The cesspool of lies continue – the Mexico rice contract was a outlandish lie

Share on Facebook
Tweet on Twitter

There was good news late last week that Guyana had inked a contract to export 150,000 tons of rice and paddy to Mexico. Supposedly, the information was provided through the Agriculture Ministry. The Minister never denied the story. No one in the Agriculture Ministry disclaimed the story. The Guyana Rice Development Board did not disown the story.

But even as I read that report, and as much as I wanted it to be true, I knew that the story was suspect. Mexico imports some 800,000 tons of rice and paddy, about 80 per cent of its needs, mostly from America. In fact, because Mexico is part of the North American Free Trade Area (NAFTA), imports from any other country outside Canada and America must be surcharged with tariffs, unless America waives any objection. I also knew that the price that Mexico could import rice and paddy from other trade partners, such as Vietnam, India, Thailand, Argentina and Uruguay would make Mexico among the lowest priced market for Guyana.

Less than one week since the Agriculture Ministry claimed we had inked a rice deal with Mexico, we have verified that the Agriculture Ministry lied to rice farmers and the people of Guyana. Guyana was never part of the arrangement in which Mexico signed an order to import 150,000 tons of rice and paddy, tariff-exempt, from Argentina, Uruguay, India, Vietnam and Thailand. As the news reached disappointed farmers that Guyana is not part of the Mexico arrangement, the Agriculture Minister disowned his own Ministry. Who is in charge? The buck stops first at the feet of the Agriculture Minister and then at the feet of the President, his boss. This was an out and out blatant lie and Minister Holder is responsible for the lie. It is an insult to the farmers and to the country.

Mexico is, indeed, a potential market for Guyana’s rice and paddy. Mexico, particularly with the belligerence of Donald Trump about unfair trade, is looking to reduce its dependency on America to meet its rice demand. But the problem is that Mexico imports long grain rice with two to five per cent broken at about US$350 per ton CIF or even lower. Vietnam and other countries have been offering even lower prices. This is why Guyana has difficulties recovering the Haiti market because Guyana is unable to compete with Vietnam there.

For export to Mexico, a miller would have to use about 32 bags of paddy to provide one ton of five per cent broken long grain rice. It means that the miller will export rice to Mexico at about G$2100 per bag of paddy. When one subtracts transportation and other processing expenses, the miller is really selling one bag of paddy to Mexico for about $1700 or less. The end result is that rice farmer cannot get more than $1500 per bag of grade A paddy; a price that will mean a farmer will lose on his investment. This is why the Mexican market remains a difficult proposition, unless Mexico pays Guyana a better price than India, Thailand, Vietnam, Argentina and Uruguay.

The A Partnership for National Unity/Alliance For Change (APNU/AFC) promised new markets to add to the 35 international markets that existed at the end of 2014 and to pay farmers $9000 per bag of paddy. People like Nagamootoo, Ramjattan and people like Turhane Doerga, blitzed TV stations in Georgetown, Berbice and Essequibo promising $9000 per bag. Now rice farmers are reeling from discriminatory policies implemented by APNU/AFC. The loss of the Venezuelan market caused the price per bag of paddy to sink to the bottom of the barrel. Production has reversed downwards. This week Alessie and Doerga have closed their operations in Guyana. The man who promised to take the rice industry to new heights and to pay rice farmers unbelievable prices is a victim to APNU/AFC’s mismanagement of this important industry.

It is now almost 18 months since Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo returned to Guyana after one of the numerous joyrides and jubilantly announced they would be replacing the squandered Venezuelan rice market with a new market in Mexico. Nagamootoo lied then and has been totally silent since. He has nothing to say now that the Agriculture Ministry again lied that Guyana would be exporting 150,000 tons of rice and paddy to Mexico this year.

The rice industry and rice farmers have become victims to the callousness and recklessness of the APNU/AFC Administration. It is unconscionable that they lie at every turn to the farmers. But rice farmers and millers are resilient and will survive, even if the Government has stupidly abandoned them. Just as they have found a way to export rice to Venezuela, rice farmers and millers will overcome their difficulties, in spite of APNU/AFC. (Send comments to doc_ram@hotmail.com or to my FB page)

"For export to Mexico, a miller would have to use about 32 bags of paddy to provide one ton of five per cent broken long grain rice. It means that the miller will export rice to Mexico at about G$2100 per bag of paddy.

When one subtracts transportation and other processing expenses, the miller is really selling one bag of paddy to Mexico for about $1700 or less. The end result is that rice farmer cannot get more than $1500 per bag of grade A paddy; a price that will mean a farmer will lose on his investment.

This is why the Mexican market remains a difficult proposition, unless Mexico pays Guyana a better price than India, Thailand, Vietnam, Argentina and Uruguay."

Any one in the house see the problem???

I see waan produce to compete with the market prices.

You and your FILTH HEAD Govt dont know JACK!!!!!

That's the best you can come up with.

Address why the Rice Farmers can't compete,

list the causes and let us talk,somebady seh you gat wan Phd,debate the "battam house educated"

list the causes and let us talk.

The government's economic plan is to simply chill out and wait on oil. Rice and sugar is PPP supporters' business. Who gives a dam about those Indo-KKKs. Let them die!

The government's economic plan is to simply chill out and wait on oil.Rice and sugar is PPP supporters' business. Who gives a dam about those Indo-KKKs. Let them die!

Two "Commodities" which can't compete with world prices,one draining the Government coffers stymieing developments in other areas.

Majority "Indians" are involved so "Discrimination" raises it ugly head,while the real issues are blanketed.

The government's economic plan is to simply chill out and wait on oil. Rice and sugar is PPP supporters' business. Who gives a dam about those Indo-KKKs. Let them die!

Oh how fickle thou art. I see you have joined Carib and his PNC crew. 

Did you give a damn when Jagdeo and Ramotar were running the sugar industry into the ground?

THis dunce WAS TOLD BY THE nAMAKARAM cRABDAAG THAT IF THEY WIN rICE AND sUGAR WILL BE king, THAT pADDY WILL BE 1500 DOLLARE PER BAG ANDrsugar worKers will be paid handsomely, that the PPP is ROBBINg them. This FILTH HEAD went over board. BLOODY DUMMY!!!

Did you give a damn when Jagdeo and Ramotar were running the sugar industry into the ground?

Wha you asking the "Funny Fellas" kin do no wrong.

The PPP goofed up on sugar due to the factory being unable to function at full capacity and producing at a lower cost. The PNC is allowing rice and sugar to go down because they have high hopes on oil bringing huge revenues. 

Oh how fickle thou art. I see you have joined Carib and his PNC crew. 

How is that so Ma'am?

THis dunce WAS TOLD BY THE nAMAKARAM cRABDAAG THAT IF THEY WIN rICE AND sUGAR WILL BE king, THAT pADDY WILL BE 1500 DOLLARE PER BAG ANDrsugar worKers will be paid handsomely, that the PPP is ROBBINg them. This FILTH HEAD went over board. BLOODY DUMMY!!!

LOL

You ran from my post where i ask to address the issues.

Politicians on both side of the fence lie,when will people realize that's their traits.

Here's another example of you name calling but yet you run to admin when the slop can is mentioned. 

How do yo know I complain to Amral ??

The highlighted is not demeaning,take a closer look.

Guyana cleared for paddy exports to Mexico

– can bid on 30,000 metric tonnes quota

By

According to the Ministry of Agriculture, Guyana will now be able to bid on three quotas, totalling 30,000 metric tonnes of paddy for export to Mexico, following the Government of Mexico’s decision to allow the tax free importation of 150,000 metric tonnes of paddy and rice products from outside of the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) member states.

A press release from the Ministry said, “The Mexi-can Government recently cleared the way for countries to bid for quotas to import rice and rice products into the country. Guyana will now be able to send paddy to the Spanish speaking nation as the National Service of Health, Safety and Agro-Food Quality (SENASICA) recently approved imports of paddy from Guyana,” while adding that the SENASICA is currently processing Guyana’s Sanitary and Phytosanitary certificate to import rice.

It noted that Guyana is among a group of countries set to make bids for exports into the market, and negotiations are currently ongoing between the Ministers of Agriculture from both countries to ensure that Guyana satisfies the necessary criteria to be part of the bidding process.

However, the statement explained that applications from countries can only be made in quotas of 10,000 metric tonnes, and each country is only allowed to apply for three quotas. “Guyana is currently negotiating prices with companies in Mexico [that] expressed an interest in purchasing paddy during the recently concluded exposition,” the release added.

The media bulletin said representatives from the Guyana Rice Development Board, the Guyana Rice Exporters and Millers Association, along with other private millers, recently attended the Expo Antad in Guadalajara, Mexico. “It was during this visit that Mexican Ambas-sador to Guyana and Plenipotentiary Represen-tative to Caricom, His Excellency, Mr Ivan Sierra, made provisions for the team to have a liaison who related the information that was later published in the Mexican official Gazette,” the statement said.

It highlighted that the Gazette stated that during the period of January to December 2017, the Government of Mexico has granted approval for 150,000 metric tonnes of paddy and rice products to enter Mexico from outside of NAFTA, free of the payment of taxes. “Normally taxes for countries, other than NAFTA member states, trading with Mexico, are 9% on paddy and 20% on rice products,” the statement pointed out in conclusion.

It noted that Guyana is among a group of countries set to make bids for exports into the market, and negotiations are currently ongoing between the Ministers of Agriculture from both countries to ensure that Guyana satisfies the necessary criteria to be part of the bidding process.

Don't you comprehend what you write, or you just write what PNC tells you.Guyana first has to fit the requirements to be in the bidding process along with several other countries. Jump and shout when they get a legal contract. So you are hanging yourself with rope, long rope.First you don't know at what price per metric ton, would the rice farmers agree, or sell at a lost.

Busted Again !!!

Some folks here holding on to rotten rope.

LOL, one of the ole man's favorite lines. "You rass like rotten rope, cyan't tek strain".

Oye GTAngler,

you have a pet cat just like ours,it's is funny she will sleeps with us,on her back like a human.

Busted Again !!!

Some folks here holding on to rotten rope.

LOL, one of the ole man's favorite lines. "You rass like rotten rope, cyan't tek strain".

Oye GTAngler,

you have a pet cat just like ours,it's is funny she will sleeps with us,on her back like a human.

Sometimes I think I am the pet. Spoilt rotten. Found her when she was a couple of days old. Umbilical cord still attached. She was bottle fed. I always knew she was smart but I didn't realize just how smart until I read some of the posts here.