3 Kaieteur News staff quit

The Glenn Lall-owned Kaieteur Newspaper is again in hot water after three senior journalists attached to news outfit tendered their resignation with immediate effect on Saturday morning citing a host of concerns including poor working condition, maltreatment and verbal harassment in the work place. The Guyana Times understands that two other junior reporters were expected to do the same soon after they vented their dissatisfaction with the sordid state of affairs at the tabloid newspaper company. The three reporters have been identified as Romilla Budram; Zeena Henry and Rabindra Rooplall. While the core details about decision to resign from the media outfit remains sketchy, this newspaper was told that the main reason is linked to the poor working conditions there.

Zena Henry

Zena Henry

Among the other reasons sighted were the manner in which publisher, Glenn Lall speaks to his staff; the internet connection that was cut off from the reporters’ computers and the harassment in the office. A well placed source told the Guyana Times that that they have raised concerns about the disconnection of the internet but Lall and other top officials in the news outfit including, Leonard Gildhari seem not to care. The source also claimed that reporters in the newsroom engage in unprofessional conduct. This, the source stated is prevalent and is followed by cold treatments by the publisher and editors. Guyana Times was also told that Lall would frequently “cuss out” staff members who do not provide him with information in a timely manner. Budram was primarily writing crime stories while Rooplall covered CARICOM and Regional Bodies as well as entertainment and Henry covered the aviation sector. Earlier this year, an email was circulated to top media officials, about the manner in which the newspaper’s publisher treats staff under his employ and the abuse they are made to endure whenever they do not follow his political and administrative instructions. Just last week, Leon Jameson Suseran, a reporter attached to the News media outlet, was sacked by the company after he voiced his concern over the newspaper’s distorted version of an article he had written about the People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C) Albion Rally on Sunday. Taking to social media to express his outrage over the situation, the reporter explained that the Kaieteur News’ headline article in its Monday, April 20 edition was titled “Jagdeo spreads fear at Albion to win back Berbice” and the story took a completely different angle from what he had originally written. Suseran furiously related in his Facebook post that his entire story was altered to inject what he termed as “feelings of discord, hate and anger” against former President Bharrat Jagdeo into the reading populace. Upset about the twist in the article on Monday, Suseran explained that he called the editor on duty the night of the rally, Michael Jordan and related his concerns over the matter. Subsequently, the reporter received a call from the Editor-in-Chief Adam Harris who told then allegedly informed him of his suspension/dismissal. “…the Editor-in-Chief of the Kaieteur News telephoned me to verify certain pieces of information in the article and said that I should not fear anyone since what the article mentioned was nothing but the truth.

Rabindra Rooplall

Romilla Budram

He then went on to say that nevertheless, as the paper had agreed, they will “ease you (me) off” and “will talk to you (me)” again after the elections. That, to me, sounded like another suspension/dismissal. I was suspended twice before by the paper, for other unrelated matters,” the disturbed reporter mentioned in the post, indicating that the newspaper is in the habit of practising victimisation and discrimination if one does not have mutual perceptions of a situation. “…this presents the bigger picture of my victimisation and discrimination especially if your views are not in sync with a certain group,” Suseran noted. Following these episodes, the reporter took to social media to expose the controversial media outlet for its wrongdoings and clarify the chain of events leading up to the publication of the distorted article, which

After close to 2 years of being locked out and denied access to my room, I discovered an empty guest bedroom on the opposite side of the house that didn’t require going into the President’s apartment.  That way I could always access it, so I moved my things over and have been residing there peacefully until recently. 

If yuh gonna talk about slavery.......

Emails, recorded telephone conversation expose…Jagdeo/Nandlall/Sattaur plot to kill staff and shutdown K/News

October 4, 2014 | By | Filed Under Heist of Guyana, News 

September 21, 2014

Jagdeo/Sattaur plot to destroy Kaieteur News unearthed

Blatant political harassment, they agreed to let him go and will talk to him back after the elections.

'Just last week, Leon Jameson Suseran, a reporter attached to the News media outlet, was sacked by the company after he voiced his concern over the newspaper’s distorted version of an article he had written about the People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C) Albion Rally on Sunday. Taking to social media to express his outrage over the situation, the reporter explained that the Kaieteur News’ headline article in its Monday, April 20 edition was titled “Jagdeo spreads fear at Albion to win back Berbice” and the story took a completely different angle from what he had originally written. Suseran furiously related in his Facebook post that his entire story was altered to inject what he termed as “feelings of discord, hate and anger” against former President Bharrat Jagdeo into the reading populace. Upset about the twist in the article on Monday, Suseran explained that he called the editor on duty the night of the rally, Michael Jordan and related his concerns over the matter. Subsequently, the reporter received a call from the Editor-in-Chief Adam Harris who told then allegedly informed him of his suspension/dismissal. “…the Editor-in-Chief of the Kaieteur News telephoned me to verify certain pieces of information in the article and said that I should not fear anyone since what the article mentioned was nothing but the truth.

Rabindra Rooplall

Romilla Budram

He then went on to say that nevertheless, as the paper had agreed, they will “ease you (me) off” and “will talk to you (me)” again after the elections.'