@Ramakant-P posted:

Did Kamala Harris call him a racist?

NO. During the primary debates, she did point out of a decision he made to oppose busing (integrating schools by assigning and transporting students to schools within or outside their local school districts in an effort to reduce racial segregation).

Either way great pick. So excited to vote in a few months!

Rochelle
@Rochelle posted:

NO. During the primary debates, she did point out of a decision he made to oppose busing (integrating schools by assigning and transporting students to schools within or outside their local school districts in an effort to reduce racial segregation).

Either way great pick. So excited to vote in a few months!

The insinuation was there.

she said Biden's decision on desegregation affected her as a child. That is carrying around some baggage to repeat after being so smart, bright and comes from intelligent parents. A person of color always has something against white ppl. Imagine if they actually get power how they will mess up a good thing. Coloreds more prejudiced than whites, anyday. Perhaps, they be like Obama, talk the talk but doan walk the walk, once elected.

@Baseman posted:

I wish Rochelle could be like this woman.  She so intelligent but run with the donkeys!  Call a spade a spade Rochelle!

https://www.facebook.com/realC...eos/1620007818163098

The woman has a point. Over the past few years the Democratic party has done nothing but criticize Trump and had it not been for this slowdown, Trump would have ran away with the November elections. I challenge anyone to list what Biden plans to do as President other than replace Trump because I am not hearing it or seeing it from him. While these Democratic leaders are quick to criticize Trump or his supporters for their words and actions none of them have said anything about the amount of violence and destructions of property this year alone. That is either cowardice or hypocrisy.

What the Kamala Harris pick means for Biden's campaign

Joe Biden's chosen running mate breaks barriers and could add momentum to his campaign. But don't count on it

https://i.cbc.ca/1.5668526.1596232731!/fileImage/httpImage/image.jpg_gen/derivatives/16x9_780/harris.jpgHarris is the first Black woman on a presidential major-party ticket. She's also the first Asian-American. (Alexander Drago/The Associated Press)

The Trump campaign is already calling her a phony and an opportunist who will manipulate Joe Biden and cave to the radical left. But Biden's selection of Kamala Harris as his running mate for the Democratic ticket appears to be a cautious and deliberate choice. 

Biden has maintained a remarkably consistent, months-long polling lead over Donald Trump and made a choice that's more likely to entrench the race as it stands than to shake it up.

Making history

The former vice-president's selection of Harris may not shake up the presidential race, but it will shake up history. Harris, a California senator, broke several barriers with Biden's announcement Tuesday.

She's the first Black woman on a presidential major-party ticket. She's also the first Asian-American, the daughter of an Indian-born cancer researcher.

https://i.cbc.ca/1.5682766.1597189732!/fileImage/httpImage/image.JPG_gen/derivatives/original_1180/usa-election-biden-runningmate.JPGU.S. Senator Kamala Harris, shown as she launched her previous campaign to become president on Jan. 27, 2019, will be Democratic nominee Joe Biden's running mate. One analyst is predicting a surge of Black female voters as a result. (Reuters/Elijah Nouvelage/File Photo)

One of Harris's best friends in the Senate, New Jersey Sen. Cory Booker, said he received messages from Black women who were ecstatic and crying over the milestone.

"Finally. Finally. It's about time," said Booker, who on MSNBC described her recent work on police reform and saluted her as a detail-oriented policy wonk.

Some Fox News analysts concluded it was a cautious choice from the front-running Biden campaign because of Harris's long and measured political record.

"It's going to be very hard to look at her record and call her some sort of wild-eyed radical," said Fox's Charles Gasparino. 

"She's liberal. She hasn't been radical â€Ķ It's the smart, safe choice. They're going to try to make the election about Trump."

Trump campaign takes aim

For its part, the Trump campaign wasted no time in pulling out a fire hose of video clips in an effort to extinguish any Black enthusiasm for the Biden-Harris ticket.

Trump and his allies alluded to Harris confronting Biden on a primary debate stage over his role in undermining school integration in the 1970s as a first-term senator.

But the Trump campaign's meandering line of attack illustrated the difficulty it's had in landing a blow against a more moderate opponent.

The campaign's new line? That Biden has lost his step and will be easily manipulated by Harris, whom they characterized as an opportunist willing to cave into the radical left if it suits her politically.

It's a bit complex for a bumper sticker.

'It has to be a governing decision'

Black voter turnout is critical for the Democrats.

Take the example of swing-state Wisconsin in 2016. Black voter turnout there plunged by 88,000 from four years earlier while Democrats lost the state by fewer than 23,000 votes.

One analyst is predicting sky-high turnout from Black voters this fall now that one of the Democratic Party's most loyal constituencies — Black women — see themselves reflected on the ticket.

The ReidOut
 https://pbs.twimg.com/card_img/1293301446700605440/ISOdCNW-?format=jpg&name=small
@thereidout
"Anyone who wants to detract her based on anything is going to face a wall of Black women like they've never seen," @JoyAnnReid says of Sen. Harris. "Biden just ensured that he will have maximum turnout from African Americans
Joy Reid: Harris pick proves Biden wants 'person who forces him to be better'
MSNBC's Joy Reid says Former Vice President Joe Biden's pick of Kamala Harris as his running mate proves he 'wants the person who forces him to be better.'

msnbc.com

Biden insisted his selection of Harris wasn't actually about getting elected — but about governing.

In a note to supporters, Biden alluded to his own experience as a VP, in an administration that took office during the last major economic meltdown.

"I know it can't be a political decision. It has to be a governing decision," Biden said.

"We're going to inherit a nation in crisis, a nation divided, and a world in disarray. We won't have a minute to waste. That's what led me to Kamala Harris."

https://i.cbc.ca/1.5682832.1597192629!/fileImage/httpImage/image.JPG_gen/derivatives/original_1180/usa-election-biden-harris.JPGIn this file photo, Biden talks with Harris after the 2020 Democratic U.S. presidential debate in Houston on Sept. 12, 2019. He told his supporters on Tuesday that his choice of a running mate is based on governing, not getting elected. (Reuters/Mike Blake/File Photo)

The knock against Harris on the progressive left, and among skeptical African-Americans, was that she in fact breaks too few barriers: that the former prosecutor and attorney general is out of step with the defund-the-police energy on the grassroots left.  

Don't bank on a political bounce

So, will Harris's presence actually make a difference in the election?

Not likely, according to the available evidence. A recent poll testing Biden's popularity alongside 12 potential running mates found no statistical difference

And that's the historical pattern.

A paper published in Presidential Studies Quarterly in 2010 attempted to gauge the effect in recent elections and found that the selection of a potential vice-president affected, at most, one per cent of the vote.

One of the oldest recurring jokes in American politics actually involves vice-presidents themselves quipping about how useless the job is.

On Tuesday, Joe Biden named California Senator Kamala Harris as his running mate, making history by choosing the first woman of colour to compete on a major party's presidential ticket. Today on Front Burner, Washington Post political reporter Eugene Scott on what Harris brings to the Democratic Party’s ticket, and what it might mean for Biden’s chances against U.S President Donald Trump come November. 19:55

Biden and others have used salty language to make serious points about a role the U.S. founders gave little thought to.

The first vice-president, John Adams, famously said: "I am nothing, but I may be everything," alluding to his role as understudy to George Washington.

Adams later became president. 

Vice-presidents may not often move votes. But, like Adams, they occasionally move into the White House: Nearly one-third of those who've held the role went on to later become president.

=======================

Alexander Panetta is a Washington-based correspondent for CBC News who has covered American politics and Canada-U.S. issues since 2013. He previously worked in Ottawa, Quebec City and internationally, reporting on politics, conflict, disaster and the Montreal Expos.

It's going to be a very interesting election.  The candidates are interesting and I am wondering what the rude Donald Trump would say to Kamala Harris.  

The election will be very exciting. Indians and West Indians will be enticed to vote because of Harris. 

Trump will say nasty, racist, sexist things to and about her to discredit her. Brilliant women scare the pants off him. 

The election will be very exciting. Indians and West Indians will be enticed to vote because of Harris. 

Trump will say nasty, racist, sexist things to and about her to discredit her. Brilliant women scare the pants off him. 

Alena, India Indians are not flabbergasted with ethnicity. That’s a Guyana coolie thingy. Most Indians I know favor Trump.  Guyanese coolies like run with the goats.

Trump has enough ammo from the Primary on her. She’s now running with the man she called a racist. She is known for favoring long harsh incarnation of young Black man over Weed when she admitted using it in college. And unlike Bill, she did inhale.

I was expecting Rice as she is untainted. But ok. 

This ticket favors Trump. Maybe Trump should switch out Pence for Nimratta. She is formidable.

The woman has a point. Over the past few years the Democratic party has done nothing but criticize Trump and had it not been for this slowdown, Trump would have ran away with the November elections. I challenge anyone to list what Biden plans to do as President other than replace Trump because I am not hearing it or seeing it from him. While these Democratic leaders are quick to criticize Trump or his supporters for their words and actions none of them have said anything about the amount of violence and destructions of property this year alone. That is either cowardice or hypocrisy.

Numerous Democratic leaders at both the local and federal levels spoke out against the violence including Obama, Biden, Pelosi, Clyburn, etc. I am not even going to drop the relevant links here as I am sure you are capable of using Google. By the way while you are at it you will also notice the violence was also conducted by an exceedingly small minority of protesters. I noticed you failed to mention the President abdicated his responsibility to be a unifying voice for a nation in turmoil.

One thing I can never understand is when at the end of an election people always say they don't know where the candidates stand on the issues. The campaign has been going on for well over a year with numerous debates, speeches and interviews. There are numerous policy proposals around college tuitions, environmental safeguards, healthcare expansion, undocumented immigrants, justice reform, etc. etc.  By the way he does not support defunding the police! If your point is why he is not more visible with his proposals, it is because it is smart politics to not get in the way of your opponent being his own worst enemy.

Ironically because of the pandemic induced slowdown he should have been running away with the election. Around the world the leaders most effective at managing the pandemic and related slowdown have actually had a rise in their popularity. Unfortunately for Trump the pandemic has been effective at differentiating the often-conflated behaviours of bluster and leadership. The emperor has no clothes.

L
@Baseman posted:

Alena, India Indians are not flabbergasted with ethnicity. That’s a Guyana coolie thingy. Most Indians I know favor Trump.  Guyanese coolies like run with the goats.

Trump has enough ammo from the Primary on her. She’s now running with the man she called a racist. She is known for favoring long harsh incarnation of young Black man over Weed when she admitted using it in college. And unlike Bill, she did inhale.

I was expecting Rice as she is untainted. But ok. 

This ticket favors Trump. Maybe Trump should switch out Pence for Nimratta. She is formidable.

Base, I have to agree.

Trump (vah ek devata hai)

Most Indians prefer Trump. Chupid Guyanese Indos are still following the tribe who tried to steal Guyana's election from the people and install an Afro dictatorship. Thanks to Trump, it never became a reality. Jeffries and the black led democrat anti Indo mob tried but failed.

Kamala might be a very bad choice given that Americans rejected a white woman and having a black woman on the ticket makes it much harder for the democrats. This might very well be Sloppy Joe's biggest mistake yet.

BLM's violence turned off a lot of white voters who prefer law and order as opposed to a Somalian type of mob mentality.

Covid put a dent in Trump's campaign, let's see how he deals with these democrat socialist mobs.

I will be like DJ on this one, I have no skin in the game.  Yet, my preference is quite obvious.

Reminder for Indo Guyanese: A vote for Democrats = A vote for PNC. virodh karane waale log bahut hinsak hain