The leader of the Opposition is a person one cannot trust despite efforts to warn him that he talks too Blasted much. Recently, he said the following to the media:

(1) Re: Basil Williams plea to the Opposition to extend election date. While he did say that the PPP will not extend the time, he continued to say that had that request been made just after the NCV, he might have been reasonable and consider the request. Just say the time would not be extended...end of story. 

(2) GECOM Meeting with the BIBLE BOY: When they last met Bible Boy told him one thing and when the meeting was over Bible Boy addressed the nation saying the complete opposite. I was shocked when he defended  Bible Boy and stated that it must have been a mistake made by the press person who prepared the text of his speech to the nation. Why do you believe this coming from the stink mouth of this church rat - Bible Boy.

(3) Last GECOM Meeting with BIBLE BOY: When Jagdeo told Bible Boy that the two names he submitted were not acceptable to him, he also said that he provided Bible Boy with reasons for doing so and continued to tell him that he can still submit names to him Jagdeo. This bugles he mind. The Constitution is simple. The Opposition Leader will submit six names to the President. But what this big ******* calling himself the Leader of the Opposition, did instead was to open the door to Bible Boy to submit names to him. Further when Bible Boy submit names he didn’t like he gives Bible Boy reasons for so doing, something which he is out required to so. And further, he telling people that there is progress around GECOM discussions. Bible Boy is fooling him because he is so damn blind he can’t see what the Devil is doing.

Let me be straight Bible Boy cannot be trust. Everything that is now being done has his blessings. Jackass Jagdeo, it is called “the organic theory of Corporate responsibility “. In simple terms it means that the actions of any officer in Government including the Security Forces is an action of Bible Boy. Jagdeo why are you so busy defending the DEVIL called Bible Boy.

Bharat Jagdeo needs to think outside of the box and listen to people. Any smart kid can read Bible Boy but Jagdeo thinks he knows more than anyone else. If he doesn’t stop his nonsense the PPP will lose the next election.

Dondadda posted:

Leonora, me too. . This man got me upset, I just wanted to express my disgust at him.

You're allowed this once only because I'm on cloud nine for receiving a $5,000 Award today at workplace, and getting exciting company over the weekend. 

.... I'm on cloud nine for receiving a $5,000 Award today at workplace, and getting exciting company over the weekend. 

Only $5,000 ...  

Anyway, all the best. 

Dondadda posted:

Leonora, me too. . This man got me upset, I just wanted to express my disgust at him.

You're allowed this once only because I'm on cloud nine for receiving a $5,000 Award today at workplace, and getting exciting company over the weekend. 

Thank you so very much for the free pass. Enjoy being in company with your friends and or loved ones. 

Unfortunately for us we will celebrate on July 28, my Father’s one year death anniversary. An old PPP stalwart, he died at 94.

Dondadda posted:

Congratulations. Well deserved. Say hi to Dr. Abram fuh me. 

Dondadda posted:

Congrats.  You also get a cricketer stepping up to bat?  

Dondadda posted:

The PNC playing Jagdeo!  I got some first hand tip on what the doing, and it seems to be working.  

Granger staying away from tit for tat is deliberate.  They know the numbers might be against them, so they applying a strategy of frustration and delays.  I don’t think they expected the irfaan little bonus!

Dondadda posted:

Whistle blowing money or backstabbing money?

.... I'm on cloud nine for receiving a $5,000 Award today at workplace, and getting exciting company over the weekend. 

Only $5,000 ...  

Anyway, all the best. 

Lol. Huge Wall Street bonus that DG.  Shush.

Ow gyaal, natt all abie coolie peekle gatt wan Ivy League headukshun aand squat in wan caarna affice Wall Street firm laka you!  You tax bill musse be bigguh dann abie whoooole salary.  

If me bin you, me bin be praoud too! All abie lil skool drap out praoud ah yu!!  Abie feel soo privilege Datt yuh dozz tek lil time out pfun yuh bizzy schedule fuh spenn aaall day wid abie pon GNI!

Big up gyaal.  Lick 👅 and polish Datt ball fuh keep um shine!

Only $5,000 ...  

Anyway, all the best. 

A lil drop like dat in de bucket  can go a long way to settle some of your debts. You're jealous. 

Only $5,000 ...  

Anyway, all the best. 

Juss tink, dass a cupple years supply of diapers fuh yuh!

Only $5,000 ...  

Anyway, all the best. 

A lil drop like dat in de bucket  can go a long way to settle some of your debts. You're jealous. 

I have zero debt. No mortgage. Nothing. The last property I bought was an all cash transaction.  Just bought a new car and paid All cash. I don’t believe in debt.

You are the one buried in debt.  Did that real estate transaction you did with Ben end up in bankruptcy?

Only $5,000 ...  

Anyway, all the best. 

I have zero debt. No mortgage. Nothing. The last property I bought was an all cash transaction.  Just bought a new car and paid All cash. I don’t believe in debt.

You are the one buried in debt.  Did that real estate transaction you did with Ben end up in bankruptcy?

Then pay back the money you owed Uncle Harry. Thanks for the early morning coffee. 

You have not learned a thing from Trump about real estate investment and bankruptcy. No smart investor buys real estate with an all cash transaction...… well unless they are washing money.... I don't think you are in the laundry business. 

Anyway I think you are a liar. You look kinda cute in your bonnet and apron.

Congratulations on your imaginary new car. Please don't drink and drive in your dream. 

Only $5,000 ...  

Anyway, all the best. 

Then pay back the money you owed Uncle Harry. Thanks for the early morning coffee. 

You have not learned a thing from Trump about real estate investment and bankruptcy. No smart investor buys real estate with an all cash transaction...… well unless they are washing money.... I don't think you are in the laundry business. 

Anyway I think you are a liar. You look kinda cute in your bonnet and apron.

Congratulations on your imaginary new car. Please don't drink and drive in your dream. 

I have never in my life owed anyone any money.  The only debt I ever had was two mortgages.  Both now fully paid.  That information is on the internet for All to see.  I am not a real estate investor.  All of my homes are residential and vacation properties for my friends and family to enjoy. 

You should check my new car.  It has a feature called Apple CarPlay.  Everything on my phone is displayed on the dashboard for safe driving.  I can even see the shit you are writing on GNI while I’m driving.

@Baseman Despite the cheer leaders on this board, I (and others) strongly believe Jagdeo has become an albatross around the PPP neck the man just can't help himself.

I would have loved to have seen a Vindhya Persaud, Frank Anthony or even a Kwame Gilbert (running mate) ticket. And yet we have the mute step child in Irfann, the banna Jaggy the sole and seemingly only voice of the PPP just can't keep it shtum.

Frank Anthony would have been a great pick. But I doubt , Jagdeo can control him. At the rate things are going, elections will be in 2020.

Jagdeo bring the PPP down, i suspect after the coming Elections he will be booted out as leader of the party.

Frank Anthony would have been a great pick. But I doubt , Jagdeo can control him. At the rate things are going, elections will be in 2020.

Jagdeo bring the PPP down, i suspect after the coming Elections he will be booted out as leader of the party.

So far DG is outmaneuvering him.  Where is the bulldozer Ramotar?

I think it was @Baseman who suggested before but not 100% sure (so don't quote me) but under Jaggys last administration they were so arrogant with the ABC's that now when in truth when the PPP actually have something concrete to say and are in the right the ABC's give them the cold shoulder and that sits completely with Jaggy.

He may have have been a good leader (to some not me btw) but the worst back seat driver, if the PPP didn't have good in it I'd understand but they do.

Wow, this is funny.   The last thing late last night you were pissing over another poster saying she got a bonus.  Then first thing this morning you open the board vomiting all over how much money, cars and villas you own.  It’s not normal behavior.  Something seems amiss!

BTW, you bought a lot of villas over the past two years! 

And why do you see the need to be logged in and reading GNI in your new Ashton Martin?

There is a whole lot more to life than GNI! Try to log out and focus on good wicket keeping!

Gyaal you too much.  You try too hard!

https://wikileaks.org/plusd/ca...0GEORGETOWN15_a.html

REASON: 1.4(B), (D)

1. (C) Summary. President Bharrat Jagdeo returned from his visit to the Middle East, including Iran January 20-21, announcing that the GoG had signed two Memoranda of Understanding (MoUs) with Iran. Besides announcing these two MoUs, President Jagdeo said Iran would send a team of specialists to Guyana to assess Guyana's mineral deposits. The Guyana Geology and Mines Commission (GGMC) expects an Iranian official to visit Guyana as early as late March to discuss mineral deposit assessments.

Local media have reported President Jagdeo defending his visit to Iran while criticizing U.S. foreign policy.

End summary.

2. (U) Background: President Bharrat Jagdeo, from January 14-21 visited Kuwait, UAE and Iran. During his visit to Iran January 20-21, he met with senior Iranian officials including President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad and the Supreme Leader of the Islamic Revolution Ayatollah Ali Khamenei. He was accompanied by Foreign Minister Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett, Minster of Housing and Water Irfaan Ali, PPP General Secretary Donald Ramotar, and Central Islamic Organization of Guyana President Al Haj Fazeel Ferouz.

3. (SBU) Local media reported that two Memoranda of Understandings (MoUs) were signed between Foreign Minister Rodrigues-Birkett and Iranian Foreign Minister Manouchehr Mottaki during President Jagdeo's January 20-21 visit to Iran. Ministry of Foreign Affairs Acting Director for Multilateral and Global Affairs Lesley Collins confirmed these reports. She told PolChief on February 1 that one MoU provides Guyana with a USD1.5 million grant for developing its health sector while the other relates to the removal of restrictions on visa requirements for diplomatic travel.

4. (C) Guyana Geology and Mines Commission (GGMC) Acting Commissioner William Woolford confirmed media reports that Iran plans to send a team of Iranian experts to Guyana. He told PolChief on February 2 that he would like to discuss a four-to-six year plan with the Iranians to conduct geological, geochemical and geophysical assessments and that he expects an Iranian official to visit Guyana as early as late March. Canadian High Commission Charge d'Affaires Raymond Drouin told PolChief that Canadian mining executives are concerned that Iran is interested in securing future supplies of uranium and Jagdeo's move to welcome an Iranian team may affect Canadian mining company interests in Guyana. Note: The Government of Norway (GoN) is offering an aerial assessment of forest cover under an MoU signed with Guyana in 2009. Depending upon the type of assessment platform used by Norway, a project by Iran could be unnecessary. End note.

5. (C) Local media have reported Jagdeo defending his visit to Iran and criticizing the U.S. The Guyana Times on January 22 quoted Jagdeo as stating "many of the moves of the Americans around the globe are against the norms and merely ensure their own interests" and "we are not in agreement with their entire stance, and we do express our dissatisfaction with lots of their policies and viewpoints." Kaieteur News published a letter to the editor entitled "what's the fuss about Iran" on February 1 by Presidential Advisor Randy Persaud defending Jagdeo's "right to pursue an independent foreign policy." The letter blamed the U.S. for "bungling" humanitarian relief efforts in Haiti and preventing an aircraft with CARICOM officials from landing. Persaud also blamed the U.S. for "removing a democratically elected leader in Iran in the 1950s," and charged that the U.S. "provided the initial impetus for an Iranian nuclear program." Jagdeo has neither retracted his statements nor countered media reports criticizing the U.S.

6. (C) Comment. President Jagdeo's visit to Iran fits into a pattern of increasing association and identification between his administration and Organization of the Islamic Conference (OIC) members, but also with his willingness to align with anyone he sees as able to provide monetary assistance to Guyana (preferably without strings). The marked difference in this case is that, although Jagdeo has often made comments or foreign overtures that have provoked displeasure in Guyana before, this time he is not backing down or trying to "spin" his reasoning. Indeed, at least in terms of the Iran visit and his remarks made there disparaging the U.S. in regard to actions with CARICOM on Haiti assistance, despite public high-level push back from the Embassy, and even the general public, Jagdeo hasn't backed down but instead ramped up his campaign via proxies.

Presidential Advisor Randy Persaud is frequently called on to be the unofficial spin-doctor and avatar for the President's views in the media. His letters never name him as a Presidential Advisor, GEORGETOWN 00000015 002.3 OF 002 although in person he introduces himself as such. His vigorous defense of Jagdeo for visiting Iran, with gratuitous bashing of the U.S. thickly interspersed throughout, comes directly from inside the administration and signals a commitment to closer relations to Iran and a new willingness to alienate the United States. End comment. WILLIAMS

Dougla_80 posted:

@Baseman Despite the cheer leaders on this board, I (and others) strongly believe Jagdeo has become an albatross around the PPP neck the man just can't help himself.

I would have loved to have seen a Vindhya Persaud, Frank Anthony or even a Kwame Gilbert (running mate) ticket. And yet we have the mute step child in Irfann, the banna Jaggy the sole and seemingly only voice of the PPP just can't keep it shtum.

Jagdeo convinces himself about himself. I have respect and admired for him in some ways.  However, he has run his coarse and should move over.  His appointment of Irfaan has convinced everyone that nothing has changed.  I remember his defiance when the CCJ struck down his 3rd term.  The message was clear and now he seeing the push back!

By who?  I dont know what kinda obeah Jagdeo wukking but that man aint going nowhere anytime soon. Nobody appears to have the balls to challenge him. I believe now what was said about him sometime aback. He like a lil Burnham. What he says goes.

Wow, this is funny.   The last thing late last night you were pissing over another poster saying she got a bonus.  Then first thing this morning you open the board vomiting all over how much money, cars and villas you own.  It’s not normal behavior.  Something seems amiss!

BTW, you bought a lot of villas over the past two years! 

And why do you see the need to be logged in and reading GNI in your new Ashton Martin?

There is a whole lot more to life than GNI! Try to log out and focus on good wicket keeping!

Gyaal you too much.  You try too hard!

Wonder how long she will take to drive to the Ragu's in Pennsylvania and back? She hasn't learned a thing working on Wall Street about using OPM. Trump is the Guru on that.

Chyziena Etwaroo is seeking the public’s help to offset the cost of brain surgery for her one-year-old girl, Akeelah

Single mother seeks assistance for baby who needs brain surgery -  

Twenty-four-year-old Essequibo mother Chyziena Etwaroo is seeking the public’s help to offset the cost of brain surgery for her one-year-old girl.

Little Akeelah has meningitis and has seizures every day.

Akeelah will be two-years-old on July 31 this year but it will be a bitter-sweet event because she is in need of the surgery urgently.

The single mother told the News Room it was on June 27, 2018, when she observed that her baby had a high fever which only got worse overnight; the mother said she rushed her to the Suddie Hospital the next day.

“For that night I bathe her, I soak her and give her panadol syrup to drink and the next morning I rush her to Suddie Hospital and they examined her and said she had a throat infection and give her antibiotics and sent her home,” the mother said.

Within that week in June 2018, the baby appeared normal; she was creeping and playing but still appeared sick and her mother decided to take her back to the hospital.

“They told me to continue the treatment and they send we home back. The Sunday (July 1 2018) morning when I woke up she was in a lot of pain and crying, and that is when I took her back to the hospital and the doctor start pressing the baby and I wouldn’t be able to say what injection they give her and when they give me the baby to nurse, from that day, baby refused to nurse she keeps biting my [breast],” the mother said.

Baby Akeelah was later transferred to the ICU at Suddie as her condition worsened and the next day she was then transferred to the Georgetown Public Hospital, where she remained for an entire month.

The mother said, “At Georgetown Public Hospital they do a urine test, blood test and they discharged her and they said they didn’t see a reason why she was transferred.”

The mother explained to the News Room that while packing up to leave the hospital after being discharged, another doctor came and checked baby Akeelah and she was readmitted because of high temperature.

“That was when they had me do a CT scan…everything come back normal but on the day she was admitted at GPHC she sit and did everything like a normal child; she hold her chips to eat and had her bottle in her hand but when my baby came out from there, she came out like a vegetable, she couldn’t do anything for herself,” the mother said.

The Georgetown Public Hospital diagnosed baby Akeelah with meningitis last year while a private hospital in March this year determined that she has chronic neurological disabilities and severe brain abnormality. She cannot sit upright or sit by herself.

“They are saying that she has severe brain damage, public hospital says the baby has meningitis so they were treating her for seizure and recently I do whole body check with her at private and that is when we know that the baby had fluids in the brain,” the mother said.

The private hospital recommended that a bilateral craniotomy be done.

“They say she needs to do brain surgery to take the fluids out of her brain,” the mother said.

Baby Akeelah gets three or more seizures every day and in the night time.

The mother said very often she is rushed to the hospital and is seeking assistance so that she can have the surgery done.

Anyone willing to assist Baby Akeelah can contact her mother on 689 4867 or make direct deposits at Republic Bank to account number 58 026 32.

2006 April

https://search.wikileaks.org/p...GEORGETOWN308_a.html

Classified By: Ambassador Roland W. Bullen For reasons 1.4 (b) and (d)

1. (SBU) SUMMARY. The likelihood of Guyana holding elections by the August 4 constitutional due date has plummeted over the past ten days. The Guyana Elections Commissioner (GECOM) Secretariat - the technical staff - took the country by SIPDIS surprise March 24 when they circulated a draft revised plan showing an election date (E-day) pushed back from July 18 to September 25. Because of the resulting uproar, GECOM has continued to tweak the revised plan and, as of a March 31 draft, E-day is slated for August 24. Any delay beyond August 4 is cause for serious concern, as it would usher in an unpredictable and volatile political situation. All stakeholders must take decisive action within the next two weeks - otherwise an election delay is inevitable. END SUMMARY.

2. (C) Key Guyana elections developments in the past two weeks: - March 21: Charge meets with PNC/R leaders, who reiterate their stance that publishing a preliminary voters list (PVL) - to be used in the "claims and objections" (C&O) period - based on the 2001 voters list without prior house-to-house verification of every name on the list is "unacceptable" and wil not be allowed to happen. The proposed house-tohouse verification would cost US$2 million and tae at least six months (ref B). - March 24: Doors meet with GECOM just as the revised plan wit the September 25 E-day is circulated. GECOM Chaiman Dr. Steve Surujbally calls the revised plan "first step towards the bloodbath." - March2:President Jagdeo calls impromptu meeting with mbassador and UK, Canada, and EU chiefs of missionto express his displeasure with the revised plan saying he "can't contemplate an extension" beyod August 4. - March 27: Jagdeo calls all-hands meting - with donors, GECOM (including Surujballyand the other six commissioners), and both JointInternational Technical Assessors (JITAs) - to ubraid GECOM for not fulfilling its mandate to delier elections within the constitutional timeframe. - March 28: GECOM commissioners hold their stattory weekly meeting, fail to make any of the decisions needed to break the political impasse over election preparations. - March 29: Donors issue joint statement that they "are satisfied that the GECOM Secretariat has the technical capability and capacity . . . to deliver free and fair elections within the constitutional timeframe". - March 29-31: GECOM staff, JITAs, and some commissioners hold working sessions on the revised plan, move the proposed E-day to August 24, but no formal decision is taken.

3. (U) There are four protagonists in this unfolding drama: GECOM; Jagdeo and the ruling PPP/C party; the parliamentary opposition parties (led by the PNC/R); and the international donors. However, the Guyanese electorate - who should be the fifth protagonist - is virtually precluded from participating due to political manipulation. ----- GECOM -----

4. (SBU) The GECOM commissioners remain deadlocked 3-vs-3 along political lines. Chairman Surujbally can break the deadlock by casting a deciding vote, but he is extremely reluctant to do this, out of both a desire for consensus decision-making and a not unreasonable fear for his personal safety.

5. (C) The GECOM Secretariat, led by Chief Elections Officer Gocool Boodhoo, is extremely frustrated by the commissioners' inability to agree on key issues, thus preventing the Secretariat from completing its election preparations. At SIPDIS Jagdeo's March 27 meeting, an exasperated Boodhoo spelled out clearly the four critical decisions that the commissioners must make quickly to get preparations back on track: a) how to handle verification of the voters list; b) how to compose the PVL; c) how to incorporate results from the Electoral Office of Jamaica fingerprint analysis project (ref E); and d) when to set the eligibility cut-off date for 18 year olds to vote. Even with these timely decisions Boodhoo believes holding elections by August 4 would be "difficult".

6. (U) Moving ahead with printing the PVL is of utmost importance because that will serve as the basis for the C&O process when political parties and the public can come forward with information to further refine the voters list. C&O was scheduled to commence April 4. The draft plan has C&O delayed until May 2 - a major disruption to the election timeline.

7. (U) The atmosphere at GECOM is tense. Inside, the Secretariat is working under pressure to craft a realistic SIPDIS election plan, while their political masters bicker rather than give urgently needed policy guidance. Outside, opposition protesters continue to picket demanding full house-to-house verification; GECOM even received a bomb threat March 29.

-------------- Jagdeo & PPP/C --------------

8. (C) Jagdeo is very concerned that an election delay will tarnish his reputation on the international stage - he seems desperate not to be seen as a head of state who cannot hold elections on time. In meetings with donors and GECOM, Jagdeo expressed his utter disbelief that E-day could slip from July 18 in the original plan to September 25. He repeatedly asked - and did not receive a satisfactory answer - what had changed to throw off the election schedule. He is "totally against" a postponement of elections past the August 4 constitutional due date and challenged GECOM to fulfill its mandate to conduct elections by then. Specifically, he told GECOM Chairman Surujbally that he should cast a deciding vote if necessary.

9. (SBU) Jagdeo misstepped tactically in calling the March 27 meeting with GECOM and donors before the commissioners had the opportunity to discuss the revised plan. This has led to strong criticism from the opposition that he is meddling in GECOM's work.

------------------ PNC/R - Opposition ------------------

10. (U) The revised plan plays directly into the opposition's hands. Almost every relevant opposition party (with the exception of the upstart Alliance For Change) endorses an election postponement, as that is the easiest way for them to gain leverage in negotiating with the GoG. The national assembly must dissolve no later than May 4. The national assembly's life can be extended with a constitutional amendment supported by a two-thirds majority, which would require the PNC/R's support.

11. (C) The opposition will use any election delay as a pretext to press even harder for full house-to-house verification of the 2001 voter's list that will be the basis for the 2006 PVL. The PNC/R leadership revealed the true motive behind their insistence at March 21 meeting with Charge. They want to remove emigrants from the voters list on the flimsy assumption that emigrants are predominantly Indo-Guyanese and therefore more likely to be PPP supporters.

(Note: At least 100,000 Guyanese have emigrated since 2001. There is no overseas voting, but Guyanese emigrants maintain the constitutional right to vote and may return to Guyana to do so. The voter's list was accepted by party leaders before the 2001 election and verified by Guyanese and international scrutineers both before and after the 2001 election. Even with an otherwise unnecessary "verification" exercise, no legal means currently exist to disenfranchise emigrants.)

12. (C) At the same meeting, the PNC/R leaders said that young Afro-Guyanese are drawn to more extreme factions advocating an election boycott. They explained that a delay would "minimize that element's basis for anger", a not so subtle allusion to the very real threat of political violence if the PNC/R's demands go unmet. ------ Donors ------

13. (U) Donors remain determined not to get embroiled in the internal political dispute over election preparations. They are wary of getting dragged into the blame game over elections that has already begun.

14. (U) The donor signatories (U.S., UK, Canada, EC) to the elections memorandum of understanding with GECOM and the GoG issued a joint statement March 29. In it, the signatories stated they "are satisfied that the GECOM Secretariat has the technical capability and capacity . . . to deliver free and fair elections within the constitutional timeframe", and they "urge all political parties . . . to work with GECOM to find timely responses to the political challenges" to elections.

15. (SBU) Donors agree that the most promising way to get election preparations back on track and to minimize political violence is through a strong high-level international political presence on the ground. This was a key element of the OAS proposal for a Guyana Electoral Observation Mission circulated to donors several weeks ago. However, OAS A/SYG Albert Ramdin has stopped seeking someone to fill that role because of inadequate donor response to OAS' funding request for this mission. (Note. USG has committed US$50,000; Canada CDN$75,000; and Brazil US$5,000.) The funding gap is over US$400,000.

16. (SBU) The PNC/R must be offered some inducement to convince it to cooperate with elections. During Ramdin's February 12-15 visit to Guyana he mooted the concept of a pre-electoral pact "guaranteed by the international community", committing the political parties to implement reforms to Guyana's governance system immediately after elections (ref C). The international community has very little leverage to force the PNC/R to cease obstructing the election process. Ramdin's proposed political pact is the best bargaining chip available, but will require a high-level, multilateral initiative to broker a deal. ------- Comment -------

17. (SBU) The window of opportunity to get Guyana's election process back on track is closing fast - so fast that unless GECOM and other stakeholders (including the USG and other donors) take decisive action within the next two weeks, Guyana has no chance of sticking to its constitutional timeframe. As of now, the JITAs believe that GECOM "could still pull off the elections if it had the will" to do so.

18. (SBU) Comment continued. Despite the ongoing debate over when E-day should be, the fundamental impasse remains the opposition's reluctance to go ahead with elections they are convinced they will lose. The opposition will not commit to the electoral process until it gets a good enough political deal to compensate. Post firmly believes that Ramdin's proposed OAS Electoral Observation Mission offers the best chance to clinch such a deal. The likely alternative is sobering - the opposition will stonewall on elections while its militant factions use verification as an excuse to commit political violence. End comment. BULLEN

https://wikileaks.org/plusd/ca...0GEORGETOWN15_a.html

REASON: 1.4(B), (D)

1. (C) Summary. President Bharrat Jagdeo returned from his visit to the Middle East, including Iran January 20-21, announcing that the GoG had signed two Memoranda of Understanding (MoUs) with Iran. Besides announcing these two MoUs, President Jagdeo said Iran would send a team of specialists to Guyana to assess Guyana's mineral deposits. The Guyana Geology and Mines Commission (GGMC) expects an Iranian official to visit Guyana as early as late March to discuss mineral deposit assessments.

Local media have reported President Jagdeo defending his visit to Iran while criticizing U.S. foreign policy.

End summary.

2. (U) Background: President Bharrat Jagdeo, from January 14-21 visited Kuwait, UAE and Iran. During his visit to Iran January 20-21, he met with senior Iranian officials including President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad and the Supreme Leader of the Islamic Revolution Ayatollah Ali Khamenei. He was accompanied by Foreign Minister Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett, Minster of Housing and Water Irfaan Ali, PPP General Secretary Donald Ramotar, and Central Islamic Organization of Guyana President Al Haj Fazeel Ferouz.

3. (SBU) Local media reported that two Memoranda of Understandings (MoUs) were signed between Foreign Minister Rodrigues-Birkett and Iranian Foreign Minister Manouchehr Mottaki during President Jagdeo's January 20-21 visit to Iran. Ministry of Foreign Affairs Acting Director for Multilateral and Global Affairs Lesley Collins confirmed these reports. She told PolChief on February 1 that one MoU provides Guyana with a USD1.5 million grant for developing its health sector while the other relates to the removal of restrictions on visa requirements for diplomatic travel.

4. (C) Guyana Geology and Mines Commission (GGMC) Acting Commissioner William Woolford confirmed media reports that Iran plans to send a team of Iranian experts to Guyana. He told PolChief on February 2 that he would like to discuss a four-to-six year plan with the Iranians to conduct geological, geochemical and geophysical assessments and that he expects an Iranian official to visit Guyana as early as late March. Canadian High Commission Charge d'Affaires Raymond Drouin told PolChief that Canadian mining executives are concerned that Iran is interested in securing future supplies of uranium and Jagdeo's move to welcome an Iranian team may affect Canadian mining company interests in Guyana. Note: The Government of Norway (GoN) is offering an aerial assessment of forest cover under an MoU signed with Guyana in 2009. Depending upon the type of assessment platform used by Norway, a project by Iran could be unnecessary. End note.

5. (C) Local media have reported Jagdeo defending his visit to Iran and criticizing the U.S. The Guyana Times on January 22 quoted Jagdeo as stating "many of the moves of the Americans around the globe are against the norms and merely ensure their own interests" and "we are not in agreement with their entire stance, and we do express our dissatisfaction with lots of their policies and viewpoints." Kaieteur News published a letter to the editor entitled "what's the fuss about Iran" on February 1 by Presidential Advisor Randy Persaud defending Jagdeo's "right to pursue an independent foreign policy." The letter blamed the U.S. for "bungling" humanitarian relief efforts in Haiti and preventing an aircraft with CARICOM officials from landing. Persaud also blamed the U.S. for "removing a democratically elected leader in Iran in the 1950s," and charged that the U.S. "provided the initial impetus for an Iranian nuclear program." Jagdeo has neither retracted his statements nor countered media reports criticizing the U.S.

6. (C) Comment. President Jagdeo's visit to Iran fits into a pattern of increasing association and identification between his administration and Organization of the Islamic Conference (OIC) members, but also with his willingness to align with anyone he sees as able to provide monetary assistance to Guyana (preferably without strings). The marked difference in this case is that, although Jagdeo has often made comments or foreign overtures that have provoked displeasure in Guyana before, this time he is not backing down or trying to "spin" his reasoning. Indeed, at least in terms of the Iran visit and his remarks made there disparaging the U.S. in regard to actions with CARICOM on Haiti assistance, despite public high-level push back from the Embassy, and even the general public, Jagdeo hasn't backed down but instead ramped up his campaign via proxies.

Presidential Advisor Randy Persaud is frequently called on to be the unofficial spin-doctor and avatar for the President's views in the media. His letters never name him as a Presidential Advisor, GEORGETOWN 00000015 002.3 OF 002 although in person he introduces himself as such. His vigorous defense of Jagdeo for visiting Iran, with gratuitous bashing of the U.S. thickly interspersed throughout, comes directly from inside the administration and signals a commitment to closer relations to Iran and a new willingness to alienate the United States. End comment. WILLIAMS

Django, how long ago was this story and who was the President of the USA at that time?

Classified By: AMBASSADOR DAVID M. ROBINSON FOR REASON 1.4(D)
1. (C) Summary: An escalating conflict between the GOG and the independent Stabroek News over a recent withdrawal of government advertisements (reported reftel) illustrates President Jagdeo's mounting willingness to lash out at critics with more than verbal attacks. As more groups condemn the ad withdrawal and Jagdeo sharpens his rebuttals, local and international observers are increasingly uneasy over the President's autocratic tendencies. End Summary.

2. (U) Stabroek News continues to complain bitterly about the government's advertising withdrawal. The paper has promised to publish a daily protest banner on its front page until the government recants, and carries a new story of support from an international press organization almost every day. The most recent backers of Stabroek News%cause include the Commonwealth Press Union and the Inter-American Press Association. Both characterized the government's action as an attack against freedom of the press. Meanwhile, Stabroek News has announced that the state corporations Guyana Power and Light and Guysuco also have stopped booking advertisements.

3. (SBU) Jagdeo has gone public with his criticism of Stabroek News' campaign, calling it "sad and pathetic." He continues to insist that the decision to withdraw advertising was purely commercial, and has accused Stabroek News of painting a false picture of events to win sympathy abroad. In fact, Jagdeo's explanation narrowly conforms with the letter of the law, which demands only that the GoG place its ads in at least one private sector newpaper in addition to government-controlled media outlets. But almost all observers recognize that pulling the ads from the only articulate critic of the administration is a punitive slap, not a financial move, and it may be working. The other two major dailies' coverage of the story generally is more sympathetic to the President than to their angry competitor.

4. (C) Well-respected businessman and former Private Sector Commission Head Yesu Persaud told the Ambassador and the Canadian High Commissioner that he and others were deeply concerned by Jagdeo's recent behavior. Persaud was particularly troubled by Jagdeo's apparent willingness to hit his critics in the pocketbook, rather than merely lambasting them in public as he has done in the past. Similarly, major donor chiefs of mission--including the British, Canadians, IMF, World Bank, IDB, UNDP and us--agreed at a recent donors' lunch that the ad controversy is just the latest in a growing list of moves by Jagdeo to consolidate power in himself. Even the old guard in the People's Progressive Party, Jagdeo's own platform, is privately critical of the President's dismissive attitude toward it and other political and governmental institutions.

5. (C) Comment: Our collective concern about an increasingly arrogant chief executive is unlikely to cause Jagdeo much heartburn. He faces a neutered opposition, a docile parliament, and a tame press - with Stabroek News the lone vocal exception. The major donors chiefs of mission, including the Ambassador, are coordinating talking points for public and private use encouraging the president and his inner circle to keep their campaign pledge for greater democratic inclusion in a robust reform program. The real opportunity to make that point will come when Jagdeo asks for help, as we expect he will, in holding local elections either later this year or early in 2008. We should insist that specific electoral and constitutional reforms are in place before taking out our wallet. In the meantime, some conditionality associated with (IDB) debt relief is a lever we should only reluctantly drop. End Comment. Robinson

Bhai Dave notice you trying to derail this thread.

Not at all Djanjo, the purpose of posting it on this thread is hoping them people who won monetary award can make a donation. 

Bai, you barking up the wrong tree. Take it to your favorite “Likee” friend.  She’s on a spending splurge buying villas and sports cars that drive themselves.  She lil pocket change guh fix di wuk!!

I am just a poor barefoot refugee but I will definitely give baby Akeelah call. I also pray that she fully recovers from her illnesses. Beautiful child.

With all dat money from your window cleaning and your rich frenno DP, you guys don't need abee donations. Hop along now. 

Ow gyurl... send me a small frek nuh..