The study, undertaken by the Mitsubishi Corporation and its affiliate Chiyoda Corporation in collaboration with the Government of Japan, favours the development of an offshore power plant such as this floating design (Image: Mitsubishi Heavy Industries)

April 18 ,2021

An oil and gas masterplan for Guyana done by the Government of Japan had concluded in 2019 that a gas to power solution based on the country’s petroleum operations is economically viable but it leaned heavily in favour of an offshore facility rather than an onshore plant.

The plan, completed in 2019 and given to the David Granger APNU+AFC administration, comprised analyses for both onshore and floating gas-to-power plants. It projected a power selling price for the onshore plant at 6.93 cents (US) per KWH compared to 7.11 cents (US) per KWH for the offshore facility.

The figures listed in the report reflect a significantly lower tariff than the current electricity rate, given as US 32 cents per KWH. The report highlighted that the decision on having an onshore or an offshore facility would be left entirely up to the country.

While it said that it did not find a significant difference between the two costs for the LNG (Liquefied Natural Gas) processes, the study leans heavily in support of an offshore facility and focused on the offshore set up more.

“Gas to Power solution is economically viable for Guyana…Phased development will be preferred in view of economics. Significant difference is not observed between onshore and floating solutions,” the report presented to the Granger Administration in 2018 and updated in 2019 states. The report was never presented to the public by the Granger administration.

The plan also posited that “Offshore FLNG   (floating liquefied natural gas) looks (the) most preferable solution for Guyana. Considering Guy-ana’s geotechnical characteristics, offshore FLNG looks most preferable solution for Gas to LNG. Phased Development is more attractive. Phased development with smaller scale FLNG will be more appropriate than large scale FLNG.”

Offshore processing, it pointed out, would, however, come with its own cons and see a reduction in local content when compared to having it land onshore. The country, though, would not have to deal with the complications that would come from the laying of pipes and potential risks posed from them if it plans to transition to renewables in the future.

The 100-page document, seen by the Sunday Stabroek, further points out that there is “No significant difference observed in economics between onshore and floating gas to power plants. The selection will depend on the site conditions, complexity of permissions, man-power in the country, etc. Economical viability is sensitive to fuel gas price. Economical viability is more sensitive to fuel gas price than the other parameters, CAPEX (capital expenditure) and OPEX (operating expense).”

In March of 2018, the then APNU+AFC government had said that it had received an ‘Oil and Gas Master Plan’ for Guyana, which was developed and submitted by the Mitsubishi Corporation and its affiliate Chiyoda Corporation in collaboration with the Government of Japan. A meeting was held in November of the same year and confirmation of the possibility to proceed to phase two was had. Phase two was completed the next year.

The team comprised persons from the Department of Energy, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Japan’s Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry METI (Japan Cooperation Center for Petroleum).

West Bank of Demerara

The PPP/C government says it has decided on an onshore operation for gas to power and is forging ahead with studies it said it hopes to substantiate its belief that Wales, West Bank of Demerara is best suited for a project, which Vice President Bharrat Jagdeo calls “a no brainer”.

However, it is unclear if any of the data or information that formed Tokyo’s report on the sector will be incorporated or is being used for analysis. The PPP/C government has made no reference to the offshore option for gas processing and has been roundly criticised for seeming to want to establish a plant for purely political reasons and without validating studies.

With Exxon’s announcements recently that it was making amendments to bring associated gas from its Liza-1 well  to shore, observers have said that the public should pay keen attention to how the PPP/C government will handle those amendments and how they will negotiate for the project.

Anticipating “significant progress” in the partnership with government in advancing the gas-to-shore project here, Exxon had last month told this newspaper that the associated gas availability from the Liza-1 field has been changed from 35 million standard cubic feet per day (mmscfd) to 50 mmscfd.

Both Guyana’s President Irfaan Ali and Vice President Jagdeo have said that the ultimate goal of the PPP/C is to have renewables as the main form of energy for this country but that since natural gas is readily available and could result in a cost of at least half of what this country currently pays, it would be prudent to pursue that while simultaneously working on plans for the adoption of renewables in the long term.

Roadmap

The Japanese team, according to the report, undertook a review and looked at various scenarios for utilization of oil and gas and a roadmap to “Guyana’s vision” was created.

Study scenarios looked at gas utilization and oil utilization where associated gas was used to deliver for domestic uses or refining crude oil here by setting up a refinery for domestic use after the gas to shore project was realized. In the study, it is assumed that Guyana’s indigenous crude oil is delivered onshore for domestic use, and the required amount is limited to as much as this country’s domestic demand.

Based on the average annual growth rate of petroleum products between 2010 and 2016, shown in a Guyana Energy Agency’s Annual Report which the report referred to, demand for petroleum was projected to see a steady growth.

Using supported data and information gathered from government and others publicly available sources, the Japanese master plan illustrated projected patterns and it assumed that heavy fuel oil for electricity generation will be replaced by gas to power generation by 2027.

Tokyo had pointed to Georgetown’s challenging situation of energy supply as it noted significant dependence on imports, vulnerability of energy security and “environment burden (such as CO2, SOX – sulphur dioxide – NOX – nitrous oxide, etc.)”

Some of the key objectives of the plan were the development of Guyana’s domestic oil industry, the creation of a balance in the domestic usage and exportation of products from indigenous oil and gas and the harmonization of the industry in keeping with Guyana’s ‘green’ development agenda.

The study encompassed surveys of public domain information which focused on the current energy situation in Guyana, analysis of the then current situation, presumption of study conditions and identification of oil and gas utilization projects.

The profile of associated gas production was provided by the Department of Energy at the kickoff meeting on May 22, 2019 and based on the profile of gas production, the study was carried out under two scenarios of utilization. The report divided needs for the associated gas and how it will be used in two phases up to 2040 when there could be a complete to switch renewables.

Noted was the assumption for the basic condition for the analysis which put the gas engine capacity at an 18MW/engine. Plant configuration for the on-shore Power Plant was set at the “18MW/engine x N engines as per power demand”.

For the floating power plant, “90MW (5 engines), 72MW (4 engines), and/or 54 MW (3 engines) as per power demand” were used for the projections with a net capacity factor that puts gas power at an 80% (at maximum) and renewable 30%.

The study suggested that construction duration would run for about three years for the onshore power plant and an additional one year for power expansion.  Constructing of the floating power plant was estimated at two years.

The report said that in case the energy shift to renewables is achieved by 2035, providing for at least 65% of power supply demand, the additional power capacity from gas would be necessary only for several years after heavy fuel oil power is closed.

An effective solution may be, it posits, to then “lease a floating power plant for the duration, instead of construction of a new power plant”.

Options for excess gas, where it believes that in the early phase of gas to power and when a renewable plan is achieved the volume will be around 15~25mmSCFD, include fertilizer production.

However, the study pointed out was the fact that “the amount of excess gas is not sufficient for internationally competitive production.” When LNG production is started, it said, “The excess gas can be fed to the LNG plant,” the report said.

Based on the profile of gas production, the study was done using two scenarios of utilization: Gas to power and subsequent LNG production. It considered that for the gas to power Phase 1, associated gases of 35 mmSCFD be utilized for power generation.

With 18 oil discoveries offshore, ExxonMobil has told this newspaper that it was working to amend the development plan for the Liza-1 well area and in that amended plan the company will move to have further discussions on commercial matters surrounding the associated gas from oil extraction, which it said will ultimately determine the sales arrangements and infrastructural responsibilities of both sides.

They said Coalition Government had no vision .

Ratman wants to create graph schemes like the Marriot Hotel and Berbice River Bridge. To date no one knows the investors in the Marriot Hotel.

Roadmap

The Japanese team, according to the report, undertook a review and looked at various scenarios for utilization of oil and gas and a roadmap to “Guyana’s vision” was created.

Study scenarios looked at gas utilization and oil utilization where associated gas was used to deliver for domestic uses or refining crude oil here by setting up a refinery for domestic use after the gas to shore project was realized.

In the study, it is assumed that Guyana’s indigenous crude oil is delivered onshore for domestic use, and the required amount is limited to as much as this country’s domestic demand.

Based on the average annual growth rate of petroleum products between 2010 and 2016, shown in a Guyana Energy Agency’s Annual Report which the report referred to, demand for petroleum was projected to see a steady growth.

Using supported data and information gathered from government and others publicly available sources, the Japanese master plan illustrated projected patterns and it assumed that heavy fuel oil for electricity generation will be replaced by gas to power generation by 2027.

Tokyo had pointed to Georgetown’s challenging situation of energy supply as it noted significant dependence on imports, vulnerability of energy security and “environment burden (such as CO2, SOX – sulphur dioxide – NOX – nitrous oxide, etc.)”

Some of the key objectives of the plan were the development of Guyana’s domestic oil industry, the creation of a balance in the domestic usage and exportation of products from indigenous oil and gas and the harmonization of the industry in keeping with Guyana’s ‘green’ development agenda.

The study encompassed surveys of public domain information which focused on the current energy situation in Guyana, analysis of the then current situation, presumption of study conditions and identification of oil and gas utilization projects.

Here you go @Former Member ,you are pushing for refinery.

@Django posted:

Roadmap

Study scenarios looked at gas utilization and oil utilization where associated gas was used to deliver for domestic uses or refining crude oil here by setting up a refinery for domestic use after the gas to shore project was realized.

In the study, it is assumed that Guyana’s indigenous crude oil is delivered onshore for domestic use, and the required amount is limited to as much as this country’s domestic demand.

Here you go @Former Member ,you are pushing for refinery.

So the cars and trucks will be gas powered, too, huh? They could save even  more with a hookup to Jagdeo's rear-end, I'm sure! Or his mouth where hot air issueth!

With all the worry about the oil running out, won't the gas run out?

How many other new oil producing countries in Africa are utilising gas? Ghana? Nigeria? Nigeria is trying to correct its mistake of not building its own refinery, which caused it to export cheap oil and import more costly refined oil products! Guyana must learn from its own mistakes? Pardon.me for thinking that learning from the mistakes of others was less costly than learning from your own mistakes! Iggerunt mee!

Dem Guyanese on any off shore gas plantain is awlwayz gun bee ruhpurtin dey seesik! Anyting fuh lil tyme aff! Ah is awlwayz sik uv Jagdeo, de meddling kno-hit-awl az lang az munee innvalv! E juss had tuh Mek eseff vee PEE fuh bee Inn de kickback line Hupp ahgayn!

@Django posted:

Ratman wants to create graph schemes like the Marriot Hotel and Berbice River Bridge. To date no one knows the investors in the Marriot Hotel.

That is not true.   The scenerios are different. You are comparing oranges to grapes.

So the cars and trucks will be gas powered, too, huh? They could save even  more with a hookup to Jagdeo's rear-end, I'm sure! Or his mouth where hot air issueth!

With all the worry about the oil running out, won't the gas run out?

Look who is talking! You never can relate to the issues, EH! You are always vulgar and you have no commonsense at all.

@Django posted:

@Ramakant-P posted:

That is not true.   The scenerios are different. You are comparing oranges to grapes.

What scenarios are different ?

The PPP/C favored onshore.

“No significant difference observed in economics between onshore and floating gas to power plants" The selection will depend on the site conditions, the complexity of permissions, manpower in the country, etc. Economical viability is sensitive to fuel gas prices.

The PPP/C is moving forward with its plans.  The Opposition parties are silent about the situation. They have no vision. They are useless. They hid the study conducted by the Japanese from the PPP.

GNI anti_coolies criticized the PPP/C for enlisting the help of a Canadian to study the oil and gas scenario but did not critique the APNU/AFC Coalition in their collaboration with the Japanese Government.

@Ramakant-P posted:

The PPP/C favored onshore.

“No significant difference observed in economics between onshore and floating gas to power plants" The selection will depend on the site conditions, the complexity of permissions, manpower in the country, etc. Economical viability is sensitive to fuel gas prices.

The PPP/C is moving forward with its plans.  The Opposition parties are silent about the situation. They have no vision. They are useless. They hid the study conducted by the Japanese from the PPP.

GNI anti_coolies criticized the PPP/C for enlisting the help of a Canadian to study the oil and gas scenario but did not critique the APNU/AFC Coalition in their collaboration with the Japanese Government.

Rama,

Note the difference - the Japanese study is a master plan comprised of detailed analyses and support for their figures per kwh.While not ruling out onshore facilities, they point out what could be a major disadvantage re the pipe infrastructure. This is what a PLAN does. Or a feasibility study.

A far cry from Ratman's squealing about "no brainer". Where are his facts and figures to support his decision? Are we to rely on his rants, "if" statements and "ah tink suh"? Where is the professionalism from ah we dakta, dakta, dakta bred from de communist school of eeee CON omics?

Rama,

Note the difference - the Japanese study is a master plan comprised of detailed analyses and support for their figures per kwh.While not ruling out onshore facilities, they point out what could be a major disadvantage re the pipe infrastructure. This is what a PLAN does. Or a feasibility study.

A far cry from Ratman's squealing about "no brainer". Where are his facts and figures to support his decision? Are we to rely on his rants, "if" statements and "ah tink suh"? Where is the professionalism from ah we dakta, dakta, dakta bred from de communist school of eeee CON omics?

Jagdeo's plan is good for Guyana.  What you see is what you get.  That Japanese study was for the PNC who had no vision. The Banna isn't squealing he is just stating the facts. 

@Ramakant-P posted:

Jagdeo's plan is good for Guyana.  What you see is what you get.  That Japanese study was for the PNC who had no vision. The Banna isn't squealing he is just stating the facts.

What I see? what is there to see? he has NOTHING. Stating facts? what facts? He has NO FACTS. Has supplied none. Unless your head is in his rectum and you can see all the way to his brain.

You cannot see it because that where you are looking.

You think we are going to give you details of our plans. Look at those jackasses who critique the PPP without even knowing what they are going to do or how they are going to do it.

You need a good wild cane on your backside for disrespecting the VP.

When you start to behave as a Gentleman then I will tell you about our plans for the future. But now all you have to know is that the PPP/C is obligated to fulfil their election promises that they are executing to a T.

Cost difference is not much. It is therefore a matter of risk assessment and geo-politics. In that case the offshore gas will be better. No one can beat Japanese engineering. Kapa only drives Japanese cars .

@Ramakant-P posted:

Every scenario is different. I don't have to spell it out for you. Re-read the article and you will find it.

Spell out what ? things you aren't capable to do ,reading the responses shows it.

@Ramakant-P posted:
They have no vision. They are useless. They hid the study conducted by the Japanese from the PPP.

Yet they get the Japanese to do a study ,before venturing in to the gas powered plants. This reporting stumped Jagdeo and his graph schemes.

Cost difference is not much. It is therefore a matter of risk assessment and geo-politics. In that case the offshore gas will be better. No one can beat Japanese engineering. Kapa only drives Japanese cars .

It is stated risks involved in seabed pipelines bringing the gas to shore. Alot of stuff is done offshore by Asian countries. It seems that is the trend. The Chinese have super size Floating sawmills off the coast of Brazil. Also, Floating fish processing plants in the South Atlantic.

@seignet posted:

It is stated risks involved in seabed pipelines bringing the gas to shore. Alot of stuff is done offshore by Asian countries. It seems that is the trend. The Chinese have super size Floating sawmills off the coast of Brazil. Also, Floating fish processing plants in the South Atlantic.

We are not going the Chinese or Japanese way.  The Chinese and Japanese don't have land space.

Maybe they experienced enough disasters to know how to plan to minimize them. Guyana is a disaster they hoping to assist out of it.

I guess the PPP have a lil bit of money, so, Jagdeo plans to waste it. The country has at any time about 750, 000 people along a coastline that will be covered under water. Locating a gas power plant at Wales comes from one who has no brains. Imagine the distribution system, the cost of cables, transformers, human resources needed for an inefficient system.

Right now, GPL have problems collecting. Imagine one centralized system and the nightmare for impovrished people. Cheap power generation but hefty cost for administrations.

Where is he hoping for the creation of employment with cheap power and what will he be producing. See that he micro-manages. Other than wood, which can be processed by locals, anything else requires technology.

The country at this time needs a power generating system that demarcates several districts as a block and generate power to suit that need. Also, localize employment rather than drive rural to urban creating enviromental disasters.

Guyana is a barren country with the potential of building itself as modern state with up to date technology and system. Some how the PPP do not have the brains for it. But that does not matter, the PPP needs to have humility and seek expert directions.

But we have a fella who behaves likes a king god endowned with the graces of high above.

Money is like water, held in the hand it is never stored. It leaks away. Two hundred and forty five million USD is not alot of money. And with faulty infrastructure like a compressor the revenues is never constant, and can even dwindle to nothing. Exxon will not have gas for Guyana unless they have crude. And believe me, they are their boss.

You are blocked!

@Ramakant-P posted:

Look who is talking! You never can relate to the issues, EH! You are always vulgar and you have no commonsense at all.

While you post the scents of your shit! Only you like that!

@Ramakant-P posted:

We are not going the Chinese or Japanese way.  The Chinese and Japanese don't have land space.

Huh? The Japanese, maybe! But  China? Shit again!

@Django posted:

Japanese study said gas to power viable -but favoured offshore plant instead of pipelines

The study, undertaken by the Mitsubishi Corporation and its affiliate Chiyoda Corporation in collaboration with the Government of Japan, favours the development of an offshore power plant such as this floating design [Image: Mitsubishi Heavy Industries)

April 18 ,2021

An oil and gas masterplan for Guyana done by the Government of Japan had concluded in 2019 that a gas to power solution based on the country’s petroleum operations is economically viable but it leaned heavily in favour of an offshore facility rather than an onshore plant.

The plan, completed in 2019 and given to the David Granger APNU+AFC administration, comprised analyses for both onshore and floating gas-to-power plants. It projected a power selling price for the onshore plant at 6.93 cents (US) per KWH compared to 7.11 cents (US) per KWH for the offshore facility.

The figures listed in the report reflect a significantly lower tariff than the current electricity rate, given as US 32 cents per KWH. The report highlighted that the decision on having an onshore or an offshore facility would be left entirely up to the country.

While it said that it did not find a significant difference between the two costs for the LNG (Liquefied Natural Gas) processes, the study leans heavily in support of an offshore facility and focused on the offshore set up more.

As noted in the report, the decision to establish an onshore or an offshore operation rests with the government.

The study leans heavily in support of an offshore facility and focused on the offshore set up more.

The country, though, would not have to deal with the complications that would come from the laying of pipes and potential risks posed from them if it plans to transition to renewables in the future.

Quoted from article.

Django ---

Projects indeed do have their pros and cons.

Eventually, the developer chooses an option to proceed with the project.

Agreed .

One have to look what is better for Guyana ,few folks before the news article was mentioning of shore ,which looks like a better option .Don't have to deal with repairing leaks with pipe lines.

@Former Member

I read your post at SN on this article ,question for you , how you write so well there and cussing up the guys here ? also none of these ... separating the words.

Just curious.

@Django posted:

One have to look what is better for Guyana ,few folks before the news article was mentioning of shore ,which looks like a better option .Don't have to deal with repairing leaks with pipe lines.

Though living abroad, collectively we should view issues and developments that benefit Guyana; even though we may have diverse opinions.

Too bad that, in Guyana, it's a given that the people aren't the 'government'! Just the used and abused! As usual!

@Django posted:

@Former Member

I read your post at SN on this article ,question for you , how you write so well there and cussing up the guys here ? also none of these ... separating the words.

Just curious.

Banna, what kinda dumb ass question you asking?????? Because you allow it! He won't get away with that shit there, but you allow him to come here and berate posters like Cain who are here for over 20 years, for no reason.

But never mind the insults (we all engage in it one time or another). The WORSE kind of obscenity in EVERY post, vulgarity to the max with vivid descriptions of his perverted gay sex shit plastered over every thread.

In every post black people are called the worse names by this bigot, parading as though he is actually interested in conversation. I suppose him telling you that "ah got black friends" is good enough for you. You think he could call anyone a nappy headed n.igger on Facebook or even in Canada without someone visiting his old backside?

The man is a Loud Dithering lunatic, and you are asking him questions as though he's normal. It's like asking someone from Berbice madhouse why they pelted their neighbor with mangoes.

I suppose he runs up your page views so it's okay. SMFH.

Banna, what kinda dumb ass question you asking?????? Because you allow it! He won't get away with that shit there, but you allow him to come here and berate posters like Cain who are here for over 20 years, for no reason.

But never mind the insults (we all engage in it one time or another). The WORSE kind of obscenity in EVERY post, vulgarity to the max with vivid descriptions of his perverted gay sex shit plastered over every thread.

In every post black people are called the worse names by this bigot, parading as though he is actually interested in conversation. I suppose him telling you that "ah got black friends" is good enough for you. You think he could call anyone a nappy headed n.igger on Facebook or even in Canada without someone visiting his old backside?

The man is a Loud Dithering lunatic, and you are asking him questions as though he's normal. It's like asking someone from Berbice madhouse why they pelted their neighbor with mangoes.

I suppose he runs up your page views so it's okay. SMFH.

Not really ,just wondering how Guyanese can switch from one form to another.

I am aware we can speak perfect English ,then switch to the broken language ,with a snap .

Django ---

Projects indeed do have their pros and cons.

Eventually, the developer chooses an option to proceed with the project.

BRILLIANT! Never would have known this! Thanks so much for sharing.

@Django posted:

Not really ,just wondering how Guyanese can switch from one form to the other.

I am aware we can speak perfect English ,then switch to the broken language ,with a snap .

huh? what happened to what I said between your highlighted portions? Banna, are you high?

Another gem. Shit, what insight. How does he do it?

@Ramakant-P posted:

You cannot see it because that where you are looking.

You think we are going to give you details of our plans. Look at those jackasses who critique the PPP without even knowing what they are going to do or how they are going to do it.

You need a good wild cane on your backside for disrespecting the VP.

When you start to behave as a Gentleman then I will tell you about our plans for the future. But now all you have to know is that the PPP/C is obligated to fulfil their election promises that they are executing to a T.

Rama,

When I read your posts I am reminded of the old time Guyanese chupidness and arrogance. Guyana is not the possession of the PPP to do with it what they want. It belongs to the people and that includes the opposition.

Your leaders Rat Man and Fat Man keep mouthing off about "transparency", so I bet if they had any plans or feasibility studies to point to and support their decisions we would have seen them.

Get this you chupid man - you all are obligated to supply details of your plans. Criticism of the PPP or any governing party is to be expected. Unless of course, they are a dictatorship which you seem to be suggesting.

@Django posted:

Not really ,just wondering how Guyanese can switch from one form to another.

yuh asking that question , and of D2.