https://newsroom.gy/2019/09/29...ts-flooded-villages/

General Secretary of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) on Sunday visited several villages along the coast which are affected by flooding due to the unusual high tides.

(PPP photo)

See full statement below:

STATEMENT FROM THE GENERAL SECRETARY OF THE PPP

Our party leaders and activists have visited several areas across the country which have been affected by flooding brought about by the unusual spring tides.

We have seen firsthand, the suffering of citizens whose homes are flooded, who are also discomforted and have had their livelihoods disrupted. Many have suffered untold damage to personal and other items and may never recover from the devastation brought about by this unfortunate situation.

We therefore call on the Civil Defense Commission to take immediate measures to bring relief to those that are suffering.

In addition, the party wishes to make public it’s full support for those agencies of the state that are entrusted with the responsibility of bringing necessary relief at this time.

We also wish to express our extreme empathy with those that have been affected.

September 29th, 2019

(PPP photo)

Images (2)
  • mceclip1
  • mceclip0

Jagdeo visit Django hometown to make sure his families are gud. 

The care taker Minister Patterson, stay  in his office and said.. well, there is nothing we can do, is god wok but we warn the villagers and them nah used sand bag to stop the flow of water . 

But in 4-5 hours time .. things will be back to normal. 

BTW folks, both PPP and the current care taker government is to be blamed. 

This is what happened. 

They have huge canals to drain the water back to the Atlantic Ocean, but them contractor install 6” pipe under the bridges hehehe ... they did this because the permanent secretary and other government employees have to get them share from the contract. 

So the contractor was forced to downgrade. 

I think the contractor and the supervisor and PS should go to jail.. wah ayo think . 

Jagdeo visit Django hometown to make sure his families are gud. 

The care taker Minister Patterson, stay  in his office and said.. well, there is nothing we can do, is god wok but we warn the villagers and them nah used sand bag to stop the flow of water . 

But in 4-5 hours time .. things will be back to normal. 

BTW folks, both PPP and the current care taker government is to be blamed. 

This is what happened. 

They have huge canals to drain the water back to the Atlantic Ocean, but them contractor install 6” pipe under the bridges hehehe ... they did this because the permanent secretary and other government employees have to get them share from the contract. 

So the contractor was forced to downgrade. 

I think the contractor and the supervisor and PS should go to jail.. wah ayo think . 

This same shyte happens in India.  I spoke to a contractor there once about the thickness of the asphalt.  He said they know whats correct however, after paying all bribes they still have the same budget, so they cut back on quality.