What did Burnham or Guyana get from allowing Jim Jones to get that land in the interior?

Vish, it was complicated and tied in with a political debt Jimmy Carter felt he owed JJ for helping him get elected.  JC asked the Guyana government to offer him sanctuary for his flock. Guyana has just gone Marxist and JJ espoused that ideologically.  JJ felt Guyana was best as it was safe, Marxist but still offered open access to the USA.

JJ offered a flow of money and support against Venezuela in its renewed claim to Essequibo.  This is why they were offered a piece of land in the heart of the contended territory.  Also JJ wanted to be away from probing eyes.

JJ claimed to have many newly returned Vietnam within his control.  My dad met with them routinely regarding their agro plantation and tropical farming methods.  Larry Layton and another (Chuck), both Vietnam vets, told my dad they can introduce as much as 1,000 vets into the conflict. True or not, we will never know.  

My dad thought it was Chuck who killed the mother and three daughters at their GT HQ.  That mother and daughters were scheduled to visit our home in GT in about two weeks.  She had asked my dad to introduce the girls as they wanted local friends.  My four sisters were the ages of those girls.  

This makes a lot of sense.  I read somewhere that Jones had his people from the Peoples Temple campaigning on the streets of San Francisco and Redwood for the Democratic party and Carter.

Burnham was a very cunning and smart fox.  He probably eventually realized that Jones had enough armed and dedicated followers that can spearhead and be in the front of any ultra-left wing backed coup against him.

It was said that Viola Burnham and some security was first at the scene and they stole money and other valuables.

The first on the scene was the son of Winifred Gaskin.   A few days later he took a flight to the USA with several suitcases!

so baseman, when exactly did GDF officer Gregory Gaskin fly in to Jonestown?

and what were in these "several suitcases" you know so much about that he "took" to the USA "a few days later"?

details, and no libelous 'nancy stories please

It was said that Viola Burnham and some security was first at the scene and they stole money and other valuables.

The first on the scene was the son of Winifred Gaskin.   A few days later he took a flight to the USA with several suitcases!

and what were in these "several suitcases" you know so much about that he "took" to the USA "a few days later"?

Ask yuh new frenn who like yuh post!!

I believe he had lots of suits and a big wardrobe that required several suitcases!  That's all!!

What did Burnham or Guyana get from allowing Jim Jones to get that land in the interior?

Vish, it was complicated and tied in with a political debt Jimmy Carter felt he owed JJ for helping him get elected.  JC asked the Guyana government to offer him sanctuary for his flock. Guyana has just gone Marxist and JJ espoused that ideologically.  JJ felt Guyana was best as it was safe, Marxist but still offered open access to the USA.

JJ offered a flow of money and support against Venezuela in its renewed claim to Essequibo.  This is why they were offered a piece of land in the heart of the contended territory.  Also JJ wanted to be away from probing eyes.

JJ claimed to have many newly returned Vietnam within his control.  My dad met with them routinely regarding their agro plantation and tropical farming methods.  Larry Layton and another (Chuck), both Vietnam vets, told my dad they can introduce as much as 1,000 vets into the conflict. True or not, we will never know.  

My dad thought it was Chuck who killed the mother and three daughters at their GT HQ.  That mother and daughters were scheduled to visit our home in GT in about two weeks.  She had asked my dad to introduce the girls as they wanted local friends.  My four sisters were the ages of those girls.  

This makes a lot of sense.  I read somewhere that Jones had his people from the Peoples Temple campaigning on the streets of San Francisco and Redwood for the Democratic party and Carter.

Burnham was a very cunning and smart fox.  He probably eventually realized that Jones had enough armed and dedicated followers that can spearhead and be in the front of any ultra-left wing backed coup against him.

The story was JC's campaign was struggling to gain traction then JJ filled some stadium which started his momentum!

I believe he had lots of suits and a big wardrobe that required several suitcases!  That's all!!

sooo, your MO is to hint darkly and locate event timeframes precisely at first, then dance like a klown and run like rass when challenged on the details

uh huh

Prashad knows Gregory from the Military.  I just cannot see him EVER stealing dead people property. This is a nancy story for sure.

sooo, your MO is to hint darkly and locate event timeframes precisely at first, then dance like a klown and run like rass when challenged on the details

uh huh

I didn't look into them so I can only say what makes sense.  I mean, why is it called a "suitcase?"  Do you know something different?

Prashad knows Gregory from the Military.  I just cannot see him EVER stealing dead people property. This is a nancy story for sure.

Who ever said stealing anything?  Maybe it was trauma and he needed some R&R!!

Gregory was like Taylor. Very much a professional soldier.  He always stuck to the rules and he would have never bend the rules for PNC, Burnham or anyone else.

I lived near a base and never came across a GDF who was not highly professional and defended the constitution, to hell with Burnham and his games! 

And I always believed Burnham imported Angolans to help rig the elections!

baseman has been peddling gross, Goebbelsian lies about David Granger for years on GNI . . . it waxes and wanes

typical opportunist, he offers goodwill and blandishments when he calculates dem 'others' pan tap with their tail up

sporting the cloven hoof and tail, he snarls with the haffa set of fangs he has left the minute 'weakness' is discerned

the 'cleverness' . . .

we ah watch alyuh

baseman has been peddling gross, Goebbelsian lies about David Granger for years on GNI . . . it waxes and wanes

typical opportunist, he offers goodwill and blandishments when he calculates dem 'others' pan tap with their tail up

sporting the cloven hoof and tail, he snarls with the haffa set of fangs he has left the minute 'weakness' is discerned

the 'cleverness' . . .

we ah watch alyuh

What did I say about HE Granger?  Stop your insensitive indecency, the man is gravely ill!

the 'cleverness' . . .

we ah watch alyuh

What did I say about HE Granger?  Stop your insensitive indecency, the man is gravely ill!

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/d...973-elections?page=2

Baseman wrote: "I told him I don't trust the PNC as his uncle ["HE Granger"] perpetrated the rigging in 1973 in Timehri!  That was the "this"!"

now haul your INDECENT rass!

Somebody stole.

And the only ppl who went there were the GDF.

The place was out of reach to civilians.

Somebody stole. 

who said . . .?

Redux, did the People's Temple had a house in Bel Air or prashad. Nagar? I do recall the elders saying there was a shooting there. Not sure but I believe it was around the same time of the kool Aid episode. Do u recall?

Peoples Temple had their house by the Ministry of National Development opposite the Sophia area. It was a nice house with a mini basketball court. I remember seeing some black and white boys practicing their basketball there. I don't think that was Prashad Nagar but close.

Click on link for Audio News

http://www-rohan.sdsu.edu/nas/...stemple/MP3/Q875.MP3

Broadcast news stories recorded off the air on November 19, 1978, all concerning the deaths of Congressman Leo Ryan and members of his party “last night” at the Port Kaituma airstrip in Guyana. Two of the broadcasts are of Guyanese origin, and two are American, including an ABC broadcast. The first newscast includes “unconfirmed reports reaching Georgetown” of mass suicide at Jonestown. Later broadcasts said that Temple attorneys Charles Garry and Mark Lane are safe, although at the time there was still “nothing [confirmed] about reports of mass suicide in the commune.”

Redux, did the People's Temple had a house in Bel Air or prashad. Nagar? I do recall the elders saying there was a shooting there. Not sure but I believe it was around the same time of the kool Aid episode. Do u recall?

https://jonestown.sdsu.edu/?ga...ry_fancybox_17479-13

https://jonestown.sdsu.edu/?ga...e-family-photos-1978

Sheik click on links, there are some photos

The Lamaha Gardens house is the Peoples Temple house that I am talking about.  It looked much more nicer and bigger than the photo showed it to be.

Why wasn’t Burnham and Jimmy Carter held accountable for their respective roles in this massacre?

Somebody stole. 

who said . . .?

You always in denial. 

the 'cleverness' . . .

we ah watch alyuh

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/d...973-elections?page=2

Baseman wrote: "I told him I don't trust the PNC as his uncle ["HE Granger"] perpetrated the rigging in 1973 in Timehri!  That was the "this"!"

now haul your INDECENT rass!

Yes shakeabatty, I said I asked his relative who had befriended people within the AFC.  I don’t push under the rug.  He said Granger was young and not a decision maker.  I take his word for it. My go figure was to you.  I actually do believe him that more senior officers made the decision.  He never denied his relative was not involved, just he was not a decision maker.   Now, do you comprehend or you need it infused, eh shakeabatty!!

Somebody stole. 

who said . . .?

You always in denial. 

What ever happened to that USD 2 mil in the suitcases abandoned on site?

Why wasn’t Burnham and Jimmy Carter held accountable for their respective roles in this massacre?

What were their “respective roles?”

Was the Albatross owned by the People's Temple or the US Navy? Some of the people and their belongings came on the ship.

You got more conspiracies in yuh head than Prashad. The boat was owned by the People's temple. And if I'm not mistaken, was later sold to a local Guyanese fella from Meadow Bank.

the suicides went down that Saturday night

and as i noted before, the shootings at Port Kaituma airstrip occurred approx. 5:00 pm that day . . . news could only have reached GT that evening 

NBC was reporting the murder of Congressman Ryan late that Saturday night . . . the mass murder/suicides were a next day developing story

timelines please

Not sure about the timing of the suicides other than it was the Saturday as well. Re the event, yes, we heard it on the radio that evening, though only that something about a murder of Americans at "Jonestown", but the gravity of the disaster was unknown.

that murder of Americans you are referring to is the Airstrip shootings which was known in GT that Saturday evening

the Jonestown suicides went down well into Saturday night . . . and NO ONE knew until Sunday

You are correct. I am referring to the airstrip shootings which was the first piece of news that broke in GT that evening. Yes, there was a lag between the acts of violence and when they were reported. The GT murders and suicides in the jungle were committed Saturday evening but not known until Sunday.

My comments were meant to point out to Django that there was no grand conspiracy by the then GoG to suppress information .

The purpose of establishing Jonestown was to give the US and Guyana a settlement close to the Venezuela border to keep the Spanish neighbors in check.  It was believed that eventually a military base and further expansion of a community with schools, hospitals, etc would have been built there.  

From what i read ,US had no part in that strategy, it's more of a thought from Burnham.

Very Prashadesque.

I was in the Rupanunui when I heard the news. I remember a guy telling me that he had seen Jones give a sermon at Brickdam cathedral. He also told me that Jones had young white children begging people for money in Georgetown for his church.

Your accounts are all hearsay, to wit "a guy telling me", "he also told me" and all the whisperings of the devil in your crazy ass head. Jones would not be allowed to give a "sermon" at Brickdam Cathedral which was a CATHOLIC institution while Jones was a Protestant. Furthermore he was  even regarded as a heretic by protestants according to books written on the Jonestown massacre. 

You, like the rest of the Indo KKK here, just talk shit for talking sake. Yuh "hear" Gaskin steal, "somebody stole" and a whole pack of lies in alyuh imaginings.

Alyuh need to take a deep breath, read, understand and LARN a lil bit.

Somebody stole. 

who said . . .?

You always in denial. 

What ever happened to that USD 2 mil in the suitcases abandoned on site?

When ppl comes to neutral country, many times they tolerate foes. Guyanese blacks and indians are like those ppl. Especially policemen and soldiers. They eventually share events that took place in Guyana, many black folks at the time considered the disciplined services as the way of speaking quietly and carry a big stick. In other words, enforcing tyranny. Under Burnham, thiefing was the only way forward. 

And dem chaps in the forces knew those who stole the dead ppl money.

And they talked about it, once they moved to foreign lands. 

Guyanese are not so honest, temptations lingers in their minds. Is like history repaeted itself wid dem firefighters. All dat stuff juss there unattended, an invitation to tek it. 

The purpose of establishing Jonestown was to give the US and Guyana a settlement close to the Venezuela border to keep the Spanish neighbors in check.  It was believed that eventually a military base and further expansion of a community with schools, hospitals, etc would have been built there.  

From what i read ,US had no part in that strategy, it's more of a thought from Burnham.

Very Prashadesque.

I guess you know otherwise, tell us the first hand info  you have.

Jones would not be allowed to give a "sermon" at Brickdam Cathedral which was a CATHOLIC institution while Jones was a Protestant. Furthermore he was  even regarded as a heretic by protestants according to books written on the Jonestown massacre. 

Jim Jones preached one night at the Sacred Heart Roman Catholic Church in Main Street GT. The Chronicle newspaper carried a front-page report. I read it. It said Jim Jones performed a miracle and "healed" a woman suffering from cancer. Sacred Heart officials didn't let Jones into the church again. They discovered that the healing was bogus. The "sick" woman was a plant and the "cancer" was chicken guts prop hidden in the rostrum. 

The church was burned down in 2004 and rebuilt later. Read this:

https://www.ctvnews.ca/mobile/...-to-reopen-1.2658512

Was the Albatross owned by the People's Temple or the US Navy? Some of the people and their belongings came on the ship.

You got more conspiracies in yuh head than Prashad. The boat was owned by the People's temple. And if I'm not mistaken, was later sold to a local Guyanese fella from Meadow Bank.

Me tinks sometimes missy Frau missing meds causing lil klankle up deh! 

Earlier today missy Frau seh some story 'bout JJ and his tribe being denied reentry into the US sparked the event.  You evva hear USG denying it's citizens coming home?  And pon tapp, dem senn Ryan to investigate Americans being held against their will!

Den missy Frau seh she hear US put dem citizens deh to fight off the Spanish Conquistadors tekkin' ovva Ebo and wuzz guh build hospital, schools, roads, etc!!  Me nevva hear America dozz senn dem old Social Security recipients to fight dem battle!  Besides, dem dayzz America used to back dem Conquistador position!

Me nah know Gwana man, maybe you cyan figga out wah happenin'.  Me rass cyant, and me gah "history" widd missy Frau!

Wan lang buze coming up pon yuh tomorrow. Alyuh try deh!