– Foreign Minister told by Guyanese public

“Lock them up or shut up” – Foreign Minister told by Guyanese public

July 26, 2015 12:05 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-

By Fareeza Haniff

Vice President and Minister of Foreign Affairs, Carl Greenidge

[www.inewsguyana.com] – Vice President, Carl Greenidge has admitted that the public is tired of hearing stories of wrong doings committed by government officials under the previous People’s Progressive Party (PPP) administration.

He too is of the view that no effective action has been taken by the new APNU+AFC government to reprimand those caught but at the same time, listed a number of excuses as to why the alleged wrong doers have not been charged and prosecuted, including the lack of evidence.

During his appearance on the radio programme, Hard Talk, aired on 90.1 Love FM, the Vice President, who is also the country’s Foreign Affairs Minister, was very careful about his comments on the issue, pointing out that it does not fall within his realm of responsibilities.

“There is an intention to prosecute them but the problem I think has to do with…the evidence and the lost, misplacement of evidence including the unwillingness of some people to speak, but also the weaknesses of the system,” Greenidge explained.

He criticized the prosecution service, which he opined is not doing their “work assiduously enough; giving all sorts of advice leading to non-prosecution.”

The Vice President also pointed out the lack of capacity of the Guyana Police Force and other agencies to effectively investigate and prosecute.

“The point that we’ve been making before the election is that everyone should be subject to the law. You just can’t be prosecuting the poor or those who are not well positioned and letting off your peers, those you are socially equal or those you went to school.

“And I hope not withstanding what it appears may have happened so far that that is not a hallmark of what is to unfold in future. I think there is a lot of pressure on the relevant ministers to ensure that people are prosecuted.”

He made it clear that he too has been approached by members of the public, who have expressed the desire to see some government officials behind bars.

“I keep getting approached saying look we’re not interested in hearing all those stories you have to tell, lock up some people. If they’ve done wrong, lock them up otherwise shut up.”

There is an intention to prosecute them but the problem I think has to do with…the evidence and the lost, misplacement of evidence including the unwillingness of some people to speak

The APNU/AFC is just blah blah blah blah

They are more talk and less action.

Originally Posted by asj:

There is an intention to prosecute them but the problem I think has to do with…the evidence and the lost, misplacement of evidence including the unwillingness of some people to speak

Is he speaking from experience?

Politicians never intend to fulfill their campaign promises. Their goal is to get into power and continue to get richer at all cost.

what exactly is the problem with what Greenidge is saying?

stop behaving like a setting fowl

the coalition has to move carefully, especially when people like u are ready to scream "Ethnic Cleansing" at the drop of a hat

agenda-driven much?

PNC bais were getting lil milk and honey on the side, why you think they gon back-off.  I done say some time back, PNC will pull vines that go right back under their own feet.  You will see, all this talk about killings of Afros, it's going to fizzle as these were bandits and drug gangs turn terrorists taking up a political cause at the behest of some political "intellectual authors".

I agree, if you have credible evidence, act in accordance with the law or shut up and do what you were elected to do, govern.

The PPP Govt was clean but inept, careless, arrogant and left perceptions to become a cancer which worked against them.

Now that they cannot come up with the "evidence", then what are the justification for firing these civil servants?  Lil ethnic cleansing at work or what?

PNC bais were getting lil milk and honey on the side, why you think they gon back-off.  I done say some time back, PNC will pull vines that go right back under their own feet.  You will see, all this talk about killings of Afros, it's going to fizzle as these were bandits and drug gangs turn terrorists taking up a political cause at the behest of some political "intellectual authors".

I agree, if you have credible evidence, act in accordance with the law or shut up and do what you were elected to do, govern.

The PPP Govt was clean but inept, careless, arrogant and left perceptions to become a cancer which worked against them.

Now that they cannot come up with the "evidence", then what are the justification for firing these civil servants?  Lil ethnic cleansing at work or what?

From what is going on up to now, it looks like the PPP was clean all along. Even Winston Brassington hasn't been touched with corruption. Things appeared corrupt. 

They need foreign help to investigate corruption.  You have to be able to link many things/activities together to get to the root of it.  Look at the cash jet crook...did not fill out a form properly to declare currency; got entangle in bank transactions fraud and now cocaine trafficking...his whole "estate" crumbled and he will be looking at the sky from behind bars rather from a cockpit. 

Originally Posted by VVP:

They need foreign help to investigate corruption.  You have to be able to link many things/activities together to get to the root of it.  Look at the cash jet crook...did not fill out a form properly to declare currency; got entangle in bank transactions fraud and now cocaine trafficking...his whole "estate" crumbled and he will be looking at the sky from behind bars rather from a cockpit. 

Good point.

Evidence gathering in Guyana is a big problematic. Our friend yuji used to boast about the PPP before May 11 with this refrain: money talks, BS walks. And indeed the PPP regime had corrupted most State bodies with compliant handpicked favourites and perks. One cannot expect those people to cooperate with the coalition's audit team and hand over self-incriminating evidence in the form of supporting accounting documents. It's a case of the mystic files that requires 1,000 Perry Masons to solve. Chris Ram and Anand Goolsarran are trying but de foolice is suspected of tekking "instructions/money" fram de crooks.

Good point.

Evidence gathering in Guyana is a big problematic. Our friend yuji used to boast about the PPP before May 11 with this refrain: money talks, BS walks. And indeed the PPP regime had corrupted most State bodies with compliant handpicked favourites and perks. One cannot expect those people to cooperate with the coalition's audit team and hand over self-incriminating evidence in the form of supporting accounting documents. It's a case of the mystic files that requires 1,000 Perry Masons to solve. Chris Ram and Anand Goolsarran are trying but de foolice is suspected of tekking "instructions/money" fram de crooks.

True deh, and them PNC bais gon be walking in circles while the nation swirls in mis-management.

Good point.

Yes, this is what I was trying to get at.  They have to approach the investigations from many angles because they might not get cooperation from people who are still there and could very well be implicated.  For example, the Bobby Ramroop sole-sourcing contracts could be investigated all the way from the providers of the drugs to receipt in Guyana.  I have seen accusation that expired drugs were shipped to Guyana...if true, that is a crime to haul Bobby in then he will start to sing.

Good point.

True deh, and them PNC bais gon be walking in circles while the nation swirls in mis-management.

baseman, ah wah dis?

aren't u on record touting the Jagdeo/Ramotar regime as "clean"?

perhaps that was just your klown antiman side posting for pay, no?

– Foreign Minister told by Guyanese public

“Lock them up or shut up” – Foreign Minister told by Guyanese public

July 26, 2015 12:05 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-

By Fareeza Haniff

[www.inewsguyana.com] – Vice President, Carl Greenidge has admitted that the public is tired of hearing stories of wrong doings committed by government officials under the previous People’s Progressive Party (PPP) administration.

He too is of the view that no effective action has been taken by the new APNU+AFC government to reprimand those caught but at the same time, listed a number of excuses as to why the alleged wrong doers have not been charged and prosecuted, including the lack of evidence.

During his appearance on the radio programme, Hard Talk, aired on 90.1 Love FM, the Vice President, who is also the country’s Foreign Affairs Minister, was very careful about his comments on the issue, pointing out that it does not fall within his realm of responsibilities.

“There is an intention to prosecute them but the problem I think has to do with…the evidence and the lost, misplacement of evidence including the unwillingness of some people to speak, but also the weaknesses of the system,” Greenidge explained.

He criticized the prosecution service, which he opined is not doing their “work assiduously enough; giving all sorts of advice leading to non-prosecution.”

The Vice President also pointed out the lack of capacity of the Guyana Police Force and other agencies to effectively investigate and prosecute.

“The point that we’ve been making before the election is that everyone should be subject to the law. You just can’t be prosecuting the poor or those who are not well positioned and letting off your peers, those you are socially equal or those you went to school.

“And I hope not withstanding what it appears may have happened so far that that is not a hallmark of what is to unfold in future. I think there is a lot of pressure on the relevant ministers to ensure that people are prosecuted.”

He made it clear that he too has been approached by members of the public, who have expressed the desire to see some government officials behind bars.

“I keep getting approached saying look we’re not interested in hearing all those stories you have to tell, lock up some people. If they’ve done wrong, lock them up otherwise shut up.”

It is about time that APNU shut the Hell up and get on with the business of governing. There is no smoking gun.

Crime is getting out of control, worse than the PPP era.

Indos are being victimized by the PNC elements like racist supremacist Harmon.

The economy is in a tailspin.

Indo investors are now scared of the racists in the PNC to invest in Guyana.

Sugar is in trouble.

Rice Industry is in trouble.

Gold prices are plummeting.

Venezuela is creating a crisis.

90 Percent of Pre Election promises have been broken.

Time for APNU to change. Guyana is headed for disaster. APNU had all of the answers before the election and now these chaps are clueless.

I will say this, the current administration lacks talents or  the talented are not properly being utilized.