Jagdeo criticises 600% land rent hike for MMA/ADA farmers

The Guyana Rice Producers Association (RPA) has condemned in the strongest possible terms, the over 600 per cent increase in land rent and other charges for farmers by the Mahaica/Mahaicony/Abary-Agriculture Development Authority (MMA/ADA).MMA logo

Rice farmers in the project area are now being commanded to pay $15,000 per acre, a major increase from $3500 just last year for land rent and drainage and irrigation charges.

Cattle and other crop farmers are now forced to pay $3900, a more than 100 per cent increase from the previous fee.

The RPA has described the increases as “draconian”, especially at a time when farmers are getting low prices for their produce.

Compounding the situation, the representative body highlighted the fact that there were no consultations with the farmers prior to imposing the new fee structure.

“The RPA is calling on all farmers to resist this draconian increase and show solidarity with all as we join in the call for the reversal of this decision which was taken without any consultation with farmers, their association or any other stakeholders,” the RPA urged.

The Association disclosed that Agriculture Minister Noel Holder had defended the increases by equating them to “three beers” per day. The RPA asserted that the Minister’s sentiment is insulting and demeaning to the farming population and it demanded that the Minister apologise to the farmers for his statement.

Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo, during his recent press conference, also condemned the increases imposed on the farming population of Region Five (Mahaica-Berbice).

Jagdeo pointed out that farming is the main economic activity in the Region and was at a loss to understand why Government would want to put additional burdens on a segment of the population that has no alternative for earning a livelihood other than depending on agriculture.

The MMA/ADA and farmers have been at loggerheads since 2015 when Government moved to cancel the leases for several farmers. This resulted in a group of West Coast Berbice rice farmers filing a lawsuit against Government.

After months of hearings, former Chief Justice Ian Chang in February 2016 quashed the cancellation of the leases in favour of the farmers.

However, the farmers said they were subsequently informed by General Manager of MMA/ADA Aubrey Charles that President Granger has cancelled their leases.

Quote "Jagdeo pointed out that farming is the main economic activity in the Region and was at a loss to understand why Government would want to put additional burdens on a segment of the population that has no alternative for earning a livelihood other than depending on agriculture."unquote

Well Jagdeo should know that 99.9 of coolies plants rice and they will suffer: Why Grainjaw is not taking out the Electricity subsidy from Linden?

Because the Blackman is benefitting?

Well that's his job,

I think the increase is exorbitant per acre of land,but then again some farmers are renting their land to other large scale planters for more than the amount.

Hey Django, please post one rent agreement for rice land that exceeds $15000 per acre or one for grazing or cash crop that exceeds $3900 to back up your statement that some farmers are renting out their land for more than that. 

I do not know of snybrice land in Guyana renting for that kind of money.

Z
Zed posted:

Well that's his job,

I think the increase is exorbitant per acre of land,but then again some farmers are renting their land to other large scale planters for more than the amount.

Hey Django, please post one rent agreement for rice land that exceeds $15000 per acre or one for grazing or cash crop that exceeds $3900 to back up your statement that some farmers are renting out their land for more than that. 

People are renting their one,two or three acres plot to large scale farmers for over that amount,as stated i disagree with the current charges.

1 acre [properly planted and cared] produced an average of 40 bags of paddy,

do the math,click on links.

http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...addy-might-increase/

Region 2 rice farmers dissatisfied with paddy prices | Guyana Times

Ethnic cleansing in terms of DESTROYING the Sugar and Rice Industry, it is clear as crystal who the DONKEY Granger IS. It has been confirmed by the CIA that the DONKEY  IS A RACIST BUT the other FILTH HEAD DONKEYS are too dumb and stupid to understand any of this!!!

Zed posted:

Well that's his job,

People are renting their one,two or three acres plot to large scale farmers for over that amount,as stated i disagree with the current charges.

Look, You made the statement so produce any rental agreement. 

The operative word in your production figure is "average". You do know what that means and what the implications are?

Z
Zed posted:

The operative word in your production figure is "average". You do know what that means and what the implications are?

Zed why should I argue with you,

i simply said do the math, what's the income on 1 acre of rice land ??  from that figure  a fair of rental cost can be derived.

I run a small business here end of the year profits under 10%.

Zed posted:

i simply said do the math, what's the income [minus cost] on 1 acre of rice land ??  you can get a fair of rental cost.

I run a small business here end of year profits is tops under 10%.

Django bai, now you got the man "Z" ah put lash pun you battie. Look like you glutton fuh punishment. Bai dis muss remind you of you school days when dem teecha drap lash pun you battie.

Zed posted:

i simply said do the math, what's the income [minus cost] on 1 acre of rice land ??  you can get a fair of rental cost.

I run a small business here end of year profits is tops under 10%.

Django bai, now you got the man "Z" ah put lash pun you battie. Look like you glutton fuh punishment. Bai dis muss remind you of you school days when dem teecha drap lash pun you battie.

What lash ??

to prove my claim he wants to see rental agreement,

r@ss man use the noodle nuh.

I went to school bottom house and got more brain power than some of the fellas here.

Until ExxonMobil starts pumping $$$$$ into the national treasury, the official mantra is "tax and spend, tax and spend. Hallelujah!" 

Like the PNC koolaid wearing off bai!  But djangy got a stronger dose than you., 

Ethnic cleansing in terms of DESTROYING the Sugar and Rice Industry, it is clear as crystal who the DONKEY Granger IS. It has been confirmed by the CIA that the DONKEY  IS A RACIST BUT the other FILTH HEAD DONKEYS are too dumb and stupid to understand any of this!!!

When coolie man stop producing, blackman belly guh buss.

Until ExxonMobil starts pumping $$$$$ into the national treasury, the official mantra is "tax and spend, tax and spend. Hallelujah!" 

Like the PNC koolaid wearing off bai!  But djangy got a stronger dose than you., 

You know i don't drink koolaid,like the PPP crew.

I can tell Granjuh to haul his ass,

shout that to Jaggy nuh se what guh happen to alyuh.

Let's have a joint statement by Ramjatan and Moses both AFC representatives to their many Indian supporters who are farmers. It looks like they are muzzled by this administration or is it due to SHAME.

They need PERMISSION from the Ministry of State head.

Those 2 Namakaram Crabdaags are not only SHAMELESS but are the kind of people that will do anything including selling their most precious belongings to be relevant, gain wealth and Power. So Al YUh dont expect to hear from them. They believe by being quiet, the shame and disgrace will be diminished!!!!!!!!!!

i simply said do the math, what's the income on 1 acre of rice land ??  from that figure  a fair of rental cost can be derived.

I run a small business here end of the year profits under 10%.

I just to be clear that you statemants are evidence based instead of just numbers you pull from your head.

You are a businessman so you know that the selling price or production is not the only thing that you look at when you are deciding how your business is doing. Labour costs, costs of inputs, variable costs, fixed costs, cash flow, outstanding loans. etc.  Ultimately, it is the short term and long term rate of return that you look at.

my father was a rice farmer and I know that if he computed in the time he and we spent at minimum wages, he would have barely been making anything many times. Many small rice farmers make a go of it because of self-exploitation, not computing the time their family and they put into it.  That is why many encouraged their children to get a decent education because they knew that the margins are really small, could not really build a sustainable future on rice farming and there is the expectation that the successful child will help the family out.

yes, large farmers do make money most crops, but the margins are thin when rice price is low. I know many large farmers in mahaicony and Abary who planted last crop because they had equipment loans at the band so decided that they gave to get some income to cover those debt costs and depend on other sources to make up the difference.

Z

You know i don't drink koolaid,like the PPP crew.

I can tell Granjuh to haul his ass,

shout that to Jaggy nuh se what guh happen to alyuh.

Like you got short memory, the entire AFC Indian contingent told Jaggy to haul his ass and look how they now drinking soup from the PNC bowl while their fellow Indian suffering from PNC taxes, harassment and crime.