Originally Posted by TK:

The problem is credibility. Jagdeo lecturing the 3 mth old govt on corruption. He does not have the credibility to lecture anyone on corruption.

I agree with TK here.

Although his message was sound in that video, man is like crab on the mud flat telling the people to have clean and mudfree skin.

The PPP had a chance to redeem itself by selecting new leadership.  Instead it stayed with the old one, which lacks any credibility.

To bash APNU for doing what the PPP did is foolish.  Had the PPP selected new leadership and signaled that it had leaned its lesson, it would then have earned the credibility to bash APNU/AFC.

But Jagdeo screaming about corruption and lack of transparency, and having no respect for the laws is a joke, given that he was guilty on all 3 counts, and has yet to apologize.

Siggy go found your Cheddistan and crown Jagdeo emperor.  Indians are now a minority group, so if you think that the PPP can win, based only on that vote you are an idiot.

The PPP had a chance to redeem itself by selecting new leadership.  Instead it stayed with the old one, which lacks any credibility.

To bash APNU for doing what the PPP did is foolish.  Had the PPP selected new leadership and signaled that it had leaned its lesson, it would then have earned the credibility to bash APNU/AFC.

But Jagdeo screaming about corruption and lack of transparency, and having no respect for the laws is a joke, given that he was guilty on all 3 counts, and has yet to apologize.

Siggy go found your Cheddistan and crown Jagdeo emperor.  Indians are now a minority group, so if you think that the PPP can win, based only on that vote you are an idiot.

The PNC learned that the hard way and did something about it. Corbin lost the Leadership when he cleared that PNC is for blacks.  The PPP might have made that mistake that Corbin made...   They paid dearly.

If these infractions over the past three months were to be extrapolated over a year, may 23 years, how would it compare to what the PPP are accused of?

Secondly, regardless of what anyone may feel about Jagdeo, he is still the Opposition Leadet representing nearly half of the country's constitutients so he had a right to comment on what the government is doing. Plus his arguments in that clip are sound.

The PNC learned that the hard way and did something about it. Corbin lost the Leadership when he cleared that PNC is for blacks.  The PPP might have made that mistake that Corbin made...   They paid dearly.

Exactly.  The PNC was able to "reinvent" itself, at least for electoral purposes by putting in different leadership, forging new alliances, and giving these new entities at least nominal influence.

The PPP continues to keep Jagdeo, who has become quite obnoxious.  He will NOT expand the PPP base.  The PPP cannot survive on being a "coolie party".

Originally Posted by ksazma:
If these infractions over the past three months were to be extrapolated over a year, may 23 years, how would it compare to what the PPP are accused of?

Secondly, regardless of what anyone may feel about Jagdeo, he is still the Opposition Leadet representing nearly half of the country's constitutients so he had a right to comment on what the government is doing. Plus his arguments in that clip are sound.

Irrelevant.  The PPP has no credibility in making claims against APNU as they engaged in the practices that they now accuse APNU of committing.

This is merely the fact that the shoe is on the other foot, and now they fear being treated in the manner that they once treated the opposition.

The PPP should have instead engaged in a rebranding.  Conceded that it made mistakes, and selected new leadership.  On that basis they could then claim that they have reformed and so ought APNU/AFC.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

Irrelevant.  The PPP has no credibility in making claims against APNU as they engaged in the practices that they now accuse APNU of committing.

This is merely the fact that the shoe is on the other foot, and now they fear being treated in the manner that they once treated the opposition.

The PPP should have instead engaged in a rebranding.  Conceded that it made mistakes, and selected new leadership.  On that basis they could then claim that they have reformed and so ought APNU/AFC.

By your same token, the APNU shouldn't have been criticizing the PPP when they were the Government since their PNC history is well documented. Lest you missed it, the two elections where the PPP lost the majority was when they has a new leader and when Jagdeo was not their leader. PPP won 28 seats in 1992, 29 in 1997, 34 in 2001 under Jagdeo and 36 in 2006 under Jagdeo. Then with the new leader in 2011, they only won 32 seats and 32 seats in 2015 when they contested against all other political parties. Those numbers suggest that Jagdeo was very important to the PPP success. Here is something else to consider, with all your hollering, the PPP as a single party still is the majority party in Guyana. Every other party outside of the TUF had to get together to beat them. How much confidence you have in all theor parties sticking together forever? And you still think the PPP is in crises? Yuh head mad Carib bai.

Nuff respect to Jagdeo-give dem hell comrade. Iz a good ting yuh returned. I admit I was wrong to you with my words in the past.The savior of East Indians in Guyana.

The PNC knows why they do not want to see BJ return as head of opposition.  He will be head of State again in 2020.

My last exchange with him, he is very receptive to ideas and opinions from outsiders.  He admitted they (PPP) over the years became to inward focused.

He has a lot more caliber than many of the "intellectual" posters on GNI who touts "solutions" to Guyana's problems.