Source : http://citizensreportgy.com/?p=5153

–Jagdeo decries unprecedented levels of corruption under Coalition
Corruption has been made an “institutional endeavour” under the APNU+AFC Coalition, with a “mad scramble” by government ministers to accumulate “as much as they can” before the 2020 General and Regional Elections. This was the view proffered by Opposition Leader, Dr Bharrat Jagdeo today (May 31, 2018) at his weekly news conference at his Church Street office.

And he charged that more agencies, including TIGI, should be involved in exposing the corruption that is taking place, not bending backwards to strike for a balance in comparing the former PPP/C and current governments, which does not exist.

He noted that of among the eight massive ‘kick-back schemes, which he referred to a “bribe collecting syndicates” made up of government officials, are the sale of work permits. According to him, in 2017 there were 44,700 Cubans who arrived in Guyana, only 37,000 of whom have left. The permits he noted are being sold for as much as US$1,000.

Gun licences are also being sold at exorbitant costs, $1.2M for shotgun licences and $600,000 for 6MM pistols. Licenses for security company, he disclosed, are going for millions more.

Jagdeo added that government ministers are also involved in a rental scam, where properties are rented at inflated prices, part of which goes back to the minister in question.

The establishment of front companies is another corrupt practice, with government officials using names of friends or family members to set up companies, which then benefit from massive government contracts – all of which is given out in breach of Guyana’s procurement laws.

The gold mining sector, according to him, is in chaos, with prime lands being given to parties linked to government ministers, who are ensured a return on the operations. “One day we will wake up and find out that all the lands given out are controlled by a particular Minister,” he said.

Additionally, he added, that despite the fact that certain court cases can be won by the State, settlements are inked for a price.

“We are hemorrhaging billions in revenue because of fuel smuggling,” he said too, adding that the Coalition Government is fully aware of the players involved in the racket. He noted that Guyana only recently saw the example of individuals implicated in massive fuel smuggling managing to get off with a fine of $36M, which was paid to the Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA). The boat was released and no charged were filed, whereas usual procedure would have seen a different course of action being taken. Following reports that authorities, on April 19, 2018, took control of a vessel – the Jubilee – because it was suspected to have been involved in fuel smuggling, documents linking the vessel’s operations to prominent local figures were released. Company documents for entity, SBF International Inc., names Attorney-at-Law, Roysdale Forde, Anand Sanasie and Dorwain Bess as Directors. Another document, a leaked agreement, names SBF International as the company that engaged the services of Sia Regulus, which owns the Jubilee. That agreement was signed by Forde in May 24, 2016 and one, Captain Alexander Kilmanskiy.

The misuse of state funds on the construction of homes for government minister is another sore issue. According to Jagdeo, had such an act been perpetrated under the PPP/C government, the resulting consequences would have been different. “We have one minister building four houses right now,” he said.

The Opposition Leader made clear that given the numerous breaches of financial laws, the Procurement Act, etc. – and the many underhand dealings that have been exposed, the APNU+AFC Coalition government is one of “the most corrupt” Guyana has seen.

Notably, the 2017 and 2018 International Narcotics Control Strategy Report (INCSR), produced by the United States of America’s (USA) State Department, are markedly different, in that “government corruption” is cited as a major source of money laundering in Volume 2 of the latest report.

Like this never happen under Jagdeo and Ramotar? Guyana is one of the most corrupt countries in the world. 

It will not be so easy to eliminate under any future government.

Dis banna single...why he need such a big mansion??

Image result for bharrat Jagdeo big house

That's what opposition do. They spill their guts on the ruling party on corruption when Jagdeo himself is no saint on corruption. 

Yuh Namakaram Crabdaag Uncle told the people he will be the cushion to ensure transparency and Fairness. BLOODY PARASITE!!

Takes a thief to know one.

You are a CERTIFED THIEF and low life!!!

I know lots of thieves.  

So you know Django well

I know lots of thieves.  

In this case, we are talking about political thieves to be specific. People with political aspiration or a loyalist of the PPP (like you) would protect a thief and lie for them with a straight face. Isn't it?

Do you think corruption is bad now?  Wait until the oil revenue start to flow in. Them chaps will have more wives than those Saudi Sheiks.

True.  This is why Jagdeo is so frantic. He cannot bear the thought of so many millions to be made and he cannot get any.  So he is determined to win the next election.

I know lots of thieves.  

In this case, we are talking about political thieves to be specific. People with political aspiration or a loyalist of the PPP (like you) would protect a thief and lie for them with a straight face. Isn't it?

Why not.  Bibi remembers very fondly the days when she could scream "ahbe pan tap, blackman time done".  It doesn't matter whether she benefits or not.  Its the psychic glow of racial triumphalism.

You are a CERTIFED THIEF and low life!!!

Taking lot of liberty to say such.Fistly you doan know nothing about Django.

It is quite disgraceful to see the PNC Afro gang looting the treasury as their supporters cheer them on.

These were the crooks who promised transparency and accountability and they are now the most criminal administration in Guyana's history, twice.

Jagdeo will buss the criminals backs in 2020.

It is quite disgraceful to see the PNC Afro gang looting the treasury as their supporters cheer them on.

These were the crooks who promised transparency and accountability and they are now the most criminal administration in Guyana's history, twice.

Jagdeo will buss the criminals backs in 2020.

Banna, your infantile dribble spamming multiple threads is neither ‘tough’ nor approaching clever

you lack imagination, and worse . . . a proper education

that makes you boring

Back to the contents of the thread. Jagdeo is showing lots of frustration from the coalition government. It's difficult to tell what position he holds for 2020 election. At one time he says the British are aiding APNU to continue governing. Another time he says he's confident of winning. Now, he's all out with corruption claims against APNU. This must frustrated for him. 

Even if a regime change was in the works, I don't believe they will let the coalition govt serves one term since the oil is expected to surface by 2020/2021.

I think Jagdeo knows it more than I do, but he's hoping for a miracle. 

Back to the contents of the thread. Jagdeo is showing lots of frustration from the coalition government. It's difficult to tell what position he holds for 2020 election. At one time he says the British are aiding APNU to continue governing. Another time he says he's confident of winning. Now, he's all out with corruption claims against APNU. This must frustrated for him. 

Even if a regime change was in the works, I don't believe they will let the coalition govt serves one term since the oil is expected to surface by 2020/2021.

I think Jagdeo knows it more than I do, but he's hoping for a miracle

You got that right,luck isn't on his side.The PPP said ABC countries installed the coalition government.Remember how Carter avoid him when he showed up with Ramu,they think they can embarrass the ole USA and they will be entertained.

I know lots of thieves.  

Why not.  Bibi remembers very fondly the days when she could scream "ahbe pan tap, blackman time done".  It doesn't matter whether she benefits or not.  Its the psychic glow of racial triumphalism.

Is Caribny and Prince one and the same handle? They display identical bullyism towards women.  Admin should look into this and take the necessary steps to avoid duplicate handles on this site.

I treat you no different from how I treat the male PPP frauds. And why should I unless you wish to be told that all you can do is cook and clean and that you have nothing to contribute outside of the home.

I bet that you want equal pay based on meritocracy and not to be penalized because you are a female.

You should be glad that I slap you around just as much as I do yuji, and prashad.  In fact I treat prashad way worse than I do you. 

If you cannot stand the heat then stay out of the kitchen.  If admin thinks that they should coddle you because you are a woman then they should stand to be accused of treating women as being less capable of advancing reasoned arguments than men are capable of.

I treat you no different from how I treat the male PPP frauds. And why should I unless you wish to be told that all you can do is cook and clean and that you have nothing to contribute outside of the home.

I bet that you want equal pay based on meritocracy and not to be penalized because you are a female.

You should be glad that I slap you around just as much as I do yuji, and prashad.  In fact I treat prashad way worse than I do you. 

If you cannot stand the heat then stay out of the kitchen.  If admin thinks that they should coddle you because you are a woman then they should stand to be accused of treating women as being less capable of advancing reasoned arguments than men are capable of.

Queen bully now playing the female card.  What a hypocrite!

Go take care of your house and stop stalking me.  I have no time for losers.

So you have no time for yourself! That's sad. 

I know lots of thieves.  

Bibi, I sensed that you don't like to be talked back to. I don't know how you can justify your presence on a discussion forum. You started with me and Cobra, and you continue with me and Caribny to have the same handle. What else will you come with next? You getting a nervous breakdown. See what admin can do for you, gyal.