Sugar is DEAD....why open the industry????

because the PNC closed the estates down to punish the coolies. Do you ever wonder why the US government provide subsidies to the farmers Half Brain?

The PPP sold bauxite to punish black people.  So we have proven tit for tat.

Your point?

BS.. but then you are a racist anyway. 

Still waiting for you to define my racist behavior. According to you even YOUR kids consider you to be one.

Don't take my comments out of context. As a victim of  racial assassination on 3 occasion, with the scar on my shoulder after 18 years, I have all rights to vent. 

I never stop giving back to blacks, and I did so by helping with a well in Africa. Provide FREE electricity to a AFRO Plaisance residence for her mobile cart. 

I am proud to say, last year on the 401 Highway  heading to the city of Oakville for a permit in frigid temperature ( I had 50mins left before closing ) A afro car breaks down ( he was standing outside) I took him to the gas station and brought him back to his car ( Jamaican ). I miss my appointment, but I felt good helping someone ( AFRO ). these are memories that say forever inside.

Hey!! listen all of us were not born with a gold spoon. I came from a poor home and was help in my life. 

I accept my mistake and is quick to apologise and give credit where its due. I did many times with you on this site and LIKE your comments also, you turn around and bash just after praising you. 

That's OK . If I ever came across you and know who you are ( soon to find out )  I will be the first to embraces you and buy you lunch. 

I have to run.. I still like you. PEACE & LOVE.

Dave, Carib is filled with hate. Just ignore him, I hope someday that he sees Indos as Guyanese. I have helped others and I never allow anyone to eye pass a West Indian regardless of where I am. Indo and Afro West Indians always look out for each other.

The racist Carib must have been rejected by a nice Indo Gyal. Find an Indo Gyal from Berbice for him and he might even vote PPP ! 

I support any stipend that will help the poor. President Ali’s coffers will be overflowing with gold so why not throw a bone to the underlyings.

actually, that’s NOT what Jagdeo is proposing

that’s more like what Clive Thomas was suggesting . . . did you support Clive then?

Well, I’m not into quid-pro-quo. The govt needs to relook at the various subsidies.  Cheap electricity is not a transition to economic independence and sustainability.

Just like with the sugar workers, President Ali needs to develop a plan to transition the displaced workers to new livelihoods.

This was for Dave and Skeldon Man

Sugar workers provided financial support for bauxite workers. PNC imposed a tax levy on sugar profits that were supposed to be shared by the sugar workers. 

The sugar levy yield tens of millions of US Dollars that was used on Government budget and subsidise to the Bauxite industry.

Collie has suffer tremendously at the hands of PNC BLACK AFRO Government For  BLACK PEOPLE benefit.

Not sure why you see the need to scream.  I grew up in Guyana too. 

Anyway, I hope the leadership of the PPP is less myopic and less zero-sum thinking and build a nation.

Who does the Venos threaten, Indo Guyana or Afro Guyana?

because the PNC closed the estates down to punish the coolies. Do you ever wonder why the US government provide subsidies to the farmers Half Brain?

The PPP sold bauxite to punish black people.  So we have proven tit for tat.

Your point?

BS.. but then you are a racist anyway. 

Still waiting for you to define my racist behavior. According to you even YOUR kids consider you to be one.

Don't take my comments out of context. As a victim of  racial assassination on 3 occasion, with the scar on my shoulder after 18 years, I have all rights to vent. 

I never stop giving back to blacks, and I did so by helping with a well in Africa. Provide FREE electricity to a AFRO Plaisance residence for her mobile cart. 

I am proud to say, last year on the 401 Highway  heading to the city of Oakville for a permit in frigid temperature ( I had 50mins left before closing ) A afro car breaks down ( he was standing outside) I took him to the gas station and brought him back to his car ( Jamaican ). I miss my appointment, but I felt good helping someone ( AFRO ). these are memories that say forever inside.

Hey!! listen all of us were not born with a gold spoon. I came from a poor home and was help in my life. 

I accept my mistake and is quick to apologise and give credit where its due. I did many times with you on this site and LIKE your comments also, you turn around and bash just after praising you. 

That's OK . If I ever came across you and know who you are ( soon to find out )  I will be the first to embraces you and buy you lunch. 

I remember a lady who used to sell at ST. Paul's Anglican and had a mobile cart/stand 1st Street Better Hope North named Miss Charles. One of the nicest people I ever met. She used to leave and come here to work for a few months then go back to Guyana. She always made sure she brought something back for my sister.

Very nice and heart warming stories. Guyanese are good people. As the Rev used to say, Guyanese always get along then election comes along and the mistrust starts. It’s back to normal after elections. 

Guyana is changing. Twenty percent of Mixed race popliation under the PPP is a fact that cannot be ignored. 

Look and watch the PNC run for cover if the mixed race starts their own party. 

LOL. And right after you Judas hug Carib and buy he lunch you'll turn around and tell the rest of yuh nasty, racist, low life Indo KKK friends dat you had to feed a hungry belly black man who was lazy and starving to death. Dis is how most alyuh roll and why most alyuh can never be trusted.

Sugar was still a foreign exchange earner. Although Government was subsidizing the industry, TAXES were paid back to the government, and there was a spin off for other businesses. 

The government on the other hand is subsidizing FREE electricity for Linden and is not getting back anything in return.

Don't know why you hate cane cutter so much.

Bringing back sugar as a Zombie industry is as stupid as one can get. The PPP is selling Indians a bag of goods as usual and the only thing that gives credibility to these exercise is racism. Sugar has no market. The cost of bringing in that little bit of foreign currency does not compensate for the misery it adds to the lives of workers toiling on the sugar tread mill when they could be doing other productive enterprises with retraining and other incentives,

And the linden "subsidy" is another lie you sell. Its "subsidy" is in rising the cost of electricity in Linden to match the levels produced inefficiently elsewhere. GPL marks up BOSAI electricity and cost it out to GPL's own output which has a loss rate of some 30 to 40 percent due to inefficient management. That is slight of  hand accounting that is used to blame Linden for being given something that exist only in some accountant head. 

Ali and the PPP need to explore ways to enhance skills across the country and stimulate the economy so people could find work and don’t need welfare style stipends!

They should enhance school feeding programs to get parents to send kids to school.   This should encompass vocational and higher education.

When I hear Jagdeo talk, not sure the PPP will be different, but I withhold judgment!

When it comes to sugar, Guyana cannot compete on the world stage given it's high production costs. What is so hard to understand? Businesses discontinue unprofitable product lines, change business models etc. to adapt. The real problem here is - the Guyana govt. and the opposition lacks the skill and vision to prepare Guyana for the future.

Imagine this clownish Rat Man sehing he gon reopen sugar against all the advice received from international institutions.Fooling poor Indians and injecting false hope to canecutters. These sugar workers and canecutters are not beyond learning new skills and transitioning to new industries. Problem is Guyanese politicians are visionless - there are no new industries for them!

Rat man sehing anything to gain power suh they can teef. Same goes for the other side of the aisle too. Guyanese are held hostage by teef men.

I

And many blacks also have their narratives of the racism that they suffered from Indians.  Your story isnt unique so your screams that blacks are the only ones responsible for racism in Guyana are pure nonsense.

And your attitude to blacks is pure condescension.  You can only see blacks as pitiful creatures who need to be helped. 

When I hear Jagdeo talk, not sure the PPP will be different, but I withhold judgment!

he will NOT be different.  The EU told the ACP states that they would be phasing out preferential access and guaranteed prices for sugar over a phased period. Realizing that this would pose severe hardships on many countries they offered funding.

What did Jagdeo do?

1. Scream at the EU for refusing to continue the colonial relationship which began under the British where Guyana supplies raw sugar which is then processed in the UK by Bookers Tate & Lyle.

2. He took the money and borrowed even further to EXPAND the Guyana sugar industry based on a premise that he would reduce costs. His Skeldon factory was such a failure that, rather than reducing costs, Guysuco's costs soared.

3. He made NO attempt to diversify the economy of the sugar belt. He didn't because he wants the cane cutter to remain ignorant, fearful and dependent on the PPP. Jagdeo was as devastating to poor Indians in encouraging a culture of dependency as Burnham was for blacks when he did the same thing.

The mere fact that Jagdeo selected Irfaan and not take a chance and select Ramson, who actually attempted to begin a dialogue of Guyana's ethnic problems, even if from an Indian perspective, shows that Jagdeo has NOT changed.

But you like the culture of fear, violence and victimization which were features of both the Burnham and Jagdeo regimes.  The former used the House of Israel and the latter the Phantoms.