You kidding right? Basement gonna get so dam confused, one day he in PPP camp, next day he cussing people bout coolie dis an dat, now you want him wearing another colour coat, hahahahaha, funny tarass.

Oi base, go to it nuh man, leh we see funny confusing story hay. He gon start talk like we boy Ron.

The Base duz feed Jagdeo bigan choka and roti. He duz feed Granger saltfish and bake. Wonder what he would feed Shuman? 

Yuh have to admit the Base keeps all his options open. 

You kidding right? Basement gonna get so dam confused, one day he in PPP camp, next day he cussing people bout coolie dis an dat, now you want him wearing another colour coat, hahahahaha, funny tarass.

Oi base, go to it nuh man, leh we see funny confusing story hay. He gon start talk like we boy Ron.

The Base duz feed Jagdeo bigan choka and roti. He duz feed Granger saltfish and bake. Wonder what he would feed Shuman? 

For Shuman, Cassava pone and Labba pepperpot. 

And if that Putagee Poke Cain evva come round, me guh feed he rass Garlic Poke with big Birdy pepper ðŸŒķ. 

No bong pipe? 

peppah he baxside.

Person A:  can you show us proof that you have denounced your Canadian citizenship?

Shuman:  When Irfaan Ali show his certificate then I will show my papers.

I would think that citizenship is a more critical matter than certificates but he is free to retorting in this manner since Ali took the same foolish approach when addressing requests for proof of his certificates.

I don't think anyone will be able to slip through the cracks. They will all be under pressure from the Speaker of the House as well as MPs to substantiate their claims. Hopefully all MPs realize that the window for such objections is very narrow. I think it is 28 days or something like that.

Anyone who cannot substantiate their claims of citizenship or qualifications should not be allowed to hold public office.  BTW, the conversation above happened in New York yesterday.

I thought so. But I think it is difficult to cite him when Ali has also been obstinate. The PPP needs to switch Ali for Nandlall. This will remove their challenges. Of course, even Nandlall will not be enough to overcome any PNC rigging which seems most likely given their history and recent shenanigans. A much stronger indication of the old PNC paramountcy being alive and well is the PNC apparent current push for the PM also coming from the PNC segment of the so-called Coalition.

Hi Bibs, yuh up at the crease batting early.  Just left Singh’s Roti!

I think the appropriate authority in Guyana should ensure eligibility to hold office. 

Shuman’s response was appropriate given where the question came from, someone who likely is ineligible to vote in Guyana.

However, maybe he should have batted it away differently!

Oh, leh we hear dem now, baseman now with LJP!

Hi Bibs, yuh up at the crease batting early.  Just left Singh’s Roti!

I think the appropriate authority in Guyana should ensure eligibility to hold office. 

Shuman’s response was appropriate given where the question came from, someone who likely is ineligible to vote in Guyana.

However, maybe he should have batted it away differently!

Oh, leh we hear dem now, baseman now with LJP!

Two things Base.

Firstly, why yuh eating roti dis early in de maarnin?

Secondly, if Shuman's response was appropriate given that the person asking the question is unlikely to vote in Guyana, why is he even visiting Richmond Hill were all the people he is addressing are unlikely to vote in Guyana?

But if Ali can get away with it, so should Shuman. Although allegedly having fake certificates are not a disqualifying factor of being President as having dual citizenship.

Anyone who cannot substantiate their claims of citizenship or qualifications should not be allowed to hold public office.  BTW, the conversation above happened in New York yesterday.

If Ramkarran is the presidential candidate, I don't believe Shuman renounced his Canadian citizenship. You don't give up steak to eat cassava bread. 

Shuman is from the other 3rd force, not from ANUG.

What happened with Sheik, he fall down and bunce he head?

Yuh fell dunk an bunce yuh head? Dah nah Sheik. Dah ah Skelly. 

Oh yea, rass.  Dem bais all ”sound” the same!

I stand corrected. My apologies.
I still don't think most of these politicians will renounce their citizenship. The grass is greener on the other side.

Person A:  can you show us proof that you have denounced your Canadian citizenship?

Shuman:  When Irfaan Ali show his certificate then I will show my papers.

Quibbling about nonsense as usual. If he retains his Canadian citizenship he cannot be in parliament. That is all you need to know. He is right to be snide though a more temperate explanation as above would have served. 

You idiots ought to be congratulating him and sending him a few coins because as long as he is in the race the PPP will win the plurality. With him there the PNC would have to rig beyond 20 percent to safely steal the franchise. 

Further, for love of your country you should be happy to break the zero sum ethnic deadlock on electoral politics where one side wins the state as the prize of being racist and the other side loses out by slim margins. With a middle way we can see the means to transform our politics and benefit from the largess of our natural resources. Otherwise, all the wealth will end up down some rabbit hole created by the PPP  or the PNC

Since your first sentence is the reality why was asking the question necessary...or is it just the PPP goading as usual! This man has nothing to gain in holding office. It does not pay a third of what he presently earns. However, his being there would immeasurably transform the politics of our nation and possibly help us from cascading into another south Sudan. Lets be real.

The PNC will try to snatch this election. Further, if it is fair and the PPP wins the majority they will continue their unchecked thievery as usual. After alll, they have a well practiced one in the person of the candidate and he has the big kleptocracy monkey on his back. For love of country you should all be praying for a person of character have a finger in the dike. 

There is no doubt Shuman will get at least two seats.  Guyanese will need seats outside of the the two large parties to keep them in check.  If Shuman does his thing as a Parliamentarian he might be the man to beat in 2025.  Let’s wait and see.

How come when I used to say the same for years you never agreed.  I’ve always contended, regardless who forms the government, let them be handcuffed by a non-partisan third party. This was my reasoning for joining the AFC. 

I hope Shuman wins a few seats and shackle both the PPP and PNC.  That’s only hope I see for Guyana.  

There is no doubt Shuman will get at least two seats.  Guyanese will need seats outside of the the two large parties to keep them in check.  If Shuman does his thing as a Parliamentarian he might be the man to beat in 2025.  Let’s wait and see.

How come when I used to say the same for years you never agreed.  I’ve always contended, regardless who forms the government, let them be handcuffed by a non-partisan third party. This was my reasoning for joining the AFC. 

I hope Shuman wins a few seats and shackle both the PPP and PNC.  That’s only hope I see for Guyana.  

SWkont again you are being naive, Dat is waht you thought wid the Neemakaram Crabdaags. Yuh Prapa like tek licks bhai.

Yea, dem bannas witliss.  All dem want us power.  Ayuh coolies nah deh dung hay!!

So you classify yourself as a black man then? I hope if Shuman wins a few seats, he will take heed of the PNC track record and refuse to join forces with them.

No, me Indian, you and Nehru coolie, Ksazma cane cutter!😁

lef am, one day he will get lucky.

Banna, me always get lucky, especially when I wear me purple suit!!

Shuman colour is Purple? PNC is Green, AFC is yella, PPP is RED. Blackman is BLACK!!!

There's a general concensus that despite some people's long term allegiance we really can't afford to have the PNC and PPP have absolutely power for the next 50 the sellouts that were the AFC put a lot of people off but Shuman is cut from s different cloth with zero baggage.  In Queens last weekend

Ljp

• Ljp
Dougla_80 posted:

There's a general concensus that despite some people's long term allegiance we really can't afford to have the PNC and PPP have absolutely power for the next 50 the sellouts that were the AFC put a lot of people off but Shuman is cut from s different cloth with zero baggage.  In Queens last weekend

Ljp

He needs to ensure his party is not infiltrated by PPP and PNC crabs like those in the AFC who will sell their mothers for a dollar!

From stabroeknews

Indians and Amerindians are at the bottom of the economic pile and people still chasing PPP and PNC dreams. 

Dear Editor,

I was most impressed with a discourse given by Liberty and Justice Party leader Lenox Shuman on Saturday afternoon in Richmond Hill, Queens. It was the first time I heard Mr. Shuman give a live political speech. His remarks and body language, pitch and delivery were all good and the hallmarks of a decent politician, a man of integrity and decency.

He was very articulate, well-spoken, learned, knowledgeable on issues, direct, forceful, clear, concise, sharp, grammatically correct, coherent, balanced, versatile, quick-witted and eloquent in his remarks. It seemed to me that Shuman had a very sound educational background and was someone who read a lot because he was familiar with economics and political terms. He also displayed background knowledge in sociology (race relations) and anthropology (of Amerindian communities. And he is well versed in Guyana’s history and geography.  And Shuman had an attractive voice. It makes you want to listen to him unlike some politicians whose voice you would prefer not to hear – boring.

Shuman was so different from other Guyanese politicians I heard in Guyana and in the diaspora. He did not say what he thought people wanted to hear to fool them as career politicians do. But he spoke from the heart of what he sees as the most critical problems in Guyana and how they should be addressed. He did not bury the race problem under the carpet, and in fact said racism and corruption are the two elephants (biggest problems) that he feels are holding back Guyana’s development. Unlike other politicians who tend to avoid addressing these two intractable problems, Shuman addressed them head-on. And he charged both major parties with playing the race card and condoning corruption and of violating the constitution. If given a chance, he will stamp out corruption and take measures to end race politics. He will adhere to the tenets of the constitution. And he supports major constitutional reform.

He talked about the problems facing indigenous communities. He showed how marginalized and neglected are Amerindian communities, and he offered some ideas how to tackle this problem – building cheap accessible infrastructure to link the hinterland with the coast and creating jobs for them. He noted that Amerindians and East Indians have the highest poverty rate in Guyana with East Indians constituting the largest number of Guyanese living in poverty. He said the government should not have closed the sugar estates until there were alternatives to provide jobs for those who would be unemployed. He also chastised the PPP for not taking measures to modernize GuySuCo and or adopting creative measures to save the industry and or providing lands to the sugar workers to engage in agro industries. He supports land reforms to help former sugar workers get into agro industries. He feels the private sector should be empowered to address major problems facing the country. He also said that government has no business in running businesses. Government should facilitate business (with appropriate infrastructure) and not compete with business or get into business. He suggested ideas of employment creation and on enabling the poorer classes to own small businesses.

Shuman gave a lot of food for thought on why Guyanese should vote for him. He describes himself and his party as a true balance of power. And he has committed that he will never betray voters unlike another party that promised to be a balance of power force but betrayed those who supported it.

As someone pointed out, at no time were there scuffles or arguments in the room unlike when other parties held political meetings. Shuman listened to all views and he respected all opinions. He answered all questions. He censored or silenced no one. The audience was allowed to engage him. There was a give and take. No one was put out the room. The audience was impressed with his presence with some pointing out that he is not the typical run-of-the-mill politician who seeks to deceive listeners. Some in the audience like his plan for Guyana and like the idea of his party or other minor parties denying the two behemoths a majority in parliament. They like the idea of minor parties serving as a balance of power and expressed their disappointment that the AFC has betrayed the spirit of the idea of a balance of power. They invited Shuman to return to New York for a follow up exchange and some committed to raising funds for him.

Yours faithfully,

Dr. Vishnu Bisram