Maduro threatens military action in Guyana/Venezuela controversy

June 25, 2015 9:51 am, [www.inewsguyana.com], Source

http://www.inewsguyana.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/06/PhotoGrid_1435236137387.jpg

President David Granger and President Nicholas Maduro

Venezuela’s President Nicholas Maduro is set to address the current conflict with Guyana in the Venezuelan National Assembly on Friday, June 26 while threatening military action against any perceived infractions to Venezuela’s territory, Venezuela media is reporting.

On Tuesday, President Maduro reported on its assistance to the plenary session “to present the official position and ask the national union, to ask for support from across the country face the challenge of ExxonMobil.”

He is quoted as saying “I will denounce international manoeuvres… to provoke Venezuela, (it) will not be and I’ll summon the civil union, (the) military to defend our country, our land, our historical positions.”

Another media report states that Maduro took to National television, showing some maps he described as “original from the 19th century” which displays the Venezuelan territory, including the Essequibo.

The Venezuelan President rejected alleged ambitions from international companies to take over Venezuela’s territories.

According to the report, Maduro is claiming “that the British Empire and all the other empires, and now oil company ExxonMobil had always wanted to control the estuary of Orinoco River, in complicity with past oligarchies that failed to defend the motherland through peaceful and respectful diplomacy.”

ExxonMobil’s oil rig, the Deepwater Champion.

ExxonMobil is currently drilling for oil in the Stabroek Block, offshore the Essequibo with the permission of Guyana’s government. The company recently reported on a “significant” discovery of oil in the area.

“One can be a leader, a man with a vision of co-existence, integration, peace. However, a leader has to have the strength to demand respect for his own motherland,” the President is quoted as saying.

Guyana’s government has already rejected to most recent attempts by Venezuela to claim the Territory and has raised the issue with several international bodies including the Organisation of America States (OAS) and Union of South American Nations (UNASUR) have been notified of Venezuela’s claim.

Guyana’s President David Granger has assured Exxon Mobil that it has nothing to fear in terms of its current operations in Guyana’s waters as the company has the backing of the Guyana Government, and international law as it continues exploration in Guyana’s exclusive economic zone.

In the interim, the Head of State said the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) has been notified, and he is confident that the Secretary General Dr. Irwin LaRocque has provided some information to the Heads of Government.

However, the President noted that CARICOM Heads would be formally briefed on the situation at the upcoming 36th Heads of Government meeting, which is slated for July 1 to 5 in Barbados.

http://www.inewsguyana.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/06/PhotoGrid_1435236137387.jpg

President David Granger and President Nicholas Maduro

Maduro threatens military action in Guyana/Venezuela controversy, June 25, 2015 9:51 am, [www.inewsguyana.com], Source

Perhaps sizing up each other or simply a photo op.

According to the report, Maduro is claiming “that the British Empire and all the other empires, and now oil company ExxonMobil had always wanted to control the estuary of Orinoco River, in complicity with past oligarchies that failed to defend the motherland through peaceful and respectful diplomacy.”

Guyana’s President David Granger has assured Exxon Mobil that it has nothing to fear in terms of its current operations in Guyana’s waters as the company has the backing of the Guyana Government, and international law as it continues exploration in Guyana’s exclusive economic zone.

Maduro threatens military action in Guyana/Venezuela controversy, June 25, 2015 9:51 am, [www.inewsguyana.com], Source

Maduro is "barking up the wrong tree" with the first the British Empire issue. The border settlement were resolved in 1899.

Hopefully, Guyana can maintain its stance as noted in the second paragraph.

The USA has to be licking it's chop waiting for any military action from Venezuela on its interest re ExxonMobil.  The US wants a war with Venezuela.  Maybe we might pick up some more territory as conquest of war.  Wha the lawyers think

Originally Posted by VVP:

The USA has to be licking it's chop waiting for any military action from Venezuela on its interest re ExxonMobil.  The US wants a war with Venezuela.  Maybe we might pick up some more territory as conquest of war.  Wha the lawyers think

I don't think the US is licking its chops about any military interference from the venezuelan navy regarding ExxonMobil. After all, The US imports some of its crude oil from Venezuela. Don't think they would want to interrupt that, at least not yet. This is not CGX which Surinamese gunboats chased out of the corentyne river a few years ago. Maduro would be insane to try something so foolish.

Originally Posted by Sheik101:

I don't think the US is licking its chops about any military interference from the venezuelan navy regarding ExxonMobil. After all, The US imports some of its crude oil from Venezuela. Don't think they would want to interrupt that, at least not yet. This is not CGX which Surinamese gunboats chased out of the corentyne river a few years ago. Maduro would be insane to try something so foolish.

An alternate view Sheik. The US fracking industry is under pressure because of the Saudis flooding the market with oil. An "interruption", albeit small, might just be what the doctor ordered to revive the US fracking industry.

Re Maduro, he is a commie bus driver not noted for his smarts and just may try something to divert attention from his failed domestic policies. Granger may have already anticipated this hence his recent trip to Washington.

Sorry. Venezuela is not Grenada.

Guyana doan need Essequibo. I say, leh the Venez have it.

WTF are you smoking now?

Originally Posted by Mars:

WTF are you smoking now?

Once the Venez take it, they will re-settle all the Guyanese in Venezuela.

WTF are you smoking now?

Bai, are you one of them traitors born in Essequibo who get Venezuelan passport?  

WTF are you smoking now?

No one wants to go back to the dark days of Communism in Guyana when you can't even wipe with toilet paper.

Why you wishing this on our people?

Granger should send his elite soldiers to fight Maduro.

I hope he makes the armed forces compulsory and he grabs all those who can't find work, whether black, blue brown. Stop the BS mindset about only one colour should be in the forces.

And in return the Venoes let you have it so you and your lil imaginary "fren" Prashad can set up alyuh indian utopia. LMAO.

Originally Posted by Itaname:

And in return the Venoes let you have it so you and your lil imaginary "fren" Prashad can set up alyuh indian utopia. LMAO.

Bhai, this is a nice discussion gweing on here. Iz wah de razz yuh fetching ass old story for.

That story with the Venoes has been around for 120 years. And doan fool yuhself, no matter if they are communists or capitalists, they are united. Dey want Essequibo. They can tek it anytime dey want. Dey being polite. Dey already come across the border, wan day they will stay and doan return because dey be in Venezuela. 

Yuh think GDF can match dey fire power.  

You rass mad? And venezuela is even less than Grenada these days with its fragile economy and the fact its people are on the brink of starvation from Maduro miss rule. He is as popular as a nit and may actually be stupid to do something crazy as invade us to lift his profile. After all, he is no genius, and just a dumb mindless quack actualized to high office by being a good sycophant to Chavez