Emerging Markets Report

Feb. 8, 2012, 12:00 a.m. EST

Ghana hatches start-ups with high hurdles
West African entrepreneurs seek to chart future of Internet
By Clair MacDougall
ACCRA, Ghana (MarketWatch) — In a light blue, three-story concrete house in the suburbs of Ghana’s capital, young entrepreneurs are developing online applications they hope will make them into the Mark Zuckerbergs of Africa.

They spend long days and nights coding, strategizing and preparing to launch new software companies in an environment where competition is becoming stiffer and more Ghanaians are striving to create Web-based offerings they dream might become the next Facebook.

These entrepreneurs are the top graduates of the Meltwater Entrepreneurial School of Technology, an academy at the center of one of the highest-profile efforts to boost software development in sub-Saharan Africa. At the school’s incubator, as well as in other classrooms and informal gatherings around the country, a burgeoning number of tech-savvy people are charting the future of the Web in Africa and hoping to influence the world’s online ecosystem. But they face high hurdles in a continent with low Internet penetration and poor infrastructure, as well as scant progress in literacy.

MEST
The Meltwater Entrepreneurial School of Technology campus. With the MEST Incubator facilities next door, trainees can interact with those starting new companies. MEST, set up in 2008 by Jorn Lyseggen, a Norwegian tech entrepreneur and chief executive of the Meltwater Group, graduated its first 20 students in 2010 and 20 more last year. At the light-blue incubator next door, graduates are using seed funding of between $30,000 and $200,000 to develop software businesses that will reach both Ghanaian and global markets.

“What we are trying to do is create a demonstration effect through companies and illustrate that software is a medium to achieve great things,” said Michael Szymanski, MEST’s director of business development.

Explosive growth in mobile Web
Many of the software firms being set up by the entrepreneurs at MEST are mobile-based, with developers acutely aware that most Africans now access the Internet via wireless phones.

In 1998, there were fewer than 4 million on the continent, but today there are around 500 million, according to the 2011 Mobile Africa Report, published by Internet organization Mobile Monday. Ghana currently has a mobile-phone penetration of 80.5%, the country’s National Communications Authority says.

However, Ghana and Africa as a whole are still lagging far behind other nations and regions in terms of Internet usage and access. The continent only has an Internet penetration rate of 11.4%, compared with the world average of 30.2%, according to Internet World Stats. Ghana is well below the African average, with 5.2% penetration. But telecommunications companies such as Vodafone Group PLC (NASDAQ:VOD) , South Africa’s MTN Group Ltd. (JNB:ZA:MTN) and Glo are expanding Internet service in Ghana. It may be just in time: Almost 40% of the population is under age 15.

Click to Play How young’s too young to be CEO?Facebook’s Mark Zuckerberg (above) is 27 and Groupon’s Andrew Mason is a few years his senior. Dennis Berman and Evan Newmark discuss. (Photo: Getty Images)
Projects being developed at the MEST incubator include Claimsync, an online system for processing health-insurance claims; Saya, a Web-to-SMS chat application suitable for lower-end phones and BlackBerrys; and Streemio, a music-streaming service.

Another is Nandimobile, which makes software that companies can use to communicate with customers via SMS and search for patterns in queries so they can quickly respond to customer requests. In February 2011, Nandimobile won the “Best Business” award at the Launch conference in San Francisco, in competition with almost 100 Silicon Valley start-ups.

More than MEST
Interest in tech development in Ghana extends well beyond MEST and its incubator. In the nation’s major cities including Kumasi, young techies are pushing the boundaries of software development, social networking, tweeting and blogging. Forums like BarCamp, TEDx Ghana and events such as Accra Startup weekends — where software entrepreneurs have 54 hours to create a viable Web or mobile application and business model — attract hundreds of Ghanaians.

Chapters of the group Mobile Monday, which sprang up in different cities around the world about 10 years ago, meet monthly in Accra. In Kumasi, weekly forums focus on the way in which mobile apps can be used to improve basic services in the country. “When I’m at the Mobile Monday events, I feel like I am at any tech conference or informal meeting of tech entrepreneurs in Silicon Valley,” Szymanski said.

Ghanaian Web developer Bobby Okine, who works with the IT department at Ghana’s Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, and Haitian-American Pierre Bruanche Jr. decided to start up mFriday events, a takeoff of Mobile Mondays, after undergraduates at the school expressed an interest in software development.

“We identified those who were technically competent, selected some people to train,” said Okine. “We have it up and running now; there are over 200 students.” Visit the mFriday site.

While Internet developers are optimistic about the future for software development in Ghana, they face a number of hurdles. Edward Amartey-Tagoe, a co-founder of Nandimobile, said the main challenge is coming up with applications that are appealing to and usable by people outside of Ghana, which is about the size of Oregon and has a relatively small population of more than 24 million and fairly low — if rising — literacy.

“We have enough brainpower to come up with the kind of software; the problem is whether or not we will have enough usage locally and whether we can get enough people in Ghana and in Africa to use the software,” Amartey-Tagoe commented. “That problem is tied to our low levels of income and low literacy rates. … When you come up with apps that are complicated, you don’t get too many people using them.”

Yet the success of companies such as Esoko, a mobile-based agricultural information platform that allows farmers, businesses and organizations to receive and share prices and other information via text message, shows that Web-to-SMS applications can cater to groups of people with lower levels of education and technological skill.

Esoko, formerly TradeNet, was launched in Ghana by Welsh-South African tech entrepreneur Mark Davies in 2005 and now provides market and pricing data to around 10,000 farmers in Ghana alone. Information from the 16 African countries in which Esoko operates is channeled through the company’s modern, three-level office in the heart of Accra, where 65 Ghanaian developers and support staff work.

Homegrown talent
Kwesi Acquah, a Ghanaian blogger who works in the communications department at Esoko, said that most of the developers at the company and in Ghana had been educated here at home: “Most of the older generation of Ghanaian developers went abroad, but you will find developers of this generation were trained locally.”

Dr. Nii Narku Quaynor — often called “the father or the Internet in Africa” because he established some of the first connections in Ghana and other parts of West Africa — long has argued that the Internet has a central role to play in driving economic development throughout the continent and bridging the north-south economic divide.

Dr. Nii Narku Quaynor In his office in Accra, the 62-year-old Quaynor fiddles with an iPhone as his iPad sits in front of him. “We have to be involved,” he said. “If you are not involved, you are just a consumer of foreign things. But you want these things to be localized to fit your environment.”

Quaynor has often spoken about the emancipatory potential of the Internet for Africa and argues that more needs to be done to increase Web penetration in Africa and to boost innovation and technology education across the continent. He also makes the case that the Internet can help strengthen democracy efforts, in a place where dictatorship and war have cast long shadows.

“Let’s democratize it and make sure everyone can get involved,” Quaynor said. “It’s a revolutionary mission.”

Back at MEST, Szymanski and the new generation of developers in Ghana think the small West African nation is well on its way to becoming the continent’s nerve center for software development.

“I split my time between Ghana and San Francisco, and in terms of the quality of the ideas I don’t see much a difference,” he said. “The creativity is there, the excitement is there, the networks are developing and I think that it could be new the Web hub of Africa.”

Ghana's ascendancy in Information Technology (IT) is even beyond what's in the article. I've seen it close up as the CTO of my company is a Ghanian with active involvement in Internet development in the continent of Africa. Ghana has been the leader in the African AfriNIC - the Registry of Internet numbers. Our CTO's peers and close friends have been given numerous awards including the prestigious Postel Service Award for Internet development by the ISOC organization that went to Quaynor, whom I had the pleasure of meeting. Their cloud services is on par with some of the middle-tier service providers in the US.

Brian Yong - the Guyanese broadband service provider in Georgetown - has a service in Ghana too.

There is a lot going on there, and indeed Guyana can follow in Ghana's footsteps in IT development. Guyana does not need call centers only - and we do have. What we need are relationships with US companies that allow Guyanese companies to do back-end IT jobs. I know there is a Surinamese company that does this for a major Holland software company. Guyana has IT graduates from UG and we have the English language advantage. Trinidad was the natural home for companies like HP, Microsoft and Dell to provide tech support for the Caribbean, including hardware deliveries. The question is why not Guyana?
Jawaharal how long has the PPP being in office,like yu draining the vodka bottle early bai...the typical RH indo blaming the PNC ....I did not realise that the PPP came to power last november...hmmmm....
Since that 28 long, hard, violent and hungry-belly period, Guyana has been transformed to a PEARL, a PARADISE a Beauty. If you need spectacles, RH gat sale right now, buy one Pair and get second FREE.
Note that it was a white Norweigan who started the school to help the Ghanaians. Also they will be able to leverage economies of scale considering the potential large African population. Also noteworthy is that there is acknowledgement that the school actively seek out persons with logic skills, not everyone is cut out for software engineering.
Originally posted by BGurd_See:
Note that it was a white Norweigan who started the school to help the Ghanaians.g.

nd Ghanaians are doing quite well with the training.

Maybe the WHITE Norweigian should have gone to Guyana instead.
Originally posted by Pooran_Lall:
Look how dis blackman kundry a do bettah than guyana coolieman government.

Pooran:

You know the Rev's mantra:

Now, check this out Pooran:

GHANA VS GUYANA---GDP PER CAPITA---2010($US)

Ghana: $1283

Guyana: $2945

Did you see those numbers Pooran ?

Ask your son to explain which is bigger--Ghana's $1283 or Guyana's $2945

SOME OF YOU LOSERS REALLY DESPISE EAST INDIAN LED GUYANA.

Originally posted by Rev Al:

SOME OF YOU LOSERS REALLY DESPISE EAST INDIAN LED GUYANA.

Guyana is led by Guyanese. Those of you who are fixated on race should get over it.
Originally posted by Henry:
Guyana is led by Guyanese. Those of you who are fixated on race should get over it.

Henry:

In a perfect world you'd be correct.

In an imperfect world you have to take your head out of the sand----deal with reality.

Pooran_lall believes that the leaders in Ghana are superior to the leaders of Guyana.

THE REV HAD TO DISCIPLINE HIM.

$2945 > $1283

Hey, hey, fellahs.....get back on topic. What the Ghanians are doing in the IT space is something Guyanese should strive for.Forget GDP and all that stuff. What good is the US GGDP if most of the income and wealth is concetrated in a few hands? What good is the best health care delivery in the world if 50 million people don't have access to it. Why brag about Guyana's GDP relative to other countries when Guyana has more areas of growth index to tackle. Be smart about your posts. A lot of responses in this thread can be deleted and we would not lose anything.
Originally posted by caribj:
IMF 2011 GDP per capita 2011. Guyana $3,200. Barbados $15.800.

Deal with that.

That looks like Barbados's GDP is under $16 Big Grin Big Grin

I know you meant to put a comma and not a period.

Deal with that.

carib:

I see you are moving the goal post---from Ghana to Barbados.

Listen! After oil is discovered, after the new gold mines being developed by the Canadians come on line, after the Russians increase production in bauxite 5 fold, after rice production increases 50%, and after sugar production increases 33%---all within the next 5 years---TALK TO THE REV THEN ABOUT GUYANA & BARBADOS. Big Grin

Deal with that.

True deh bai, dem lil island and TT gatt moo per capita dann abie lil sh0ntry. But comin' from $300 in 1992, datt aint too baad, eh. But mi waan see abie goa to $6,000 in 5 years. Abie gon wuk fa datt, juss dont tell yuh Buxton terrorists fa start lootin', bunnin', killin' and rapin'....gatt mi drift!!
Originally posted by Kari:
Why brag about Guyana's GDP relative to other countries when Guyana has more areas of growth index to tackle

Poster Pooran_lall commented that the government of Ghana was doing a better job than the government of Guyana regarding economic progress---the Rev countered with the GDP per capita stat.

RE: GROWTH INDICES

As you are aware, when the PPP took over---94% of Guyana's revenues was used to service debt---today that figure is around 5%

With more money available the PPP government has spent huge sums in areas such as health care and education---particularly in the hinterland areas---they have also initiated training programs for kids who have quit school.

RE: ECONOMIC GROWTH

I have already mentioned some of the huge private sector projects that will come on line in the near future.

RE: Information Technology

You are aware of the fiber optic cable that is being run between Brazil and Guyana---once that is completed---thousands of new jobs will be created.

CONCLUSION:

Guyanese are among the smartest and most resourceful people on this planet---the Rev is rooting for Guyanese remaining in Guyana to succeed.

Hey, hey, fellahs.....get back on topic. What the Ghanians are doing in the IT space is something Guyanese should strive for.Forget GDP and all that stuff. What good is the US GGDP if most of the income and wealth is concetrated in a few hands? What good is the best health care delivery in the world if 50 million people don't have access to it. Why brag about Guyana's GDP relative to other countries when Guyana has more areas of growth index to tackle. Be smart about your posts. A lot of responses in this thread can be deleted and we would not lose anything.

That is the problem with this site. You can't have a serious discussion on anything without it generating into race, petty name calling and Rev with his numerable nics spamming the threads with useless pictures and rubbish. I think though that the govt of Guyana has missed a trick in not focusing on the knowledge economy.
Why brag about Guyana's GDP relative to other countries when Guyana has more areas of growth index to tackle

Poster Pooran_lall commented that the government of Ghana was doing a better job than the government of Guyana regarding economic progress---the Rev countered with the GDP per capita stat.

RE: GROWTH INDICES

As you are aware, when the PPP took over---94% of Guyana's revenues was used to service debt---today that figure is around 5%

With more money available the PPP government has spent huge sums in areas such as health care and education---particularly in the hinterland areas---they have also initiated training programs for kids who have quit school.

RE: ECONOMIC GROWTH

I have already mentioned some of the huge private sector projects that will come on line in the near future.

RE: Information Technology

You are aware of the fiber optic cable that is being run between Brazil and Guyana---once that is completed---thousands of new jobs will be created.

CONCLUSION:

Guyanese are among the smartest and most resourceful people on this planet---the Rev is rooting for Guyanese remaining in Guyana to succeed.

While you accuse CaribJ of moving the goal posts, I see you've taken Guyana's further back - all the way to 1992. Hear this - it is time to measure progress against 1992 state; it's looong gone. Measure by what Guyanese are capable of doing. Don't look backwards. If you see a Guyanese stumbling, pick him up, but don't say "bannaz, stumbling is better than 1992 when the man couldn't even walk". Get my drift?

nd Ghanaians are doing quite well with the training.

Maybe the WHITE Norweigian should have gone to Guyana instead.

He was doing humanitarian work, in Guyana people are much better off. In fact they have grown lazy with all the milk from PPP.

Deal with that.

Again Whites and other foreign investors in the tourist industry is responsible for higher per capita. ahahhahaah
While you accuse CaribJ of moving the goal posts, I see you've taken Guyana's further back - all the way to 1992. Hear this - it is time to measure progress against 1992 state; it's looong gone. Measure by what Guyanese are capable of doing. Don't look backwards. If you see a Guyanese stumbling, pick him up, but don't say "bannaz, stumbling is better than 1992 when the man couldn't even walk". Get my drift?

Kari:

Go back and read my post---CAREFULLY!

You said, "don't look backwards."

Well kari, I pointed out to you that after Guyana's debt load was alleviated---thanks mainly to debt relief and write offs---the government was able to spend millions on education, healthcare, training programs for young people---they also focused on assisting single mothers---they assisted abused women also---pensions for older folks were increased.

RE: ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

I pointed out the major projects that were in the pipeline---the government has encouraged and welcomed foreign direct investments---oil, gold mining, manganese, bauxite, etc

RE: INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

I believe you mentioned a while back you are in the IT field---so you are much more informed than the Rev in this area---what I do know is the government is installing a fiber optic cable between Brazil and Guyana---you can expound on the benefits that would bring to Guyana.

RE: YOUR COMMENT BELOW

kari wrote
If you see a Guyanese stumbling, pick him up, but don't say "bannaz, stumbling is better than 1992 when the man couldn't even walk". Get my drift?

No! I dont get your drift---please explain and I'll respond to you.

But my contention is I am pleased with the direction Guyana is headed under the PPP.

Are PPP politicians greedy and corrupt ?

Absolutely! Quite a few are.

I read an article in the Wall Street Journal recently about the immense growth and development that is taking in Indonesia right now---the big problem the Prime Minister and the country faces ?

STEMMING CORRUPTION!

Same in Guyana---there will be remarkable economic progress going forward---the rich will get richer---politicians will prosper---there will be corruption---but on the whole I am confident that the country will benefit from the foreign and local investments--and from the social programs the government has put in place and is continuing to put in place.

Hey, hey, fellahs.....get back on topic. What the Ghanians are doing in the IT space is something Guyanese should strive for.
Why? Most "IT" is just for entertainment, much of it porn. What the world needs is a vast expansion of agricultural output, along with major expansion of energy production and manufacturing related to infrastructure development. Somewhere in all that there is a role for Guyana (see my message to Guyanese patriots.) Then Guyana could hold up its head as a productive member of the world community, and not just a bunch of fellows who figured out how to grab some money (remember some of the more notorious "IT" specialists in Nigeria, for example.)

CONCLUSION:

Abie smart nah! How come abie gah waan lil sk0ntry wid so much land and tings and abie ga so much poverty. Abie smart, how come all dem yung peeple a tek plane run get away soon as dem det lil educashun. Abie suh smaart, how come abie coolies a jump up and prance da black America prezzy an' ada politicians but abie a run wenn abie see wan black man foa prezzy donk hay.

If abie smart, is muss be fram da batty-up.
Originally posted by Sledgehammer:
If abie smart, is muss be fram da batty-up.

There is no need to be so cynical Sledgie!

No country on this planet has experienced a greater brain drain the past 30 years, in terms of percentage of population, than Guyana.

Guyanese, for the most part, have excelled everywhere they have gone.

Sure you have crooks and con-artists. But for every Ed Ahmed(alleged $50 million fraudster) you can find hundreds of hard working, productive, successful overseas Guyanese.

RE: GUYANESE IN GUYANA TODAY

Guyana continues to produce bright young men and women---and with the country's economic prospests improving, many of those youngsters will choose to stay in Guyana and contribute to its growth and development.

Sledge, you and your twin brother Pooran_lall need to be more optimistic--Guyana has come a long way from the PNC days---the Rev sees light at the head of the tunnel for Guyanese in Guyana.

Why? Most "IT" is just for entertainment, much of it porn. What the world needs is a vast expansion of agricultural output, along with major expansion of energy production and manufacturing related to infrastructure development. Somewhere in all that there is a role for Guyana (see my message to Guyanese patriots.) Then Guyana could hold up its head as a productive member of the world community, and not just a bunch of fellows who figured out how to grab some money (remember some of the more notorious "IT" specialists in Nigeria, for example.)

Well said Henry bhai! Well said!

RE: AGRICULTURE

RICE: In 2011 Guyana produced 400,000 tons of rice---more acres are under cultivation---production will increase 50% over the next 5 years.

SUGAR: This industry has had serious problems---only 230,000 tons produced last year---hopefully the 200 million skeldon factory will get its act together and production will increase.

COCONUTS: I dont have the figures--but the industry is growing.

RE: ENERGY

Hydro would be good, but there is something crooked about the folks involved in Amalia falls---the AFC and APNU need to look into this.

RE: OIL

In 6 months the world will know of Guyana will join fellow South American countries Venezuela, Brazil, Columbia and French Guiana as a major oil producer.

RE: INFRASTRUCTURE

* Deep water harbor planned in Berbice and Linden

* Bridge to Surinamme

* Road from Brazil to Linden to be paved

* Lots more infrastructure projects planned.

All indicators are pointing skywards for Guyana.

Originally posted by Prashad:
Congrats Henry you got an A from Rev Al. Keep the paper Henry then you can show Habeeb Khan that you got an A from Rev Al.

Pras:

If Henry bhai were to meet the Rev in person--he'd cherish that A grade. Big Grin

Hey, hey, fellahs.....get back on topic. What the Ghanians are doing in the IT space is something Guyanese should strive for.
Why? Most "IT" is just for entertainment, much of it porn.

I thought you was smarter than that. You really do not understand IT.
I see you are moving the goal post---from Ghana to Barbados.

Why not and after oil you will still be behind Barbados as the PPP will steal most of it and shift it to their a/c in Miami.
Originally posted by BGurd_See:

Deal with that.

Again Whites and other foreign investors in the tourist industry is responsible for higher per capita. ahahhahaah

haiti has better beaches than barbados and is closer to the USA. Yet you know how poor they are.

Give Bdos credit. They have a stable environment which attracts foreign investors which has delivered a high standard of living for its people.
When meh nah know what fuh seh meh a contact meh dacta buddy in Merika. Meh buddy seh Barbados a do betta than coolieman run Guyana. Dem blackman ah Barbados bright bad. Dem people gat nuff nuff nuff educuation. Dem blackman know how fuh run dem affairs. Abe coolieman goverment ah allow drug pusha fuh run police.
Give Bdos credit. They have a stable environment which attracts foreign investors which has delivered a high standard of living for its people.

Carib bhai:

Credit must, indeed, be given to Barbados---their GDP growth rate until 2007 was remarkable.

But 78% of the Barbadian economy is service related--and since 2008 Barbados has struggled.

COMPARING BARBADOS & GUYANA GDP GROWTH RATE SINCE 2008:

YEAR....BARBADOS....GUYANA

2008.....-0.18%.......2.6%

2009.....-4.68%.......3.3%

2010.......0.34%......3.6%

2011.......2.0%.......4.7%

Guyana's GDP gowth rate will continue in an upward trajectory in the coming years---Barbados will continue to struggle.

But no question about it---Barbados has a delightful success.