Dear Editor,

I am an Amerindian and have always been in support of the LCDS, although I must admit having a few reservations. As a matter of fact I agree with others who say that without our historical care for the environment there would be no LCDS.

However, having read about the big storm surrounding the LCDS budget cuts  in Parliament and seeing the  PPP/C government’s  overdriven propaganda  in our remote indigenous communities, I  did some  research..

The LCDS has become a political football. Actually, this is what the PPP/C intended it to be from the beginning. The goal was to win the hinterland votes by showering gifts on the indigenous people, hoping that they would vote for them resoundingly and so gain the balance of power that they desperately needed to win the last elections. Unfortunately for them, a number of factors still stand in their way.

The first and foremost is that to date the expected funds from Norway have not been released to Guyana. From listening to a minister of government a few days ago, one would believe that the Norway funds were earned by us and are for the government to spend as it sees fit. However, I found that approved LCDS projects will be implemented by partner entities such as the IDB, UNDP, some Government of Guyana agencies, and others. Again, from all the statements made by the government it seems that they firmly believe or want us to believe that they will be the only ones to implement the projects and spend the LCDS monies.

On the internet, I read the following: “The GRIF will provide grant financing for goods, works or services for an investment, technical assistance or capacity building activity or activities as approved by the Steering Committee in accordance with the GRIF Governance Framework Document. The GRIF will not provide financing for budget support.” The last sentence clearly clarifies what the opposition parties in parliament are saying. Namely, that the monies from Norway have to be treated as funds flowing from external sources and not via the national budget.

Therefore, the combined opposition is correct in saying that the LCDS monies were not ‘cut’ from the National Budget this year. The PPP/C government has to get busy to complete the various activities that have to be done before the LCDS monies are released to the partner entities for actual spending on the projects’ implementation.

According to current information seen on the internet I noted that the following projects have been approved or are in the process of being approved. 1. Institutional strengthening, (approved) approximately US$6M with the partner entity the IDB. 2. Micro and Small Enterprise Development, (project concept note approved, project document to be developed) approximately US$10M with partner entity the IDB.

Then there are other projects that are at a stage in which just the concept notes were prepared.  These include the Cunha Canal, (World Bank); Amerindian Development Fund (UNDP);  Amaila hydro project; and Amerindian land titling.

Also, there are other projects that still have a far way to go before possible approval. These include One Laptop per Family; Biodiversity research centre; solar panels for hinterland electrification; E-governance and the fibre optic cable; biofuel; Canje Basin agriculture; aquaculture; MRV for the LCDS.

Those of us who apply for project funding would know that funding for any one project cannot be released until the funders are satisfied with the final proposal submitted. It is the government of the day, namely those who have been in power since the money was available for the LCDS funding from Norway, to prepare award winning proposals so that funds can be released for the implementation of the various projects.

Then, it is no secret that corruption is at an all-time high in Guyana.  No funder will release monies into a basket in the hope that it can fetch water. We have to face facts: our country is a basket case where corruption is concerned. To make matters worse we are now being told that funds from NICIL cannot be placed in the Consolidated Fund because of a technicality. A government which practices good governance would have hustled to correct this anomaly before it explodes in its face.

Then at the last general and regional elections the majority of Guyanese voted for the combined opposition.  However, the PPP/C minority did not see it fit to consult with the opposition majority in the preparatory stages to create an acceptable people’s budget.

I quote from Sydney Allicock’s speech in Parliament: “Madam Speaker, the rebirth is now. This budget should have been one we have come to initiate and not debate. Consultation with the majority should have already been done, granting that no one could have gotten all they wished for at one go and the limited time available.  Instead, what do we have in front of us, a budget that can only be described as an insult to the intelligence of the Guyanese people… Madam Speaker, having said the above, as a representative of the hinterland people, I request that this budget be historical. Let it be the first budget in modern day Guyana that sees the indigenous peoples of Guyana being the beneficiaries from large projects. Madam Speaker, I do not believe that the framers of our constitution wanted us to have a white-washed budget without any amendments being done. Let us have a new beginning, let our bright minds sit together and make the amendments without regard for the midnight oil. Give and take for Guyana, can we do it? I say we can.“

From reading the national newspapers,  I have come to the conclusion that the combined opposition, which represents the majority of the Guyanese people is willing to negotiate with the minority PPP/C government. They have said that once the monies for LCDS projects are approved  by the World Bank they would be willing to approve their passage as supplementary provisions to benefit the indigenous peoples and all Guyanese. We see from this end of Guyana that the PPP/C is trying desperately to avoid negotiations with the combined opposition because although the changes requested by the opposition will benefit Guyanese and the Indigenous Peoples, the PPP/C will lose its control over the various slush funds that it is keeping close to its bosom and the warped governance that allows it the winner takes all politics. They will also have to grant us, the Amerindians, our ownership to our traditional lands.

I was surprised when an Amerindian youth  stopped me on the road to tell me about the PPP/C’s ‘budget cut’ meeting in his remote village.  He made it clear among other points raised that he did not believe the PPP/C. He said that Uncle Sydney (Member of Parliament) would never make a decision to hurt the Indigenous peoples. He asked if there is a way to stop the PPP/C from using government resources to do their cheap propaganda. The comments he made have proven to me that once we are well informed we will come to the right        conclusions. As shown in the last general elections the Amerindians are not for wholesale selling or buying any more.  This will lead to the further demise of the PPP/C.  I challenge them to call snap elections.

Therefore, unless I do not have the information, the big gnashing of teeth and crying by the government over the ‘budget cuts’ are merely crocodile tears.

Already many of us are questioning the motives of the government. To us the PPP/C has no respect for us indigenous peoples. They do not see us as their equals.  That is why they feel that they can buy us with cheap solar panels and feed us with wholesale lies.

Yours faithfully,
(Name and address provided)

Amerindians are being duped asusual. This is classic bead trading, offering them hope on a fictive reality and watching them pine for something never planned for them.

LCDS is not a panacea. Their land titles is a constitutional imperative. The PPP has 20 years to demarcate lands. They refused 200K from the world bank offered in the last decade to demarcate lands.

That poor fellow is clearly impoverished of an understanding of his predicament. It is the PPP who redefined what is an Amerindian claim. It is the PPP who tied their lives to a ponzy scheme.  I bet they do not know the PPP refused to have Amerindian call themselves indigenous or native peoples.

I bet they do not know the PPP refused to have Amerindian call themselves indigenous or native peoples.

Really .. ???

yes, really!!!!

I bet they do not know the PPP refused to have Amerindian call themselves indigenous or native peoples.

Really .. ???

yes, really!!!!

You have all the time to fix it.

As shown in the last general elections the Amerindians are not for wholesale selling or buying any more.  This will lead to the further demise of the PPP/C.  I challenge them to call snap elections.

Alyuh bettah nah cry wolf too much.  Dem PPP bais gatt cyards up dem sleeve and dem aint nuttin fuh tek dem donk juss laka dah.  Coolie nah goa bruk rank in nuff numbaz fuh mek difference.  Laass elekshun teech abie good lesson, abie kech sense.