Originally Posted by Django:

I doan know the man but I aint win a dam ting yet so I goin with what django said

Cain my uncle had a 78rpm viynl with one of his song

i remembered from their conversation the singer lost

an eye.

i got this from the net.

"Neville Kalicharan" singer of the song "OH GUYANA"
A SONG THAT WAS A TRIBUTE IN THE CARIBBEAN AS WELL AS UK

Actually, Neville Kallicharran composed and sang that song to mark Guyana's Independence in 1966. If I remember correctly, his wife accompanied him in the duet. Correct me if I'm wrong.

I am trying to remember the beat of the song,

surprised there is none of his song on you tube.

Something near to Muhamad Rafi's "sunno sunno hai dunya walo bapu ki hai hamar kahani..."

Next quiz.

In 1963 the Guyanese Minister of Home Affairs Claude Christian died suddenly of a heart attack. At his Le Repentir graveside funeral, a hostile crowd attacked mourners with stones and other objects. Among the injured was a singer who used to be heard frequently on a radio programme called Local Indian Performers. That singer lost an eye in the cemetery attack. He later emigrated to England and died about two years ago. What's his name?

Gil i know a lot of Guyanese singers,all day i trying to

remember names,then finally i remembered listening

to songs played on my uncle turntable hook up to a

pye radio, i was a little boy and heard one of the singers

lost an eye,oh boy my memory strikes the singer name is....

Neville Kalicharan

hoping i am correct

Watch yuh spelling, bai. How yuh goh feel if me write Jango, eh?

Yes, Neville Kallicharran is the correct answer.

Again, I knew somebody would find it, so I didn't close the quiz.

Congratulations, chum!!

Gm  Congrats Django, good for you.

Today is Monday 13. Not an unlucky day. Easy quiz.

LONG ISLAND is in the:

[A] Barima river

[B] Essequibo river

[C] Demerara river

[D] Berbice river

[E] Corentyne river

(E)Corentyne River

or Courantyne River

That was easy, as I said.

Congratulations!!

I had a glimpse of the island in early 1996 on trip to

Suriname.

LONG ISLAND is in the:

[A] Barima river

[B] Essequibo river

[C] Demerara river

[D] Berbice river

[E] Corentyne river

(E)Corentyne River

or Courantyne River

Congratulations!!

Django bright bad the man swallow a light bull,you got to come better  

LONG ISLAND is in the:

[A] Barima river

[B] Essequibo river

[C] Demerara river

[D] Berbice river

[E] Corentyne river

(E)Corentyne River

or Courantyne River

Congratulations!!

Django bright bad the man swallow a light bull,you got to come better  

at my age Gil,keeping my brain active i like the challenge.

Originally Posted by Riya:

Wasn't W & R also an ice factory in New Amsterdam? I remember that huge place on the stelling road.

W & R had an ice factory on Water Street Georgetown too. I don't know if it still works. It was producing ice when I left G in 1996.

they had a problem the ice was not cool

Wasn't W & R also an ice factory in New Amsterdam? I remember that huge place on the stelling road.

W & R had an ice factory on Water Street Georgetown too. I don't know if it still works. It was producing ice when I left G in 1996.

Wah rass did jackass ah seh hey? If de ice nah cool, den de man muss sell cole watah?

old man you born long long time