Kwame McCoy dismissed by Govt

Election Day violence victim…

– while on sick leave for injuries following rescue by Granger, Harmon

By Michael Younge

Press and Publicity Officer attached to the Office of the President now Ministry of the Presidency, Kwame McCoy has been dismissed by Government even though the officer is still on medical leave after receiving serious injuries from an attack which occurred on Election Day, May 11 this year.

Kwame McCoy

Kwame McCoy

This followed McCoy having to be rescued by then Opposition Leader, now President David Granger and Minister of State Joseph Harmon from a belligerent mob at a polling station at St Sidwell’s Primary School in Georgetown while he was performing his duties on behalf of the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) on Election Day. After the two A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) officials left the scene and Mc Coy was being driven away, missiles were thrown by supporters of APNU and the Alliance For Change (AFC) coalition at McCoy which connected with his mouth and other parts of his face. He suffered lacerations and serious injuries to those body parts, and is now wearing a metal bracer in his mouth. He was hospitalised at the Georgetown Public Hospital and his injuries were clear in a photo published in this newspaper.

The letter, written and signed by Harmon, who is also Head of the Presidential Secretariat, was dated June 8, 2015. It stated that McCoy was being dismissed for not reporting for duty since May 12, 2015.

“Your dismissal will take effect from 31 May 2015. As a result of your dismissal, all of your emoluments are forfeited,” the correspondence said.

“Vexatious” McCoy in response to Harmon’s letter acknowledged its receipt, but reminded the Minister that he was injured and hospitalised since May 11, 2015. “…and a message about my hospitalisation was communicated to the Office of the President and subsequently two weeks’ sick leave certificates were delivered to the Personnel Department covering an initial seven days and a subsequent 28 days,” McCoy said. He also advised Harmon that his sick leave ends on June 16, 2015.

“I, therefore, ask that you review your position as my circumstances do make me eligible for benefits,” McCoy appealed in his response. He also advised Harmon that he was sending a copy of his response to the Head of the PPP/C Transition Group.

When contacted by Guyana Times on Friday, McCoy said that he felt that he was being targeted and victimised.

“Mr Harmon and the Administration at the Office of the President are fully aware of my situation. This dismissal letter is unfair, null and void and vexatious,” he argued.

He said that he was concerned that all of his benefits were ripped away despite him upholding the tenets of his contract. Efforts to contact Minister Harmon for a comment proved futile.

So far, several Government functionaries, officials and Permanent Secretaries have been dismissed after the new Administration came into power. This is despite the fact that President Granger said that there would be no witch-hunting and his Government was not interested in settling political scores.

This is despite the fact that President Granger said that there would be no witch-hunting and his Government was not interested in settling political scores.

WE have to say that to sound democratic but our intention is to replace all the PPP politicos, and that might involve a few Indians, and Afros like Kwame who are seen as sellouts by our Afro people.

WE will be checking with Carib for suggestions on who to fire.  Carib has the list of those in "core" and "no core positions."  Carib will also help to make sure there is no undue AFC influence in excess of 5% on the Coalition.

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

This is despite the fact that President Granger said that there would be no witch-hunting and his Government was not interested in settling political scores.

WE have to say that to sound democratic but our intention is to replace all the PPP politicos, and that might involve a few Indians, and Afros like Kwame who are seen as sellouts by our Afro people.

WE will be checking with Carib for suggestions on who to fire.  Carib has the list of those in "core" and "no core positions."  Carib will also help to make sure there is no undue AFC influence in excess of 5% on the Coalition.

How could you "hunt" witches in throwing Kwame into a pyre. He was the public head of a well known coven of broom flyers. One did not have to hunt for this witch.

Back up Dude.

You expected Kwame to continue working for the Granger administration?

The expectation is that there shall be no witch hunting and there should not be, but any organisation expect to have loyal professionals at the top.

According to the UK Institute of Chartered Secretary and I quote:

Professionalism captures what it means to be a professional, and what is expected of them. Professional activity is complex and diverse and has the following dimensions:

• Engagement with and use of the available robust evidence base at their disposal (note they said EVIDENCE)
  • Reasoning and decision-making within changing, uncertain and unpredictable situations, and not just use of a fixed body of knowledge and skill (THINKERS)
  • Management of potentially incomplete and conflicting information.
  • The requirement to work as part of a wider multi-professional team, and not just in isolation.
  • The need to cope with the unknown and unexpected, as well as the routine.
  • The need to consider and resolve complex ethical and moral matters.
  • The requirement to undertake career-long learning and development to maintain fitness to practise.

CAN HYDAR ALLY DO THIS IN SERVICE TO PRESIDENT GRANGER.

I rest my case.

Kwame can change his talk and start supporting the Coalition, the way BK did.

What you think?  He can be like a Lumumba for the APNU.

Jay...you got be joking,what does he have on the platter for APNU-AFC??

Kwame can change his talk and start supporting the Coalition, the way BK did.

What you think?  He can be like a Lumumba for the APNU.

Jay,

I'm really starting to see the diehard PPPite in you now. Only a PPPite would want a skunk like Kwame onboard.

The PNC has a habit of kicking it's trash to the curb. The PPP is the only party that picks up the other party's trash. You ever see the PNC absorb PPP trash? NO! They will pick off the few bright ones in the PPP.

Hoyte put it best: "The PPP picks up what I throw away"

Originally Posted by Sheik101:

Why worry about Kwame. He was an obedient slave for the PPP. Let them find work for him.

I'm sure Freedom House now has many calls on its purse for uneducated lowlifes. He'll have to get in line behind the Persauds and Motilals.

I've asked many people this question seriously over the years. Perhaps the Gilbakka Fish can help me on this.

Where de F did they pluck Kwame McCoy from? Seriously. How was this chap recruited and promoted to the pinnacle of the PPP? Basically, which PPP Big One slept with dis chap and that made him unfireable?

I've asked many people this question seriously over the years. Perhaps the Gilbakka Fish can help me on this.

Where de F did they pluck Kwame McCoy from? Seriously. How was this chap recruited and promoted to the pinnacle of the PPP? Basically, which PPP Big One slept with dis chap and that made him unfireable?

Butthole surfing....only Qualification Jagdeo needed.

I live in NYC chap. Them gay guys doan look like you or me. And certainly not like Kwame. You mean fuh seh Kwame is the nicest Antiman in Guyana? I was never under the impression that Guyana had such a limited pool of "dem bais"

GOOD.  Good riddance to Kwame.  May his ass now rest in peace.

Rest assured, there will be no rest for Kwame's ass if Kwame has anything to say about it.

Why worry about Kwame. He was an obedient slave for the PPP. Let them find work for him.

I'm sure Freedom House now has many calls on its purse for uneducated lowlifes. He'll have to get in line behind the Persauds and Motilals.

Persaud and Motilall better cover dem ass.

Hoyte put it best: "The PPP picks up what I throw away"

Please don't quote Hoyte or any PNC-era dictators

Hoyte was never an elected leader.  Hoyte rigged the worst in the history of Guyana.  Corbin was the campaign manager for that election.

Hoyte said he dedicate his life at making sure "Jagan never becomes the President of Guyana."  I don't find that inspirational.

Persaud and Motilall better cover dem ass.

LMAO! Kwame at the back of the line with a tub of ghee.

So you think Coalition will let Urling in to some Coalition soup?  Even if he create a new line of soup called "Coalition Soup?"

The man just last week was taking pictures with Bro. Mo and giving Bro. Mo honorary membership of some club.

So you think Coalition will let Urling in to some Coalition soup?  Even if he create a new line of soup called "Coalition Soup?"

The man just last week was taking pictures with Bro. Mo and giving Bro. Mo honorary membership of some club.

Yugi, realizing the PPP is never coming back you all now trying to use Moses and the AFC as Indian Party 2. Not going to work!

You people really have to get over yourselves.

It is customary after every election win anywhere that you reach across the aisle and try and poach or at least develop a working relationship with your former opponents. That's how it works in the civilized world. In a place like Guyana where the intelligence pool is so damn small to begin with, I would think one would try and attract all the smart people one can.

Find a place for Urling. Not necessarily some position. But why not be open to embracing him otherwise? He did not commit some unforgivable sin. He exercised his right.

Sir, I first encountered Kwame Mc Koy in the newsroom at Broadcasting House obliquely opposite Gaumont brothel in 1994. I was News Editor and the late Cecil Griffith was acting Editor-in-Chief. Kwame was a Bishop High School student who did his work-study stint in the newsroom. Later that year he was employed as a junior reporter to cover the magistrates' courts beat. I resigned in December 1995 to emigrate. Kwame was at the newsroom's farewell ceremony for me. I knew him as a quiet and cooperative young man.

Reading about Kwame's meteoric rise from GBC newsroom to Jagdeo's OP was a big surprise to me. Reading about his subsequent arrogance and bad-man behaviour was shocking.

Kwame cannot expect the new government to retain his services. During the election campaign Kwame and his thugs were tearing down APNU+AFC posters and flags willy-nilly. He is a member of the PPP Central Committee and his name is on the 93-strong PPP List of Candidates submitted to GECOM. Kwame is shameless to expect Granger to keep him at the Ministry of the Presidency.

I don't think he seriously thinks so; he's just trying to get some severance pay.  Remember our people threw missiles at him and he is faking injuries to get a few weeks pay.