By Feona Morrison

In an order granted late yesterday afternoon, Chief Justice Roxane George-Wiltshire ordered that Police Inspector Prem Narine be immed

Police Inspector Prem Narine

iately released from detention. He was jailed for seven days by Magistrate Rondel Weever who found him guilty of misconduct in court.
Yesterday, Magistrate Weever found Inspector Prem Narine guilty of misconduct in court, without even conducting a trial, and sentenced him to imprisonment at the Camp Street jail. This was following the senior law enforcement official’s request of the Magistrate to “address him with respect” after she reportedly spoke to him in a loud tone.
After the Magistrate’s order of sentence, Inspector Narine complained of feeling unwell and was rushed to a private hospital where he was admitted under police guard. Subsequent to the Magistrate’s order, Attorneys-at-Law Siand Dhurjon and Everton Singh-Lammy moved to the High Court where they petitioned for Inspector Narine’s release.

Magistrate: Rondel Weever

In her ruling, Justice George-Wiltshire held that the punishment of seven days imprisonment was excessive, and as such set aside the Magistrate’s order. The Chief Justice ordered that there be a partial remission of the sentence to reflect detention from the time the order of sentence was passed (yesterday) to no later than 16:30hours of the said day.
In essence, Justice George-Wiltshire said that the time Inspector Narine spent in police custody was sufficient punishment.
Inspector Narine was called to testify yesterday in an ongoing trial before Magistrate Weever at the Georgetown Magistrates’ Courts. Kaieteur News was reliably informed that Inspector Narine had attended court to testify in the matter of Police vs Mohamed Ali who is on trial for obtaining $2.1M in phone credit by falsely pretending to be Minister of Public Health, Volda Lawrence.
During the court proceedings, while testifying Inspector Narine had a lapse in memory and requested to refresh from his two-page statement. Certain sections of the Evidence Act make provisions for a witness to refresh from his/her statement.
The Magistrate is reported to have granted the request which allowed the senior police rank to read over certain parts of the statement before continuing his testimony.
Inspector Narine then made a second request to refresh from his statement which angered Ali who was seated in the prisoner’s docks. A source told Kaieteur News that the prisoner had an outburst and the Magistrate reportedly yelled at him to calm down. At this point, the Magistrate turned to Inspector Narine and told him that the court cannot allow him to see his statement for a second time.
But, she reportedly did so in a loud tone which caused Inspector Narine to ask her to speak to him with respect. According to the source, “I don’t think the Magistrate heard him (Inspector Narine). She didn’t hear him asking her to speak to him with respect. So (Inspector) Narine repeated himself and the Magistrate chased him out of the witness box and ordered that he be arrested.”
The source added that Inspector Narine complied with the Magistrate’s order but refused to be arrested by junior ranks. As such, the Magistrate commanded that an Inspector working at the court’s lock-up come and arrest Inspector Narine. The source added, “In court the Magistrate cited him for contempt. But like after she (the Magistrate) realized she didn’t had the powers to do such, she prepared a warrant stating that he insulted her. To my knowledge only a Judge can cite someone for contempt.”
According to the warrant seen by this publication, on May 22 at Court 8&9 in the Georgetown Magistrates’ Court Inspector Narine unlawfully insulted Magistrate Rondel Weever and is guilty of misconduct before the court and by verbal order was removed from the court and is sentenced to seven days imprisonment.”
A Senior Police rank, however, believes that the Magistrate acted outside of her jurisdiction since she is a creature of statute. The rank questioned how his colleague could be found guilty of an offence when the court did not even conduct a trial. In any event, the senior police rank added even if a trial were to be conducted, the Magistrate would have had to recuse herself.
He added that the Magistrate should have put the allegation to Inspector Narine and allowed him a chance to petition for bail. “So, okay the Magistrate found him guilty she should have allowed him to petition for bail pending appeal,” the senior cop added.
In 2016, Inspector Narine, then a Corporal, was adjudged ‘Best Cop’ when the Criminal Investigation Department (CID) Headquarters, Eve Leary, Georgetown held its annual award ceremony. At that time, he was attached to the Major Crimes Investigations Unit which is responsible for solving many cold murder cases and dismantling criminal gangs.
Inspector Narine is currently stationed at the La Grange Police Station, West Bank Demerara. He was reportedly transferred there after he wrote a letter outlining instances of corruption among senior ranks of the Major Crimes Investigations Unit.
Among the matters investigated by Inspector Narine are trafficking in persons, possession of illegal firearm and ammunition, and robbery under-arms

Chief Justice frees Inspector Narine

May 22, 2019

https://newsroom.gy/2019/05/22...es-inspector-narine/

Chief Justice Roxane George on Wednesday ordered the release of Inspector Prem Narine hours after he was sentenced to seven days imprisonment for unlawfully insulting Magistrate Rhondel Weever.

Magistrate Weever imposed the sentence on Inspector Narine following a verbal exchange at the Georgetown Magistrate’s Court during which Inspector Narine told her to address him with respect.

The Inspector’s lawyer Everton Lammy Singh immediately challenged the sentence at the High Court and during a hearing in chambers, the Chief Justice ruled that the sentence imposed by the Magistrate was “excessive” and ordered that Narine is released.

The News Room had reported that Inspector Narine was at the time testifying in the matter against Mohammed Ali, also called ‘Gobin’ who is charged with impersonating the Minster of Health Volda Lawrence and obtaining $2.1M worth in phone credit from a city businessman.

While on the witness stand, Narine asked to see his statement, which was granted by the Magistrate, however, he asked to see his statement again but this did not sit well with the accused who began to behave disorderly.

The Magistrate allegedly shouted at Ali to contain himself and with the same tone, reportedly yelled at Narine and declined his request to see his statement again.

It is alleged that the Magistrate told Inspector Narine to leave the witness box.

Narine, who was in obvious shock, asked the Magistrate to address him with respect.

Inspector Narine was named Best Cop in 2016.

How did we know that the slopster would rush in to post what he considers a redeeming article? It's his nature, he can't help it.  

This is clearly an example of the disrespect that blacks have had for Indos in Guyana both pre and post Granger. I spoke about this previously, they will bully and boss you around, given the opportunity. From the lowly line at the govt office to a clerk disrespecting the Indo mayor of GT.  The Granger administration is encouraging this type of behavior by blacks by their silent acknowledgement that this is the now the norm of the land. 

How did we know that the slopster would rush in to post what he considers a redeeming article? It's his nature, he can't help it. 

Take this as warning, with your labeling, mentioning Django in your post when there is no conversation with you. Stick to article in the post, I shouldn't be the subject of discussion.

If there are any persistence, the Administrator will have to step in.

Take this as warning, with your labeling, mentioning Django in your post when there is no conversation with you. Stick to article in the post, I shouldn't be the subject of discussion.

Where are you mentioned oooh learned sir? You continue to see jumbie behind every corner. 

This is clearly an example of the disrespect that blacks have had for Indos in Guyana both pre and post Granger. I spoke about this previously, they will bully and boss you around, given the opportunity.

You speak from experience, right Druggy? Den yuh come hay and tek it out pon we.

Where are you mentioned oooh learned sir? You continue to see jumbie behind every corner. 

Continue when the hammer falls, don't cry foul !! .

This is clearly an example of the disrespect that blacks have had for Indos in Guyana both pre and post Granger. I spoke about this previously, they will bully and boss you around, given the opportunity.

You speak from experience, right Druggy? Den yuh come hay and tek it out pon we.

I probably exaggerate for shock value. I had a lot of black friends and would be ashamed if they read some of the shyte i write.  But some of the bullying still stand out in my mind. Druggie always tried fight back from black bullying when he ain't outnumbered. That is not to say that indos and putagees like cain and mars didn't try to bully druggie. I don't know when you left Guyana, but while I was there in the GT area, the lower class blacks took it for granted that indos were soft targets to bully. I was surprised when I came to the US and met afros from other nations and they were nothing like some of the bullies in Guyana.  On a recent trip to Guyana I realized that a resurgence of bullying and crass behavior among gt blacks had returned with a vengeance. Had a few encounters in govt offices, clubs, restaurant, at the gym, in the park etc, which was not so pronounced during PPP rule. Even family members complained about the uptick in black bullyism under Granger,s rule in the gt area.  Its funny how little subtle behavior can cause resentment. 

Hmmmm....for a man who says he's confined to wheelchair yuh going club and gym. I know your bullshit was gonna ketch up with u one day. Carry on.

Bai, Druggie just messing with dem fools. He is in no wheelchair. He was good enough to whoop Nuff's ass in the foot race and just as good enough to swim the Demerara river even if it was filled with shit water. Dem fools can only talk. 

unfortunately, there are some irretrievably dumb Magistrates dispensing appalling 'justice' in Guyana

not convinced this is such a case

i believe that the Inspector disrespected the Magistrate who overreacted and exceeded her lawful authority

no question in my mind that he would NOT have tried that stunt in the Court of, let's say, former GDF Colonel Justice Brassington Reynolds

my gut tells me that the gender of the Magistrate played a role

there needs to be more/better training on how to control your Courtroom for poorly prepared lawyers appointed to the lower bench

nothing to do with Indo or Afro

senseh fowl shakeabatties posting race hate notwithstanding

smfh

That's why I was laughing so much.  

With all that laughing, hopefully yuh didn't pee yuhself. 

How yuh kitchen coming along? Abee gaffo eat tuh.

unfortunately, there are some irretrievably dumb Magistrates dispensing appalling 'justice' in Guyana

i believe that the Inspector disrespected the Magistrate who overreacted and exceeded her lawful authority

no question in my mind that he would NOT have tried that stunt in the Court of, let's say, former GDF Colonel Justice Brassington Reynolds

there needs to be more/better training on how to control your Courtroom for poorly prepared lawyers appointed to the lower bench

smfh

You know about seseh fowl? Me tawt only country coolies know dis. Didn't see too many blacks raising chickens.

smfh

You know about seseh fowl? Me tawt only country coolies know dis. Didn't see too many blacks raising chickens.

Shakeabatty was a fowl thief.

Kitchen done and looking great! A few more renovations to do. Getting together with son's in-laws on Memorial Day to celebrate all our successes, and plan next steps. 

Getting together with son's in-laws on Memorial Day to celebrate all our successes. 

If yuh feel like mixing lil bit wid failure, yuh cud always invite meh ova. 

smfh

I believe the magistrate disrespected the inspector. And my guts tells me gender had no part in it.

smfh

I believe the magistrate disrespected the inspector. And my guts tells me gender had no part in it.

fair enuf

clap clap clap

". . . the prisoner had an outburst and the Magistrate reportedly yelled at him to calm down. At this point, the Magistrate turned to Inspector Narine and told him that the court cannot allow him to see his statement for a second time.
But, she reportedly did so in a loud tone which caused Inspector Narine to ask her to speak to him with respect. According to the source, “I don’t think the Magistrate heard him (Inspector Narine). She didn’t hear him asking her to speak to him with respect. So (Inspector) Narine repeated himself and the Magistrate chased him out of the witness box and ordered that he be arrested.”

this Inspector banna is full of himself

soooo, the Magistrate spoke to him in a "loud tone" and he remonstrated with her after she didn't hear him the first time

in HER courtroom, no freakin less

whaattt . . . seriously?

even counsel ain't allowed to do that in open court . . . that's why you have sidebar

Insp. Narine mussbe wan rale PRIVILEGED policeman

but then again he learned from the best . . . Basil Williams

smfh

Kitchen done and looking great! A few more renovations to do. Getting together with son's in-laws on Memorial Day to celebrate all our successes, and plan next steps

Planning now to put steps from the outside to all parts of the house.

like you neva hear about de wheelchair hustle and pumping shyte bag fuh build muscle?