Jagdeo apologises for “devide” sign in Parliament

Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo Wednesday said his only regret about the protest in Parliament last Thursday was the misspelling of a word on his placard.

“I must apologise, it’s a bad example for children. I had my (sign) ‘strangling democracy’ and then I borrowed one of the placards from the back and I held it up without looking at it,” he explained.

Jagdeo, however, explained that “devide” is an obsolete form of the word “divide”.

“That’s the way the word was spelt when [President David] Granger and [GECOM Chairman Justice James] Patterson were young and so, they didn’t see anything wrong with the word,” he stated.

Social media began buzzing after a photo of him holding up the sign went viral. President David Granger even joined in the humour during an address in New York over the weekend as he addressed the North American Region of the People’s National Congress Reform.    

President Granger stated “the PNC is the face of the future. We are what Guyana looks like, not the people that you saw on Thursday. We can spell.”

Meanwhile, Jagdeo maintained that the protest led by the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) achieved its objectives which were to raise their concerns to the international community and to express their dissatisfaction with the unilateral appointment of the GECOM Chairman.

He contended that the protest did no harm to the country’s national pride nor did it lack civility as he compared what transpired previously during other forms of protests where buildings were burnt and persons were beaten.

Asked whether the PPP will be conducting another protest in the National Assembly, Jagdeo said “wait and see.”

Verb[edit]

devide (third-person singular simple present devidespresent participle devidingsimple past and past participle devided)

1. Obsolete form of dividequotations ▼

Jagdeo, however, explained that "devide" is an obsolete form of the word "divide".

"That's the way the word was spelt when [President David] Granger and [GECOM Chairman Justice James] Patterson were young and so, they didn't see anything wrong with the word", he stated.

Is Jagdeo saying that both Granger and Patterson are obsolete? 

Kudos to Jaggy.

Turning this on Granger and Pattie labelling them as obsolete. Way to go Jaggy.

Unfortunately, he too will become obsolete in due course before the 2020 Elections

Kudos to Jaggy.

Unfortunately, he too will become obsolete in due course before the 2020 Elections

Both Granger and Jagdeo have a case of 'childlike bantering'.

Didn't the GNI Forum Clown claim that this pic was photoshopped? Jagdeo is even more stupid if he would pick up a picket sign and not look at it first before displaying it. Nobody's buying that excuse.

I notice Mars seem still unable to make his comment without first calling people names.

I return in kind what I get. Have you ever chastised the Forum Clown for repeatedly labeling others as slop can carriers and fantasizing about black bigan on every thread? Have you ever chastised the other poster whose every post is about filth heads? 

I address Gilbakka respectfully because the man is respectful to me. Ditto for many other posters. If you want to make yourself an ass and insult me then I'll respond appropriately. It's as simple as that.

I notice Mars seem still unable to make his comment without first calling people names.

When one lack's content in their delivery, they make up for it by calling names and using derogatory language.  Somehow that makes them feel powerful.  In a twisted sort of way.

I return in kind what I get. Have you ever chastised the Forum Clown for repeatedly labeling others as slop can carriers and fantasizing about black bigan on every thread? Have you ever chastised the other poster whose every post is about filth heads? 

You got me there dude. You are right. My apologies.

When one lack's content in their delivery, they make up for it by calling names and using derogatory language.  Somehow that makes them feel powerful.  In a twisted sort of way.

Madame Secretary, you made the boss his coffee yet?

It's good to see that you are looking in the mirror. Don't get distracted now. 

I address Gilbakka respectfully because the man is respectful to me.  

Thank you. I have shown respect to you because you come from good pedigree. Many years ago when I was an aspiring journalist, that photojournalist at the Graphic newspaper took time off to offer sound advice to me on how to take great shots with my lampy-pampy Agfa camera.

Kudos to Jaggy.

If things go according to plan Jagdeo will be removed before the end of this year. Even his friends on the CC are unto him .

comrade

Uncle Nehru is special, shuy yuh Baxside!!!!

You do post here as though you attended Special Ed classes. Thanks for the clarification.

And you are permanently retarded. But with technology there is still hope for you!!!!!!

Uncle Nehru is special, shuy yuh Baxside!!!!

You do post here as though you attended Special Ed classes. Thanks for the clarification.

And you are permanently retarded. But with technology there is still hope for you!!!!!!

Thank You. At least there is still hope for me.

alena06 posted:

Kudos to Jaggy.

Both Granger and Jagdeo have a case of 'childlike bantering'.

Not sure why people don't know that Granger's passive aggressive arrogance and Jagdeo's pretense that he is surprised at this is part of a grand scheme.  Granger is an idiot and Jagdeo knows to play him to end up looking like a hero.

Guyanese should focus on a new constitution which will ensure that the (political) animals remain caged.  As of now they roam wild and devour innocent people in their path. 

Gilbakka is already cut and marinated and about to be seasoned. Rather than joining sides the goal should be to force both men to understand that Guyana does NOT belong to them.  A new constitution, if properly drafted, will do this.

caribny posted: Gilbakka is already cut and marinated and about to be seasoned. Rather than joining sides the goal should be to force both men to understand that Guyana does NOT belong to them.  

I leave that to you. Good luck.

I hope Jagdeo introduce a new face to represent the PPP, minus Nandlall, Rohee and himself. That will give the PPP a new beginning and a new life altogether. I know Bibi was raving about Nandlall as president in 2020, but I see him as a hypocrite to hold the highest office in Guyana.

caribny posted

Guyanese should focus on a new constitution which will ensure that the (political) animals remain caged.

I think lots of Guyanese did just that in 2015. They were promised that the first thing that will get fixed after the Coalition is elected. Unfortunately the Coalition government fooled them. So how do you think Guyanese should proceed since the 2015 promise failed?