$M unaccounted for in Region 10 community projects under SLED programme

https://i0.wp.com/www.inewsguyana.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/01/Coomacka-block-making-project.jpeg?w=640&ssl=1The building to house the Coomacka block making project abandoned

Several individuals and groups in Linden, Region 10, are under the microscope for millions of dollars disbursed to them by the APNU+AFC government for projects that never materialised.

According to the Department of Public Information (DPI), 13 groups received a total of $34 million under the Sustainable Livelihood and Entrepreneurial Development (SLED) programme in 2019 for community development projects. Those groups were required to be registered as Co-operative Societies before funds were released.

On Friday, Minister of Labour,  Joseph Hamilton along with Chief Co-operative Development Officer, Perlina Gift, fanned out across Linden to get a first-hand look at some of the projects. The first stop was at the Green Jaguar Environmental and Community Development Co-operative Society at Wisroc.

“In the case of the five point whatever million dollars project that money was disbursed and collected by the Member of Parliament of Region Ten, Mr. Jermaine Figueira and as a I saw it, where it is located, it’s on some private land that is attached to a homeowner. So, for all intents and purposes Government money has now become private property and we can’t have that,” Minister Hamilton said.

https://i0.wp.com/www.inewsguyana.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/01/pig-rearing-project.jpeg?w=640&ssl=1

The incomplete pig rearing project under the Green Jaguar Environmental and Community Development Cooperative Society

The team visited another pig rearing project valued close to $5 million in that area.

Over in West Watooka, $6 million was given to a group for a community centre and ICT hub. The incomplete building was abandoned in 2019.  Minister Hamilton said another $2.3 million was provided for poultry rearing but that project never got off the ground and the incomplete chicken coop was taken over by vegetation.

Additionally, the co-ops at Old England and Coomacka received funds for block making projects valued a total of $6 million. The Coomacka block making project is located in a deserted area, and the abandoned building has no roof according to ducuments seen by DPI.

https://i2.wp.com/www.inewsguyana.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/01/West-Watooka-community-centre-and-ICT-hub.jpeg?w=640&ssl=1

The abandoned West Watooka community centre and ICT hub

Minister Hamilton said these cases are a clear indication of the misappropriation of public funds, and those involved would have to account for those sums.

“What we were looking for is $34 million and we couldn’t find $34 million. We went to a pig rearing project where persons received $5.9 million and somebody went overnight and put two pigs and we went to another pig rearing project and based on what was said to me, they are on land they had no authority to be on,” he said.

Minister Hamilton also visited several other projects where monies ($1.5 million to $2.2 million) were disbursed through the former Ministries of Communities and Social Cohesion for the enhancement of recreational facilities and agriculture initiatives. The Labour Minister said one man received over $2.2 million for a chicken rearing project. However, when he visited the project, he was told that the individual had migrated.

“So, there are two separate types of projects, one for co-ops and communities and then you had individual projects. So, you had to have a godfather somewhere for you to just go and collect $2 million and then you disappear,” he said.

Minister Hamilton said this would not be condoned by his Ministry.

“We cannot continue to allow people to take public funds and use it for their benefit.”

https://i1.wp.com/www.inewsguyana.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/01/chicken-rearing-project.jpeg?w=640&ssl=1

A chicken rearing project also abandoned

The Labour Minister said he has ordered an integrity audit of all co-ops across the country. These audits will begin within a month and be completed within the third quarter of this year.

“I want to know the state of every co-op in this country… independent auditors will go and audit to see whether they are transparent and to ensure we can utilise the law to retrieve property that somebody has claimed as their own…Once that is done, we will write-off those that must die and those that will live must be transparent,” Minister Hamilton said.

The SLED programme was set up in 2015 after the coalition government came into office and $760 million has been invested over the years. A special audit of the 2019 programme has commenced and a separate report is expected to be issued by the Audit Office.

@Totaram posted:

How about the billions stolen by Jagdeo and his cronies?  Petty thieves and clumsy management do not come close to  the pilfering and bribery of the PPP.

Ah, but dem PPP teeves iz smart! Dey nat like de stupid PNC teeves!

Maybe but the PPP acolytes on this board and elsewhere focus on the PNC thieves.  They never say a word about the Big, Ugly, Rotten, Pradoville crooks.  Why? 

@Totaram posted:

Maybe but the PPP acolytes on this board and elsewhere focus on the PNC thieves.  They never say a word about the Big, Ugly, Rotten, Pradoville crooks.  Why?

I keep on asking a stupid question, where did Ali and Jagdeo get the necessary funds to build their mansions, but get no answer! Drugs, anyone? Why did Jagdeo avoid meeting the US Foreign Secretary, Mr. Pompeo?????

@Totaram posted:

How about the billions stolen by Jagdeo and his cronies?  Petty thieves and clumsy management do not come close to  the pilfering and bribery of the PPP.

So! Is it OK for the PNC to steal?  This thread is about money unaccounted for in Region 10.  It is not about Jagdeo and the PPP as you so eloquently put it.

@Ramakant-P posted:

So! Is it OK for the PNC to steal?  This thread is about money unaccounted for in Region 10.  It is not about Jagdeo and the PPP as you so eloquently put it.

What I would like to know is what or how much the gift givers gave themselves!

@Ramakant-P posted:

Warped logic--chupidness na gat cure.

@cain posted:

Oh rass, Rama say as long as you tief 10k or less, is no problem. So Rama, is it acceptable fo tief 10k weekly or daily?

What is a gift?  How dumb are you? You condoned the PNC stealing but condemned the PPP.

@Ramakant-P posted:

There is no cure for your stupidity.  You cannot answer a simple question.

How many gifts were given to you in the past and don't lie.

GFU you chupid coolie prick.  You are making up stuff again.  Don't you have any shame goadee man? 

@Totaram posted:

GFU you chupid coolie prick.  You are making up stuff again.  Don't you have any shame goadee man?

Making up stuff? Speak for yourself. Concerning GFU, I cannot do that but if you need help at home let me know. I will oblige.

You cannot answer a simple question. You are not civil. 

@cain posted:

When did I ever condone stealing by anyone? I dare you to prove it.

It is in your post. 

I said it is OK to accept $10,000.00 as a gift from anyone. You claimed that it was thieving. If you don't know the difference then you should ask someone if you cannot read the dictionary.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Making up stuff? Speak for yourself. Concerning GFU, I cannot do that but if you need help at home let me know. I will oblige.

You cannot answer a simple question. You are not civil.

FU.  Ask your female relatives about the gifts they offered me. You are chupid.

@Ramakant-P posted:

What I would like to know is what or how much the gift givers gave themselves!

@Ramakant-P posted:

$10,000.00 is acceptable.

You are being silly now, follow YOUR conversation about tiefin. You're now saying 10k is acceptable...so what are you referring to if not tiefin....just a small piece nuh?

@Totaram posted:

Certainly not WDU.  That is the university for chupid people like you and Irfaan.

Irfaan became the President of the Republic of Guyana.  You are not fit to wipe his shoes. It is nice to note that I am in the same class with a great man like Irfan.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Irfaan became the President of the Republic of Guyana.  You are not fit to wipe his shoes. It is nice to note that I am in the same class with a great man like Irfan.

Yes de two alyou a two chupdiee coolie pricks.

@Ramakant-P posted:

If you are talking about me, I think you should know that I am more physically fit than you at 75.

You sure about that?

I'm 5' 11 ..170lbs. I go snow shoeing as much as I can,  practice boxing, judo ( haven't done this in months due to staying closer to the North pole with no dojo around, I cycle for hours when the weather is good, climb, cut down trees..process them.

Oh Yeh, I play guitar and sing, jump around on stage and last but not least, hustle nuff women.

You probably walk to the convenience store and buy Chips to munch on the way back.

@cain posted:

You sure about that? I go snow shoeing as much as I can,  practice boxing, judo ( haven't done this in months due to staying closer to the North pole with no dojo around, I cycle for hours when the weather is good, climb, cut down trees..process them.

Oh Yeh, I play guitar and sing, jump around on stage and last but not least, hustle nuff women.

You lie! As you said you haven't done it in months.  The weather doesn't stop me.  I exercise every day.  I have a gym in my basement. I doubt that you can last 5 mins in the ring with me.  Just ask the brothers at Nabaclis Village about me and my boxing skills. You will be surprised.

@cain posted:

Eh-eh Cain ....

You do dream a lot of the opportunity to "hustle" nuff women. 

@Ramakant-P posted:

You lie! As you said you haven't done it in months.  The weather doesn't stop me.  I exercise every day.  I have a gym in my basement. I doubt that you can last 5 mins in the ring with me.  Just ask the brothers at Nabaclis Village about me and my boxing skills. You will be surprised.

Yes, I haven't done Judo as I said and not much cycling due to weather up here but still with the other activities. I would probably knock your rass out ten seconds after the starting bell.

@cain posted:

Yes, I haven't done Judo as I said and not much cycling due to weather up here but still with the other activities. I would probably knock your rass out ten seconds after the starting bell.

I am well trained in Bruce Teschner's art of self-defense. 

@Ramakant-P posted:

I am well trained in Bruce Teschner's art of self-defense.

You can run good eh? Or were you taught how to hide?

Rama Bai, if true you do exercise and in good shape, good for you. Too many let themselves go, belly hangin over belt and only see willy when facing a mirror.