My family and I arrived in NYC the year before and we were still adjusting to a new country, when the news came on the tv. We were stunned, never heard of it while we lived there. Then everyone asked us 'so you're from the Jim Jones place?' We wanted to answer 'yes, the American JJ murdered his people in that country.'

It was said that Viola Burnham and some security was first at the scene and they stole money and other valuables.

seriously . . .?

banna, not every moronic thing you hear in a rum shop is worth repeating

try using COMMON SENSE as a filter

smfh

I was at your house when I heard that story,I remember you running around without pants holding your ass crying that uncle Jones dead.

It was said that Viola Burnham and some security was first at the scene and they stole money and other valuables.

seriously . . .?

smfh

I was at your house when I heard that story, I remember you running around without pants holding your ass crying that uncle Jones dead.

your truly pitiful attempt at comedy to mitigate the skundle o' bunt you got called on is something to feel sorry for

i suggest you try another tack more suited to your limited 'intellectual' abilities . . . like cussin

seriously . . .?

smfh

I was at your house when I heard that story, I remember you running around without pants holding your ass crying that uncle Jones dead.

your truly pitiful attempt at comedy to mitigate the skundle o' bunt you got called on is something to feel sorry for

i suggest you try another tack more suited to your limited 'intellectual' abilities . . . like cussin

I leave that activity for you ,it's Saturday night go and play with yourself  , you're yearning for attention. 

seriously . . .?

smfh

Weh u been bai when dis thing happen.

stateside . . . after Saturday Night Live, breaking news on NBC 

seriously . . .?

smfh

I was at the airport with my dad waiting on my mom who was coming in from trinidad. There was a flurry of activity. I remember these small lear jets coming in. Didnt understand what was going on til later on 

seriously . . .?

smfh

2/3 of Jones followers were Blacks. Did you know this or were you too busy shaking your bt stateside with a suitcase of money?

What did Burnham or Guyana get from allowing Jim Jones to get that land in the interior?

Vish, it was complicated and tied in with a political debt Jimmy Carter felt he owed JJ for helping him get elected.  JC asked the Guyana government to offer him sanctuary for his flock. Guyana has just gone Marxist and JJ espoused that ideologically.  JJ felt Guyana was best as it was safe, Marxist but still offered open access to the USA.

JJ offered a flow of money and support against Venezuela in its renewed claim to Essequibo.  This is why they were offered a piece of land in the heart of the contended territory.  Also JJ wanted to be away from probing eyes.

JJ claimed to have many newly returned Vietnam within his control.  My dad met with them routinely regarding their agro plantation and tropical farming methods.  Larry Layton and another (Chuck), both Vietnam vets, told my dad they can introduce as much as 1,000 vets into the conflict. True or not, we will never know.  

My dad thought it was Chuck who killed the mother and three daughters at their GT HQ.  That mother and daughters were scheduled to visit our home in GT in about two weeks.  She had asked my dad to introduce the girls as they wanted local friends.  My four sisters were the ages of those girls.  

My dad met with them routinely regarding their agro plantation and tropical farming methods.  Larry Layton and another (Chuck), both Vietnam vets, told my dad they can introduce as much as 1,000 vets into the conflict. True or not, we will never know.  

My dad thought it was Chuck who killed the mother and three daughters at their GT HQ.  That mother and daughters were scheduled to visit our home in GT in about two weeks.  She had asked my dad to introduce the girls as they wanted local friends.  My four sisters were the ages of those girls.  

There are truths here, Jimjones was offered the lands for his commune,when Potelemy Ried was Prime Minister and was involved to get him and his commune to settle in Guyana.

Reflecting back when my friend told me about the something happened to the "church people in the interior". Putting the pieces together, that day is probably Monday,November 20,1978 or Tuesday,November 21,1978.Co-incidentally i was married in August 1978.

Mass Murder at Jonestown happened on, Saturday November 18, 1978.

The TOEFL was that Saturday, that’s when the news broke but no one knew the magnitude!

You must have been too “buried” in the new found pleasures of being newly married to listen to the News!!ðŸĪŠ

Reflecting back when my friend told me about the something happened to the "church people in the interior". Putting the pieces together, that day is probably Monday,November 20,1978 or Tuesday,November 21,1978.Co-incidentally i was married in August 1978.

The TOEFL was that Saturday, that’s when the news broke but no one knew the magnitude!

You must have been too “buried” in the new found pleasures of being newly married to listen to the News!!ðŸĪŠ

You beat me to the punch,wanted to ask what day you heard the news.

Me thinks there was some concealment by the Government, the incident was under cover for a few days.

That’s not true.  The incident broke immediately as this was a USG issue.  The US embassy was in high gear. I remember that Saturday night we heard helicopters came in and went to ogle and timehri.  It was Sunday morning, Bobby Reece began to report mass casualties, yet no one imagined how many. 

Any concealment by the GOG was likely their connection to JJ!!

I told you already, I heard on leaving the TOEFL testing center on Saturday!!

The only thing under cover was you and your new main squeeze!!😍

Base, i got some details gathered from US folks stationed in Guyana at the time.

Too lengthy to post here.

I don’t know what you got.  I was in Guyana and remember exactly where I was, what I was doing.  That family was killed in GT and all those streets were blocked off. We lived there.  

Get with it, several US government officials and personal killed and the GoG guh suppress!!  Banna guh tek yuh marnin coffee!

JOHN A. BUSHNELL
Deputy Assistant Secretary of State, ARA
Washington, DC (1977-1982)

Mr. Bushnell was interviewed by John Harter in 1997.

"My second concern was to capture those responsible before there were more murders. The Guyanese authorities told the Embassy they did not have the airlift to move a substantial force to the area quickly. They had managed a quick in-and-out operation to complete the evacuation of the visiting party without meeting any resistance. But the CODEL reported it was attacked by a substantial force.

The Embassy believed there were about 1000 Americans in the commune and
most of the adults might be armed. I wanted to get American military or law enforcement officers on the ground to protect the innocents in the commune and to help the Guyanese capture the murders.

Helicopters were needed as the grass strip near Jonestown could not accommodate military planes. It took a couple of days to get helicopters and US personnel into the area. In the meantime the Guyanese overflew Jonestown and reported there was no sign of life there. Thus we assumed most of the commune members, including the many children, had fled into the jungle, and we began preparing to look for them and to talk them out of hiding places. The weekend was spent on these issues."

Here is piece from an interview.

Base, i got some details gathered from US folks stationed in Guyana at the time.

I don’t know what you got.  I was in Guyana and remember exactly where I was, what I was doing.  That family was killed in GT and all those streets were blocked off. We lived there.  

Get with it, several US government officials and personal killed and the GoG guh suppress!!  Banna guh tek yuh marnin coffee!

the shooting at the airstrip occurred around 5:00 pm on Saturday, Nov. 18, 1978

when exactly did you get out of your TOEFL exam?

the shooting at the airstrip occurred around 5:00 pm on Saturday, Nov. 18, 1978

when exactly did you get out of your TOEFL exam?

Oh skites !!  go light on my jine family.

JOHN A. BUSHNELL

" It took a couple of days to get helicopters and US personnel into the area. In the meantime the Guyanese overflew Jonestown and reported there was no sign of life there. Thus we assumed most of the commune members, including the many children, had fled into the jungle, and we began preparing to look for them and to talk them out of hiding places. The weekend was spent on these issues."

It took a couple days to get US Personnel into the area. The GDF were there same day. The day was a Saturday and Baseman is correct, news was broadcast on the radio. I was on the seawall that afternoon and there was a lot of activity with helicopters taking off from the GDF compound.

The ones in GT were also found dead that Saturday and there was a lot of police activity.

JOHN A. BUSHNELL

" It took a couple of days to get helicopters and US personnel into the area. In the meantime the Guyanese overflew Jonestown and reported there was no sign of life there. Thus we assumed most of the commune members, including the many children, had fled into the jungle, and we began preparing to look for them and to talk them out of hiding places. The weekend was spent on these issues."

It took a couple days to get US Personnel into the area. The GDF were there same day. The day was a Saturday and Baseman is correct, news was broadcast on the radio. I was on the seawall that afternoon and there was a lot of activity with helicopters taking off from the GDF compound.

The ones in GT were also found dead that Saturday and there was a lot of police activity.

Can you recall if the news was broadcast on the same day Saturday, November 18 1978 ??

Not so. News broke in GT that afternoon. I remember my folks listening to the radio about the whole thing. Of course no one knew the full extent of the casualties at the time. Most, including us, never even knew there was a "Jonestown"

Correct, not many folks was aware.

I can vividly recall the Peoples Temple had a white van, the driver of the vehicle came to the Company i worked for to transact some business.

It did.  I don't know what he talking.  It was about 3pm when I heard on my pocket radio leaving the TOEFL center.  I went home and continued listening on the house radio!