Doubt the name recognition will do it. If Joey was unable to ride his father's coat tail, I don't see the grand son doing it. By the time he is ready for primetime, most Jaganites will be in retirement homes with hardly any influence on the youth. Most will be in North America anyway just harboring nostalgic sentiments with little to no ground impact.
Originally posted by Wally:
Yesterday was a great day for the Jagan Royal Court and its followers, worshippers and subjects. No more Moses in the PPP and a clear possibility that the PPP party will once again become a Royal Raj. So this situation begs the question. Is Cheddi J (number 3)a King in waiting?
He is not being touted as a saviour. Whenever he is ready to enter politics, Chedi Jagan's name would not be enough to make something out of him.
Yesterday was a great day for the Jagan Royal Court and its followers, worshippers and subjects. But it was also a humbling day for these Royal followers, worshippers and subjects as well. When you examine the situation it was the first time in the history of Jaganite politics that a Jagan endorsed a political entity not because of pure political ideology or politics but because of legacy and employment ties. It was a truely humbling day for Jaganite politics.

Wally, quit your nonsense. Your emotional hatred for the Jagan family has no limit. But, thank heavens politics is not about emotions alone. Whether you like it or not, the PPP and the name Jagan are inseparable.
B
Originally posted by Bookman:
Yesterday was a great day for the Jagan Royal Court and its followers, worshippers and subjects. But it was also a humbling day for these Royal followers, worshippers and subjects as well. When you examine the situation it was the first time in the history of Jaganite politics that a Jagan endorsed a political entity not because of pure political ideology or politics but because of legacy and employment ties. It was a truely humbling day for Jaganite politics.

Wally, quit your nonsense. Your emotional hatred for the Jagan family has no limit. But, thank heavens politics is not about emotions alone. Whether you like it or not, the PPP and the name Jagan are inseparable.

Nonesense, if so baby boy Joey would not have been in the wilderness for decades. CBJ's name have appeal an is being exploited. This will lose appeal over time just as LFSB is no longer a rallying point for the PNC.

Bookman, I am just trying to make sure that the system continues where rank and file PPP Comrades such as yourself who put their lives on the line for the party plus served the party for many years continue to have an opportunity to be in the leadership of the party.
Wally

Bookman, I am just trying to make sure that the system continues where rank and file PPP Comrades such as yourself who put their lives on the line for the party plus served the party for many years continue to have an opportunity to be in the leadership of the party.

Wayy, what you trying to do, butter up Bookman? That man Bookman would sell his first born for the Jagans eventhough they would flush him away in a jiffy.
Originally posted by baseman:

Wayy, what you trying to do, butter up Bookman? That man Bookman would sell his first born for the Jagans eventhough they would flush him away in a jiffy.

Baseman, you mek me rememba someting. Before my father died, he used to tell his friends that he lost his son Bookman to Jagan. Smile
B
Originally posted by BGurd_See:
Guyana has moved past the Jagan worship days, in fact the guy was a commie loser. The new generation don't care about what happened in the days of the British rule. They care about today and the modern economy. The Jagans will soon be a footnote in the history books, where they really belong.

Not sure BG_S. Ran into a guy in Enterprise, guy had tattered clothes, no teeth, lived in a tent and was asking us for a "frek" to buy food. When we asked about politics and voting, he responded, "mi ah vote PPP, diss a Jagan party, Jagan deh mi heart, mi vote PPP". Needless to say, we gave him directions to Freedumb house to pick up his "frek". Nah, just kidding, still gave him GYD 100. Jagan is in the heart of many and they still equate the CUP with him eventhough these days the CUP only shares milk to cronies.
Most members of the Jagan family are very good people who are kind, gentle and very respectful of others. It is a pleasure for me to be around them.

Politics is politics. It is not personal. Dr Cheddi understood that. But it seems that a very few others in that family never understood that. This attitude of mixing confrontational politics with horrible personal attacks has been so distructive to the party over the years. And it continues today with party stalwarts such as Ralph and Jinnah are being called in the public sphere rank opportunists out to use the Jagan name for personal career promotion. With other party comrades such as Peters being cursed out in a vile fashion in public. Enough is enough.

If you study English history you will know that as rulers of England, Henry (8) and his first born daughter Queen Mary were always fighting and causing trouble in their kingdom between it's religious bodies. The kingdom was never stable there was always chaos. As rulers they never brought unity. Yet as Queen another daughter of Henry (8)Elizabeth (1) united everyone. Both the Catholics and Anglicans were equal under her rule. Consequently,it enabled England to become a great kingdom under her rule. We can all learn from that example.
Wally