http://www.guyanatimesgy.com/2...-budget-2016-jagdeo/

Tax reductions, wage increases should underpin Budget 2016 – Jagdeo

Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo has indicated that Budget 2016 should include key measures to resolve a host of major issues currently affecting the economy, particularly satisfactory measures to boost consumer spending powers in order to stimulate the underperforming economy.

Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo and PPP/C Member of Parliament Juan Edghill at the press conference on Wednesday

The highly anticipated National Budget will be presented on Friday by Finance Minister Winston Jordan to a magnitude of fervent listeners who are eager to hear the variety of measures Government will introduce as its financial plan for 2016.
Though the parliamentary Opposition was not afforded the opportunity to participate in consultations ahead of the Budget 2016 presentation, the Opposition Leader has a long list of high expectations.
He explained that the lowering of taxes, coupled with higher wages, would lead to consumers having more disposal income which could then be pumped into the economy.
Foremost, Jagdeo posited that Budget 2016 must feature major tax reductions, given that this is an outstanding campaign promise the Government is yet to fulfil and also because a significant drop in taxes can jumpstart to ailing economy.
Specifically, he suggested that the Value Added Tax (VAT) be reduced to as low as 12 per cent.
Jagdeo also acknowledged Government’s plan to lower the excise tax on the importation of new vehicles, but noted that this move will not be beneficial to the majority of Guyanese.
The Opposition Leader further explained that many Guyanese cannot afford the acquisition cost (tax aside) of a new vehicle and consequently expressed hopes that measures be introduced for the lowering of taxes on reconditioned vehicles as well.
Secondly, Jagdeo emphasised that there needs to be substantial salary increases for Public Sector workers and pensioners.
Given that Government is steadfast in its decision to get rid of the pensioners’ water and electricity subsidies in last year’s Budget, Jagdeo posited that the pension should be increased by at least 35 per cent to cushion the fall of the subsidy removal.
Additionally, Jagdeo charged that there must be the reinstatement of the ‘Because We Care’ cash grant, noting that this initiative brought significant relief to parents across the country.
Moreover, the Opposition Leader said he expects to see significant support being offered to the productive sectors, including mining and agriculture.
In November 2015, the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) Opposition had requested a number of documents before engaging in talks with Government regarding the upcoming budget.
Jagdeo disclosed that the Finance Ministry never responded to the correspondence. According to him, it would not have made “sense” to participate in consultations without the requested documents since the relevant data would not be available.
The documents requested were the Commission of Inquiry report into the Guyana Sugar Corporation, the latest Bank of Guyana report, IMF Article Four Consultation Report, Income and Expenditure Statement for a stipulated period, Government’s forecast for the rest of the year, among others.
Moreover, the Opposition Leader explained that the PPP/C wanted to know Government’s “sector strategies” for rice, sugar, ITC, mining, tourism, health, education, housing, crime and forestry, in order to grasp an idea of the Administration’s outlook for the future.
“We wanted to get their take on how they are approaching these issues,” Jagdeo said.

THE LYING, THIEVING, SLIMEBALLS UNCLE TOM AND THE PNC TOLD THE GUYANESE PEOPLE THEY WILL REDUCE VAT, VAT TOO HIGH, IT IS A YEAR NOW AND THOSE LYING DUNCES DID NOTHING.  WHO IS CIVILIZED AND WHO IS THE JACKASS

RAY POST DAT DAVE MARTIN SONG NAH!!!

THE LYING, THIEVING, SLIMEBALLS UNCLE TOM AND THE PNC TOLD THE GUYANESE PEOPLE THEY WILL REDUCE VAT, VAT TOO HIGH, IT IS A YEAR NOW AND THOSE LYING DUNCES DID NOTHING.  WHO IS CIVILIZED AND WHO IS THE JACKASS . . .

esteemed 'economists' baseman, rat and alena06 seem as confused as u are

where is Bibi Haniffa and the other Jagdeo bt lickers in all dis?

har har har harrr

redux posted:

Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo has indicated that Budget 2016 should include key measures to resolve a host of major issues currently affecting the economy, particularly satisfactory measures to boost consumer spending powers in order to stimulate the underperforming economy.

What a load of bollox by this failed former president. Boosting consumer spending increases the risk of inflation, and draining our foreign currency reserves. Because the majority of consumer spending would be targeted at imported goods. What we need to achieve growth is a boost in export, which can then be followed with reciprocal imports. Jagdeo keeps ignoring the fact that there are less than 600K Guyanese in the country. That's less than the population of the Borough I live in i London!

Funny this.  It was the PPP who installed the VAT, and it was also the PPP which underpaid civil servants.

Jagdeo ought to be congratulating the coalition gov't for following in their footsteps.

HAHAHA Mr T. You are thye man and yuh gat wan real KATAHAR with you today.

Unlike you, I do have a degree in Business Study and more qualified than Jagdeo to speak about such matters. Your ignorance of how economy and trade works is staggering.

redux posted:

THE LYING, THIEVING, SLIMEBALLS UNCLE TOM AND THE PNC TOLD THE GUYANESE PEOPLE THEY WILL REDUCE VAT, VAT TOO HIGH, IT IS A YEAR NOW AND THOSE LYING DUNCES DID NOTHING.  WHO IS CIVILIZED AND WHO IS THE JACKASS . . .

har har har harrr

The man BJ calling alyuh bluff!!  Alyuh seh you gon reduce in the campaign, now he holding your feet to the fire.  He have you in a bind.  If it was so easy, why did your PNC challenge him as to why he did not do it pre-May 2015.  He never even made that promise during the campaign because he know it was not really feasible.  Now alyuh lie your way to the presidency, he calling alyuh bluff!!

Funny this.  It was the PPP who installed the VAT, and it was also the PPP which underpaid civil servants.

Jagdeo ought to be congratulating the coalition gov't for following in their footsteps.

The PPP did not "install" VAT.  This was a requirement from the international institutions as part of debt forgiveness.  The other methods were porous so many were eliminated and VAT replaced them.

What the PNC should do is offer a tax rebate to fixed salary earners who pay their fair share of taxes via PAYE as VAT was intended to capture revenues from self-employed who under reported and from the underground economy who never report!  I believe the fixed salaried individuals are getting shafted!  I may be wrong, but I have that impression!

But how could they now?   Instead of thinking of the working class, they instead voted themselves astronomical salary increases so the option for a tax cut on the working class is off the table!  The VAT has to fund the PNC/AFC "fat cats" and their many overseas advisors!!

ba$eman posted:
redux posted:

har har har harrr

The man BJ calling alyuh bluff!! 

And suppose the coalition did in fact reduce VAT. What would Jagdeo do then?  How do you explain a ruinously high VAT in the first place?  Most other places its 10%.

ba$eman posted:

The PPP did not "install" VAT.  This was a requirement from the international institutions as part of debt forgiveness.  The other methods were porous so many were eliminated and VAT replaced

The VAT came long after the debt had already been written off.

And yes salary earners are being shafted. Especially when we see all the tax concessions that the PPP offered to those in its Indo and Chinese Friends and Family program.

How come you didn't blame the PPP for not offering  concessions to salaried tax payers?

ba$eman posted:
redux posted:

har har har harrr

The man BJ calling alyuh bluff!! 

And suppose the coalition did in fact reduce VAT. What would Jagdeo do then?  How do you explain a ruinously high VAT in the first place?  Most other places its 10%.

Don't talk hot air....go DO IT you fools, go ahead!!  The question is not what BJ will do, is YOU for you to fulfill your promises to the people, that is for YOU to do!!

You bunch of liars/hoaksters....prove you are not!!

ba$eman posted:

Don't talk hot air....go DO IT you fools, go ahead!!  The question is not what BJ will do, is YOU for you to fulfill your promises to the people, that is for YOU to do!!

YOU are a PPP fraud.  I am NOT a coalition supporter.

So cease with the "you".  

ba$eman posted:
redux posted:

har har har harrr

The man BJ calling alyuh bluff!!  Alyuh seh you gon reduce in the campaign, now he holding your feet to the fire.  He have you in a bind.  If it was so easy, why did your PNC challenge him as to why he did not do it pre-May 2015.  He never even made that promise during the campaign because he know it was not really feasible.  Now alyuh lie your way to the presidency, he calling alyuh bluff!!

lol lol

suh, which part(s) of Bharat's recommendations for budget 2016 wuz joke and which part(s) wuz serious?

and, exactly which wan of u two antiman is the stand up comedian?

har de har har har har harrr

ba$eman posted:

YOU are a PPP fraud.  I am NOT a coalition supporter.

So cease with the "you".  

Tell me, who promised!!  Now you are not  PNC supporter, you cuss PPP, you cuss Burnham after he done pillage the nation in the name of Afro supremacy!  Exactly what do you believe in, apart from hind-sight-ism?

ba$eman posted:

The PPP did not "install" VAT.  This was a requirement from the international institutions as part of debt forgiveness.  The other methods were porous so many were eliminated and VAT replaced

The VAT came long after the debt had already been written off.

And yes salary earners are being shafted. Especially when we see all the tax concessions that the PPP offered to those in its Indo and Chinese Friends and Family program.

How come you didn't blame the PPP for not offering  concessions to salaried tax payers?

Because PNC/AFC is a new Govt and they came in on the mantra that the PPP was wrong.  Now make it right.  Close the loop hole on the PPP excesses and balance the equation.  You don't have to benchmark the PPP, do your thing and and keep the promises of the campaign platform.  How long do you hide behind the PPP shadow?

redux posted:
ba$eman posted:
redux posted:

har har har harrr

lol lol

suh, which part(s) of Bharat's recommendations for budget 2016 wuz joke and which part(s) wuz serious?

and, exactly which wan of u two antiman is the stand up comedian?

har de har har har har harrr

No, the joke's on alyuh!!

ba$eman posted:

Tell me, who promised!!  Now you are not  PNC supporter, you cuss PPP, you cuss Burnham after he done pillage the nation in the name of Afro supremacy!  Exactly what do you believe in, apart from hind-sight-ism?

Now you support an incompetent and corrupt party because of race.

I am not you.  If the coalition is incompetent I will not support them.  the fact that it is a majority black gov't doesn't give them license to disappoint. 

Burnham did severe damage to Guyana, with Afro Guyanese suffering more than most. 

As to hind sightism. Please recall my arguments with redux and Mars last year.  While I am disappointed that the coalition doesn't seem to inspire confidence, I am not surprised.  I said that long ago.

ba$eman posted:

Because PNC/AFC is a new Govt and they came in on the mantra that the PPP was wrong. 

Do you say that the PPP did wrong?  No.  So the fact that the coalition hasn't corrected the PPP wrongs ought to please you.

People like me, who were very vocal against the PPP have earned the right to criticize the coalition for copying the PPP.  

You lack that right, until you cease genuflecting in front of Jagdeo.

These dummies who voted for the PNC on false promises don't understand that in light of a contracting economy, there is no way that the PNC will slash VAT as it is their long arm into the pockets of the tax payers. These idiots in office spending wastefully on sporting and rewarding political loyalties, that they are not planning on the future so they have to keep vat high as it is their main revenue source.  

Druggie if the economy was booming under the PPP why did it raise the cost of living by 17% by adding a VAT, which clearly created hardship for the majority of the population.

Obviously the PPP had problems and wanted the fastest and easiest way to raise cash, and that was by installing an onerous VAT.

. . . As to hind sightism. Please recall my arguments with redux and Mars last year.  While I am disappointed that the coalition doesn't seem to inspire confidence, I am not surprised.  I said that long ago.

caribny, i'm not exactly sure what you are pointing to, but i'll just ask that u cease calling my name when u periodically decide to polish your 'credentials'

i am particularly offended by the gawdawful lie you placed in the record here https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/gu...3#492480660032259083 attacking my character . . . totally out of nowhere

i was suspended at the time and couldn't respond

you mentioned Mars' name then also, and he called u on it

thanks

Druggie if the economy was booming under the PPP why did it raise the cost of living by 17% by adding a VAT, which clearly created hardship for the majority of the population.

Obviously the PPP had problems and wanted the fastest and easiest way to raise cash, and that was by installing an onerous VAT.

Caribj, get this, the economy was booming but the tax revenues were not reflecting.  The international lending community wanted to see a better model to ensure taxes are collected as the debt needed to be serviced.  Given Guyana, like many developing economies, have a sizable grey/underground economy, the most efficient and effective way to collect taxes were VAT and other forms of spending/consumption taxes.

There was a myriad of other taxes on the books which were removed and replaced with VAT.  The problem with those taxes, they were being circumvented and difficult to police.  The fact that the people saw increases was [sometimes] due to the fact that the proper taxes were not being collected in the first place, so everyone was getting away at the expense of the national debt.

The Govt has to now ensure fairness and equity of the tax burden as VAT could be very regressive.  This will be an ongoing process of assessment and the Govt have to track and understand the development within the economy.

ba$eman posted:

Caribj, get this, the economy was booming but the tax revenues were not reflecting.  .

The best way to dampen a "booming" economy is to tax consumption.  the VAT was too high. 

If the PPP was doing this excellent job its debt wouldn't have been so high that lenders would have been able to force them to do that which they didn't want to do.  Only severely indebted nations fall into that trap.

This may be true however the pnc are now in power and it was one of their campaign promises. You continue to defend these incompetent dunces.

Here you are defending the incompetent PPP. 

If the PPP put in place this usurious VAT, and you applaud them, then you should be congratulating the coalition government for seeing the "wisdom" of copying the PPP.

If the VAT should be reduced, then clearly you admit that the PPP erred.

You cannot fault the coalition gov't for continuing what the PPP did, and then claim that the PPP did an excellent job.

It will be better for you to claim that an incompetent PPP was followed by an equally incompetent APNU AFC.  But then you have revealed your racism by your screams about blacks.