A Leopold Street, Georgetown man was shot dead by two Police Officers after reportedly committing a number of robberies.

Dead is Odinga Williams.  The shooting occurred on Norton Street, Wortmanville at about 01:45hrs Wednesday.

The News Room understands that about 01:30hrs, two Police Officers responded to a report made at the Stabroek Police Outpost of an alleged robbery under arms.

Two residents from the Soesdyke Linden Highway –Louie Dublin and Nicola La Cruz- were among the number of persons robbed.

Reports are that the Police Officers went in search of the suspects and while in the vicinity of High and Leopold Streets they saw two males on bicycles heading east on Leopold Street.

Police ranks responded to the area after residents began burning tyres in the middle of the road.

The officers chased the suspects and caught up with Williams on Norton Street, who then reportedly jumped off his bicycle and pulled out a firearm and discharged two rounds at the officers.

The officers returned fire and Williams was shot in the abdomen and chest area. He was taken to the Georgetown Public Hospital where he was pronounced dead on arrival.

A .38 revolver with one live round and two spent shells were recovered from the scene.

A blue haversack was also recovered and found with suspected cannabis, $10,900 cash, three cellular phones, one metal chain, one plastic-beaded chain, one pair of sunglasses and a roll of toilet tissue.

Relatives of the dead man began protesting early Wednesday on Leopold Street.

Police ranks responded to the area after residents began burning tyres in the middle of the road.

Williams’ sister, Omesha Murphy, claimed that her brother was shot and robbed of a gold chain and cash.

Omesha Murphy claimed that her brother was shot and robbed of a gold chain and cash.

“He was going home to his wife; they shoot he up and rob he. We gotta get justice for my brother death,” the sister said.

Relatives told the media that Williams had just returned from French Guiana about two months ago and was seeking employment.

The News Room understands that he was the father of two children.

“He aint get a robbery charge, he ain’t get a murder charge, he ain’t known to no police…so I don’t know why they kill me brother,” the sister said.

Relatives said he was shot on Norton Street and Police reportedly took him to Princes Street where he died.

“They shoot he up and after they realize he ain’t dead, they carry he and rob he,” the sister said.

Relatives said that they would continue to protest until justice is served.

Police ranks were at the scene assessing the situation.

The News Room will provide more updates as the story unfolds.

https://newsroom.gy/2019/09/18...rotests-for-justice/

Images (2)
  • mceclip1
  • mceclip0

This is not about election, so ayo think what’s coming if PPP wins. 

The smart Redux and Carib families burn tyres until the fire caught the phone wires  and burned them.. so now them without phone. 

At one time they fear the fire will run to their homes ... lard have mercy. 

The riot police shows up and was stone... they were slowly backing away . 

The smart Redux and Carib families burn tyres until the fire caught the phone wires  and burned them.. so now them without phone.

but far better than your dumb as a stump, blacker-than-mine family who traffic and sell cocaine when not putting their daughta up for sale for small money

rite?

Leopold Street protesters damage Fire Service vehicle

Protestors on Leopold Street, Werk-en-rust, Georgetown on Wednesday threw missiles at a Guyana Fire Service vehicle, damaging the front windshield and passenger window, Police Headquarters said in a statement.

Residents of Leopold Street and relatives of 34-year-old Orin Odingo Williams began protesting at about 09:00hrs Wednesday after Williams was shot dead by two Police Officers after midnight Tuesday.

Residents burnt tyres and other debris at the corner of Breda, Leopold and Durban streets.

The protest lasted for about four hours. Heavy police presence was at the scene but could not control the residents.

The Guyana Fire Service subsequently arrived to extinguish the fire but was met with resistance from the residents.

‘A’ Division Commander and Assistant Commissioner of Police Marlon Chapman spoke with the residents in the presence of attorney-at-law Nigel Hughes and assured them that a thorough investigation into the matter will be conducted, Police Headquarters noted.

After this, the residents ended their protest and extinguished the fires.

Williams was shot in the abdomen and chest area on Norton Street, Wortmanville at about 01:45hrs Wednesday.

The News Room understands that about 01:30hrs, two Police Officers responded to a report made at the Stabroek Police Outpost of an alleged robbery under arms.

Four persons were reportedly held at gunpoint at the corner of Hadfield and High Streets by three men and robbed of four cell phones, an undisclosed amount of cash and personal documents.

Dead: Orin Odingo Williams

A report was made to the Stabroek Police Outpost after which the two Police Officers went in search of the suspects and while in the vicinity of High and Leopold Streets they saw two males on bicycles heading east on Leopold Street.

The officers chased the suspects and caught up with Williams on Norton Street. He reportedly jumped off his bicycle and pulled out a firearm and discharged two rounds at the officers.

The officers returned fire and Williams was shot in the abdomen and chest area. He was taken to the Georgetown Public Hospital where he was pronounced dead on arrival.

Police Headquarters said that the robbery victims positively identified Williams as one of the three suspects who robbed them.

Williams was a father of two and returned to Guyana about two months ago after serving prison time in French Guiana.

• mceclip0

but far better than your dumb as a stump, blacker-than-mine family who traffic and sell cocaine when not putting their daughta up for sale for small money

rite?

Is that what your mother do to drag you up in life. 

rite?

this is the second time you drag my dead mother into your filth

i let it pass the 1st time

be forewarned

rite?

be forewarned

Look at your post about, you deserve worst. You hope to get sympathy for your death mother, by mentioning she’s no longer in this world. May her soul Rest In Peace. 

rite?

be forewarned

May her soul Rest In Peace. 

good

This is another example of wrong and strong behavior. Current allegations are that Williams was responsible for a few robberies prior to opening fire on police officers who shot and killed him during the incident. If this is the reaction to a criminal incident imagine how quickly Guyana will go up in smoke when the PNC doesn’t win the elections and calls out their supporters to indulge in criminal unrest. Dark days ahead for Guyana as the Coalition continue to sink it deeper into constitutional crisis.

They are sending a signal of what is coming.  Rioting continued for four hours.  Police couldn’t stop them.  It was only when Nigel Hughes showed up and told them to down arms then they stopped.

How do you equate a simple robbery issue with widespread violence presumably occurring after the election if the PPP wins? 

AND, is the violence going to be there if the coalition wins?

What we see is the influence of what’s happening in the USA. The difference, in America some of these youths are unarmed with no criminal record and did not commit a crime or a minor infraction.   

This person whipped out a gun against the police so he got what he deserved.  The government needs to act decisively against such hooliganism.  

I could have understood anger if some unarmed youth was killed!

Nah. PPP would have contained that much better.  You see what the Linden hooligans got?   Couple of those rioters should have been made an example!

How do you equate a simple robbery issue with widespread violence presumably occurring after the election if the PPP wins? 

AND, is the violence going to be there if the coalition wins?

History is the best lesson. Check from 1992 for reference. Regarding if the Coalition wins, refer to the events following the elections in 2015. This even though the PPP had a solid reason to contest the ‘final’ vote count.

Amral posted:

Roll of toilet paper the man carrying. I guess in case shit hold him lol. 

Most public rest rooms does not even have toilet paper and some that have, got a lock steel grill around the dispenser... 

sachin_05 posted:
Amral posted:

Roll of toilet paper the man carrying. I guess in case shit hold him lol. 

Most public rest rooms does not even have toilet paper and some that have, got a lock steel grill around the dispenser... 

They need the India solution.  Hose yuh ass down, air dry with a fan, then get going!  Nothing to tief!  But then that’s Guyana! Yuh never know!

This brother went to church and was going home back to his wife and kids, never mind the victim cell phones were found on him. 

According to media reports, he was recently released from jail in French Guiana. 

Where is Djanjo, he knows this neighbourhood. 

This brother went to church and was going home back to his wife and kids, never mind the victim cell phones were found on him. 

According to media reports, he was recently released from jail in French Guiana. 

He got what he deserved!   A few of those hooligans should have been made to join him!

That part of the Street never changed since i was living in GT, in the 70's at Durban and Smyth St.

That's the hide out for GT choke and robbers.

I worked on that Street and there was always action around. If that guy was shooting at the police he died the way he lived.

Here we see the police doing the job they are paid to do....they even took out their own mattie so you guys got nothing to worry about them giving blacks preference.

A wan good Pickney, he does guh ah chuch. he prapa good, police bad!!

I worked on that Street and there was always action around. If that guy was shooting at the police he died the way he lived.

Here we see the police doing the job they are paid to do....they even took out their own mattie so you guys got nothing to worry about them giving blacks preference.

They need to do to the rioting hooligans what was done at Linden!

Nehru bai, There is a robbery at a store and people chased them out. Two men ran out, one a white dude and one a black dude. Which one of the two guys do you think they would chase?

Whichever they chase doesn’t matter. Either one is a criminal.

No one knows if any one of these guys stole. They could be running out of the store for different reasons. Not because I drive a Mercedes I am rich.

Had he not shot at the police first, he would still be alive today. The place is a lot safer with him gone.

He was probably a member of the gang that robbed the temple three times. They must have been on their way to rob a church.

True, but if he was found to possess several phones that didn't belong to him, he isn't an innocent bystander. Was he on his way to hand them in to the nearest police station after he found them on the street?

Mr.T posted:

True, but if he was found to possess several phones that didn't belong to him, he isn't an innocent bystander. Was he on his way to hand them in to the nearest police station after he found them on the street?

That is a Ronan type statement...meaning[Vomit soak shakebatty statement]….

Not because I drive a Mercedes I am rich.

That is what I keep telling people, especially because it rass ole as Iman.

Bai, nah knack ole cars (vehicles). Me son in college and he younger dan meh 2003 4Runner. 

• mceclip1

Banna mine is a '98 C280 benz, runs like new. Newer cars have too many additions to go wrong. Ford recently recalled vehicles because of seat belts catching fire. Now how on earth does this happen? Then there is new shit used instead of air for tyres, one valve alone runs close to $100, it's all bullshit. The manufacturer that comes up with a basic car without all the stupid gimmicks will get my dollars.

I might get a 4x4 for where I now live.

Anyway  back to the thread. Why the heck does a man take a gun to church, hunting for the guys who strung up Jesus?

Banna mine is a '98 C280 benz, runs like new. Newer cars have too many additions to go wrong. Ford recently recalled vehicles because of seat belts catching fire. Now how on earth does this happen? Then there is new shit used instead of air for tyres, one valve alone runs close to $100, it's all bullshit. The manufacturer that comes up with a basic car without all the stupid gimmicks will get my dollars.

I might get a 4x4 for where I now live.

Anyway  back to the thread. Why the heck does a man take a gun to church, hunting for the guys who strung up Jesus?

I agree that the older cars are less complicated although the newer ones are safer irrespective of that seat belt catching afire that you mentioned above. Nowadays, you can hardly fix anything yourself as everything requires a computer input. That new air is nitro but I believe you can use regular air with it too. The run flat is nothing new. We used to drive run flat in Guyana even back in the 80's.   I got a flat driving on Haley street one night close to midnight but there was no way I am stopping there to change my wheel. So I carefully drove run flat to Durban street where they had a tire shop that opens all night and had it patched there. I like the 4runner but the newer ones are too bulky. Now that I have been driving this high off the road, I am not very comfortable driving cars. Thankfully my ritual of filling up gas for all the cars only have to take me about 2 miles away.  I do this on a Sunday morning while others are still sleeping or in church.

Not because I drive a Mercedes I am rich.

That is what I keep telling people, especially because it rass ole as Iman.

I drive a 2013Honda Civic. They have been great to me. Simple and modest.

Kaz, you are lucky in your area you dont need winter gas and summer gas. Many are not aware of this difference , we see it a lot here if a vehicle isn't driven regularly and winter comes in, especially when using garden tractors, chainsaws etc. They try to start these with the same gas used in summer and get nothing then bring them to us for repair.