The coalition better get it right now

By Staff Writer On May 27, 2015 @ 5:02 am In Letters

Dear Editor,

The fledgling state of any government transition is the best opportunity to attack emerging signs of autocracy, authoritarianism and anti-democracy because there is still time to change course. It also opens a vital debate on the democratic future of the country from the very start of a new government. History has proven, for 24 and 23 years, that this country with all its fractious ethnic warts cannot advance in a dictatorial model. Democracy has to be tried and fully so. It is our best shot at salvation.

Firstly, I have deep concerns with the number of ministries, the lack of information on the personnel and absence of explanation on the reasons for these ministries. A nation of 750,000 people does not need a president, 18 ministers, 8 junior ministers and 18 permanent secretaries. The coalition has no excuse now not to deliver in 100-days and other promises. Secondly, the Cabinet has 8 AFC members and 19 APNU members. This is a serious breach of the Cummingsburg Accord’s 40/60 split. Thirdly, in a frightening first, the presidency has not only created its own ministry, which contravenes the spirit of the Cummingsburg Accord, it has gone even further and created two further ministerial posts within the Ministry of the Presidency: the Ministries of Governance and Citizenship. Again, this is a direct attempt to undermine the Cummingsburg Accord and the inherent democratic surety of that agreement. Fourthly, the two additional ministries under the Ministry of the Presidency (governance and citizenship) are both areas that are within the domestic domain, which the accord puts under the PM’s administration.

Fifthly, one of these sub-ministries (Governance) seems a blatant attempt to interfere with future constitutional change, an area that was removed from presidential oversight and placed under the PM’s watch under the accord. Now, we have the disturbing concoction of the PM, Minister of Governance (within the Ministry of the Presidency) and the Minister of Social Cohesion (APNU’s Amna Ally) all responsible for constitutional change. This is playing a nefarious game with the most important agenda in this country: constitutional change aimed at reducing the powers of the presidency and improving the separation of powers, both of which will significantly improve democracy and life itself in Guyana.

The question is whether this is a case of presidential imposition or an agreement between the signatories to the Cummingsburg Accord (APNU and AFC) to openly breach the very agreement upon which voters voted for them in the recent elections. Regardless of whether this is direct presidential authoritarianism or collaborative despotism or whether the Cummingsburg Accord is a private agreement or the internal democratic shortcomings of both the AFC and APNU (there are many), the accord with its reduction of excess presidential authority is good for democracy. The recent antics of the former PPP president in proroguing Parliament confirms that. Make no mistake, the coalition secured a major part of its vote share from voters who only voted because of the Cummingsburg Accord and the security they felt from the presence of the accord. This is because the PNC suffers from the colossal mistrust of the majority of the population. These early gambits will reignite the mistrust.

Electoral and governmental change do not equate to democratic change. The fact that there was no strategic wait to make these anti-democratic moves suggest that these stratagems were likely planned or that the heady rush of absolute power has already corrupted the perspicacity to think and act democratically and decently for the sake of the nation and its very future.

David Granger turns 70 in less than two months. He will be 75 by the next election. Moses Nagamootoo will be 72 years then. They both know they cannot live forever. The failures of the PNC under Hoyte and the PPP just recently in making the constitution and polity more democratic and equitable before the inevitable loss of power happened are well-known to both of them. They can leave a legacy of proper democracy or one that continues the PNC and

PPP’s failed authoritarianism. The nation is watching. The world is watching. Let us see what kind of constitutional change this government will advance in light of these recent troubling events. The bottom line is that they better get it right, right now.

Yours faithfully,
M Maxwell

I suppose all the smart people saying the AFC is being buggered in front of our very eyes are wrong. None of us know what we're talking about.

We all just hate the AFC and/or are "jealous" of AFC success. I notice how the AFC takes criticisms just as badly as the PPP did/does. No critic will go un-molested.

I suppose all the smart people saying the AFC is being buggered in front of our very eyes are wrong. None of us know what we're talking about.

We all just hate the AFC and/or are "jealous" of AFC success. I notice how the AFC takes criticisms just as badly as the PPP did/does. No critic will go un-molested.

The mudheads still savoring their 12 seat bonus.  They don't yet realize, the currency has switched!  All now gone fuh channa, as Nehru would say.

Originally Posted by TK:

They said they're working on constitutional reform. Give them a year to see if they deliver on that.

Well, mudhead, you have been wrong 90% of the time, so who cares what you think.

They'll deliver. It will take a while for the PPP voters and supporters to understand this process. They have been so accustomed to live under an autocratic PPP regime that chewed and swallowed for them, they can't yet figure out that there is an alternative to chewing and swallowing. If they don't see those processes mentioned or in place, they assume they'll starve.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

They'll deliver. It will take a while for the PPP voters and supporters to understand this process. They have been so accustomed to live under an autocratic PPP regime that chewed and swallowed for them, they can't yet figure out that there is an alternative to chewing and swallowing. If they don't see those processes mentioned or in place, they assume they'll starve.

Yes, like they just delivered "A Government of National Unity".

Originally Posted by TK:

They said they're working on constitutional reform. Give them a year to see if they deliver on that.

Well, mudhead, you have been wrong 90% of the time, so who cares what you think.

Little girly man Harry Shivdat...bet you cannot tell me that face to face.

Maxwell's hasty analysis is a bit off on a couple of important points

but i have some of the same concerns

however, the gov't is barely 2 weeks old . . . still in the transition, and there is no budget

reasonable (and fair) people will wait out the 100 days

but i have the same concerns

however, the gov't is barely 2 weeks old . . . still in the transition, and there is no budget

The challenges they face are enormous. That Guysuco crisis alone should keep them up at night. Guysuco can't be fixed in 100 days. Guysuco is a PPP engineered problem...deliberately for the purpose of selling the assets at rock bottom prices to a selected few. Why do you believe people like Harry (Baseman) is no angry. His career failed and they were salivating over the sugar assets that Jagdeo promised them. Then you have Marriott that needs a few more million US$ to complete so that it can compete with the other hotels scampering for a space in a 55% occupancy rate market. The entire drainage system is failing and there will be lots of sabotage from the rebels who returned from Cuba. Privatizing Guysuco will not solve the drainage problem because no private investor will perform a task that is essentially a public good. Gold price will not get better. The Saudis will make sure marginal new wells don't make a lot of money.

Originally Posted by TK:

Baseman will tell you that anytime lil traitor.

Originally Posted by TK:

I am coming over later this month to yuh lil bookkeeping office...hold tight girly man...

Originally Posted by TK:

I am coming over later this month to yuh lil bookkeeping office...hold tight girly man...

I ain't know what "bookkeeping", I guess you got the wrong man.

The coalition better get it right now

By Staff Writer On May 27, 2015 @ 5:02 am In Letters

Dear Editor,

.created two further ministerial posts within the Ministry of the Presidency: the Ministries of Governance and Citizenship. Again, this is a direct attempt to undermine the Cummingsburg Accord and the inherent democratic surety of that agreement. .M Maxwell

Minister of Governance is Raphael Trotman.  Interpret this as you will.

Originally Posted by TK:

The challenges they face are enormous. That Guysuco crisis alone should keep them up at night. Guysuco can't be fixed in 100 days. Guysuco is a PPP engineered problem...deliberately for the purpose of selling the assets at rock bottom prices to a selected few. Why do you believe people like Harry (Baseman) is no angry. His career failed and they were salivating over the sugar assets that Jagdeo promised them. Then you have Marriott that needs a few more million US$ to complete so that it can compete with the other hotels scampering for a space in a 55% occupancy rate market. The entire drainage system is failing and there will be lots of sabotage from the rebels who returned from Cuba. Privatizing Guysuco will not solve the drainage problem because no private investor will perform a task that is essentially a public good. Gold price will not get better. The Saudis will make sure marginal new wells don't make a lot of money.

Each day brings more news of the PPPs failure.  Not only did we find out that at 40%, Guyana has the HIGHEST level of youth unemployment in the English Caribbean, but now we are hearing that we have the highest levels of primary school aged kids who don't attend school regularly.

Reasonable and fair people will offer constructive criticism now that they might impact how the coalition uses its 100 days, than to wait it out, and then be forced to complain when it is too late.

There is no reason why a proper explanation of the restructuring of ministries has yet to be provided.  We aren't asking for a budget or even an economic blue print.

I will suggest that they don't have 100 days to deal with the Guysuco problem.

The mudheads still savoring their 12 seat bonus.  They don't yet realize, the currency has switched!  All now gone fuh channa, as Nehru would say.

Most of the "AFC" MPs will be PNCites who left the PNC in name only.

I was once told in 2006 that the AFC was a strategic long term plan to split the Indian vote. I don't know if that was the case but we can look at the results. The AFC's sole contribution to Guyana thus far has been the election of the PNC into Majority Government.

Reasonable and fair people will offer constructive criticism now that they might impact how the coalition uses its 100 days, than to wait it out, and then be forced to complain when it is too late.

There is no reason why a proper explanation of the restructuring of ministries has yet to be provided.  We aren't asking for a budget or even an economic blue print.

I will suggest that they don't have 100 days to deal with the Guysuco problem.

enuf with your "when it's too late" bullshit

it is precisely because Guysuco is imploding that i ask y'all to keep your powder dry

park the back-seat carping about who creating jobs for the bais; we need an all-hands-on-deck approach for Bharat's folly in the sugar belt

someone like Tony Vieira should replace Raj Singh forthwith; the books need to be examined by competent authorities (get int'l help if you need it); and make it the highest budget priority to finance a cushion for what is inevitably an industry in radical transition

there is politicking on BOTH sides of the coalition

the fact that no important leader in the AFC seemed to want the agriculture portfolio is a big disappointment to me . . . i know it's a bad name wuk, but minista job is necessarily about service to the people foremost, not the accumulation of power

this is real life people; i will concern myself with Granger's ego and the too many ministas in their funny named ministries after important shit is dealt with in the 100 days

Originally Posted by TK:

Put twenty economists in a room and they will give you twenty different solutions to the same problem. Look, they said that they will do certain things in the first 100 days. Quit being so pessimistic. Let us see what happens instead of all the guesses. Economics is not an exact science. 

Z
Originally Posted by Zed:
Originally Posted by TK:

Put twenty economists in a room and they will give you twenty different solutions to the same problem. Look, they said that they will do certain things in the first 100 days. Quit being so pessimistic. Let us see what happens instead of all the guesses. Economics is not an exact science. 

I've heard the parrots repeat that on numerous occasions. What is your beef?

Originally Posted by TK:
Originally Posted by Zed:
Originally Posted by TK:

I've heard the parrots repeat that on numerous occasions. What is your beef?

I see Guyanese remain mired in the Janet Jagan/Forbes Burnham/Bharat Jagdeo scheme of goverance where the autocrats decide from on high and the meek peasants must accept.

No one is seriously criticising the coalition gov't.  The PPP is whining like spoiled brats, instead of tending to their role as the opposition.  Others are offering constructive criticism as they want the coalition to do the best that it can.

TK is discussing real problems that the PPP has left behind, and over the next couple of weeks we will hear more and more.  Marriott is a mess as there is no private investor, and no funds to complete the hotel. Guysuco is insolvent.  We will find out that the treasury is bare and that debts are higher than we are told.  We are already getting confirmation that Guyanese are indeed the poorest in the English Caribbean, with large numbers of primary school age kids not regularly attending school.

It is not anti gov't to point these facts out.

Originally Posted by TK:

I'll tell you that and even show you that.....

Originally Posted by Spontaneous emission:
Originally Posted by TK:

I'll tell you that and even show you that.....

Oh sk0nt....bad man show up.....

Each day brings more news of the PPPs failure. 

*The PPP is no longer in power. They were kicked out of office. The PNC/AFC were voted in to right all of the wrongs committed by the PPP. Let's give them time and see how well they govern.

* WILL THE PNC/AFC BE BETTER OR WORSE THAN THE PPP ?

* We shall see.

If President Granger keep going the way he going, 1000 days will pass by and he won't accomplish anything. I wish him well. His ministers are all lacking. The Prime Minister is a career politician. These men are not business people. A great many are lawyers. Together, they do not have any inkling of what to do. To set up a government is a different story than managing a corporation

Think Tank-perhaps is what is needed. They were bold in stating the diaspora may have some of the solutions.

It is interesting to note Nagamootoo's call to Cuba to solve the problems of the sugar industry. News for the PM, Cuba sugar industry has shrunk. Ramsammy was chasing foreigners to solve the woes of the sugar industry. And in Guyana, Bookers spent a few million(1957 $) to set a school to train people to service the sugar industry. And they doan even look in that direction. Some of those same graduates were recruited for the Nigerian, Bahamas and Southern States sugar industry. Some of those graduate should be on Guysuco Board. Viera would kill sugar - a bad choice. 

Pres. Granger should identify which two areas he wish tackle and throw enough money at it and have results quicker than 100 days. And then move to the next two. That way people will see results.

Last edited by seignet
Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

Some mixed signals so far.  We don't need a PNC sanitization process.  Move forward with the Coalition goals, not PNC image rescuing.

Expand on this.

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

Some mixed signals so far.  We don't need a PNC sanitization process.  Move forward with the Coalition goals, not PNC image rescuing.

Expand on this.

Where is the EXPANSION?