-at commemoration of Enmore martyrs.

Government had premeditated to dispose of the sugar industry long before it made public that consultations would be held to save it and this information is evidence and testimony that nothing it says about the state of sugar should be trusted, Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo says.

Making an over one-hour address, at an event to  remember the Enmore Martyrs, at Enmore, East Coast Demerara yesterday, Jagdeo flayed the APNU+AFC government for its attitude towards the sugar industry here.

He focused his appeal to workers of the Enmore Sugar Estate, one of the estates proposed to be closed, telling them that a decision to leave them without work was made long before proposed consultations and a parliamentary white paper presented.  He told them to be aware that this year would be the last year that they would be celebrating the rise of the Enmore Martyrs at the estate because it will be closed.

Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo speaking

“The Guyana Government hereby authorizes Mr. Brian Wesley Kirton to engage in discussions on its behalf with interested companies/parties regarding their possible interest in acquiring the Guyana Sugar Corporation in whole or in part, to facilitate the arrangement for negotiations between the govnerment and interested companies/ parties…,” Jagdeo read from an authorization document, signed by Minister of State Joseph Harmon in November 2016.

“When they started this show of perfunctory; that they were listening to GAWU and us…they had already made the decision to sell the entire industry out.  This exposes the duplicity of this government. It came into government with a notion, despite saying they will save the industry, they had a notion that they had to dismantle the sugar industry regardless of the consequences for Guyana and the workers of the industry…when they invited us to the cursory consultations, on the 31st of December (2016) and then they called us in February and invited us to another meeting, this authorization was issued before…,” he added.

He said no mention is made by government of what will happen to the 10,000-plus employees of GuySuCo but that it could not as it had no sound plan for the economic future for the country or of sugar workers.

Some of the hundreds who gathered

Saved

As he held up the letter, Jagdeo said that he was confident that the sugar industry could be saved and if government did not have the mindset spelled out in the document it could have already started the path to recovery of the industry.

“We have been growing sugar for 200 years and not even under (Forbes) Burnham (we had this) and they have decided to dismantle sugar. And for those who believe that this was a well thought out decision not motivated by politics and they were not inclined to listen to reason and analysis on whether this industry could work or not… we had this ,” he said as he listed the closure of Wales, proposed closure of Skeldon and other plans for the sector.

“Sugar can be saved. From 1976 to 1996 it made a huge contribution to the economy of this country… The European Union gave us over €100M, as part of the transitional agreement. If we use that alone that  is more that the cost of the whole Skeldon factory. So it is not true that sugar cannot be saved, cannot be restored in the future. If we work very hard and look at the multidimensional way that sugar contributes …if we look, we will see, through an economic analysis… that sugar makes a contribution more than the subsidy it gets.

Jagdeo and his two administrations have been faulted for not taking urgent and radical steps to rescue the sugar industry.

Jagdeo  told sugar workers yesterday that while he wanted to bring a message of bright prospects for them and by extension the country, the reality was that it would only get worse and they needed to prepare for that time.

“Every single time we were in government we had a positive attitude for the future. We will come and talk about our plans for the future. When I come here tonight the only message I can bring to you is a sad message that  it is going to get significantly worse in your lives and the lives of Guyanese.  You will see not only deterioration, in terms of cost of living going up, but less jobs for the future also because no one wants to invest in this country,” he stressed.

Using protests against the controversial parking meters deal as an example, the Opposition Leader issued a general call for the populace to unite in making their disapproval of the sugar estates’ closing known since “today it might be sugar but tomorrow your job”.

“We have to fight for our rights… look at the parking meter issue …we need the same spirit across Guyana. We must stand up for our rights. If we allow them to snatch this,” he asserted as he called on parents to stand up now so that their children would have a better tomorrow. “We live in the type of country we fight for everything,” he said.

The Opposition Leader told attendees to be wary when government tries to persuade them that they are doing what was best for the sugar industry and that revenue from the oil and gas sector will cushion their struggles.

He pointed to government’s plans for development in the Berbice, another area where many sugar workers live, saying it was all “a fallacy”.

“I want to wager you because it is all hype and nothing else. Nothing will happen at Crab Island (where the government wants to build an oil and gas facility). So the people they are promising …those people will be fooled because they will be living on dreams. These people have no credibility. They have deteriorated this country that they have no credibility,” he stated.

He pointed to government’s plans for development in the Berbice, another area where many sugar workers live, saying it was all “a fallacy”.

“I want to wager you because it is all hype and nothing else. Nothing will happen at Crab Island (where the government wants to build an oil and gas facility). So the people they are promising …those people will be fooled because they will be living on dreams. These people have no credibility. They have deteriorated this country that they have no credibility,” he stated.

Amusing Jagdeo talking about credibility.

I was trying to stay from anything very political but ........here goes. I have said this before. Sugar in it's current and previous state is NOT profitable. The PPP subsidized the sugar industry heavily. It needs to be restructured. Something which is being done now and which that Jagass knew but didn't do anything because he didn't want to lose his power base. Now he's lying to the workers again and using them. Why doesn't he tell them the truth? And this is the man you simpletons want to run Guyana again? He in an unscrupulous, lying, nasty, poor excuse for a human being, bastard who only has HIS and the interests of his cronies at heart.

Well said and on the money. Don't expect these people to understand or accept this basic truth about sugar and BJ. Nah, Blackman want to starve abe "collies". Look how they closing factories to punish "collies". 

Amusing Jagdeo talking about credibility.

He needs to take a long and hard look in the mirror.

FOOLS who do not understand basic Economics and are incapable of restructuring and reforming will always be clueless.  Let me remind these FOOLS that SUGAR is being produced successfully  in many places.

I was trying to stay from anything very political but ........here goes. I have said this before. Sugar in it's current and previous state is NOT profitable. The PPP subsidized the sugar industry heavily. It needs to be restructured. Something which is being done now and which that Jagass knew but didn't do anything because he didn't want to lose his power base. Now he's lying to the workers again and using them. Why doesn't he tell them the truth? And this is the man you simpletons want to run Guyana again? He in an unscrupulous, lying, nasty, poor excuse for a human being, bastard who only has HIS and the interests of his cronies at heart.

Your PNC boys are doing a good job.  Keep celebrating.

What does this have to do with PNC? I am speaking about Jagdeo. I have yet to see any of you agree or admit any of the mistakes he made. On the other hand, the PNC supporters ALL agree Burnham was a diseaster for Guyana. You people are so brainwashed and I'll say it.....RACIST. Sometimes I wonder if you have brains. I supported Granger because the country needed a change. In 3 years if the changes I hoped for haven't materialized, I'd be one of the first and adult enough to say throw his ass out. Can any of you say that? As for as you're concerned Jagdeo can't do any wrong. Pathetic and Asinine.  Please note again, my issues are with Jagass not the PPP. You people don't judge the merit of an idea just by who proposes it.

Bibi, Jim Jones missed these IDIOTS!!!

YOU have the nerve to call me an idiot? Sometimes ignorance is a good thing. You're too stupid to understand your shortcomings.

You are proving to be an IDIOT minute by minute. Keep posting!!

FOOLS who do not understand basic Economics and are incapable of restructuring and reforming will always be clueless.  Let me remind these FOOLS that SUGAR is being produced successfully  in many places.

Hey NUMBSKULL........in many places but not GUYANA hence the call for restructuring.

Bibi, Jim Jones missed these IDIOTS!!!

YOU have the nerve to call me an idiot? Sometimes ignorance is a good thing. You're too stupid to understand your shortcomings.

You are proving to be an IDIOT minute by minute. Keep posting!!

If someone whose opinion I respected and valued said that, I might have taken offense. Coming from you, it's mind over matter. I don't mind because you don't matter.

You have the notion to think every one are fools,which doesn't make your views stronger.

Producers of Sugar produce at marketable prices,can that be said of GUYSUCO ??? current cost have increased over the years and gov't continues to pump money into a failing Industry,politics aside,the only solution is restructuring of the industry.

GTAngler is correct it's all about the PPP holding on their voters base,FOOLS can't see that.

We expect government to play a major role in fixing problems we have with the economy. One cannot expect no criticism of government when the economy is getting worse and the country's president and ministers are acting very insensitively. They were put there , thanks to the AFC, to bring positive changes.  So far, we are still waiting for the change(s) promised. 

Hey NUMBSKULL........in many places but not GUYANA hence the call for restructuring.

Dummy, when you can make sense and understand simple things come back!!!

You have the notion to think every one are fools,which doesn't make your views stronger.

Producers of Sugar produce at marketable prices,can that be said of GUYSUCO ??? current cost have increased over the years and gov't continues to pump money into a failing Industry,politics aside,the only solution is restructuring of the industry.

GTAngler is correct it's all about the PPP holding on their voters base,FOOLS can't see that.

Why is Ian McDonald against closing the sugar factories? 

I rest my case, YOU ALL ARE IDIOTS!!!

We expect government to play a major role in fixing problems we have with the economy. One cannot expect no criticism of government when the economy is getting worse and the country's president and ministers are acting very insensitively. They were put there , thanks to the AFC, to bring positive changes.  So far, we are still waiting for the change(s) promised. 

Under developed minds cannot conceive this.  Reforming sugar does not mean putting 10,000 people out of work with no alternative plans for them.  Reform is supposed to be better.  Not worse.

GTAngler is here screaming hatred for Jagdeo while ignoring the economic impact on people's livelihood.  I know Jagdeo longer than I know him and I can tell you this, he cannot walk in Jagdeo's shoes.  Ever!

What does this have to do with PNC? I am speaking about Jagdeo. I have yet to see any of you agree or admit any of the mistakes he made. On the other hand, the PNC supporters ALL agree Burnham was a diseaster for Guyana. You people are so brainwashed and I'll say it.....RACIST. Sometimes I wonder if you have brains. I supported Granger because the country needed a change. In 3 years if the changes I hoped for haven't materialized, I'd be one of the first and adult enough to say throw his ass out. Can any of you say that? As for as you're concerned Jagdeo can't do any wrong. Pathetic and Asinine.  Please note again, my issues are with Jagass not the PPP. You people don't judge the merit of an idea just by who proposes it.

Well then pardon me bright boy.  Your Granjaw is doing a good job.  Keep celebrating.

You were the dumbest person in your class and you have the nerve to call me pathetic and asinine.

Typical. When you have no answer, get personal. Was that called for? You're just proving your ignorance.Well, I warned you before. You started this. Let's dance. I never pretend to be something I am not ok there French Teacher. Actually, scratch that. I am not going to stoop to your level. Au Revoir....

Last edited by GTAngler

Nehru....in Guyana the cost to produce sugar is more than the selling price hence it is not profitable for us to produce  sugar as we used to. Coupled with mismanagement , poor planning, corruption , etc the industry has to be restructured and managed carefully to recover. No matter which party is in power the industry has to be restructured to survive. I do not want to see mass unemployment and it is unfortunate that the different parties cannot see eye to eye in planning to save sugar. GAWU is not helping they are playing second fiddle to Jagdeo  and he is bent on sacrificing the well being of the sugar workers to regain power.

Under developed minds cannot conceive this.  Reforming sugar does not mean putting 10,000 people out of work with no alternative plans for them.  Reform is supposed to be better.  Not worse.

GTAngler is here screaming hatred for Jagdeo while ignoring the economic impact on people's livelihood. I know Jagdeo longer than I know him and I can tell you this, he cannot walk in Jagdeo's shoes.  Ever!

Don't need a magnifying glass to see both of you are brainless.

Leaving out his political career,he would have been a failure in any venture.

One of those places is Mauritius which went through a difficult spell and now on the road to recovery.

GTAngler is here screaming hatred for Jagdeo while ignoring the economic impact on people's livelihood.  I know Jagdeo longer than I know him and I can tell you this, he cannot walk in Jagdeo's shoes.  Ever!

They put up arguments supporting why the sugar industry should not be given anymore subsidies from government, but we cannot get from them solid reasons why the GDF should be recipient of over US$50 million subsidy. Sugar is associated with mostly Indians and the PPP. The GDF is associated with mostly Blacks and the PNC. Sugar brings in hard currency, but the GDF is a budget buster that earns nothing. The abrupt move to shut the sugar industry without wide consultations appear to me and others as an attempt by this government to undermine the strength of their enemies even if it's detrimental to the entire health of the national economy.  It's a short-sighted view that withholding subsidies to the Sugar industry would save Guyana millions of dollars.  They are too many other industries that are connected to the sugar industry

Churchill posted:

Nehru....in Guyana the cost to produce sugar is more than the selling price hence it is not profitable for us to produce  sugar as we used to. Coupled with mismanagement , poor planning, corruption , etc the industry has to be restructured and managed carefully to recover. No matter which party is in power the industry has to be restructured to survive. I do not want to see mass unemployment and it is unfortunate that the different parties cannot see eye to eye in planning to save sugar. GAWU is not helping they are playing second fiddle to Jagdeo  and he is bent on sacrificing the well being of the sugar workers to regain power.

That's exactly the game plan,it will backfire.

I feel sorry for the workers,the gov't needs give some form of support to the affected workers,hopefully they do.

Well then pardon me bright boy.  Your Granjaw is doing a good job.  Keep celebrating.

You were the dumbest person in your class and you have the nerve to call me pathetic and asinine.

Typical. When you have no answer, get personal. Was that called for? You're just proving your ignorance.Well, I warned you before. You started this. Let's dance. I never pretend to be something I am not ok there French Teacher. Actually, scratch that. I am not going to stoop to your level. Au Revoir....

You cannot pretend to me.  You were a piece of crap, crying and weezing all day in class.  Homework never done.  Poor attendance. Always have an excuse for life.

Oh my. I seem to have hit a nerve. The claws are out. You truly are miserable. You fit right in with the Jagass crowd.

You cannot pretend to me.  You were a piece of crap, crying and weezing all day in class.  Homework never done.  Poor attendance. Always have an excuse for life.

So when you can't debate, you turn to personal attacks. Watch it deh. Mits is back.

GTAngler is here screaming hatred for Jagdeo while ignoring the economic impact on people's livelihood. I know Jagdeo longer than I know him and I can tell you this, he cannot walk in Jagdeo's shoes.  Ever!

A Russian trained economist from a PNC scholarship. 

Look at my career and Jagdeo career.  Then look at your career and GTAngler career.  Nuff said!!!

You are Christmas blow blow,second fiddle office worker.

read the highlighted what i sais about your hero.

Churchill posted:

I feel sorry for the workers,the gov't needs give some form of support to the affected workers,hopefully they do.

No they won't.  The govt doesn't give a rat's ass about the impact on these people's children and families.  Look at Wales - classic example.  AND don't fool anyone on here that you feel sorry for the workers.  You are here day in and day out cheering on the PNC and the torture chamber they are creating for the sugar workers.

FC posted:

Well said and on the money. Don't expect these people to understand or accept this basic truth about sugar and BJ. Nah, Blackman want to starve abe "collies". Look how they closing factories to punish "collies". 

Even Jagdeo concedes that sugar hasn't made a strong positive contribution to the economy since 1996. 20 years ago.

Has he offered any ideas as to how the sugar industry could be made viable, given that costs in Guyana are high, productivity levels are low and the EU market no longer exists?  

No. All he does is create racial panic.

This is the SAME man who callously abandoned bauxite to private investors with the notion that the industry had no future. And yes in its heyday bauxite too made a strong contribution to the economy. But as with sugar those days are long gone.

The sugar workers cannot accept more preferential treatment accorded to them that was accorded to the bauxite workers.

When Linden protested and people were shot down GAWU should have been in the frontlines protesting.  They didn't and in fact joined the screams of "damn ungrateful and lazy blackman," as the PPP sought to demonize Lindeners.  

So why do they think that others will now care?  As went the bauxite workers, so will go the sugar workers.  Weak industries cannot be subsidized indefinitely.

So when you can't debate, you turn to personal attacks. Watch it deh. Mits is back.

You don't see her getting under my skin do you? She has proven time and time again that she is as worthless as her comments and belongs in the gutter.

Churchill posted:

No they won't.  The govt doesn't give a rat's ass about the impact on these people's children and families.  Look at Wales - classic example. AND don't fool anyone on here that you feel sorry for the workers.  You are here day in and day out cheering on the PNC and torture chamber they are creating for the sugar workers.

You are out of your mind !!

No they won't.  The govt doesn't give a rat's ass about the impact on these people's children and families.  .

You and the frest of your crew jumped up and down and laughed at Linden and Kwakwani.

You told the bauxite workers to go find jobs and stop being lazy. Well now the sugar workers can do the same. 

The soils in the sugar belt are way more fertile than around Linden, so they truly have more opportunities to transition away from sugar then did the bauxite workers have to develop other opportunities.

. I supported Granger because the country needed a change. In 3 years if the changes I hoped for haven't materialized, I'd be one of the first and adult enough to say throw his ass out..

And in fact many who supported Granger 3 years ago refused to show up at the independence events that were sponsored by the PNC.  The unity event was embarrassingly empty when apparently not even 100 people showed up to see these officials at the public events.  Only the soup lickers did at the gala.

Bibi is a PPP slave and will jump tp her death if Jagdeo screams that she should.  Most who supported the coalition 2 years ago are deeply disappointed with their behavior.  As the people say "we voted for CHANGE not EXCHANGE" as they witness the corruption and nepotism of these new clowns.

Those who accuse the coalition of being racist in their appointments miss the point.  This is a band of ageing misfits who endorse each other as they attempt to grab as much as they can before 2020.  Not only do they exclude Indians but they also exclude a number of competent blacks who aren't part of their little clique.

One of those places is Mauritius which went through a difficult spell and now on the road to recovery.