Disgruntled persons involved in a confrontation with a passerby

LANDING GRABBING EXERCISE ESCALATES on EAST COAST DEMERARA …residents block Success Public Road and call on President Granger to heed their calls for house lots

THE land grabbing exercise that started on the East Coast of Demerara (ECD) has escalated, and disgruntled residents blocked the Success Railway Embankment road following the failure of the newly appointed Government to heed their calls for house lots.First started on Friday in the backlands of Mon Repos, ECD, the exercise is now seeing involvement of residents in several villages along the East Coast — Non Pareil, Success, Lusignan, among other villages.

Confusion yesterday at Success, as persons blocked the road to gain the attention of the media and Government officials

Residents from these villages have thus far staked out plots of land by placing pickets, but some have even already started building structures on lands which belong to the Government of Guyana and the Guyana Sugar Corporation (GuySuCo).

As of yesterday, persons even went as far as blocking the Success Roadway, causing a massive buildup of traffic.

When the Guyana Chronicle arrived on scene, in the presence of the police, residents of the said area placed articles on the road to halt traffic; these were later removed by the police officials so that there could be a smooth flow of traffic.

Speaking to this publication, one person said: “We don’t have anywhere to go, and we are squatting because we applied for land years ago and never received it. So we gon block this road until somebody come and tell we is wah really going on wid we land.”

Persons at Mon Repos also continued their squatting exercise, and are calling on newly-appointed President David Ganger to address their concerns, so that they could know how to move forward with the situation at hand.

GOVERNMENT STATEMENT

Some of the wooden structures which were built illegally by squatters

As confusion continued unabated on the East Coast of Demerara, the new Administration issued a statement calling on persons who have been “misled” to engage in land grabbing to cease this activity. The new (APNU+AFC) Government said it is disturbed at the recent reports of illegal and unauthorised grabbing of land in some communities.

“The Coalition wishes to inform the public that President David Granger has not authorised any of these illegal activities”, the statement noted. Moreover, it said: persons could “rest assured that all Guyanese will be given fair and equitable access to land under the new Government’s land distribution policy.”

Police and other lawful authorities have been instructed to maintain peace and good order in all locations where attempts have been made to stake illegal claims to land.

By Navendra Seoraj

“The Coalition wishes to inform the public that President David Granger has not authorised any of these illegal activities”,

They want tease the people with free land and now they called it "illegal activities".

Some heads needs to roll at the Chronicle and treated the same as NCN for a balanced reporting.

Cobra, typical of the PPP to make things look bigger than they are when its not in their favour. Where is the source of your post, or are you too ashamed to reveal the PPP rag.

This PPP way to govern must end and soon. The people needs to change and have more respect, that was lost under the PPP.      

“The Coalition wishes to inform the public that President David Granger has not authorised any of these illegal activities”,

They want tease the people with free land and now they called it "illegal activities".

Cobra, I though you changed  from being an ass, but I was wrong.

It would seem you and the PPP does not want to have a united Guyana.

All for yourself or let it be destroyed.   

Originally Posted by Tola:

Guyanese not Indians  gone mad. 

Stop drinking and go to bed, you don't make sense.

Let me put it another way.  Only blacks are trying to steal lands and that is how stupid they are. One more thing.  I think you confuse me with your mama,bytch!

She did not drink and I hope yours is still alive.

You still don't make sense. 

That is one stupid Thread heading. Quite idiotic but I love it so much watching you rasses grovel like the dam worms you really are. Grovel on wormns.

Nothing wrong with the thread Sir.

This just exposes the real problem that the Guyanese people at the bottom of the economic ladder do not have land as the PPP used to tell us?

Who really got all this land that the PPP distributed?

The people of Success clearly seem to not have gotten much.

The new APNUAFC Government now has to rethink how we distribute land and reframe the entire developmental model.

Clearly the Irfan Ali model failed.

You are being an idiot.

After Irfan Ali was locked out from the Ministry of Housing for stealing government files, he spread the word to citizens to start grabbing land.

Coalition government disturbed by land grabbing; Calls on persons not to be misled

According to the coalition government, persons could be "rest assured that all Guyanese will be given fair and equitable access to land under the new governments’ land distribution policy."

The incoming administration  is calling on persons who have been “misled” to start a process of land grabbing to stop.

In a statement on Sunday evening, the incoming APNU+AFC government said it is disturbed at the recent reports of illegal and unauthorized grabbing of land in some communities.

“The coalition wishes to inform the public that President David Granger has not authorized any of these illegal activities”, the statement noted.

According to the coalition government, persons could be “rest assured that all Guyanese will be given fair and equitable access to land under the new governments’ land distribution policy.”

Police and other lawful authorities have been instructed to maintain peace and good order in all locations where attempts have been made to stake illegal claims to land.

The land grabbing exercise started early on Saturday, just before the swearing in of President David Granger. It began at Enmore on the East Coast of Demerara on Saturday and by Sunday persons in Diamond and other villages along the East Bank of Demerara were “grabbing” land of their own.

On Sunday, some of the persons staking claims to land on the East Bank of Demerara claimed that they had been told to do so by senior officials of the former government.

http://newssourcegy.com/news/c...ns-not-to-be-misled/

Originally Posted by Mars:

After Irfan Ali was locked out from the Ministry of Housing for stealing government files, he spread the word to citizens to start grabbing land.

Coalition government disturbed by land grabbing; Calls on persons not to be misled

According to the coalition government, persons could be "rest assured that all Guyanese will be given fair and equitable access to land under the new governments’ land distribution policy."

The incoming administration  is calling on persons who have been “misled” to start a process of land grabbing to stop.

In a statement on Sunday evening, the incoming APNU+AFC government said it is disturbed at the recent reports of illegal and unauthorized grabbing of land in some communities.

“The coalition wishes to inform the public that President David Granger has not authorized any of these illegal activities”, the statement noted.

According to the coalition government, persons could be “rest assured that all Guyanese will be given fair and equitable access to land under the new governments’ land distribution policy.”

The land grabbing exercise started early on Saturday, just before the swearing in of President David Granger. It began at Enmore on the East Coast of Demerara on Saturday and by Sunday persons in Diamond and other villages along the East Bank of Demerara were “grabbing” land of their own.

On Sunday, some of the persons staking claims to land on the East Bank of Demerara claimed that they had been told to do so by senior officials of the former government.

http://newssourcegy.com/news/c...ns-not-to-be-misled/

Thought so, but could not confirm.

Instead of the usual nonsensical warbling from these diehard PPPietes,read the KN version of why people are grabbing the land as it was apparently gifted to one of BJ friends, also how come BaiShan Lin can get so much of prime land to resell at prices that any local Guyanese cannot even afford,The nepotism and wholesale corruption from the past administration does not seem to imply any wrong doing in the eyes of these PPP posters. Sucess, Lusignan who live there is not blacks it is"indian" guyanese crying out and to create some mischief the PPP gives them instructions to get land with the expectation there will be some confrontation to blame the new govt. Ramakant and Nehru shed some light on these impoverished folks who were mislead by the PPP for years....their cup overflows with PPP lies and mistreatment.

Of course they are going to blame the PPP and especially Bharat Jagdeo  for their problems.

That is why they offered two ministerial posts to the PPP to keep them silent.

A national Government is a one party state. 

Of course they are going to blame the PPP and especially Bharat Jagdeo  for their problems.

We had a one party state from 1964 to 1992 then from 1992 to 2015.  How about a one party state for 10 year of both parties which gave us two one-party states of their own type for 51 years?

The last 4 years we see the opposition with the majority of seats in parliament. They tried to destroy everything the PPP built.  Now that they are the Government, They will issue orders and acclamation , and then let Parliament approve them.  That is their MO's. We have seen it before.  That is called dictatorship and total disregard for the opposition. 

IS that what you want? 

The last 4 years we see the opposition with the majority of seats in parliament. They tried to destroy everything the PPP built.  Now that they are the Government, They will issue orders and acclamation , and then let Parliament approve them.  That is their MO's. We have seen it before.  That is called dictatorship and total disregard for the opposition. 

IS that what you want? 

So...what's your counter?

The reason the PPP is refusing these 2 seats is because they have no real clean hands to propose as ministers.

Granger just announced yesterday that the 2 seats are now going to the AFC now the AFC will get 6 Ministerial positions. Ramotar and Jagdeo basically just signed the death warrant for the PPP.

IS that what you want? 

So...what's your counter?

The closest rum shop he can find.

We had a one party state for the past 23 years. Come on, sober up.

The APNUAFC has to appoint it cabinet soon especially the Minister of Home Affairs and Housing.

This wildness cannot continue.

All these people should be processed and given land.

Act in haste, regret at leisure.

The government cannot afford to rush unqualified people into position of power and responsibilities. The PPP shoehorned family and friends into any high position jobs that commanded a government salary, bribes, and legendary wealth. Granger ain't stupid. He's seen all that has gone wrong in Guyana in 23 years. He has had time to work on his agenda for a new beginning. Now the players have to be picked with due care and diligence. It could define the achievements of the government.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Act in haste, regret at leisure.

The government cannot afford to rush unqualified people into position of power and responsibilities. The PPP shoehorned family and friends into any high position jobs that commanded a government salary, bribes, and legendary wealth. Granger ain't stupid. He's seen all that has gone wrong in Guyana in 23 years. He has had time to work on his agenda for a new beginning. Now the players have to be picked with due care and diligence. It could define the achievements of the government.

Same thing I said when James Bond throw down the chair last Sunday demanding position.

You cannot show-horn into position professional thugs into power.  We need intelligent men.

Suddenly the new admin has to solve a crisis that should have been undertaken by the useless Ramoutar that some folks here worship. Rama what about Irafan Ali in your opinion does he represent a great and competent individual or just a corrupt thief as the others.

No one can confuse you. Your profile as the idiotic old racist drunk is etched in the minds of all. No need to lie as you did above to demonstrate you are a stupid old racist.

That is one stupid Thread heading. Quite idiotic but I love it so much watching you rasses grovel like the dam worms you really are. Grovel on wormns.

Nothing wrong with the thread Sir.

This just exposes the real problem that the Guyanese people at the bottom of the economic ladder do not have land as the PPP used to tell us?

Who really got all this land that the PPP distributed?

The people of Success clearly seem to not have gotten much.

The new APNUAFC Government now has to rethink how we distribute land and reframe the entire developmental model.

Clearly the Irfan Ali model failed.

Banna, Cainsta is never wrong...ask my ex, I always told her so

I agree what you said there but I was speaking of the heading by Cobra blaming the PNC as he usually does with his idiotic self

"Land Grabbing Escalate Country wide since PNC assumed command. No solutions in sight. Guyana is going mad."

East Coast Demerara squatters block road to demand land

May 19, 2015 | By | Filed Under News, Source

Some land grabbers along the East Coast Demerara, say that they are willing to pay the new government for their plot of land, rather than buy it at exorbitant prices from private investors who were gifted large swaths of state lands by the previous administration.

The potential squatters have built a bridge to gain access to the disputed land.

Yesterday, scores of villagers from Le Ressouvenir/Success, East Coast of Demerara, staged a demonstration, to press their demand for a piece of land that they were told had been sold to a well-known businessman who is cozy with the ousted PPP/administration.

The residents blocked traffic on the Railway Embankment at Success, and it took a contingent of police ranks to diffuse the situation which was threatening to get out of hand.

Several villagers were assembled at a bridge they had constructed to access the land in question.

They told this newspaper that they began demarcating the land last Thurdsay, after word spread that other villagers were grabbing lands on the advice of a high ranking member of the previous Cabinet.

They explained that the land initially belonged to Guysuco and was unused for several years. It was reportedly sold to the prominent businessman.

“He get enough property around de place and poor people want land and can’t get. How much he pay fuh it?” asked one of the irate residents.    The residents claimed that they had all applied for houselots under the previous government, but were given the royal run around.

Police ranks maintain their presence in success to ensure that the roadway remained clear.

They said that now that David Granger has been sworn in as the new President, they are willing to support him if he honours his promises to them, including making house lots available at a reasonable price.

“The last government tell we dat we gon get house lots but we still waiting. Yet dem give they friends dem all. I apply since 2005 and I went into housing a week before de election and dey tell me I got to pay $1.5M. Wheh me gon get dat from?” another female resident stated.

Another resident pointed out, that the giveaway of acres of lands to one person began under the Bharrat Jagdeo administration, and it was a way of siphoning off state lands for personal benefit.

Even foreign nationals benefitted from the “giveaway”, while Guyanese potential homeowners are kept waiting.

He explained that the lands were sold at reasonable prices to friends of the previous administration, who then began reselling them for huge profits.

“Why should I buy back state lands from private people at these high prices? The government give these lands to their cronies cheap, cheap and dey selling it back fuh money that the poor man cannot afford to pay,” the resident argued.

The residents at Success were at pains to point out that they are not trying to ensnare the new government into any controversy; all they want is a share of what was “stolen from them.”

They expressed the hope that the new government will make good on the promises made during the last elections campaign.

“Granger and Nagamootoo say change and we decided that he gon tek we own change. We don’t want dem fuh promise we like how de PPP promise we. No more promises, is promises mek PPP get vote out,” a resident declared.

But A Partnership for National Unity and the Alliance for Change (APNU+AFC) Government on Sunday, described the actions of residents throughout the coast and other areas where land grabbing was taking place as “illegal and unauthorized.”

“The APNU+AFC is disturbed at recent reports of illegal and unauthorized grabbing of land in some communities,” the Coalition said in a statement.

“The Coalition wishes to inform the public that President David Granger has not authorized any of these illegal activities. To those participating in these activities, we say please do not be misled by persons who may have encouraged these actions and rest assured, that all Guyanese will be given fair and equitable access to land under the new governments’ land distribution policy.

“The Police and other lawful authorities have been instructed to maintain peace and good order in all locations where attempts have been made to stake illegal claims to land.”

And the Ministry of Housing in a statement issued yesterday, warned that the Government of Guyana will not condone the illegal occupation of lands.

It called on those involved to immediately desist.

“Persons will be dealt with the full force of the law since this activity leads to lawlessness and a break down in law and order. Further, the Government of Guyana wishes to reiterate that all squatting which occurred after January 1, 1998 will not be regularized.

“There is a legal process by which land can be obtained for housing and other purposes,” the Ministry said.

The residents of Success are advising the new administration to meet with them so that the issue can be quickly ironed out.

They said that they are willing to pay a reasonable sum for their lots and even carry out infrastructure work such as roads and drains, once the materials are provided.

With their own resources they have already constructed a bridge to secure access to the land in question.

“We want to talk with the government because Granger 100-day plan must happen. If they treat we like de last government, dem gun see come next election,” a vociferous resident stated.

Cobra, I though you changed  from being an ass, but I was wrong.

It would seem you and the PPP does not want to have a united Guyana.

All for yourself or let it be destroyed.   

bai you dealing with snake a collie snake 

f-ing coolie dogs,the ppp had them like brainwash zombies now  they find their voice to fight for land the army should shoot them down like dogs   

I know your true self would surface one day, you racist pig.