@Django posted:

121 Days after March 2 ,2020 Elections ,the people of Guyana will know which Political Party(s) will be the next Government.

Not really. Even if the CCJ rules in the PPP/C's favor that Sanctimonious Gangster Granger and his Harmonite strongmen will not step down. Some observers believe the Harmonites will provoke a crisis and Granger will declare a State of Emergency. But I do hope that better sense prevails and that Granger accepts peacefully a pro-PPP/C ruling by the CCJ.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yy1z5EF528k

Not really. Even if the CCJ rules in the PPP/C's favor that Sanctimonious Gangster Granger and his Harmonite strongmen will not step down. Some observers believe the Harmonites will provoke a crisis and Granger will declare a State of Emergency. But I do hope that better sense prevails and that Granger accepts peacefully a pro-PPP/C ruling by the CCJ.

Are you saying that the PNC will use better judgement?

@Ramakant-P posted:

Are you saying that the PNC will use better judgement?

Who knows? The world is warning them. They must realize they can't withstand political isolation and economic sanctions for long.

Today July 1st Ralph Gonsalves takes over as CARICOM Chairman. He will start the ball rolling. Gonsalves' position against Granger's position is well known. Gonsalves commands more respect within the Caribbean than Granger.

Who knows? The world is warning them. They must realize they can't withstand political isolation and economic sanctions for long.

Today July 1st Ralph Gonsalves takes over as CARICOM Chairman. He will start the ball rolling. Gonsalves' position against Granger's position is well known. Gonsalves commands more respect within the Caribbean than Granger.

Yes! indeed! The whole of Guyana will suffer greatly if the PNC is allowed to get away with cheating as they did between 1968 and 1985, 2015 and now 2020.

@Django posted:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yy1z5EF528k

Thanks Django.

@kp posted:

It is interesting to listen to the proceeding, The PNC lawyer has difficulty pronouncing words and several time had to be reminded of the subject being addressed.

I can see the judges being disgusted by the poor presentation by the PNC clowns.

@alena06 posted:

PNC lawyer not answering the judges questions just keep quoting cases, one judge even said you have quoted that case before. 😄😄

I'm amused by how people evaluate the lawyers.  I have been around countless lawyers and have listened to numerous presentations in different legal proceedings.  First thing to bear in mind is that most of a lawyer's case is in the written materials submitted .  Second, the oral presentations are by design and necessity slow paced because a number of people have to follow what is being said and the constant references to cases is because that is the the essence of the common law.  

CCJ judges raise key questions at Jagdeo-Ally “valid votes” appeal

President of the Caribbean Court of Justice, Adrian Saunders telling Attorney General Basil Williams (backing camera) “we need to make this thing work”

Two judges of the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) on Wednesday morning raised questions about whether Guyana’s constitution and election law can be amended by subsidiary legislation.

CCJ President , Justice Adrian Saunders posed the question to Attorney-at-Law John Jeremie, for the respondent Eslyn David. “Does that sound right to you?,” Saunders said.

That question was asked at the juncture when Jeremie was making the point that the Guyana Court of Appeal was asked for an interpretation of “more votes are cast” as stated in Article 177 (2)(b). The local appeal court ruled that “more votes are cast” means “more valid votes are cast”.  The lawyer noted that the applicant that Article be read in accordance with the gazetted recount order number 60.

Justice Jacob Wit

Justice Saunders also remarked that if the CCJ were to rule that a court can determine the validity of the election of an official before the official is actually elected, that would be the first time that the Commonwealth that would happen.

CCJ Judge, Jacob Wit queried what was meant by valid votes, and he went on to remark that that would have implications for the Representation of the People Act which speaks about valid votes. “If you give a different meaning to valid votes, that would not be within the jurisdiction of the Court of Appeal and will be dangerous to do it this way,” the judge said.

The recount Order 60 provided for the reconciliation of votes cast in the March 2, 2020 general and regional elections with voters’ lists, counterfoils and stubs.

Attorney-at-Law , Douglas Mendes, for appellants Bharrat Jagdeo and Irfaan Ali remarked that “it will amend the constitution.”

@Totaram posted:

Jackass, its not only criminals who have contact with the legal system.  

Totaram,  one of the things I found myself doing when I first joined this forum, was responding the way others write to me. If they call me names, or are nasty towards me, I am also nasty and I call them names in return. The end result was,  we both become nastier towards each other and we don't even discuss the issue any more. 

When you first start writing on this forum, I stopped writing for a while and laugh, while I let other think we are the same person. I was also impressed by what you wrote, but after a while I noticed that you write  like me, when I first came here. 

I had a best friend name Gene. I disliked him when he challenged me to make me see myself.  He passed on and I really miss him.  

CCJ to give decision next week Wednesday on PPP’s election appeal

Trinidadian Senior Counsel, Douglas Mendes

Lawyers for the People’s Progressive Party and a supporter of A Partnership for National Unity+Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC) on Wednesday laid out their arguments on whether the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ has jurisdiction to hear an appeal of a Guyana Court of Appeal decision on the question of valid votes.

The CCJ said it would now study the submissions by the several lawyers and give a decision next week Wednesday , July 8 at 3 PM.

Attorney-at-Law, John Jeremie, for APNU+AFC respondent Eslyn David maintained that the regional court does not have jurisdiction to hear the appeal because the Guyana constitution and the CCJ Act prohibit this. Jeremie further argued that even if the Guyana Court of Appeal is wrong, the CCJ could not hear an appeal. “The court has no jurisdiction to determine the matterâ€Ķto determine whether that supreme court was wrong,” he said.

Attorney-at-Lawyer, Douglas Mendes, for PPP General Secretary Bharrat Jagdeo and presidential candidate, Dr. Irfaan Ally conceded that the CCJ does not have jurisdiction to hear the appeal but to quash the case altogether because the Guyana Court of Appeal had no jurisdiction in the first place. He stressed that Article 177(4) was applicable only to someone who had already been elected president.

Attorney General, Basil Williams (Guyana Chronicle photo).

Mendes, at the same time, said the CCJ has a legitimate right to interpret the constitution and to find that the Guyana Court of Appeal had no jurisdiction. “If the decision is not caught by Article 177(4), therefore, your jurisdiction is not excluded,” he said. The lawyer the CCJ Act gives the right to interpret the Constitution, all civil matters and matters of great public importance.  He said the CCJ does not interpret the constitution “you would be violating the Constitution of Guyana.”

The lawyer for Jagdeo and Ally wants the CCJ to allow the appeal to that Trinidad-headquartered court, that the matter before the Guyana Court of Appeal is dismissed.

Mendes also wants the CCJ to issue a consequential order requiring the Chief Elections Officer to withdraw his report to the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) and declare the result on the basis of the recount.

Attorney-at-Law, Justin Simon,in association with Attorney General Basil Williams, said based on the CCJ’s interpretation of Article 177(4) of Guyana’s constitution would have determine whether it has a residual jurisdiction. At the same time, he said the Guyana Court of Appeal enjoys jurisdiction to interpret the Constitution. “Give a liberal interpretationâ€Ķ,”

Attorney General Williams  said the Guyana Court of Appeal has exclusive jurisdiction to deal with matters concerning the election of the President and the High Court deals with the election of members of the National Assembly.

Attorney-at-Law Reginald Armour, for APNU+AFC’s Joseph Harmon, also argued that the CCJ did not have jurisdiction.

@Rochelle posted:

Very good arguments made on both sides.

Impressed with Mr. Reginald Armour, S.C.!

Mr. Basil Williams also came through. Good day for both sides. It really is a tough case and decision. 

Basil should take some pages from Jonas book and share with his comrades representing APNU.

what is an "ack"

justice Saunders we ain't want get into that ðŸ˜‚😂😂😂

Court of Appeal amend the constitution by way of an order ðŸ˜‚😂😂😂

How yuh know yuh on a “fishing expedition.”

Armour appearing for Joseph Harmon: “ Sir, the best answer I can give...”

Mr. Armour appearing for Joseph Harmon: “I am lost my Honor, I am lost...” eventually agrees that the CCJ has jurisdiction on the particular question.