Jagdeo used World Cup 2006 sponsorship to woo Afro-Guyanese - US cable

Written by Demerara Waves
Saturday, 27 August 2011 12:30

President jagdeo hands over the 2008 1st prize money to K&S organisation's Aubrey 'Shanghai' Major (OP photo)President Bharrat Jagdeo had used government’s sponsorship of the airing of the FIFA World Cup 2006 to boost his image among Afro-Guyanese according to a US Embassy cable released by whistleblower site Wikileaks.

According to the cable, President Jagdeo had taken credit for bringing World Cup soccer to Guyanese television with the state-run NCN bombarding the airwaves with the "personal intervention of His Excellency President Bharrat Jagdeo" to make World Cup coverage possible.

“These announcements overtly suggest that Jagdeo himself forked over the GY$5 million (US$25,000) shortfall needed to secure the broadcast rights. Given the president's ever-growing reputation for unrestrained self-promotion, EmbOffs had their doubts and made further inquiries.

Upon further review, it appears that NCN has completely mischaracterized Jagdeo's contribution. This was no personal act of philanthropy. Rather, the money came from Guyana's lottery fund, not from Jagdeo's pocket -- a key fact that NCN neglected to mention,” the cable read.

Guyana’s last general election was also held that year.

Meanwhile, the cable noted that the World Cup broadcast rights for Guyanese television had cost US$70,000 and NCN could only muster US$45,000 from reluctant sponsors. The government, it added, turned this problem into an opportunity, using government funds to pay the difference and letting Jagdeo take the credit.

“The move makes political sense, too. Soccer is more popular with Afro-Guyanese, a group that largely supports the opposition PNC/R party. The one wrinkle in the plan is that NCN is showing the World Cup matches late at night on tape delay, which has caused public grumbling among soccer fans.”

According to the cable, although this episode may seem innocuous, it underscores the extent to which Jagdeo and the state media have tried to portray his presidency as “benevolently overseeing his personal fiefdom.”

The government has been a steadfast financial supporter of domestic football over the years with annual contributions to the Kashif and Shanghai organisation for their end of year tournament, the biggest on the local calendar.

Additionally, its benevolence also reaches to the entertainment scene with event promoter Hits and Jams a regular beneficiary of tax waivers for major entertainment artistes to perform at its annual “Jamzone Summer Break,” another event which draws tens of thousands of mostly Afro-Guyanese.

The ruling PPP/C government draws most of its support from Indo-Guyanese

source

Hey..yall stap fraffing and leff Dr Jagdeo alone...FYI he not runing again..he on his way out..the BIG BAD DONALD taking over...he is no push over and not cockeye president..he gun settle yall afc freeks soon...PPPPPPPPPPPPP forever flag
Originally posted by SuperMike:
Hey..yall stap fraffing and leff Dr Jagdeo alone...FYI he not runing again..he on his way out..the BIG BAD DONALD taking over...he is no push over and not cockeye president..he gun settle yall afc freeks soon...PPPPPPPPPPPPP forever flag

wan push and he fall pon he fat ass with he own weight...e crap e bucta to git up back lol
Yes Jagdeo is an evil man, trying to mend bridges with the Afro community. I have to say this wicked man did a pretty good job if that was his evil goal, look how Blacks are endeared to him whenever he is in public. Notice how they greet him with African drums on his visit to Buxton in recent times. hahahhahahah
sure he is leaving office but he will pay for all the taxpayers money he steal if i have my way he will swing from the nearest tree maybe a tambrine tree
W
Originally posted by BGurd_See:
Yes Jagdeo is an evil man, trying to mend bridges with the Afro community.

Yes. He shows how his opinions of AfroGuyanese are exactly the same as the planter class.

Dont talk serious issues of economic and political inclusion with blacks. Waste time with drumming, dancing and sports. When that fails try charity. This while you ensure that almost EVERY serious decision maker in Guyana is an Indian.

Just like the old days when whites made sure that only they made decisions which mattered while they laughed at the black masquerade bands. How little has changed.
Originally posted by caribj:

Just like the old days when whites made sure that only they made decisions which mattered while they laughed at the black masquerade bands. How little has changed.

What happened during the period 1964 to 1992 in Guyana?
Originally posted by Alexander:
Jagdeo has given a lot of money to black communities. Where is the thanks?

1. People dont like charity. people want to have input over their lives. Jagdeo decides what black people whould want and ensures they have no real input into decisons when they are being made. Poor Luncheon now has to admit his embarrassment at this.

2. Often what he gives out are contracts for his PPP buddies (almost all Indos). Blacks see projects in their villages and are not able to get work, except at the lowest level. Very few time scontract awards. Lindeners and others have complained about this often.

So why should Jagdeo be thanked?
Originally posted by Demerara_Guy:

Burnham behaved like Jagdeo and excluded Indians, except for a few tokens, soup lickers and self interested people.

If Burnham was a racist for doing so why is Jagdeo a saint when he treats blacks equally badly?
You folks need to get something in your heads; Jagdeo does not have a damn dime to give. He is allocating state funds which proportionately should be equitably dispersed to all communities with no qualification of color or creed. That we have to weigh these things and parse the words as though it is PPP charity speaks to the depth of the racist schism in the society,

DG, this is 2011, 19 years later than 1992, correct?
So,in a nutshell what you and those slimy PPP/C buffons are saying is; Is awe time now, mek all dem black,putagee,chiney,dougla,amerind and dem coolie people dem who deh pun their side an' doan like we, punish, correct?
Originally posted by cain:

So,in a nutshell what you and those slimy PPP/C buffons are saying is; Is awe time now, mek all dem black,putagee,chiney,dougla,amerind and dem coolie people dem who deh pun their side an' doan like we, punish, correct?

Cain .. cease painting me with your inappropriate expressions. Smile wavey

Uncle DG...please don;t expect better from this AFC trained bannas...dis is what Rumjattan told dem to do..attack people and try to derail any thread that speaks well of the PPP..yu naa see he and DUMM2 running out of material now...tek notice...dem saying the same thing over and over again..see wid him please...let dem be..before dem kill demsleves...dis GNI is de only place D2 gets attention...even his famlee don;t want to hear him..please buddy let dem bee cheers

You do that for yourself quite nicely thank you1

Uncle DG...please don;t expect better from this AFC trained bannas...dis is what Rumjattan told dem to do..attack people and try to derail any thread that speaks well of the PPP..yu naa see he and DUMM2 running out of material now...tek notice...dem saying the same thing over and over again..see wid him please...let dem be..before dem kill demsleves...dis GNI is de only place D2 gets attention...even his famlee don;t want to hear him..please buddy let dem bee cheers
Hay dummy, does the PPP have a training school for smart people like yourself? I bet you excelled at butt kissing, soup slurping, bribe taking (... no wait, as a bribe taking PNC police you had training there already so your are doubly!)

Why do you come here, merely to expose the IQ level of PPPites? I bet my little beagle and you would be going head to head on that count.

What happen DG, you gonna take your bumpa ball an bat and go home?

SM, who cares what you have to say, who really cares?

Perhaps, perhaps not!
HM

Couple of years back, the GOG was clamoring about something for the youths of Buxton to do.

Eager to help, I got a plane ticket, arrived in GT, contacted a few people who know Roger (he was the one handing out the money), got myself an appointment, armed myself with my proposal, got to the OP. Disappointed about cing the bigman, it was arranged for me to meet Kwame G.

Explained to him about the plan, seemed interested and that was it.

Later, in the SN, a few million dollars was given to a pastor in Buxton. They bought books, cricket gears and arrange for cricket games between the neighbouring communities. That was was approach to help the youths.

My proposal intended to make small unique pieces for wall decorations-using purple heart wood imbedded into stainless steel. Would have given 10 young people something to do-year round.

I suspect, they thought something devious was at play-why would an indian want to work black kids.

Around the same time Eric Philips was asking only black folks to help the youth of Buxton.
Originally posted by D2:

Hay dummy, does the PPP have a training school for smart people like yourself? I bet you excelled at butt kissing, soup slurping, bribe taking (... no wait, as a bribe taking PNC police you had training there already so your are doubly!)

Why do you come here, merely to expose the IQ level of PPPites? I bet my little beagle and you would be going head to head on that count.

DUMM 2 take it easy ole slimeball....yu gun buss a vein...the PPP gun mek yu ole ass run from that assisted living quarters and jump in front of the red line soon....yall AFC katahars running scared by just the lil crowd wa show up in Parika...wait till the real deal starts...i will be tormenting yu ole soul then. cheers

hey D2 bow wow...it looks like someone cares cause dem responding to every post i make here.ah cann wait fu mek youand yu ole ass boss D2 life a living hell when yu see we win the election...pleae dont run away like sisees..please stay here..yall 2 pramiss me dis??? yippie partybanana

I was born with a cushy place prepared for me and since then built on it. You cannot make me miserable. Unfortunately, your facilitation of corruption in the PPP can indeed be a sore on the spine of our poor people in Guyana. Be glad the good ol' USA accepted your behind or grind stone you wish on others would have been your fate as well.

Thanks for what dunno

Was it his money, like the money he gave was claimed to give the NCN for the World Cup Soccer coverage.

Yes. He shows how his opinions of AfroGuyanese are exactly the same as the planter class.

Dont talk serious issues of economic and political inclusion with blacks. Waste time with drumming, dancing and sports. When that fails try charity. This while you ensure that almost EVERY serious decision maker in Guyana is an Indian.

Unfortunately, you can lead a jackass to water but you can't make him drink. Many blacks are flourishing in Guyana today, the few that are left behind need to take advantage of what is available like everyone else. The problem with you is that you expect entitlement for the Blacks, teach a man how to fish and he feed himself for a lifetime, give him one fish and feed him for a day. ahhahahahahaha
Can you remove the gutter from the gutter???

Unfortunately, you can lead a jackass to water but you can't make him drink. Many blacks are flourishing in Guyana today, the few that are left behind need to take advantage of what is available like everyone else. The problem with you is that you expect entitlement for the Blacks, teach a man how to fish and he feed himself for a lifetime, give him one fish and feed him for a day. ahhahahahahaha
Many blacks are flourishing in Guyana today,

Those who do so so with no thanks to the PPP.

Luncheon has revealed that the PPP has no proper regard for the talents of black people.
The leadership of the PPP in all spheres except the military and polidce is almost totally Indian.

Your braying susggetss that because some Indians, like your family, thrived under Burnham that Indians ought to be grateful to him.
Many blacks are flourishing in Guyana today,

Those who do so so with no thanks to the PPP.

Luncheon has revealed that the PPP has no proper regard for the talents of black people.
The leadership of the PPP in all spheres except the military and polidce is almost totally Indian.

We have to help get that gorilla off your back Caribj
HM
Originally posted by Horse Man:

PPP hatred of blacks? No need to. Lucky for me I dont live in Guyana.

Luncheon has shown that blacks are hated by the PPP and you are fully aware of this. As you said to SJ the PPP is an INDIAN party.

We are an indian party, proud and plenty.
HM

Bit far-fetched.