Good luck to the brother. He will attract PNC votes so no threat to the PPP. 

Why do you say this?

Don't you think there are others like him who really don't wish to see a repeat performance of PNC nor PPP?

I don't think PPP supporters will be fooled again. At least not so soon after 2015. I think they will think that a vote not for the PPP is a vote for the PNC. They will not trust any third party. At least not so soon after 2015.

Why do you say this?

Don't you think there are others like him who really don't wish to see a repeat performance of PNC nor PPP?

I don't think PPP supporters will be fooled again. At least not so soon after 2015. I think they will think that a vote not for the PPP is a vote for the PNC. They will not trust any third party. At least not so soon after 2015.

So what party was the Linden dude affiliated with, again?

Why do you say this?

The PPP. But now that he has exited the party, he will not attract PPP votes. The voters think different from the politicians. Politicians go where they think they can get the most. Voters don't.

Why do you say this?

The PPP. But now that he has exited the party, he will not attract PPP votes. The voters think different from the politicians. Politicians go where they think they can get the most. Voters don't.

Now let's say he was East Indian......

Why do you say this?

Now let's say he was East Indian......

He would still not get PPP votes. I think PPP voters are not going to help any third party reduce the PPP to a minority party. I think they saw what happened when the AFC voted with the APNU prior to 2015 and how the Coalition essentially became the PNC party after the 2015 elections. Many people were fooled with the AFC manifesto so they were willing to give the AFC and then the Coalition a chance for something better than what they were getting with the PPP. The dismal manner in which the Coalition governed over the past 3+ years have opened many eyes that they are not ready to govern. They too promised to reform the constitution but they didn't do so. ANUG is also promising to reform the constitution. My guess is that they are ignoring the fact that the voters aren't going to fall for that. ANUG is trying to be what the AFC was. PPP supporters aren't going to sabotage themselves this time around. At least I don't think so.

I like his political commentaries but not his political candidacy for president.  Reason for it is not convincing.. Constitutional reforms require a 2/3 vote minimum in parliament for an amendment.  The big parties dominate the seats and left nothing for a small party work in achieving such goal. Constitutional reforms can only happen when the big parties work together.  Forget about third force on this one issue.

So they must see the PPP as the lesser of the two evils. 

For someone who backed the PPP for approx 26 years to now leave the PPP to join this new party must speak volumes.

People leave jobs everyday for another where they think they will have better opportunities. Nothing wrong with that and the actions of politicians are usually more complicated than what meets the eye. Except in the case of Nagamootoo who swore that he would have to be a neemak haram to join the AFC. If he had become disillusioned with the PPP, he should have just resigned and maybe go into private law practice. While he was free to change his opinion about the PPP, changing his position about whether he was a neemak haram or not looked terrible on him.

Regarding your first question, the PPP has always been the lesser of the two evils.

For someone who backed the PPP for approx 26 years to now leave the PPP to join this new party must speak volumes.

People leave jobs everyday for another where they think they will have better opportunities. Nothing wrong with that and the actions of politicians are usually more complicated than what meets the eye. Except in the case of Nagamootoo who swore that he would have to be a neemak haram to join the AFC. If he had become disillusioned with the PPP, he should have just resigned and maybe go into private law practice. While he was free to change his opinion about the PPP, changing his position about whether he was a neemak haram or not looked terrible on him.

Regarding your first question, the PPP has always been the lesser of the two evils.

This is what I am appalled at. Both PPP and PNC are always looked at this way...one evil..one lesser evil. Yet with all the evilness people vote for them.

Too bad AFC never stood their ground and spoke up when wrongs were being committed but they ALL stood silent...well until now when (as being said) money talks.

This is what I am appalled at. Both PPP and PNC are always looked at this way...one evil..one lesser evil. Yet with all the evilness people vote for them.

Too bad AFC never stood their ground and spoke up when wrongs were being committed but they ALL stood silent...well until now when (as being said) money talks.

When I first joined GNI, I spent almost all my time on Social hardly knowing what takes place on Political. When Social was placed on life support, I looked over to Political. My first reaction to the AFC was that although they were still a relatively young party with no prospect for a majority vote anytime soon (The third party in the US has been around for about a century and has not really quite caught on in spite of so many people professing to be independent) they had gathered enough goodwill to keep the two major parties in check. They pretty much squandered that goodwill in 2015 so we are back to just the two major parties and when compared to each other, the PNC has the worse record. While not the ideal desire, it is the reality on the ground which voters have to chose from.

, the PNC has the worse record. While not the ideal desire, it is the reality on the ground which voters have to chose from.

That of course is your opinion.  Given that the majority of the voters dont have a time span prior to 1992, many not even aware of life before 2000 really screaming about the Burnham's PNC is irrelevant.   I see no evidence that the Coalition gov't in 2018 is any worse than the PPP in the 2000-2015 era.   

, the PNC has the worse record. While not the ideal desire, it is the reality on the ground which voters have to chose from.

That of course is your opinion.  Given that the majority of the voters dont have a time span prior to 1992, many not even aware of life before 2000 really screaming about the Burnham's PNC is irrelevant.   I see no evidence that the Coalition gov't in 2018 is any worse than the PPP in the 2000-2015 era.   

The Coalition government in 2018 couldn't even get their supporters to go out to vote. The PPP supporters came out in larger numbers which shows at least in that exercise, the PPP supporters were more motivated to demonstrate their objection to the Coalition than the PNC supporters were to show the support.

And you know who the PPP voters in Region 10 (which isnt necessarily Linden) are?  

General elections involve more than just region 10.

And you know who the PPP voters in Region 10 (which isnt necessarily Linden) are?  

General elections involve more than just region 10.

carib thinks the Douglas will keep the PNC in power. He does not count in the Chindians and the other mixed races that are not of negro ancestry.

The Coalition government in 2018 couldn't even get their supporters to go out to vote. The PPP supporters came out in larger numbers which shows at least in that exercise, the PPP supporters were more motivated to demonstrate their objection to the Coalition than the PNC supporters were to show the support.

The Coalition supporters didn't vote PPP so I dont know what your squawking was all about.  They signaled their disappointment with the coalition in places where they knew that the PPP wouldn't win.

Let me explain this to you. Whereas the PPP might win the national election they will lose the LGE in GT. So APNU supporters in GT knew that their decision not to vote wouldn't risk a PPP win.

In 1994 when there was a healthy LGE turn out the PPP won 28% of the GT votes. In 2018 when most stayed home the PPP won only 24%. So it appears to me as if the PPP base in GT was no more enthusiastic. 

Note that the PNC lost the GT LGE vote in 1994. I know that you forgot that.

I like his political commentaries but not his political candidacy for president.  Reason for it is not convincing.. Constitutional reforms require a 2/3 vote minimum in parliament for an amendment.  The big parties dominate the seats and left nothing for a small party work in achieving such goal. Constitutional reforms can only happen when the big parties work together.  Forget about third force on this one issue.

Wasn't it a member of the "Third  Force" that brought down two successive governments?  They can have a lot of say on the future of the country.  I like the fact that they announced they will not be joining any coalition.

I do hope they get two seats so they could keep any eye on corrupt dealings and bring down the next government if necessary.  But I personally do not like Ramkarran because he was one of the architect of the garbage constitution.  I also belief the constitution reform he is seeking is garbage because from what I understand he wants the constitution to mandate a "unity government."

VVP posted:

Wasn't it a member of the "Third  Force" that brought down two successive governments?  They can have a lot of say on the future of the country.  I like the fact that they announced they will not be joining any coalition.

I do hope they get two seats so they could keep any eye on corrupt dealings and bring down the next government if necessary.  But I personally do not like Ramkarran because he was one of the architect of the garbage constitution.  I also belief the constitution reform he is seeking is garbage because from what Iunderstand he wants the constitution to mandate a "unity government."

Be prepared for one party state, if that happens.

The Coalition supporters didn't vote PPP so I dont know what your squawking was all about.  They signaled their disappointment with the coalition in places where they knew that the PPP wouldn't win.

Let me explain this to you. Whereas the PPP might win the national election they will lose the LGE in GT. So APNU supporters in GT knew that their decision not to vote wouldn't risk a PPP win.

In 1994 when there was a healthy LGE turn out the PPP won 28% of the GT votes. In 2018 when most stayed home the PPP won only 24%. So it appears to me as if the PPP base in GT was no more enthusiastic. 

Note that the PNC lost the GT LGE vote in 1994. I know that you forgot that.

Carib, check this link  http://www.gecom.org.gy/post/get/results

Info on votes cast for all the parties at each polling stations in the 10 regions.

VVP posted:

I do hope they get two seats so they could keep any eye on corrupt dealings and bring down the next government if necessary.  But I personally do not like Ramkarran because he was one of the architect of the garbage constitution.  I also belief the constitution reform he is seeking is garbage because from what Iunderstand he wants the constitution to mandate a "unity government."

Be prepared for one party state, if that happens.

Yes, the carrion crow crowd will get larger to feast on the poor people.

If people are not happy with their candidates both PPP and PNC, there could be further defections.

If you defect from PPP, you live with your conscience. If you defect from AFC, someone will say "what the fuuk you doing?" or "yuh gon dead tonight." If you defect from PNC ... try um nuh....

You dead instantly?

If people are not happy with their candidates both PPP and PNC, there could be further defections.

If you defect from PPP, you live with your conscience. If you defect from AFC, someone will say "what the fuuk you doing?" or "yuh gon dead tonight." If you defect from PNC ... try um nuh....

You dead instantly?

You have a point.  I didn’t think of that.