Land preparation for new housing schemes to start soon – Minister Croal

, Source - News Room - https://newsroom.gy/2020/09/10...soon-minister-croal/

https://newsroom.gy/wp-content/uploads/2020/09/land-1-neaqkqvts5x66ehc7sqhzgzx9b6580hg5gkqqkqbce-750x430.jpgLand at Perseverance, East Bank Demerara

The 2020 National Budget has made an allocation of $3 billion to begin the implementation of the Government’s vision for housing development.

According to Minister of Housing and Water Collin Croal, this allocation will be utilised for various activities including land preparation for new housing schemes.

“It will allow for clearing a number of land areas for new housing schemes, building access bridges to access the area to do other infrastructure work,” Minister Croal told the News Room Wednesday.

He anticipates that these works will commence in the new year but also high on the Government’s agenda is infrastructural development in existing housing schemes.

https://newsroom.gy/wp-content/uploads/2020/08/Collin-Croal-768x517.jpgMinister of Housing and Water Collin Croal

“There will also be the construction of homes catering for young professionals… three areas in region four have been identified for which to start construction and we have had several expressions of interest,” Croal added.

The Government also plans to strengthen the Central Housing and Planning Authority’s enforcement arm, in order to address the issue of squatting, while providing a more robust and fair system of land acquisition.

The budget was presented by Public Works Minister Juan Edghill and he told the National Assembly that the vibrancy and vitality of the housing sector will be restored.

“The comatose state of the housing sector during the last five years has served as a disincentive to young professionals, Guyanese families and all seeking homeownership. The Central Housing and Planning Authority (CHPA), rather than being a catalyst of development, was made to be almost paralysed due to poor policy directions. The musical chairs of Ministers did not help the situation,” he said.

The Government has promised a progressive and expansive agenda for housing where it intends to provide at least 50,000 house lots to Guyanese during this term in office.

@seignet posted:

just land or services and land.

or 

another ppp poor ppl slum.

It will allow for clearing a number of land areas for new housing schemes, building access bridges to access the area to do other infrastructure work,” Minister Croal told the News Room Wednesday.

He anticipates that these works will commence in the new year but also high on the Government’s agenda is infrastructural development in existing housing schemes.

In Guyana, Other infrastructure work means Services.

@Tola posted:

Two for the PPP elite and one for their voters. Kick back galore. 

When would you ever have anything good to say about Guyana, I wonder what makes you so Bitter. Is it always dark and overcast where you live. 

You strive on the demise of  Guyanese.

@Tola posted:

Two for the PPP elite and one for their voters. Kick back galore. 

Agree, except it was all the kickbacks for the EMPTY TREASURY PNC and none for the voters. Which is worse?

What kickbacks are you talking about? I agree it's a form of corruption but can you prove it?

@Ramakant-P posted:

What kickbacks are you talking about? I agree it's a form of corruption but can you prove it?

I am sure we cannot prove that PNC robbed and took kickbacks also. If you don't see it and have undeniable proof, you don't have a case. We all read and believe some of what we read. We are not in Guyana in the offices to be privy to those transactions.

If they are not caught, then whatever they are doing may not be criminal. It takes two to tango. One that gives and one that takes.

Don't ask them hard question suh early marnin, he got fuh call Congress Place fuh answer.