challenge and assist her to upkeep her grandchildren and to steer them into productive jobs and a future. After all, it must not only be the responsibility of the government to take better care of its most vulnerable citizens; civil society and citizens must also contribute.

But what of the government’s role in all of this? It only recently issued a Poverty Reduction Strategy Paper for 2011-15. That 107-page paper amounts to very little if in its programming it has not reached families like Mrs Deephia’s in a comprehensive way. One does not expect that the government would be aware of every family in a severe plight given the geographical vastness of the country. It is clear however that the government has no systematic, sustained and sensible way of reaching out to these families. There has been no specific poverty mapping, the derelict local government system has not referred the plight of these families to the authorities who can help and government services have been generally unavailable to this family and others like it across the country. Even though large sums of money had been obtained from the Inter-American Development Bank in the 1990s for amelioration of the impact of sweeping economic reforms it has not resulted in any lasting programme to track families like Mrs Seephia’s.

The 2011-15 paper speaks blithely of the level of extreme poverty. Based on 2006 income estimates, 19 per cent of the populace existed in extreme poverty. What that estimate is today is anyone’s guess but it is clear that Mrs Deephia is one of that number and is not being reached in any organized way. In its one-page reference to social safety nets, the 2011-15 strategy paper casually refers to cash payments and other support to the elderly, children and people with disabilities. These seem to be one-off interventions that would hardly rescue families in deep distress. The section ends with the following paragraph of bureaucratese which if it could be properly translated and verified might bring even more tears from the eyes of those in desperate need. “Finally, the Government completed several interventions that included safety net legislation, needs assessment, labour market assessment; social safety net risk and vulnerability assessment; and programme targeting studies. Arising out of these studies, the Government prepared a Prioritized Social Safety Net Action Plan which will form the basis of its medium-term social safety net strategy. A Project Implementation Unit has already been established to carry out this medium-term agenda”. How exactly are these initiatives helping and who will assist Mrs Deephia to get the two birth certificates for her grandchildren so that they can go to school?

Several cases like Mrs Deephia’s have been reported in this newspaper in recent years. Last year we reported on the plight of Mrs Rajmonie of Plegt Anker who was also left to take care of her grands after her son killed his wife. She, too, was living under difficult circumstance and had not gotten much from the state authorities. This year a woman living in a shack lost two of her sons in a fire after she left for a nearby house to iron clothes. Each of these families and others like them across the country deserve greater assistance from the state. No one is asking the government to provide a welfare system to rival Scandinavia. However it must surely be within the ability of a government which burns millions on hyped-up events of dubious import like Feminition and the building expo to spend money on these families. Feminition will not do anything for Mrs Deephia and clearly all of the other programmes that have been place since 1992 have failed to lift her existence and those of the young ones she is now caring for.

President Jagdeo and the Human Services Minister should be called upon to explain what specific measures have been taken since 2006 to identify and address the dire needs of families like Mrs Deephia’s. The President himself should explain why this supposed working-class government finds it more important to dump millions into feel-good concerts and other extravagances while families continue to languish in desperate poverty. The root of the inaction by the government and others could be attributed to the absence of adequate data on where exactly the poorest reside. This is exactly what the government should be aiming to address in its poverty reduction strategy paper. How to identify where these people are living and which are the best agencies to channel help to them. It is left to be seen what will be done with this 2011-15 strategy and whether the government can provide greater clarity on it.

When he ascends the platform to address his audience, the PPP’s presidential candidate Mr Donald Ramotar would be hard-pressed to explain why after 19 consecutive years of PPP/C governance there are families like Mrs Deephia’s marooned from a real programme of assistance. Do his rivals have viable ideas on how this problem is to be addressed?

Sophia family haunted by abuse
By FRANCES ABRAHAM | LOCAL | SUNDAY, AUGUST 7, 2011

Twelve-year-old Daniel Dilchand spends his days in a wheelchair, the result of the abuse he suffered at the hands of the godmother he had lived with since he was a baby. Sitting in the chair, Daniel’s perspective has changed, but the view before him is still familiar: Now, he is living with his biological mother and two siblings at Lot 619 ‘B’ Field, Sophia, in a small house, about 10 by 10 feet, furnished only with a shelf with a few kitchen utensils, boxes filled with clothes, a small kerosene stove and one bed. An older brother, Andy, had also lived with them, as did a stepfather, who neighbours said constantly abused the mother and children. When Andy died a month ago, his stepfather moved out.

According to the child’s mother, Surujdai Dilchand, Daniel, at just six-weeks old, was taken from her by his godmother. The woman thought Surujdai was an unfit mother and incapable of taking care of the baby. At the time, Surujdai was employed as a security guard. Once Daniel was living with his godmother, she said she would offer her full salary to the woman, so that he could be properly cared for.

Daniel Dilchand

Daniel, now a student of the South Ruimveldt Secondary School, can still walk, but it is painful, which is why he is in the chair. He recalls the day that changed his life. “Me and her niece [who also lived with the woman] de come home late from school the afternoon and I tek de lash,” he said. Surujdai explained that from what she was told, her son was struck with a scrubbing board across his back. He later said that he was constantly beaten this way.

Some days later, Surujdai added, a social worker visited Sophia Primary which Daniel was attending and spoke to him. The boy, who at the time was in Grade Six, was asked if he was in any sort of pain. He said he was and Surujdai was then informed that he together with his teacher, would be taken to the police station where they would be questioned. The woman was subsequently given a note to have her son taken to the Sophia Health Centre to be examined by a doctor. “When we went to de doctor, he tell he to climb up pon de bed but he couldn’t do that. I had to end up lifting he up,” the woman recalled.

The doctor discovered that Daniel had been struck on his spinal cord and that his ability to walk had been greatly affected. He was later transferred to the Georgetown Public Hospital, where X-rays confirmed that his backbone was twisted. He was later admitted to the hospital and underwent surgery on his right foot. Surujdai was not sure what the purpose of the surgery was. Later, it was the social worker who assisted her in acquiring the wheelchair that Daniel now uses to manoeuvre his way around. “He still need a lot of help though… he can’t do much for himself,” Surujdai said.

Her words are also true of her family’s condition following Andy’s recent death. He died on July 3, when he returned home and collapsed at his front door. Friends said that the 22-year-old mason was out the entire night following an argument with his stepfather. Andy complained of severe head pains prior to his death. Enraged members of the community believe that some form of foul play was responsible for his death. Surujdai said that she has not yet heard anything from the police. When asked about the whereabouts of her children’s stepfather, Surujdai responded in a low tone that he left following Andy’s death: “He don’t live here any more… he move out since when we had a problem when the big boy die.” She added that the man had not since bothered her and she had not heard from him, for which she was happy.

Neighbours had previously related the abusive way the man treated Surujdai and her four children. When asked about this, the woman lowered her head and declined to answer. She said she never reported any of the instances in which she and the children were abused. With the man gone and Andy, the sole provider for the home, dead, Surujdai could not immediately answer the question as to how her household has since been supported. She later said her 16-year-old son is currently working with friends, doing whatever job presents itself.

Destitute man found dead in bus shed
AUGUST 9, 2011 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER NEWS

The body inside the bus shed at Craig, East Bank Demerara, yesterday morning.

The body of an unidentified man was discovered in a bus shed at Craig, East Bank Demerara, by villagers, at around 10:30 hrs yesterday.

When Kaieteur News arrived at the scene, the half-naked body, clad only with a blue t-shirt, was in a crouched position surrounded by fruits which were scattered along the ground. Reports are that the man is a destitute who would frequently be seen in the Craig area, however, no one seems to know his name, origin or any other information about him.

Residents in the area were unhappy about this discovery especially because it was on the public road and at a spot where many persons would stand waiting for transportation. One man told this newspaper “Why the Ministry don’t find places for dese people? Or why dey family don’t put dem in a home or something? It don’t look nice to have homeless people wandering about and den dem dead and dem body all over”.

Beatings, sexual abuse of mentally challenged teen angers villagers
AUGUST 10, 2011 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER NEWS

The violent beatings and alleged sexual abuse of a mentally challenged 18-year-old girl has angered a Berbice village with residents calling for authorities to ensure that she is protected. Back in March, neighbours used a cell-phone to record her injuries. The video captured graphic details of shackles and a block of wood that her grandmother and another relative used to immobilize her while savagely inflicting blows. Officers of the government’s Social Services have since taken custody of the girl and handed her over to a neighbour until a decision is made on her future.

The incidents all reportedly took place in the Number 77 Housing Scheme, Corriverton, East Berbice. According to one resident, the teenager was living with her grandmother since her parents who lived on the East Bank of Demerara were unable to care for her. Over the years, the teenager was subjected to regular beatings. This girl is not fully right and the beatings would only make her worse.’ Last year, neighbours learnt that the girl was raped by a visitor to her grandmother’s home. She was taken to the Springlands Police Station and a medical was also done. However, police said that based on investigation the teenager had apparently consented to the sex.

“How could this girl consent to sex when she is not fully in control of herself? She is not a normal child,” one neighbour said. The girl later disclosed that she was also sexually abused by a close relative living at her home. Nothing much happened until March 26th when neighbours heard her screams. Her grandmother was reportedly seen beating her savagely. The teenager’s legs were shackled with chains and a padlock and attached to a large block of wood. Another relative was holding her during the beating.

Neighbours tried to intervene and warned the couple to stop. Eventually, one neighbour ripped out a piece of his fence and the girl managed to escape into the clutches of several angry persons who had gathered. She was taken to the Springlands Police Station where ranks were forced to cut the chains and padlock off her legs. Two days later, officials of the Ministry of Human Services and Social Security took control of her and placed her in the care of a neighbour. According to Munroe, the grandmother disappeared after the incident for three months.

“Now she is back and harassing the neighbours. She has brought some woman who said she is from a ministry, but we are now being harassed. Everyday, the grandmother complains to police about neighbours. We are concerned more about the fate of this little girl.” Villagers also called for the authorities to properly investigate the situation to urgently find solutions. Yesterday, officials of the Ministry of Human Services and Social Security confirmed that they are aware of the situation, but a senior official authorized to speak was not available to give details.

Originally posted by Nehru:
So do something for tham nah. If you cant personally, get the KFC to do something. Some fry chicken would be a small start.
Nah, we gah gyeh mo Feminition - suh we gon help dem poor people dis.
Originally posted by Nehru:
So do something for tham nah. If you cant personally, get the KFC to do something. Some fry chicken would be a small start.

Why don't you do something, do a virtul "adoption" of the fam/kids and support their schooling and the family to gain some independence. Don't just jump and prance and blow the PPP horn from 3,000 miles away. Get involved and put some money where yuh mouth deh.
Mother of four living in fear of ex - says cops not taking threats seriously
By FEMI HARRIS | LOCAL | SATURDAY, AUGUST 20, 2011

A mother of four, who said that she could have been killed on Thursday night, continues to live in constant fear while charging that the police remain reluctant to heed her cries for safety. A visibly-distressed Roberta Lewis told Stabroek News yesterday that she is scared for her life as a man with whom she once shared a relationship is determined to end it.

Roberta Lewis

Between sobs, Lewis said that she doesn’t want to end up as another statistic on the list of domestic violence victims and as result decided to let her story be publicly known. She added that she felt she had no choice, since the police continue to drag their feet on her complainants. According to Lewis she was at her 121 Thomas Street Kitty residence preparing to go to bed on Thursday morning at approximately 1am when she was alerted by a loud revving sound in front her house. Upon investigating, the 33-year-old woman said that she saw her reputed husband standing in front of her premises. After pulling her curtains, she said that the man raised a gun in the direction of her bedroom window.

Lewis said that being afraid for her life she quickly fell to the floor and crept to her children’s room for safety. Moments later, she said she heard two gunshots. Sometime after this shooting incident, Lewis said she was able to confirm form neighbours, who know the man, that it was him who had discharged the rounds. Lewis told this newspaper that she has had problems in the past with the 20-year-old man and as a result decided to sever the relationship she shared with him. She said that she was granted a protection order by the court with regards to the man, but it has been violated. She added too that they once had a matter before the court, for which he was placed on a bond to keep the peace, after she decided against proceeding with the case against him, resulting in its dismissal.

New matters are, however, before the courts, including one in which the man has been charged for unlawfully wounding Lewis. She said she tried to explain to the magistrate who heard the man’s case on Tuesday that she is living and fear and he had threatened to kill her. The woman, however, said that the magistrate told her that she was not dealing with any allegation about threats made to her life. Lewis said that she was subsequently rightfully advised that the magistrate can only make pronouncements regarding cases before her.

‘He will kill me if he gets the chance’

Lewis explained that she wanted to tell the magistrate about the threats, since the man had told her in front of police at the Kitty Police Station that he would murder her; an act she stressed he is capable of doing. “I believe if she [the presiding Magistrate] had given me a listening ear, he would have been remanded to prison on the unlawful wounding charge,” she said. The man has since been admitted to bail for the wounding charge; a decision that has made Lewis even more uncomfortable and afraid for the safety of her and her children. She said that she knew that once the man was admitted to bail he would go after her.

Lewis further went on to say, “as if that wasn’t enough, he was again released by investigators yesterday after being called in for questioning into the shooting incident.” “How can they release him when I’m trying to tell them that he is pursuing me to kill me?” she questioned. “I know this man, he will kill me if he gets the chance to,” she stressed. Overcome by tears, Lewis said that she feels even worse about the situation, since it seems she is “all alone in this” as the police and other organisations with the ability to give her a listening ear continues to push her around.

She said that after the shooting incident, she called 911 but her call went unanswered. Subsequently, she said she was able to summon a party of police men from the Kitty Police Station who arrived sometime later. Clearly reluctant to assist her, she said the lawmen just came and “stand up looking around.” She said that two other officers arrived later and promised to return during the day to conduct investigations but they never did. Lewis said that the lawmen are not treating her case with any urgency or importance and have constantly been telling her that she is lying. “I am frustrated and decided to take my story public as no one is helping me. Should anything happen to me after now, people must know and my children must feel satisfied that at least I tried to seek help,” she said tearfully.

According to Lewis she has since visited the Ministry of Human Services, the Police Complaints Authority, CID Headquarters Eve Leary, the Brickdam Police Station and the Kitty Police Station. She however explained that the visits to theses various places have been in futility as they are only “pushing me around.” She said that one organisation keeps sending her to the other. “I am not sure about my next step.” she said sadly. “Suppose I don’t live to see another day what will happen to my children?”

Can’t find a job
By STABROEK STAFF | LETTERS | THURSDAY, AUGUST 18, 2011

Dear Editor,

I am a divorced mother with three children aged 6, 12, and 14 who all attend school. I gained 5 CXC (General) passes in 2005 with one grade 2 and four grade 3s. I also did pre-university social work I and II from IDCE, all after I divorced. During 2008-2009 I was reading for a diploma in Social Work at the University of Guyana but unfortunately the following year, I had to apply for leave of absence due to the economic circumstances in my home.

I had applied to the Teaching Service Commission and had spoken to the Deputy Chairman. I took in several applications for a nursery teacher appointment over the last 4 years, and up to now, I have not been employed. I also applied to the National Insurance Berbice branch and other government offices for a clerk’s job or any other one that suited my qualifications, but to date no employment. I saw a vacancy existed for a schools welfare officer, and one of the job requirements was five CXCs and a knowledge of social welfare; I then applied since I have five CXCs and some knowledge of school welfare. I did pre-university IDCE and had already completed one year of my social work diploma and had been exposed to practice and theory in social work at schools, old folks homes, the Palms, the female prison, etc, as part of my training. There were also planning programmes, doing interviews, counselling, identifying problems and finding ways and means of solving problems.

I then sought assistance from the Regional Chairman (Region 6). I was referred to the Region Six Education Officer who told me that I didn’t have the experience and couldn’t get the job. I also received a reply informing me that I didn’t have the qualifications although that was not fully true, and I am a mature person and I have experience. I did work as a presiding officer in the 2006 general election with 5 staff under me, and with responsibility for my polling station, and did a good job with no experience.

Yours faithfully,
(Name and address provided)

Hi Gehard !
Don't want to upset your campaign , however , I do find these stories very, very disturbing and upsetting. I'm not PPP (I can't vote anyway"} , however Government can't do everything for the general public. However these socials ills would need to be addressed ; don't know how ,though.
Best , Lesley.
One of the problems with those who mouth off here about what should be done and not done, is to get off their ass and go so something about it in GY, who the GOG say is living in the land of milk and honey.

Horse, with all due respect, you shoud say the same to your grand mother who is trying to raise nine small children. Tell her to go find a job as a cleaning women for GY$2000/day[US$10.00] and come home to nine children.
There are ills all over the world, what is the mediocre floral decorator trying to accomplish with these articles of tragedy and despair? Apparently the fool is trying to paint a picture of doom and gloom based on a few isolated incidents. When the sucker was a part and parcel of the PPP drinking the soup thirstily, all these stories were an after thought. Now that it is politically valuable, the fool exploits the situation of these people for political gain. ahahhahahha
Originally posted by Kennys:
Hi Gerhard !
Don't want to upset your campaign , however , I do find these stories very, very disturbing and upsetting. I'm not PPP (I can't vote anyway"} , however Government can't do everything for the general public. However these socials ills would need to be addressed ; don't know how ,though.
Best , Lesley.
Hi Lesley, in spite of our friendship, please never feel constrained to respond to me on GNI. By no means am I infallible and criticism allows me to better myself.

In regard to this thread however, while I am in total agreement that Gov't cannot possibly deal with all of these situations, they must be examined in light of the Gov't's actions. Actions such as saddling the working people of Guyana with 16% VAT - VAT today nets around 8 billion more than it did 4 years ago - and then taking that money to engorge themselves. Not just through corruption by paying contractors for the same work over over, but by engaging in wasteful expenditure such as on Jamzone and Feminition, and by filling their pockets directly.

The pension package of the President and Opposition Leader is some $4.5 million a month, or US$750 a day, when the working person's old age pension is $7,500 a month or US$1.25 per day - and these people have to attain the age of 60, while the President and Opposition Leader get theirs upon demitting office regardless of age. Because the Berbice Bridge is being used to fatten favoured investors, poor people have to pay $600 per day for their children to cross to go to school in New Amsterdam. Gail Texeira, a Presidential advisor, is paid G$880,000 per month, or US$145 per day, and Odinga Lumumba, another advisor is paid G$660,000 per month or US$110 per day. For purely propaganda work, Dr Randy Persaud was reputed to have been paid US$10,000 per month plus benefits and allowances for the year he was here, and Dr Misir is reputed to be paid the same for the two jobs he holds, totalling some US$220,000 per year.

While, again, Lesley, I agree no Gov't can possibly deal with all the social ills of a country, these ills will be more prevalent and of greater magnitude under Gov't's that are uncaring, greedy and wasteful such as ours. This is why I am highlighting these things when Dr Misir and his paid propagandists, who include albert, streetsmart, SJ4321, etc seek to paint a picture of happiness and progress.
At 62, Lilowtie Deephia knows the daily struggle to care for the nine children of her son, Budram ‘David’ Persaud who is in jail after he killed the children’s mother, Rubeena Sammy, five years ago.

I came from a family of 13 children. Born and raised in the country side of Guyana. My father died when I was 6 (I am the second to last child) years old, and my mother had to work since to raise 13 children. My mother lived for 80 years before she passed on. We never had people coming to rescue us or offer help like it is today. We don't know what killing and jail were in those times, we were busy fishing before sunrise not to be late for school. Many sons and daughters of Guyana can relate to this story because we live it and experience it.
Originally posted by Cobra:
At 62, Lilowtie Deephia knows the daily struggle to care for the nine children of her son, Budram ‘David’ Persaud who is in jail after he killed the children’s mother, Rubeena Sammy, five years ago.

I came from a family of 13 children. Born and raised in the country side in Guyana. My father died when I was 6 (I am the second to last child) years old, and my mother had to work since to raise 13 children. My mother lived for 80 years before she passed on. We never had people coming to rescue us or offer help like it is today. We don't know what killing and jail were in those times, we were busy fishing before sunrise not to be late for school. Many sons and daughters of Guyana can relate to this story because we experience it.
All this under the PNC, Cobra? It is a yes or no question.
This is a Guyanese story, and it happened in Guyana by a living son of the land. PNC or not, I am not set out to blame the government for anything. The PNC wasn't that bad. The education was good and it comes with dicipline against some setback, but I compromise, and we survive against the odds. I am grateful I was born in a different time when children know and respect their duties, even if we don't have anything to eat for a day.
Ah Cobra, was this under the PNC, yes or no?
Yes! What difference does it make then and now? It's an unfortunate story in different times with a different approach to the problem. Today's family supposed to be wiser, NO?
And more opportunities than what you had are supposed to abound today, yes? And given the Gov't has a lot more money than they did 4 years ago, to the tune of some 8 billion dollars, less people are supposed to fall through the cracks today, yes? And under a more progressive Gov't than the PNC there are supposed to be less drugs and crime, yes?

I came from a family of 13 children. Born and raised in the country side of Guyana. My father died when I was 6 (I am the second to last child) years old, and my mother had to work since to raise 13 children. My mother lived for 80 years before she passed on. We never had people coming to rescue us or offer help like it is today. We don't know what killing and jail were in those times, we were busy fishing before sunrise not to be late for school. Many sons and daughters of Guyana can relate to this story because we live it and experience it.

When the VAT was introduced, it was announced by Buggarat, that it was a BUDGET (REVENUE) NEUTRAL TAX. Why has the GOG departed from this policy?
VAT directly impacts the poor more than the rich. Why is the GOG strangling poor people?

Put X next to the CUP and get what you DESERVE. flag
More is needed to meet the needs of the agency and the protection of our children
AUGUST 23, 2011 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER LETTERS

Dear Editor,

The death of Ms Neesa Gopaul, and the punishment meted out to two workers from the Child Protection Agency and teachers of Queens College were the highlights of a failed attempt by the Child Protection Agency to protect a child from the adults responsible for her safety and well-being.

Recently, in Brooklyn, a supervisor and the caseworker of the child protection agency were detailed to face criminal charges after a child died of neglect under their watch. The horrific death of a child often brings about changes in any child welfare system. The Minister and the boss of the local agency promised a review of the agency’s operations and the quick implementation of these changes. The Minister identified some changes but more is needed to meet the needs of the agency and the protection of our children.

The workers need more support if you hope to succeed at keeping children safe. I would like to look at the Neesa Gopaul case and suggest three changes that might have saved this child’s life. The child attended school, meaning that she was in community and visible to all who provided her with education and social support. This child was not meeting her academic potential and the teachers were concerned about her grades and attendance. I am fully aware that teachers in high profile schools concentrate on examination results and not the protection of children from abuse and maltreatment. So, I applaud those teachers who came forward and attempted to bring the child’s situation to the attention of the responsible agencies.

In the developed countries 65 percent to 75 percent of the child abuse and maltreatment reports come from schools and other such institutions. The presence of social workers and guidance counselors in schools with a mandate to ensure children’s safety and well-being makes this possible. The social workers/counselors in schools are the first line of defense against child abuse and maltreatment. They provide the initial counseling and engagement that allow children to open up and talk about issues that negatively impact their lives.

The first change is to work with the Ministry of Education to employ social workers and guidance counselors in all schools. The skills of these professionals would have led to the obtaining of accurate information about the child’s situation. The accurate information obtained would have assisted the investigators of the protective agency in their investigation. The Protection Agency’s decision to send the child to her grandmother during the investigation was a great move. However, the mother removed the child and returned the child to her home. Unknown at this time is whether or not the child was being supervised by the Protection Agency during that period. Maybe, the Protection agency was unable to protect the child because of the lack of staff.

The second change that would match the above would be the decentralization of the agency. Decentralization of the agency does not mean a regional position with strong political ties but staff supervised by and reporting only to the Protection Agency’s administration . The decentralization of the agency must be tied to good communication between offices so that important information like the child’s location will be shared. Sharing the necessary information on the child’s locations in a timely manner would have improved the quality of supervision provided for the child when she lived out of her home environment.

It was mentioned that a worker made numerous attempts to enter the home but he or she was refused entry. Also, the news stated that the worker knew about the child being at school and he or she did not visit the school to see the child. A school visit is appropriate but a follow up visit to the home is ideal. This is a major red flag. To correct this situation there must be strong judicial and law enforcement involvement in the protection of children and families. Obtaining a warrant from a judge or the police responding expeditiously to the worker’s concern would have led to the worker gaining access to the home. The protection agency can only be serious about protecting children from abuse and neglect when there is legislation that fosters a close relationship with judicial forces, law enforcement bodies and the protection agencies.

I would like to touch briefly on investigating child abuse and neglect. Workers and supervisors must understand that no one works well without supervision. Workers, do not leave the office unless you understand what is expected of you and you have written directives from your supervisors. Supervisors meet with your workers to develop a strategy for the investigations they are about to start. There should be a time limit for all investigations. Workers think safety all the time. Determine on every contact whether or not the child is safe. Err on the side of safety. Discuss the case with your supervisor every time you make contact with that child and family. Don’t take everything the parents/caregivers say to you as gospel. Confirm by contacting other stakeholders who know this family. Call the schools, the doctors, extended family members and everyone else who knows the family. Most importantly take care of yourselves. Your safety matters and you should request assistance if you are concerned about your safety. Call/visit the source of the reports before commencing your investigations. Finally, follow the agency’s practices and protocols.

The Ministry needs to develop a system that is based on accountability. Accountability is only possible when there are mandates that call for supervision of workers and staffing of cases. Finally, workers and supervisors please document, document and document. You can only convince someone of your actions if you document what you did and share same with your supervisor.

Clyde Zunty Clarke

Battered woman accuses police of inaction - fears jilted ex would make good on threat to kill her
AUGUST 29, 2011 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER NEWS

The apparent reluctance of the police to act is forcing a mother of four to live in constant fear of her ex-lover. The woman, Roberta Lewis, said that her fears are compounded by the fact that the police seem to not be taking her matter seriously. She stated that while she has been the victim of constant abuse, the situation has gotten worst within recent times. The latest incident occurred on Thursday last, while she and her three children were asleep at Lot 121 Thomas Street, Kitty home. According to Lewis, they were awaken by the loud sounds of what appeared to be gunshots in front of her home around 01:00 hrs. The woman said that she became afraid and slipped off her bed and crept to the window to see if she could get a glimpse of the shooter.

She explained that she slightly pulled the curtains and saw a man on a motorcycle in front of her house but could not identify the person. However she had a strong suspicion that it was her former lover. The man, while revving the throttle of the motorcycle, then raised something that appeared to be a gun and pointed it in the direction of Lewis’ bedroom window. “Like he saw the window blind move, so he knew I was there. I grab my children and we all stood at the back door while I was trying to get on to the police. Then after I hear the gunshots.”

A distraught Lewis stated that moments after the shooting, she was unable to confirm whether the shooter was her ex. The 34-year old woman said that she was forced to call the Kitty Police Station on two occasions before someone could come to her rescue. She said that the police claimed that they could not do anything at the time since “it was too dark to do any investigation.” Lewis told Kaieteur News that the abuse started a little over a week ago when she decided to end the relationship with the 20 year old man, whom she was involved with for some time. She is convinced that the relationship went sour when she refused to give her young lover cash to purchase a motorcar.

Lewis also stated that she was granted a protection order by the magistrate but this seems to be of no use. The young man in question was previously placed on $70,000 bail after he was charged with assaulting Lewis. “De last time he beat me he bring his friend to hold me down and he beat me until he taught I was dead, I was begging for him to stop but he didn’t he just continued beating me for nothing at all.” She said that on her last court appearance she wanted to explain to the Magistrate about the threats, since her former lover had issued them in front of the police at the Kitty Police Station.

Lewis stressed that she is frustrated since she believes that the man is capable of making good on his threat and judging from what transpired a few nights ago, her life has become a virtual nightmare. She also stated that she does not want to be another statistics since murders are occurring at an alarming rate over the past few months and women are mostly the victims.

Child welfare authorities in Essequibo have not acted in case of five children begging on street
By STABROEK STAFF | LETTERS | TUESDAY, SEPTEMBER 6, 2011

Dear Editor,

‘Jonathan James, 10‘ occupies a prominent spot on the cover of the online newspaper, the Huffington Post. An image of a cherubic child by that name rests below the heading. Jonathan James was only 10 years old when his biological father and stepmother locked him in an air conditioned room, and made him stand on an ‘X‘ as punishment for his “crime” of wetting his bed. Jonathan died of dehydration. Public opinion is adamant Casey Anthony was responsible for the death of her child. Child abuse is not always as extreme as this; it can sometimes be subtle (depending on our level of awareness), though no less destructive.

Those who have transited Parika during the rush hour will have seen children, in my estimation no older than eleven, lingering around bars or restaurants, begging for morsels of food or money to purchase same. When asked the reason for begging, one of these children informed me that his mother sanctions it since his father abandoned them. It is noteworthy that that child was begging about 2 pm.

Within proximity to my house in Cotton Field on the Essequibo Coast are five children who almost daily loiter around bars, food establishments and a supermarket in the village. These five boys, possibly ranging from 4 to 10 years, are usually shirtless and unshod, and to my knowledge, do not attend school. When they possess the energy, they would gallop along the busy streets, sometimes grabbing behind trucks, totally oblivious to speeding traffic on the Essequibo public road. And when they do beg, it is usually for food to satisfy their hunger, since, according to them, “mommy didn’t cook.” Rumours also abound that these children beg and return home with earnings for the parents to feed their addictions. For those knowledgeable of this particular situation, these boys all live with their parents, but sadly the destitution and questionable sobriety of the adults, leave these children vulnerable, unprotected, and neglected.

How the Child Welfare authorities in Anna Regina and even senior personnel of the regional administration seemingly miss these children and their plight is most appalling – the boys live and loiter in plain sight of these authorities. A report was recently made to the Anna Regina Police Station about the need to warn these parents about the progressive delinquency of their sons – the children have begun interfering with people and business entities.

To my mind such anti-social outbursts will only increase if these children go unnoticed and neglected. From a psychological standpoint, they are internalizing that they deserve to be treated as invisible, unprotected and worthless. How will they ever know how to assert their rights and human dignity with the conditioning that the world hates them? How shall they ever empathize with others if all they learn is humiliation, neglect and intimidation? What about the health of their self-esteem and self-concept?

It is not uncommon to see these boys begging with their mother standing nearby. Like the boy in Parika, these children are ‘parentified,’ meaning they are coerced by their parents into assuming res-ponsibilities for which they are chronologically and emotionally incapable. Interest-ingly enough, many parents in our culture advocate mild to extreme forms of child labour under the pretext of industriousness.

In their formative years, these children are flayed by covert abuse. They are emotionally abandoned by parents, who themselves require social assistance beyond a cheque; they have been forced to band together for protection, especially when they venture out at nights to beg; they are gradually learning to accept rejection and public scorn as definitive of their character. We should be mindful that those who are deprived of love, kindness and understanding, usually inflict their childhood torment on others. After all, how can any human being possibly demonstrate emotional sensitivity to another if such warmth was amputated from their psyche? Do we need further evidence of this psychological decline considering the multitudes of cold- hearted narcissists who rule the world, and eerily enough, awe us?

While spankings, beatings, and sexual exploitation unleash mayhem on the psyche; humiliation, betrayal, emotional incest and neglect also traumatize children. Once we fully understand that trauma is not synonymous with insanity then we can conclude that these begging children in Cotton Field and throughout Guyana are already seriously traumatized and urgently require counselling. Unfortunately though, we diminish the severity of the issue at these very stages, and bear the grief of terrifying consequences.

Jonathan James and Caylee Anthony were victims of a dynamic where the sources of their trust unravelled tragically. It is my hope that we can be custodians for the welfare and well-being of all children, lest we mourn the gruesome headlines.

Yours faithfully,
(Name and address
provided)

Stabroek News

Kaieteur News
Armless 14-year-old girl loses Public Assistance
SEPTEMBER 10, 2011 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER NEWS

How more clandestine can officials get than to take away a 14-year-old handicap girl’s Public Assistance. This happened right here in Guyana when 14-year-old Akema Alert who was born without arms below the elbow and short feet had her public assistance stopped in 2005 by officials of the Ministry of Human Services and Social Security. The girl is no more than three feet tall and weighs about 88 pounds. The Human Services officials told her mother that the Public Assistance would be taken away because her mother had worn a gold chain to a follow up meeting with Ministry officials.

Armless teen trying to write

The teen and her grand parents occupy a modest home at 37 Brighton Village on the Corentyne. The girl’s grandparents, Julie Alert, 68, and Herbert Alert, called David, 70, are both pensioners. They stated that it is difficult to make ends meet since their only means of income is the monthly old age pension. Akema’s mother, Norma Alert, lives up the Berbice River and would visit from time to time while her father’s whereabouts is unknown. The girl never went to school because according to her grandparents they were denied when enquiries were made of enrolling her in a public school.

Her grandparents stated that they use to receive Public Assistance for her, but one day in 2005 she and her mother went to visit the office at Eversham and they were told that the Public Assistance would be stopped because her mother was wearing a gold chain at the time. The Public Assistance was stopped immediately and until now despite their best effort and many pleas they have not received any assistance for the child. Repeated efforts to get back the Public Assistance have hit brick walls.

Herbert Alert who stated that he once worked at the Tomato Factory at Black Bush Polder said that for most of his life he has been a farmer and is severely affected by Arthritis. He said that he still farms from time to time. He receives no other assistance apart from the little Government pension. Grandmother Julie stated that she has five children; that her eldest son George is dumb, but helps himself. The elderly couple said that Akema is very obedient and willing to learn. “She can write her name and do other chores, like bathe, brush her teeth and answer the phone”.

They are calling on The Minister of Human Services and Social Security, the Prime Minister and President, the Guyana Human Rights Commission, The Rights of the Child Commission or any other caring person or organization to look into the matter and assist the situation.

"The Human Services officials told her mother that the Public Assistance would be taken away because her mother had worn a gold chain to a follow up meeting with Ministry officials."

These people are incompetent,they should be fired, flogged and peed on.
Who makes up these dam rules? Do these people sleep well?
Two men found hanging in separate suicide incidents
SEPTEMBER 16, 2011 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER NEWS

Early yesterday morning police were summoned to Le Repentir Cemetery as workers from the Mayor and City Council made a startling discovery.
According to reports, a man was found hanging from a tree in the Cemetery, close to Sussex Street. This publication was told that the discovery was made at around 08:30 hours. The man has since been identified as 29-year-old Ray Daniels who was an inmate of the Night Shelter. Kaieteur News understands that the man was positively identified by his father late yesterday afternoon. The police were called in and the man’s body was cut down and taken away by undertakers of the Lyken Funeral Home. It is not clear why the man chose to end his life.

Dead: Kennrick Boyce

And a few hours later there was yet another reported suicide, this time on the West Bank of Demerara. According to reports, 36-year-old Kenrick Boyce of Murphy Street, Sisters Village, hung himself in his mother’s verandah. His mother, Esther Boyce, was at the time at a neighbour trying to get help since she saw her son attempting to hang himself. However by the time she returned he was already dead. Mrs. Boyce told this publication that since the previous day her son had indicated that he wanted to end his life. “He cut up he wrist and so on and chop heself on he forehead and we call the police and they carry he to the hospital.”

She recounted that yesterday morning her son had been consuming alcohol at a nearby shop and then he went home. She said she noticed him with a piece of rope and she enquired from him what he was doing with it. “He tell me he going and work I say boy you’re not in a condition to work and he just walk away.” Esther Boyce said while washing her clothes at the back of the house she heard a tumbling so she ran to the front to see what was going on. “When I reach in front I see he with the rope around he neck and I trying tekking the rope away but he tek a piece of iron and start hitting me with it so I run over to the neighbour to get help and call the police.” However by the time the woman returned she met her son’s lifeless body hanging in the verandah. The police were summoned and the body was removed.

Boy, 13, found hanging in Charity school dormitory
By STABROEK STAFF | LOCAL | WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 21, 2011

A 13-year-old student of the Charity Secondary School was found hanging in the washroom of the school’s dormitory yesterday morning, in an apparent suicide. However, the parents of Kester De Agrella, of Karawab Village, in the Pomeroon River, said they do not believe he took his own life. De Agrella was found hanging from the ceiling of a male washroom at the dormitory, shortly after 11.15 am yesterday. A shocked classmate made the discovery.

Kester De Agrella

This newspaper was told by students that after the discovery was made, a teacher rushed to the scene and cut the rope from around the young man’s neck while he was still breathing. He died shortly after. The young man’s parents, who travelled to the area after receiving the news, told this newspaper that De Agrella’s death came as a total shock to them. His mother, Urani De Agrella, said that Kester, the third of her six children, never displayed suicidal tendencies and as a result his death left her puzzled. She added that the rope which was around her son’s head was fastened around his ears and his chin and as a result she did not believe he committed suicide. De Agrella’s mother vowed to pursue the issue with the police.

Students told this newspaper that De Agrella had missed a social studies class before the discovery. They said that he was “dealt with” by the teacher of the class. Prior to that, he had been assisting other students in packing of books during the 10.30 am recess. Students said he appeared in good spirits and so they were shocked at his death. Other students said that De Agrella was taunted recently and threatened by students who live at the school’s dormitory, after he had informed the authorities that the males were taking alcohol into the facility.

The young man’s body was taken to the Charity Hospital, where doctors pronounced him dead. His body is now lying at the hospital mortuary awaiting a post-mortem examination.

No government in the world can solve all the social ills in any given country. However, where Gov'ts such as this one we have in Guyana, are uncaring, wasteful, corrupt and engage in self-glorification, social ills will be invariably worse than in other countries enjoying better governance.
Vote KFC. Guyana will become a paradise overnight. KFC will wave its magic wand and make the few isolated tragedies disappear instantaneously. Guyana will become a land of milk and honey, the breadbasket of the Caribbean it once was. lol lol
Originally posted by Wendy Holmes:
Vote KFC. Guyana will become a paradise overnight. KFC will wave its magic wand and make the few isolated tragedies disappear instantaneously. Guyana will become a land of milk and honey, the breadbasket of the Caribbean it once was. lol lol
KFC? You mean Khemraj For Change? PPP licking good! lol

But seriously, Ms Holmes, these social problems are very sad and worrying. What does the new PPP Presidential candidate intend to do about these things? As I understand it, pretty much nothing, given the pledge of continuity...

Ms Holmes?

The AFC on the other hand will audit the list of old-age pensioners so that we can pay more immediately, provide tax breaks to persons with dependants, cut Gov't fat such as the 21 Ministries and 23 Ministers, super-salaries such as those of Gail Texeira (G$880,000/month) and Odinga Lumumba (G$660,000/month), and spend more on social services. At the same time we will open more vocational schools, introduce internships for UG and other students, and provide jobs, through new investments, such as those from the Brazilians which were ignored by the PPP and even Guyanese businessmen, such as the group from NY who came in 2008 wanting to revive the Everton Bauxite Plant, but were ignored by the PPP.
Under the radar
By STABROEK STAFF | EDITORIAL | THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 22, 2011

On the evening of September 6, 15-year-old Renard ‘Rene’ Fernandes had gasoline poured on his body which was then set alight by a workmate on the fishing boat where he was working. He and the captain of the vessel – Beeram Motee Lall, 45, who suffered the same fate – both died less than a week later as a result of the injuries they sustained.

Renard Fernandes’s death has once again raised the ugly spectre of child labour and the question of whether persons in authority, who nay-say about its existence, are aware of the extent of it and whether they care. Renard was a boy doing a grown man’s job. Fishing might be a pleasurable exercise if one is going about it with a rod. Commercial fishing is labour intensive and in Guyana’s waters there is the added dimension of burgeoning piracy which makes it one of the more dangerous jobs at present.

Renard Fernandes, his mother, Indrawatie Sookdeo, said, had left school six months ago to help the family “to make ends meet.” Ms Sookdeo said her son had gone to sea three times prior to the incident which cost him his life. He was the second of five children and had three younger siblings who needed school supplies. She said the decision to leave school was his; that he wanted to assist. The question that arises is whether 15 year olds are in fact mentally capable and mature enough to make such decisions themselves.

Unfortunately, Renard Fernandes was hardly an isolated case. In a subsequent interview with this newspaper, the owner of the boat, Mr Bridgelall “Anoop” Hardyal, when asked about sending a minor to sea, was quick to insist that it was the now dead captain who was responsible for hiring his crew. However, Mr Hardyal first attempted to defend the situation by stating that some “20 underage boys are working at the Albion shore.” He added that “With fishing work you don’t ask for age and they don’t come with ID cards. They just jump in the boat and go.” He then qualified that statement noting that it (employing underage boys) was not the right thing to do, but insisting that “times are hard and everybody trying to make a living.”

Renard Fernandes and his peers at Albion and around the country, are poster boys for child labour and lend credence to the growing disparity between females and males in secondary and tertiary education, noted in the World Bank’s ‘World Development Report 2012: Gender Equality and Development.’ The report, launched on Monday last referred to “a new concern, particularly in the Caribbean,” that has emerged from the identification of education as primarily a “female” endeavour. This, it said, has seen “young men in countries such as Dominica and Jamaica withdraw from school.” The same situation exists here. A look at the University of Guyana graduating classes over the past few years reveals a predominance of females. A sign perhaps that gender inequality had shifted deeply over on the distaff side. However, this is not universal, as, according to the report, wide gaps still remain particularly among indigenous populations.

On the other hand, both Ms Sookdeo, Renard’s mother, and Mr Hardyal, the boat owner, have indicated that economics is behind school-age boys on the Corentyne dropping out of school to become crew members on fishing vessels. Perhaps the parents of the 20-odd other boys Mr Hardyal referred to would say the same thing – that their sons would be in school if their families were not that poverty stricken. But quite likely no one has asked them. Mr Hardyal’s pronouncements rang no alarm bells, sent no team of social/welfare officers scurrying to the Albion foreshore to find the other ‘Renards’. It seems that as long as the underground child labour force, which surely exists, remains under the radar, then all is well.