Some people are really depressed and need professional help but social media encourages the crave for fame and attention they seek from their sickness to plan and kill their family in cold blood. I hope they take him out of his misery. 

Or he can come on GNI and spend the day and solve all his problems and get his anger out. This is an amazing place.  Lives have been saved.

Some people are really depressed and need professional help but social media encourages the crave for fame and attention they seek from their sickness to plan and kill their family in cold blood. I hope they take him out of his misery. 

Or he can come on GNI and spend the day and solve all his problems and get his anger out. This is an amazing place.  Lives have been saved.

INCLUDING YOURS

No matter what. Never put your kids down and never allow anyone else to do so. Always find the right words to convey your best thoughts. I remember when my kids were playing basketball, a hit was always a good shot and a miss was always a nice try. Even now I got my son a car similar to what his sister has so he feels just as equal even though his grades are much more superior to hers. I am hoping that if I do nothing else right, I want to ensure that I make only good choices when it comes to the kids. And they know that there is no pressure on their grades except that they are As. 😀

When my son was in Univ., I jokingly told him you just go, excel, bring home As, and I'll do all the admin work -- pay the tuition, etc. So said, so done. I've never denigrated him; always portraying him as my pride and joy. I have a huge photo of him in my home. All these things do wonders for children's self esteem. Everyone wants to know how I raised such a fine boy -- it's just innate, the way we were brought up. All thanks to my dear Mom resting in heaven; she never went past primary school but could carry on a conversion with the brightest and best; solved many village disputes; arranged many marriages; helped many young people get visas to North America; etc. She's my role model and what she passed on to me is what I passed on to my son.

INCLUDING YOURS

You were better off saying nothing," a still tongue keeps a wise head."

No matter what. Never put your kids down and never allow anyone else to do so. Always find the right words to convey your best thoughts. I remember when my kids were playing basketball, a hit was always a good shot and a miss was always a nice try. Even now I got my son a car similar to what his sister has so he feels just as equal even though his grades are much more superior to hers. I am hoping that if I do nothing else right, I want to ensure that I make only good choices when it comes to the kids. And they know that there is no pressure on their grades except that they are As. 😀

I believe in tough love. If your child is a skulker you tell him to his/her face he/she is and to buckle up. You do not want to raise a parasite or a predator. 

When my son was in Univ., I jokingly told him you just go, excel, bring home As, and I'll do all the admin work -- pay the tuition, etc. So said, so done. I've never denigrated him; always portraying him as my pride and joy. I have a huge photo of him in my home. All these things do wonders for children's self esteem. Everyone wants to know how I raised such a fine boy -- it's just innate, the way we were brought up. All thanks to my dear Mom resting in heaven; she never went past primary school but could carry on a conversion with the brightest and best; solved many village disputes; arranged many marriages; helped many young people get visas to North America; etc. She's my role model and what she passed on to me is what I passed on to my son.

would you have a big picture of him if he did not do so well?

This kid was not doing well...so he felt a sense of shame. It's all well and good if your kids do well...what happens if he/she is not doing well?

Ray, at waht age are you referrint to? If they are 17 and under I will encourage them to keep trying and to spend more time on their studies rather than Yujo Ho and Yuji Po and other CRAP!! If they are 18 and over I will continue to reming them that they will regret it and that you are now free to build the life you see fit.

I believe in tough love. If your child is a skulker you tell him to his/her face he/she is and to buckle up. You do not want to raise a parasite or a predator. 

I don’t disagree. Unfortunately I wasn’t placed in the position to mete out tough love. You are right that sugar coating things is dangerous. I may suggest some early sugar coating while still assessing if the issue is isolated. If it is more prolonged or serious, then tough love may be the only alternative. Don’t get me wrong. My kids are far from perfect but thankfully far from problematic also.

This kid was not doing well...so he felt a sense of shame. It's all well and good if your kids do well...what happens if he/she is not doing well?

On here, no one seems to comprehend the expectations placed on the young man. That is some pressure, not even to talk it out with his parents. Expectations of him must have been immense. Sad, he had to kill ppl hoping his problems would go away. A year ago an Indian fella, a doctor killed his wife. He was a renowned neurosurgeon, highly educated and knows of making the right choices, yet he lost it. Life is fragile, it is good to have an excellent state of mind. That beats any education-George Ramoo comes to mind, him telling me that education doan mek a person smart. That is after Booker Trade Centre and working at Bllairmont. George had over 30 years experience on the job and I just out of school was trying to school him.    

That was Dr Samji who killed his wife after she asked for a divorce  and she was already having an affair with another doctor. 

Point I am making is that some kids may not do so well in a college setting, yet could be very successful in other aspects of life. 

Bush Jr. was a C student...yet became President, imagine if he had Indian or CHinese parents, he might have been suicidal 

Hey, Dubya capitalized on his Dad's success. Then PACs got him in the Presidential runner-up. Then charm and charisma helped him win the much-coveted President title.   

He is a narcissistic jackass who would kill his parents and siblings rather than have them see him for what he is, a naked fraud. Such selfishness to value himself better than four lives can be rationalized on extraneous circumstances.

Were he concerned about saving face he could have just jumped off some high point greater than five stories and at least have a worthy funeral where real people could mourn him with real tears. Now he rots in jail only to die ab unmourned and unremembered scumbag.

He is a narcissistic jackass who would kill his parents and siblings rather than have them see him for what he is, a naked fraud. Such selfishness to value himself better than four lives can be rationalized on extraneous circumstances.

Were he concerned about saving face he could have just jumped off some high point greater than five stories and at least have a worthy funeral where real people could mourn him with real tears. Now he rots in jail only to die ab unmourned and unremembered scumbag.

I agree 100%.  He is a sicko to do what he did. It cannot be justified!

What irks me is that I'm sure he was exhibiting abnormal behavior, why didn't someone do something before this tragedy happened? 

Narcissists personas like Trump has exalted opinion of themselves and their importance so do not demonstrate classic symptoms sufficient ( in normal circumstances) that troubles anyone except you know they are a jackass. Marianne Williams said something of trump at the debate that ought to peak the interest of anyone concerned with their lives. Most people cast her off as a retro hippy with a psychobabble philosophy but she touched the core about who is  trump. This fellow killed his family to hide his failures. What do you think that yellow orangutan that not only considers himself a polymath but a genius at all disciplines can unleash to save face?