Kwakwani now has 24-hour electricity after six years

https://newsroom.gy/wp-content/uploads/2020/11/10.jpegPrime Minister, Brigadier (ret’d) Mark Phillips commissioned the new generator in Kwakwani (Photo: DPI/November 20, 2020)

A 900-kilowatt generator set at the Kwakwani Utilities Incorporated will now provide the community with 24-hour electricity.

Prior to 2014, the community with a population of over 400, once enjoyed 24-hour electricity but for the following three years, the power supply dropped to 22-hours. Within the last couple of years, the power supply again dropped to a 16-hour capacity.

Prime Minister, Brigadier (ret’d) Mark Phillips on Friday commissioned the new generator set describing it is a momentous event for community development.

The Prime Minister said the generator would provide the community with enough electrical power to sustain small industries, which can lead to lots of developmental opportunities.

“With the commissioning of this 900-kilowatt gen set, you now have over two megawatts for a community of just over 4000 residents. That is something big for Guyana, because I’m not aware that there are any other small communities with such large amounts of power,” the Prime Minister said.

The Chief Executive Officer of Kwakwani Utilities Incorporated, Leslie Sobers Jr., said that after starting 2019 at 16 hours of electric power daily the community was able to keep the lights on longer by the end of the year, but KUI was still unable to produce a full day’s worth of electricity.

“We will now be able to produce 24 hours of electricity to Kwakwani, we will see improvement in businesses, in water distribution and in our very own homes,” Sobers said.

Meanwhile, the Prime Minister further stated that the current administration has big plans for the development of energy in Guyana.

“What happened today is just a short-term delivery… we will have an energy mix that will encompass generator sets, solar farms, wind farms, hydro electricity and natural gas, because it is our aim to improve the way the people of Guyana live,” the Prime Minister said. (Extracted and modified from the Department of Public Information)

@Ramakant-P posted:

I hope that GNI is taking notes of all the projects that the PPP are responsible for and complete.  I am pretty sure that two months from the anti-pppites will deny this venture.

You need to get the real facts ,see post above.

Prior to 2014, the community with a population of over 400, once enjoyed 24-hour electricity but for the following three years, the power supply dropped to 22-hours. Within the last couple of years, the power supply again dropped to a 16-hour capacity.

That happened during the reign of the PNC.

Thanks to the PPP power supply was restored.

@Ramakant-P posted:

That happened during the reign of the PNC.

Thanks to the PPP power supply was restored.

After 2014 was there any upgrades to the power supply ? posted are two articles did you read it ?

@Django posted:

Since 2018 the power plant was upgraded at Kwakwani .

Mar 23, 2018

Stable power as Kwakwani gets new power generators.

NewsRoom always have some twist to their reporting.

$97.5M to improve electricity supply to Kwakwani

Last September, residents of Kwakwani took to the streets to protest the KUI’s poor quality of water and electricity supply in the area. The disgruntled residents have long been complaining about the poor quality of water they receive, as well as the constant fluctuation in power supply, with electricity at times going off for eight hours during the day.

The controversial Russian aluminium company Rusal previously provided fuel to the KUI to power its generators. However, according to the Public Infrastructure Minister, since issues with the company and employees heightened last year, the community has been experiencing difficulties in purchasing the needed quantities of fuel, thus resulting in persistent and lengthy power outages which in turn affect water supply.

Source & rest of the article -

“With the challenges experienced a year ago, Kwakwani’s KUI had to absorb some of these services, like fuel provision and things like that, and there was a shortfall. So this provision here is to ensure that we continue to provide services to that very important community in Region 10; and secondly, that we can give them enhanced services,” Patterson told the Committee last week in his successful bid for the additional money.
As recently as in March 2018, the KUI commissioned two new 260-kilowatt engines at the Power Station. The new sets were expected to improve electricity supply and meet the demands of the community.
At time of that commission, KUI’s General Manager Fitzhubert McPherson had anticipated that the new sets would allow residents to have 24 hours of electricity, a marked difference from the irregular access they previously faced.
KUI currently serves approximately 1,200 metered households. However, this number is expected to grow as the company seeks to expand services to other areas, such as West Bank Kwakwani, Jonestown, New Scheme, and Staff Hill.

REST OF ARTICLE

@Ramakant-P posted:

I hope that GNI is taking notes of all the projects that the PPP are responsible for and complete.  I am pretty sure that two months from the anti-pppites will deny this venture.

If GNI represents a faction of Guyanese only then it should take interest in progress and developments. You have a working govt and laid back govt. Only the people that voted need to see that. The daily pusser-pusser doesn't add to any of that.

Viper
@Viper posted:

If GNI represents a faction of Guyanese only then it should take interest in progress and developments. You have a working govt and laid back govt. Only the people that voted need to see that. The daily pusser-pusser doesn't add to any of that.

Ramakant lacks comprehension. Perhaps, he did not read the articles.

@Mitwah posted:

I love to sit and chat with you but you are not discussing the issues. You should say something constructive and Kwakwani's development.

@Ramakant-P posted:

I love to sit and chat with you but you are not discussing the issues. You should say something constructive and Kwakwani's development.

This was a coalition project that the PPP finished off in the first 100 days.

Thanks PPP.

Like I said, you seem to lack comprehension. Stop being a slave to your PPP handlers and start thinking for yourself.

@Mitwah posted:

Thanks PPP.

Like I said, you seem to lack comprehension. Stop being a slave to your PPP handlers and start thinking for yourself.

Yuh lie like an Old Rug. Show the evidence.

@Mitwah posted:

Thanks PPP.

As I said before they are too dumb to finish anything. When the PNC took over the Government in 2015, the power supply started to drop and keeps on dropping until the PPP took over from the clumsy and unskilled PNC coalition.  You are the one who lacks comprehension.

The Prime Minister said the generator would provide the community with enough electrical power to sustain small industries, which can lead to lots of developmental opportunities.

@Ramakant-P posted:

As I said before they are too dumb to finish anything. When the PNC took over the Government in 2015, the power supply started to drop and keeps on dropping until the PPP took over from the clumsy and unskilled PNC coalition.  You are the one who lacks comprehension.

Bhaiji, you rass prappa ignorant and schupid. May you wallow in your eternal bliss.

@Mitwah posted:

Bhaiji, you rass prappa ignorant and schupid. May you wallow in your eternal bliss.

Can't you tell, Bhaiji  already wallowing in he eternal bliss. Jus look ah he hair brain writing of make up stories. 

@Mitwah posted:

Can't you tell, Bhaiji  already wallowing in he eternal bliss. Jus look ah he hair brain writing of make up stories.

@Mitwah posted:

Thanks PPP.

Behold the Intelligent ineptitude of Mitwah and Tola.