June 27 2018

Former President Bharrat Jagdeo cannot return to Government as Prime Minister.

Former President, Bharrat Jagdeo

Attorney at Law, Sanjeev Datadin

This became pellucid yesterday after prominent Attorney-at-Law Sanjeev J. Datadin explained that the Constitution bars anyone who is ineligible of being President from being Prime Minister as well.In an invited comment, Datadin said, “Article 101 subparagraph 1 of the Constitution is clear, very clear, that a person who is not eligible to be President is similarly not eligible to be Prime Minister. I think it would be difficult for an alternative interpretation of that article to be successful. In fact, there can be no alternative interpretation by anyone.”
Datadin opined that the provisions of Article 101, 1 make good sense. He said, “I find this especially so, because someone who is Prime Minister would be required to act for the President on many occasions—if the President is ill, if he leaves the country, the Prime Minister will automatically be the person to act as President. More importantly, God forbid something is to happen to the elected President, by operation of law, the Prime Minister would become the President.”
Datadin continued, “Now, if that person who is ineligible of being President is Prime Minister, it creates a circus of permutation as to what should and should not happen, a situation that is likely to create a Constitutional crisis and create uncertainty in the country. So, by my reading of Article 101, 1 of the Guyana Constitution, any person who is ineligible of being President cannot be Prime Minister.”
Yesterday saw the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) upholding the Constitutional limit on terms for Heads of State in Guyana. After the ruling hit the online press, heated discussions erupted on social media on the domino effect of the ruling. Jagdeo is the only former President who is alive and has served two terms before. Hence, the discussion focused on him.

Former President, Donald Ramotar

Giving consideration to Jagdeo’s announcement over the weekend and again yesterday, that he will return to play a formal part of any People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) government, many on social media said that Jagdeo could return as Prime Minister.Also, sources within the PPP/C said that this was a “consideration” of Jagdeo’s.Further, Kaieteur News contacted several persons within the PPP/C for comments. Most of those who answered the calls refused to comment on the record.The only PPP/C official brave enough to go on record, speaking about the ruling and likeliness of contesting as Presidential Candidate, was former President Donald Ramotar.
Speaking on the ruling, he said, “I always thought the decision could have gone both ways. I am therefore not surprised at the decision. I think the process that we went through for us to change the Constitution was very broad and extensive, and therefore I am not surprised that the decision is what it is.”He said, “It is not a question of if I support it or not. I accept it…I do not think it (the ruling is a bad thing.”
Ramotar only served one term as President. His term was less than the usual five years as he was forced to call elections after he prorogued Parliament to prevent the passing of a No Confidence Motion against him.This newspaper asked Ramotar if he was willing to serve as President again, he said, “That is not for me to decide, I have always been a party man, a PPP man.”He said that if the Party decides that it wants him to run again, “I will have to take it into very serious consideration.”

More Jagdeo threads on this site.  New Chapter. New Day.  Move on with your life people.

How is Granger doing?  Let's see some threads on him.

Today is last day,the egoist is toasted as predicted.

Time to for you cling on someone else,yuh fight hard fuh he.

More Jagdeo threads on this site.  New Chapter. New Day.  Move on with your life people.

My support goes to anyone who is the Leader of the PPP.  The next leader will have 100% of my support.  In the meantime you and the PNC buddies can start the new phase of cuss down towards that person.  I am sure you can start making a list of things that they thief.  Some of your friends know who thief State land.

Why rambling who are PNC etc.They better choose wan lesser tainted person as Presidential candidate,not the ones that scratch their head and then bitting their finger nails,gross disgusting.

Can you move on? He can't even be Prime Minister.

Why would he want to be Prime Minister?  Isn't that a Rubber Stamp position?

Why rambling who are PNC etc.They better choose wan lesser tainted person as Presidential candidate,not the ones that scratch their head and then bitting their finger nails,gross disgusting.

It's none of your business who the PPP choose as their leader?  Worry about the debt and mismanagement going on in the PNC.  Interesting how you don't notice that.

Minister of Finance, Winston Jordan today clarified that Guyana’s external debt currently stands below 50 percent of its Gross Domestic Product (GDP) with the international threshold requirement set at 60 percent of GDP. 

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/e...quirement-min-jordan

Minister of Finance, Winston Jordan today clarified that Guyana’s external debt currently stands below 50 percent of its Gross Domestic Product (GDP) with the international threshold requirement set at 60 percent of GDP. 

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/e...quirement-min-jordan

Nice Job by Jordan.  Now go and get your GRA job and enjoy some of that PNC money that you worked so hard for.

That's the problem with you guys,change in alyuh ways needed.

You late didn't noticed i posted the article on debt.

JAGDEO IS ICONIC IN GUYANA POLITICS AND THEREFORE THERE WILL ME MORE AND MORE THREADS ON THE REAL PRESIDENT OF GUYANA.  THE ONLY PRESIDENT WHO LIFTED THE ECONOMIC LEVELS OF ALL GUYANESE.

Why would he want to be Prime Minister?  Isn't that a Rubber Stamp position?

That facial expression after he heard the verdict says it all.

Pointblank

Guyana's most popular and TWO TERM DEMOCRATICALLY ELECTED PRESIDENT:

Unknown

They had to move to the courts to hold back this Tiger.

He taat dat it wooda end when his chine friend said that it was ok for him to run for a third run

Pointblank