Leader of the Opposition, Bharrat Jagdeo, believes that he has institutional knowledge to make a positive difference in Guyana’s budding oil and gas sector.During an interview with radio personality, Stan Gouveia, on Radio 94.1 FM on Friday last, he indicated his commitment to work toward the betterment of that sector.

The former President sought to explain why he thinks he has the capacity to manage this industry well, under a People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C) government.
“I believe that I have a role to play,” the former President said. He said, too, that he will work towards “helping to bring people together and craft a future for Guyana that includes all, including the People’s National Congress Reform (PNC/R).”
He was asked whether he would step back from the political limelight, as he said he would on some occasions, or whether he would continue to take center stage, if the PPP wins the next General and Regional Elections.
He said that he has reassessed the situation and – “contrary to what many believe” – he is no longer interested in the “trappings of office.”
Due to his experience as President, he said the ceremonial nature of the job would hinder him from doing the grunt work that is required.
He said, “I don’t mind folding up my sleeves and working in a dark room to just see that we create a framework that the oil money would be managed by all Guyanese, to avoid the Dutch Disease.”

I have been saying for quite some time now that Jagdeo is only interested in stealing our oil and pocketing the money for himself. Now the man validates all my claims!!! He isn't actually interested in being  in government. He just wants to run the oil sector.That means he would get rid of Mark Bajnoe and put in his own hand picked team of fiddlers.
He has also said he is going to do it in the dark. That way nobody can see what he is doing.

Mr.T posted:

I have been saying for quite some time now that Jagdeo is only interested in stealing our oil and pocketing the money for himself. Now the man validates all my claims!!! He isn't actually interested in being  in government. He just wants to run the oil sector.That means he would get rid of Mark Bajnoe and put in his own hand picked team of fiddlers.
He has also said he is going to do it in the dark. That way nobody can see what he is doing.

If Jagdeo can thief the oil money then you and the pack of duncies and Dumbgers in the PNC are worthless fools. So stop peddling that mantra which makes you and your PNC sound like spoiled brats

Who wrote this dumb article?  They obviously don’t know that Jagdeo was the one who signed the oil exploration agreement with Exxon when he was President of Guyana.

What did he do with the signing bonus?

Who wrote this dumb article?  They obviously don’t know that Jagdeo was the one who signed the oil exploration agreement with Exxon when he was President of Guyana.

Lie....too early for that.

Jagdeo, didn't sign oil exploration agreement with Exxon, it's a LIE !!!

LOL! Just playing along. 

Janet signed the oil exploration contract in 1999.  Jagdeo signed the renewable extension of the contract in 2008.  First oil was discovered while the Jagdeo signed contract was effective.

You have to ask your PNC colleague Harmon about that.  

Janet signed the oil exploration contract in 1999. [Correct]

Jagdeo signed the renewable extension of the contract in 2008.

First oil was discovered while the Jagdeo signed contract was effective.

Digging the holes deeper, try again !!!!  What kind of teacher are you educating Django ???

In May 2015 ExxonMobil announced discovery of significant oil in the Liza-1 well.

You have to ask your PNC colleague Harmon about that.  

Jagdeo did not even signed his marriage license. Take heed.

Digging the holes deeper, try again !!!!  What kind of teacher are you educating Django ???

In May 2015 ExxonMobil announced discovery of significant oil in the Liza-1 well.

Meh think sheh still correct bai. Oil discovered in May 2015 would still be while the 2008 contract extension (I am taking Bibi's word on this 2008 extension as I am not familiar with any matter relating to oil in Guyana as I am not interested one way or the other) was in effect. The next contract wasn't signed until 2016. 

Perhaps the one who posted it. Seems like he is the one salivating over Guyana's oil although he cut and run from Guyana a long time ago and had no part in its struggles.

Meh think sheh still correct bai.

Oil discovered in May 2015 would still be while the 2008 contract extension

(I am taking Bibi's word on this 2008 extension as I am not familiar with any matter relating to oil in Guyana as I am not interested one way or the other) was in effect.

The next contract wasn't signed until 2016. 

Holding on to a rotten rope !!!!

Bibi, please provide the 2008, renewable extension Exxon contract Jagdeo signed. Save my little brother Kasz, he is on a path to get injured.

Meh think sheh still correct bai.

Oil discovered in May 2015 would still be while the 2008 contract extension

(I am taking Bibi's word on this 2008 extension as I am not familiar with any matter relating to oil in Guyana as I am not interested one way or the other) was in effect.

The next contract wasn't signed until 2016. 

Bibi, please provide the 2008, renewable extension Exxon contract Jagdeo signed. Save my little brother Kasz, he is on a path to get injured.

Bibi, please provide the requested contract signed by Jagdeo. Thanks.

Bibi, please provide the 2008, renewable extension Exxon qcontract Jagdeo signed. Save my little brother Kasz, he is on a path to get injured.

Bring it on, facts vs ice in glass of watah 

I for one don't give a shit about any oil in Guyana. I left that shithole country 32 years ago and never looked back. Prior to me running into GNI, I was extremely inactive on anything about Guyana. The only thing that matters to me is the future of my two children and since they have absolutely (that word again) no connection to Guyana, it will be no more than the shithole country I left 32 years ago. On the other hand, T who cut and ran from that same shithole country is now frothing at the mouth over its oil or perhaps over Jagdeo. 

Guyana is not a SHITHOLE country 

them hapless morally bankrupt pea brains "leaders" with ABSOLUTE low low IQ making it look suh 

My Guyana Eldorado is a beautiful Country 

Anan posted:

Guyana is not a SHITHOLE country 

them hapless morally bankrupt pea brains with ABSOLUTE low low IQ making it look suh

My Guyana Eldorado is a beautiful Country

No doubt it is a naturally beautiful country. However, I harbor that sentiment because it is perhaps the only country where every one of its inhabitants is constantly seeking to move to region 11. Even some of those who run the country have diligently maintained their right and option to move to region 11. The ones who are flocking there now are more like T who cut and ran but are now frothing at the mouth over its potential oil wealth. They too will end up grabbing their share of the oil wealth and again cutting and running back to region 11.

Mr Jagdeo reportedly said that when de oil money starts flowing in, he is prepared to wuk down in a dark room on a plan to avoid some Dutch disease.

Wha kinda ting is Dutch disease? Is it red eye? Is it a diarrhea outbreak? Is it related to STDs? No, not at all.

Dutch Disease is really an economics term. Jagdeo the economist is fit and proper to prevent the disease. He will make sure that high oil output and revenue don't lead to low output or stagnation in agriculture, forestry, mining, manufacturing and plantain chip sectors of the economy.

Something like dat happened in Holland around 50 years ago when dem Dutchman got in de oil business. Ask Mr TK.

Jagdeo the economist is fit and proper to prevent the disease. He will make sure that high oil output and revenue don't lead to low output or stagnation in agriculture, forestry, mining, manufacturing and plantain chip sectors of the economy.

Damn, feel like cussing up the whole neighborhood. 

Jagdeo the economist is fit and proper to prevent the disease. He will make sure that high oil output and revenue don't lead to low output or stagnation in agriculture, forestry, mining, manufacturing and plantain chip sectors of the economy.

Is wha wrang wid you now?

Given that the Coalition government still doesn't have any plans to invest the $18M signing bonus, it would be a huge stretch to expect them to have any plans to invest the returns from oil.

Them a protest his BIG house, Invaders go home.

My day is messed up with your statement, don't know why my big brother does cause so much trouble.   

In 1966 the British was happy to give up Guiana due to underdevelopment and unprofitable colony. From then on to date it's no different, leaders had their term to develop the country and they failed, why we still allow the failed leader third chances.

Damn are they not people with new ideas who are capable of doing better.

Jagdeo contract was in effect when the announcement was made one week after PNC was declared the winner by Surajbali in May 2015.

I believe Ms Bibi has some points here!

Anyway, oil will be good for everyone, coolie and blackman, putagee and whiteman, chinee and buckman...even duglaman!

People need to relax and let Exxon do their thing!

Jagdeo contract was in effect when the announcement was made one week after PNC was declared the winner by Surajbali in May 2015.

What contract ?? Jagdeo didn't signed any contract with Exxon.

Please provide the contract.

That oil was discovered under the PPP watch but Obama asked Carter and Exxon to delay the announcement to make it easier to overthrow the PPP and install his brethren and expand the caliphate.

Dutch Disease is really an economics term. Jagdeo the economist is fit and proper to prevent the disease. He will make sure that high oil output and revenue don't lead to low output or stagnation in agriculture, forestry, mining, manufacturing and plantain chip sectors of the economy.

Hope you are not being sarcastic about the plantain chips. I just came back from Vietnam. Banana Chips/Plantain ChipsI have seen their banana and plantain plantations and manufacturing operations. They are investing heavily and plan to penetrate the market thru the ethnics and the Dollar stores. They are growing the variety of Bananas and Plantain that can be sliced very thin. Sweet or salted, shelf life is expected to be 12 months. 

My day is messed up with your statement, don't know why my big brother does cause so much trouble.   

In 1966 the British was happy to give up Guiana due to underdevelopment and unprofitable colony. From then on to date it's no different, leaders had their term to develop the country and they failed, why we still allow the failed leader third chances.

Damn are they not people with new ideas who are capable of doing better.

Relax, bro. I'm sending you a relaxant:

https://www.lcbo.com/webapp/wc...01518-1#.XJemZLdE1dY

That oil was discovered under the PPP watch but Obama asked Carter and Exxon to delay the announcement to make it easier to overthrow the PPP and install his brethren and expand the caliphate.

Doesn't matter under which party watch oil was discovered, way before the current discovery, oil  and other mineral deposits was found.

That was not my point!

Django at times you amazes me, who give permission to Exxon to drill for oil, that was done long before MAY 2015.

Hope you are not being sarcastic about the plantain chips. I just came back from Vietnam. Banana Chips/Plantain ChipsI have seen their banana and plantain plantations and manufacturing operations. They are investing heavily and plan to penetrate the market thru the ethnics and the Dollar stores. They are growing the variety of Bananas and Plantain that can be sliced very thin. Sweet or salted, shelf life is expected to be 12 months. 

Who need plantain and banana chips when we got Mr T OIL.

Mr.T posted:

The only OIL that belongs to you is coconut oil. Jagdeo live , work and contribute to the country of Guyana, unlike you looking to lay claim suddenly all the way in Hingland. That is Jagdeo OIL!!!

[[Quote]]

The one per cent royalty was, in fact, contained in the original 1999 Exxon agreement ....

[[Unquote]]

Govt releases CGX oil contract

… Guyana gets 1% royalty, 53% profit sharing
Weeks after its own self-imposed deadline expired, the Guyana Government has begun the process of releasing the contracts between the State and other oil companies – beginning with Canadian company CGX Resources Incorporated.
Under the Article 11 ‘Cost Recovery and Production sharing’ heading of the contract, the Government agreed to a one per cent royalty. In addition, a 53 per cent share of profit oil and gas; after recoverable costs have been satisfied was negotiated. This is providing the company moves from exploration to production.
The contract states that “All recoverable contract costs incurred by the contractor shall, subject to the terms and conditions of any agreement relating to non-associated gas… be recovered from the value… of a volume of crude oil or natural gas produced from the contract area and limited in any month to an amount which equals 75 per cent of the total production from the contract area for such month…” This is a greater share than the 50 per cent share the coalition Government would come to negotiate with ExxonMobil three years later. The one per cent royalty was, in fact, contained in the original 1999 Exxon agreement, until it was increased by one per cent by the coalition in 2016.
Mr.T posted:

The only OIL that belongs to you is coconut oil. Jagdeo live , work and contribute to the country of Guyana, unlike you looking to lay claim suddenly all the way in Hingland. That is Jagdeo OIL!!!

Nah, croton oil!