GRA Commissioner General Khurshid Sattaur sent on 200 day “vacation leave” as audit begins

The Governing Board of Directors of the Guyana Revenue Authority announced today that it has taken a unanimous decision to send Commissioner General Kurshid Sattaur on vacation leave with immediate effect to facilitate an upcoming comprehensive audit of the agency by a reputable international firm.

In a statement, the Board said that Mr. Sattaur who has been Commissioner General for the past 12 years has accumulated vacation leave time of more than 200 days and has been ordered to proceed immediately on leave while authorities organize for the audit of the Authority.

Acting Deputy Commissioner Ingrid Griffith will act in the position during the period. 

The government has been talking about a complete overhaul and reform of the Guyana Revenue Authority and has been making moves in that direction.

Ever since the government took office back in May, many in the administration voiced the concern that Sattaur should be replaced or his contract not renewed when it expires.

Finance Minister Winston Jordan has been talking about the need for a better working GRA and a new vision being developed for the revenue collection entity.

A few weeks after it took office, a number of senior GRA officials were also asked to proceed on their owed leave. Many of them had hundreds of days of vacation leave that they had not requested and did not take for a number of years.

Over the years, the GRA,while bringing in billions of dollars in revenue for the government, has been rocked by several multi million dollar frauds. Many of those cases were not adequately addressed.

SOURCE: http://newssourcegy.com/news/g...ave-as-audit-begins/

Who to blame Buddy Nehru?

The new Govt who LIED to the people and promised Fairness, openness, DEmocracy, transparency, good governance, a better Guyana, no crimes.  All the the promises are Hogwash.

Who to blame Buddy Nehru?

The new Govt who LIED to the people and promised Fairness, openness, DEmocracy, transparency, good governance, a better Guyana, no crimes.  All the the promises are Hogwash.

You are definitely getting confused.

It is in the name of of fairness and transparency Bro Kurshid is on vacation.

Don't be surprised next on the list is Sister Shalimar. 

It's funny how this jackass shouts about persecution of coolies when afro Guyanese within the previous regime have also been sent on leave. The PPP never once stood up for those people. Even Kwame only got defended by Jagdeo. No other PPP politician ever said a word for Kwame.

Since May of this year, everyone that are sent home on leave never return to get their jobs back due to some witch hunting audits. BJ should do the same on his return to power. Do fuh do nah obyah.

Mr.T posted:

It's funny how this jackass shouts about persecution of coolies when afro Guyanese within the previous regime have also been sent on leave. The PPP never once stood up for those people. Even Kwame only got defended by Jagdeo. No other PPP politician ever said a word for Kwame.

Banna,

Two wrongs dont make it right. If people did not condemn perceived wrong in the past, it does not mean we should be quiet now...after all, the coalition is setting new standards for the future...no?  

Mr.T posted:

And what exactly is wrong with carrying out an audit? Is it an unnatural business practice?

Nothing...unless its being done to replace positions with coalition supporters and for witch-hunting purposes. We are not comfortable with the fact that so many people, mostly Indians, were replaced and no one is charged...it raises suspicions. 

And guess who is conducting the audit....

Last edited by VishMahabir

The Governing Board of Directors of the Guyana Revenue Authority announced today that it has taken a unanimous decision to send Commissioner General Kurshid Sattaur on vacation leave with immediate effect to facilitate an upcoming comprehensive audit of the agency by a reputable international firm.

In a statement, the Board said that Mr. Sattaur who has been Commissioner General for the past 12 years has accumulated vacation leave time of more than 200 days and has been ordered to proceed immediately on leave while authorities organize for the audit of the Authority.

Acting Deputy Commissioner Ingrid Griffith will act in the position during the period. 

The government has been talking about a complete overhaul and reform of the Guyana Revenue Authority and has been making moves in that direction.

Ever since the government took office back in May, many in the administration voiced the concern that Sattaur should be replaced or his contract not renewed when it expires.

Finance Minister Winston Jordan has been talking about the need for a better working GRA and a new vision being developed for the revenue collection entity.

A few weeks after it took office, a number of senior GRA officials were also asked to proceed on their owed leave. Many of them had hundreds of days of vacation leave that they had not requested and did not take for a number of years.

Over the years, the GRA,while bringing in billions of dollars in revenue for the government, has been rocked by several multi million dollar frauds. Many of those cases were not adequately addressed.

SOURCE: http://newssourcegy.com/news/g...ave-as-audit-begins/

Mr. Sattaur is a professional and 200 days paid vacation is generous. These things happen in any country and he seems quite content. He also understands that it is time to move on.

Supporters of the current administration must also take not of these types of action and should not complain when it happens to one of their own if there is a change in administration.

Why do you need to send someone on vacation to do an audit???

Bibi, I think that this is an official send away handshake. I could be wrong. Mr. Sattaur has not expressed any dissatisfaction or protested. I could be wrong again.

If I were him, I would leave the poisoned atmosphere and just move on.

What are your thoughts on this matter ? I am curious since I am just speaking more from a corporate perspective and could be wrong here.

My experience with audits is also from a corporate perspective which means that employees have to be present in order to produce documents and information required by the auditors.  They also have to answer a lot of questions about procedures, accounting, etc.  I am not familiar with govt audits but I want to believe the procedure is similar.  My feeling is also that this is an unofficial send away handshake.  Either way, it's bizarre.

In routine audits, whether in the public or private sector, no one is sent home.

However, when an audit is ordered to ascertain malfeasance, the suspected or accused official is sent on leave to remove the chances of interference and maintain the integrity of the audit.

In the past, Khurshid Sattaur's actions came in for criticism, from nepotism to violating secrecy rules.

So then, in that case, it should not be an audit.  It should be an investigation which would require the perpetrator to be sent home so as not to interfere with evidence, etc.

A rose by any other name smells just as sweet. Khurshid was accused of discrimination in awarding duty free concessions for high-end SUVs, among other things. Auditors are the appropriate people to track down the paper trail and reconcile the records. They will be able to establish which importers he favored and which he rejected.

Mr.T posted:

And what exactly is wrong with carrying out an audit? Is it an unnatural business practice?

Nothing...unless its being done to replace positions with coalition supporters and for witch-hunting purposes. We are not comfortable with the fact that so many people, mostly Indians, were replaced and no one is charged...it raises suspicions. 

The PPP is the one who gave those jobs to mostly Indians! You can't blame the current government for that.

So then, in that case, it should not be an audit.  It should be an investigation which would require the perpetrator to be sent home so as not to interfere with evidence, etc.

He has not been sent  home. He has been ordered to take some of those 200 days vacation that he has accumulated. I am surprised that he has been allowed to have so many days off in a year.

redux posted:

kurshit is on pre-retirement leave

he and others like him are damn lucky they weren't prosecuted for some of the stunts they pulled in service to the gangster regime

happens when the weak Justice system protects the politicians.

redux posted:

kurshit is on pre-retirement leave

he and others like him are damn lucky they weren't prosecuted for some of the stunts they pulled in service to the gangster regime

happens when the weak Justice system protects the politicians.

More like the Nazi Party...The Netherlands - October 26, 2007 09:21 PM [GMT)

In routine audits, whether in the public or private sector, no one is sent home.

However, when an audit is ordered to ascertain malfeasance, the suspected or accused official is sent on leave to remove the chances of interference and maintain the integrity of the audit.

In the past, Khurshid Sattaur's actions came in for criticism, from nepotism to violating secrecy rules.

BULLSHIT!!!  Go and get educated on the Auditing Principles. Sattaur committed no crimes.  Asa chief ass kisser I am not surprise you will try to justify the CRIMINAL ACt of an INCOMPETENT and STUPID Govt!!!!

Rass bai Gilly, me buddy Nehru ah sen you back ah skool.

Nehru want lil stick lash.

People thief hundreds of millions on Wall Street and dont have to leave for an Audit to be done. THE PNC consists of two groups: DUNCES and HOUSE SLAVES!!!!!!!!!!!!

Rass bai Gilly, me buddy Nehru ah sen you back ah skool.

Nehru want lil stick lash.

People thief hundreds of millions on Wall Street and dont have to leave for an Audit to be done. THE PNC consists of two groups: DUNCES and HOUSE SLAVES!!!!!!!!!!!!

International firm to undertake GRA forensic audit
SEPTEMBER 27, 2015 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER NEWS
– to remove any possibility of conflicts of interest – Minister Sharma

http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....-gra-forensic-audit/

Who pulling the strings??

My experience with audits is also from a corporate perspective which means that employees have to be present in order to produce documents and information required by the auditors.  They also have to answer a lot of questions about procedures, accounting, etc.  I am not familiar with govt audits but I want to believe the procedure is similar.  My feeling is also that this is an unofficial send away handshake.  Either way, it's bizarre.

maybe when  he come back he will be the orderly in camp st jail 

Mr.T posted:

The PPP is the one who gave those jobs to mostly Indians! You can't blame the current government for that.

You dont seem to see the irony in your statement. If the PPP gave ALL the jobs to Indians (and where is the proof of this??), then its OK now for the coalition to give all the jobs to their supporters. So in the next cycle we will see one side screwing the other....

Mr.T posted:

You dont seem to see the irony in your statement. If the PPP gave ALL the jobs to Indians (and where is the proof of this??), then its OK now for the coalition to give all the jobs to their supporters. So in the next cycle we will see one side screwing the other....

You don't seem to display much intelligence. The claim made is that mostly Indians were replaced and no one is charged. Is the PPP cabal demanding that people are charged? Were there no charges laid against two Afro Guyanese ladies who served under the PPP? Given that the positions in which East Indians were allegedly removed from are almost exclusively in government appointed positions, is the PPP suggesting that  the government should continue to be guided by PPP appointed officials like Priya, Alexei, Kwame, et al? Have you and your PPP friends lost control of your senses? 

Mr.T posted:

You don't seem to display much intelligence. The claim made is that mostly Indians were replaced and no one is charged. Is the PPP cabal demanding that people are charged? Were there no charges laid against two Afro Guyanese ladies who served under the PPP? Given that the positions in which East Indians were allegedly removed from are almost exclusively in government appointed positions, is the PPP suggesting that  the government should continue to be guided by PPP appointed officials like Priya, Alexei, Kwame, et al? Have you and your PPP friends lost control of your senses? 

You ARE a bloody Jackass!!!  Priya and Kwame did not hold Civil SErvice Jobs!!!  YUh prapa STUPID, well I knew dat a long time ago.

Mr.T posted

You ARE a bloody Jackass!!!  Priya and Kwame did not hold Civil SErvice Jobs!!!  YUh prapa STUPID, well I knew dat a long time ago.

Did I claim that they were civil servants? We all know they were just part of the honey pot gang on the government payroll.