smh....Carib please tell me again what large manufacturing Barbados has especially since my contribution stemmed from D2 referring to food based products (see third post above), stay focused. Jamaica for example has shelf space all over North America and the UK, Barbados probably has rum and that's it.

With regards to other products what is Barbados a large scale manufacturer in? Yes their economy may be better than Guyana but they have little to no presence on the world stage. 

Originally Posted by politikalamity:

smh....Carib please tell me again what large manufacturing Barbados has especially since my contribution stemmed from D2 referring to food based products (see third post above), stay focused. Jamaica for example has shelf space all over North America and the UK, Barbados probably has rum and that's it.

With regards to other products what is Barbados a large scale manufacturer in? Yes their economy may be better than Guyana but they have little to no presence on the world stage. 

You were informed that Barbados has higher manufacturing exports than does Guyana.  This in response to your squeals that Guyana is too small and Guyanese labor toon expensive.

Guyana has problems, but others with similar problems figure it out.

Mr T listed their major exports. 

D2 was NOT limiting his remarks to food.  He was talking about manufacturing in general, only citing agri industrial because Guyana has a competitive advantage there.

Listen you cannot speak to this issue, which is fine, but do not have a childish meltdown because of this.

St. Kitts seems to have more manufacturing than B/dos. Though, only assembly.

St Kitts has higher exports to the USA than does Barbados, not higher overall manufacturing exports.  I checked both StK and St L to see what their industrial exports were.

Though that raises a point for Poly.  St Kitts/Nevis has 50k people, labor costs among the highest in CARICOM (only Barbados and The Bahamas are higher) and yet they exports millions of dollars worth of a variety of electronic products. 

It would not surprise me if some Guyanese who live on that island, arent working in those plants, for wages far higher than if they were still in Guyana (the only reason why a Guyanese would be living there).

St Kitts has higher exports to the USA than does Barbados, not higher overall manufacturing exports.  I checked both StK and St L to see what their industrial exports were.

Though that raises a point for Poly.  St Kitts/Nevis has 50k people, labor costs among the highest in CARICOM (only Barbados and The Bahamas are higher) and yet they exports millions of dollars worth of a variety of electronic products. 

It would not surprise me if some Guyanese who live on that island, arent working in those plants, for wages far higher than if they were still in Guyana (the only reason why a Guyanese would be living there).

I have relatives living there, that is how I know they export more to the USA. He works for the Government Statistics Department.

I see.  One of the THOUSANDS of Guyanese on those two tiny islands.  So many that LIAT has a direct flight from Guyana to StK, with a stop in B'dos.

Poor Guyana.  The only CARICOM countries which seem "Guyanese free" are Haiti and Dominica.

Originally Posted by Itaname:

Relatives in St Kitts, a primiarily black country. Yet you and yuh lil imaginary "fren" George Dasilva busy buzing down black man hay. Yuh bareface!

This is why these islanders do not like these Guyanese Indians.  They go to these black islands, with their impoverished selves. Chat all sorts of nonsense about "lazy blackman".  Have a melt down when their kids have majority blacks friends, and......horrors.....dougla grandkids.

And they arrived during the PPP era, yet still cuss out "blackman".

I was in StK for Carifesta years ago, and saw a young Guyanese Indo kid beating Afro drums in one of their folk troupes.  Goodness knows how his parents are probably "shame" to let the folks in Guyana know what he is up to.

You were informed that Barbados has higher manufacturing exports than does Guyana.  This in response to your squeals that Guyana is too small and Guyanese labor toon expensive.

Guyana has problems, but others with similar problems figure it out.

Mr T listed their major exports. 

D2 was NOT limiting his remarks to food.  He was talking about manufacturing in general, only citing agri industrial because Guyana has a competitive advantage there.

Listen you cannot speak to this issue, which is fine, but do not have a childish meltdown because of this.

So name one thing that Barbados is a major manufacturer of, give USD figures please.

What is funnier in all of this is Barbados, the economy you are holding up as some kind of example for Gy to follow, is an economy in shambles. It is a weaker economy than Guyana, look at the GDP numbers.

If that is the example you want for Gy then you are out to lunch and yes Gy's population is too small, energy to expensive  and it needs help as a brand for it to become a major manufacturer of anything anytime soon.

Now keep flinging shit some may eventually stick ..smh.

Poli stop behaving lke a child.  I will use statistical data while you babble like a drunk in some rum shop, and if that enrages you, that is YOUR issue.

Barbados has DOUBLE the level of manufactured exports than Guyana, so if Guyana reached the level of Barbados, they would have achieved something.

You don't know what you are talking about and your tantrum just now makes you like STUPID, INFANTILE and mentally challenged!

What GDP numbers do you want me to look at?  These are IMF stats.

1.  2014 GDP at current costs.  Barbados US$4.3B, Guyana $2.9B

2.  2014 GDP per capita at current costs  Barbados $15,600.  Guyana $3700.

Stop making yourself a jackass by consuming PPP lies.  The only countries in the Americas with lower nominal GDP per capita than Guyana are Bolivia, Honduras, Nicaragua and Haiti.

Listen cease babbling on this topic because your screams make you look like an infant angry that some one take away their toys.

1.  Barbados has a Smaller population than Guyana.

2. Barbados has much higher labor costs than does Guyana.

3.  Barbados has far fewer natural resources and raw materials than does Guyana.

Yet Barbados exports DOUBLE the value of industrial exports than does Guyana. 

Some one mentioned St Kitts.  Tiny island with HIGHER labor costs than Guyana, fewer resources than Guyana, and a MUCH smaller population than Guyana, and has manufacturing exports of around US $60 Million vs. $90 million for Guyana.

You are making your self foolish with your infantile screams which show your IGNORANCE!

There is NOTHING that Barbados and St Kitts do that Guyana cannot do, aside from tourism.  With its low labor costs, and a much larger natural resource base, Guyana should be the manufacturing power house of CARICOM.

Guyana has been led by some of the most incompetent, and corrupt gov'ts and is led by a private sector who think that another shopping mall is economic development, even as the purchasing power of the population dwindles with gold imploding.

Relatives in St Kitts, a primiarily black country. Yet you and yuh lil imaginary "fren" George Dasilva busy buzing down black man hay. Yuh bareface!

India's main export is people. And we move from country to country. See, we came to British Guiana-the new world. And now we are everywhere, doing good. 

We can run a snackette better than u any day, some big big businesses land land some high priced jobs in the Caribbean as elsewhere.

Boy, we are good people. And smart too.

India's main export is people. And we move from country to country. See, we came to British Guiana-the new world. And now we are everywhere, doing good. 

We can run a snackette better than u any day, some big big businesses land land some high priced jobs in the Caribbean as elsewhere.

Yes George, yuh tell we plenty times we can't run a snackette. Anxiously awaiting yuh critique of egg ball and cassava ball.

This is why these islanders do not like these Guyanese Indians.  They go to these black islands, with their impoverished selves. Chat all sorts of nonsense about "lazy blackman".  Have a melt down when their kids have majority blacks friends, and......horrors.....dougla grandkids.

And they arrived during the PPP era, yet still cuss out "blackman".

I was in StK for Carifesta years ago, and saw a young Guyanese Indo kid beating Afro drums in one of their folk troupes.  Goodness knows how his parents are probably "shame" to let the folks in Guyana know what he is up to.

Yuh know, many West Indians, tell the same story to the East Indians, "how cooolie ppl treating black ppl bad in Guyana."

Until, they come to know East Indians living among the islanders. They welcome East Indians and they know the liars.

The truth eventually sets people free. 

Yes George, yuh tell we plenty times we can't run a snackette. Anxiously awaiting yuh critique of egg ball and cassava ball.

Anything to get u on a roll. Stop following me around-each time I gweine mek u look foolish.

Mek me look foolish? Is who out yuh as George Dasilva? Yuh rass bareface!

So smart that you all voted for a "coolie party" which forced you all to go slave for blackman in tiny coral reefs and volcanic peaks In Nevis Guyanese Indians live in the shacks abandoned by blacks.  In Barbados you all do baby sitting work.

Why if you all so "smart"?

Poli stop behaving lke a child.  I will use statistical data while you babble like a drunk in some rum shop, and if that enrages you, that is YOUR issue.

Barbados has DOUBLE the level of manufactured exports than Guyana, so if Guyana reached the level of Barbados, they would have achieved something.

You don't know what you are talking about and your tantrum just now makes you like STUPID, INFANTILE and mentally challenged!

What GDP numbers do you want me to look at?  These are IMF stats.

1.  2014 GDP at current costs.  Barbados US$4.3B, Guyana $2.9B

2.  2014 GDP per capita at current costs  Barbados $15,600.  Guyana $3700.

Stop making yourself a jackass by consuming PPP lies.  The only countries in the Americas with lower nominal GDP per capita than Guyana are Bolivia, Honduras, Nicaragua and Haiti.

Listen cease babbling on this topic because your screams make you look like an infant angry that some one take away their toys.

1.  Barbados has a Smaller population than Guyana.

2. Barbados has much higher labor costs than does Guyana.

3.  Barbados has far fewer natural resources and raw materials than does Guyana.

Yet Barbados exports DOUBLE the value of industrial exports than does Guyana. 

Some one mentioned St Kitts.  Tiny island with HIGHER labor costs than Guyana, fewer resources than Guyana, and a MUCH smaller population than Guyana, and has manufacturing exports of around US $60 Million vs. $90 million for Guyana.

You are making your self foolish with your infantile screams which show your IGNORANCE!

There is NOTHING that Barbados and St Kitts do that Guyana cannot do, aside from tourism.  With its low labor costs, and a much larger natural resource base, Guyana should be the manufacturing power house of CARICOM.

Guyana has been led by some of the most incompetent, and corrupt gov'ts and is led by a private sector who think that another shopping mall is economic development, even as the purchasing power of the population dwindles with gold imploding.

You know what, I give you credit. You have done a very good job of derailing the discussion and I fell for it. I will not respond to your above post but, instead, bring this discussion back on track. A brief chronology of how it started off and what was the focus:

Fist post: JOBS JOBS JOBS!

Subsequent posts:

Guyana needs to grow its manufacturing sector

Poli posts:

For Guyana to become a large scale manufacturer in anything it needs:

- Low cost energy

- A larger and more competitive labour force

- Help in getting shelf space internationally

Carib:

An Emphatic NO

My question to you now. If not the above then what?

You are the President of Gy, please let me hear your plan for making Gy improve its small, medium and large scale manufacturing.

Originally Posted by politikalamity:

My question to you now. If not the above then what?

You are the President of Gy, please let me hear your plan for making Gy improve its small, medium and large scale manufacturing.

You made the excuse that Guyana is incapable of developing its economy, because Guyanese labor costs are too high.

I cited Jamaica, Barbados, and seignet brought in St Kitts which have the same problems, and in the latter two considerably smaller populations than does Guyana.

You now want to continue your brattish tantrum on another thread.

Guyana can develop an agro industrial base as there is a tremendous demand for processed food products in the Caribbean (CARICOM as well as the French and Dutch islands).  

Guyanese and Trinidadian private sector interests should be encouraged to cooperate to take advantage of our LOWER costs for land and labor, and our MORE ample supply of raw materials, tied to their LOWER cost source of capital.

Until we resolve our energy costs we cannot go into huge industries, and I do not even see why we should aim at these large enterprises. Mid sized entities can carry Guyana up to the next level.

If Guyana continues to sleep one day the DR will enter CARICOM and gobble up the entire agro industrial market which is Guyana's.

BTW islanders love Guyanese woods, furniture and our leatherwork.  Why aren't we capitalizing on it.

No, we don't as we think that another shopping mall is economic development.  The PPP were thieves, and it appears as if APNU/AFC are fast asleep, only waking up to break down poor people's livelihood.  This is the type of governance which Guyana has.

So smart that you all voted for a "coolie party" which forced you all to go slave for blackman in tiny coral reefs and volcanic peaks In Nevis Guyanese Indians live in the shacks abandoned by blacks.  In Barbados you all do baby sitting work.

Freedom of the spirit is way better than all the comforts and money. God has a place in man's heart when he has no turmoils in his life. In the case of Guyana, to be free of racism. Which proves, that East Indians are not racists. They live throughout the Caribbean-predominant Afro communities.

Of course when you go to these islands you all smile up at them in front their faces, and call them lazy behind their backs.   Bajans are very familiar with that behavior.

Is true dat. Bajans are Euro-centric. It is known, East Indians are not much liked, but there is law and order in Barbados. And they safe bearing their chafe.

Freedom of the spirit is way better than all the comforts and money. God has a place in man's heart when he has no turmoils in his life. In the case of Guyana, to be free of racism. Which proves, that East Indians are not racists. They live throughout the Caribbean-predominant Afro communities.

Sometimes I wonder where you get these quality blunts you smoking. If black man is this violent, racist, lazy, savage who exists only to prey on indians as you and the indo KKK here suggest, then why does this same black man let you live in peace in these predominantly black caribbean nations?

Oh, and note these black caribbean nations are way more successful than your indian run Guyana over the last 23 years, insomuch that alyuh run guh live deh. Perhaps it's time for some serious introspection by alyuh indian kkk types on the real root cause of racism in Guyana. Look in the mirror.

Sometimes I wonder where you get these quality blunts you smoking. If black man is this violent, racist, lazy, savage who exists only to prey on indians as you and the indo KKK here suggest, then why does this same black man let you live in peace in these predominantly black caribbean nations?

Oh, and note these black caribbean nations are way more successful than your indian run Guyana over the last 23 years, insomuch that alyuh run guh live deh. Perhaps it's time for some serious introspection by alyuh indian kkk types on the real root cause of racism in Guyana. Look in the mirror.

we can live with anybady. U doan trouble us and we be happy. See how we living in the Caribbean among our afro neighbours. and progressing juss like our forefathers when they came to the colony of British Guiana.

the root cause is u 90 years ole relative, he spilled hatred ad dissensions on his lies of apaan jhatt. and typical u, u bought his lies.

, that East Indians are not racists. They live throughout the Caribbean-predominant Afro communities.

So I guess Bajans should be HONORED that Indians live among them.

Listen they slave for black people, because the "coolie party" left them no options.  But you will now claim that blacks cannot clean their own toilets, so ought to feel lucky that Indians do so.

, that East Indians are not racists. They live throughout the Caribbean-predominant Afro communities.

Listen they slave for black people, because the "coolie party" left them no options.  But you will now claim that blacks cannot clean their own toilets, so ought to feel lucky that Indians do so.

first u slaved on the plantations of Guyana. we came and we slaved too. and we made good under all that punishment.

is nothing new for my people. they goan slave and duh menial wuk fuh the bajans, but have a plan. UPLIFTMENT.

most races do that sort of thing. being proud doan put food on the table, clothes on the back and shelter from the elements.

Of course when you go to these islands you all smile up at them in front their faces, and call them lazy behind their backs.   Bajans are very familiar with that behavior.

Is true dat. Bajans are Euro-centric. It is known, East Indians are not much liked, but there is law and order in Barbados. And they safe bearing their chafe.

Yes law and order in blackman country.  Imagine that. 

Now resume scrubbing that black woman's toilet. She already told you she will fire you and get herself another cheap Guyanese.

first u slaved on the plantations of Guyana. we came and we slaved too. and we made good under all that punishment.

I see that you think that scrubbing the toilet of a black Bajan female, and wiping her baby's bamsie is a sign of progress and achievement.

You do know that black Guyanese in Barbados aren't involved in that kind of work.

we can live with anybady. U doan trouble us and we be happy. See how we living in the Caribbean among our afro neighbours. and progressing juss like our forefathers when they came to the colony of British Guiana.

the root cause is u 90 years ole relative, he spilled hatred ad dissensions on his lies of apaan jhatt. and typical u, u bought his lies.

That 90 year old man stuck in yuh craw because he bytch slap yuh wid the truth. He was around, he witnessed it. He was a policeman in the Plaisance/Sparendaam area at the time and rescued plenty alyuh in surrounding areas not only during riots, but from yuh own domestic violence prone relatives.

Eusi is from the same generation and no coincidence he feels the same way. Mitwah just posted a thread containing a letter from Malcolm Harripaul. Read it carefully. The Indian ain't no saint as you contend. He too got blood on his hands just like the African.

we can live with anybady. U doan trouble us and we be happy. See how we living in the Caribbean among our afro neighbours. and progressing

Yes scrubbing the toilets of these Afro Caribbean neighbors.  Lucky they feel sorry for you all and hire you.

In the end, all East Indians will get to America. That is their goal. We are Indians. We move chasing the better way of life. That is how we meet up in Guyana-black and cooolies. 

Yes law and order in blackman country.  Imagine that. 

Now resume scrubbing that black woman's toilet. She already told you she will fire you and get herself another cheap Guyanese.

That is the law of demands.

I see that you think that scrubbing the toilet of a black Bajan female, and wiping her baby's bamsie is a sign of progress and achievement.

You do know that black Guyanese in Barbados aren't involved in that kind of work.

That's okay. But we movin on up.

That 90 year old man stuck in yuh craw because he bytch slap yuh wid the truth. He was around, he witnessed it. He was a policeman in the Plaisance/Sparendaam area at the time and rescued plenty alyuh in surrounding areas not only during riots, but from yuh own domestic violence prone relatives.

Eusi is from the same generation and no coincidence he feels the same way. Mitwah just posted a thread containing a letter from Malcolm Harripaul. Read it carefully. The Indian ain't no saint as you contend. He too got blood on his hands just like the African.

u tink, timid ppl cross the kala-pani. U razz lucky, dey only chopping up dey own. Forbes know how dangerous they could be, that is why he banned issuance of cutlasses to dem. Wait till dem indians wake up from dem slumber-maybe a Rwanda in Guyana. Tribalism.

Doan worry about Malcom, his rants has no real purpose.  

u tink, timid ppl cross the kala-pani. U razz lucky, dey only chopping up dey own. Forbes know how dangerous they could be, that is why he banned issuance of cutlasses to dem. Wait till dem indians wake up from dem slumber-maybe a Rwanda in Guyana. Tribalism.

I thought you said Indians were these peaceful, submissive people who are victims of savage black man in Guyana! Now yuh baring yuh fangs. Don't worry, we know the REAL deal. Over 400 black man killed in extra judicial violence in 23 years and it wasn't by cutlass.

That's okay. But we movin on up.

Yes, you just finished cleaning the base of the bowl, and will now start cleaning the rim.  The Bajan woman is interviewing another Guyanese, as she says you are too stupid to do as she instructs you. 

Hire a Guyanese, and fire them (maybe not even pay them) and another Guyanese is there begging for the work. She doesnt mean black Guyanese either, as she says that these are the kids who her Bajan uncle had when he was in Guyana, so they are "cousin family".

I thought you said Indians were these peaceful, submissive people who are victims of savage black man in Guyana! Now yuh baring yuh fangs. Don't worry, we know the REAL deal. Over 400 black man killed in extra judicial violence in 23 years and it wasn't by cutlass.

Forgive him, as the Nigerian jujus have taken over, so he is subject to frequent incoherent ramblings.

Actually he just plays big and bad here. In church he is like a little mouse because he is terrified that those Nigerians will cast out the demon, which resides in his soul, and that this process will be very traumatic for him.