Jagdeo draws line under flag-raising seating row

Although he lamented the “disorganisation” of the 50th Anniversary event planners that saw him and party members walk out of the May 25th flag-raising for lack of seats, former President Bharrat Jagdeo yesterday said that it was time “to move on”.

“I believe that we should put this past us and move on and not dwell on it. Our country deserves better, we have to move forward,” Jagdeo told a press conference yesterday at PPP headquarters at Freedom House.

Minister within the Ministry of Education Nicolette Henry has issued an apology for any “inconvenience, embarrassment or distress” caused by the …to continue reading this article, please

Jagdeo draws line under flag-raising seating row

June 02,2016

Although he lamented the “disorganisation” of the 50th Anniversary event planners that saw him and party members walk out of the May 25th flag-raising for lack of seats, former President Bharrat Jagdeo yesterday said that it was time “to move on”.

“I believe that we should put this past us and move on and not dwell on it. Our country deserves better, we have to move forward,” Jagdeo told a press conference yesterday at PPP headquarters at Freedom House.

Minister within the Ministry of Education Nicolette Henry has issued an apology for any “inconvenience, embarrassment or distress” caused by the opposition’s walkout from the jubilee flag-raising event last Wednesday night, over what it said was inadequate seating for its members.

In a statement, Henry said the PPP/C delegation arrived later than had been agreed and used the incorrect entrance. She added that by the time other invited persons had been asked to give up their seats to ensure that the opposition members were seated, the PPP/C members had walked out.

But while the now Leader of the Opposition says that he will not dwell on the “disorganised” event, coupled with the fact that the party has already issued press releases on it, he wanted to clear the air on untruths levelled at him and members.

“Notwithstanding everything I said about the planning process, the lack of transparency surrounding the spending, the grave concerns we had about the involvement of people, we said we will participate in the celebration of the 50th anniversary…because this country belongs to all of our people. This is not an APNU event …” he asserted.

Jagdeo said that unlike what was reported by the Junior Minister of Education, who headed the 50th Anniversary Committee, he and his members did not arrive late and this can be rechecked through video recordings since he did an interview with the State Media upon arrival at the VIP stairway

He believes that persons said he was late because they saw his vehicle in the parking lot with a driver trying to find parking.However, he pointed out that he did not arrive in that vehicle but together with his party members and their family members in a bus.He said too that Henry never informed him that seating was being looked at for the other members who were not given seats.

The Opposition Leader said that the reason he left with his members was because he felt the act of not having adequate seats for them was deliberate and an attempt to publicly humiliate them. As such he said seeing the looks of humiliation on the faces of members and the family members they brought along, he could not sit alone and watch them suffer.

“We have to be really silly to tell the minister to not to find seats for us so that we could walk out. It is really pushing it…We had to leave. It was the humiliation.I believe it was designed to humiliate us and at best incompetence, but I could not stay there as a leader and watch our MPs, with their spouses etc. standing there, when you had a VIP area of one thousand seats,” he stressed.

“These are members of parliament when I looked at the people who were there half of them were regulars,” he added.

Now Carib has the other side of the story to work with.

Caribj busy on TC with Congress Place trying a cover up.  I tell you, PNC have tough days ahead.  

Why? Does a criminal ever admit that he didn't steal?

FACT. The PPP was not interested in this event, and only showed up when it began to reflect badly on them.

The non appearance of their support base at these events is evidence of this.

This should have been a NATIONAL event.

Did the PPP at any point ever suggest that they were interested in being involved in the planning, but were not allowed to participate?

No.  They spent all year crying that there was nothing to celebrate.

ba$eman posted:
.  I tell you, PNC have tough days ahead.  

As does the PPP.  You can fool yourself, but this "coolie people party" Jagdeo strategy is going to end that party.

1.  Not all Indians buy into it.

2.  More than 50% of the voting population is now non Indian.

3.  The PPP has lost its ability to buy the Amerindian vote, and this was shown up in their poor performance in the interior at the LGE.  I don't think even APNU thought that they would win Lethem.

The PPP is like the vain peacock prancing about while the jaguar is waiting to pounce on it.

FACT. The PPP was not interested in this event, and only showed up when it began to reflect badly on them.

The non appearance of their support base at these events is evidence of this.

This should have been a NATIONAL event.

Did the PPP at any point ever suggest that they were interested in being involved in the planning, but were not allowed to participate?

No.  They spent all year crying that there was nothing to celebrate.

The non presence of Indians at the jubilee aka blackman fest is a clear indication of the division of Guyana. In a year, jackass Granger has done zero to heal race relations as he continues to demonize the Indian business community and fire Indians in public service. It is truly blackman time.  

Caribj, what are you really trying to say???? Read it OVER.

Jagdeo is a criminal, so why will I believe anything that pours out of his mouth.  The man doesn't even begin to have the slightest shred of integrity.

The non presence of Indians at the jubilee aka blackman fest.  

It is merely evidence of the fact that most Indians do not see themselves as Guyanese, but as Indians born in Guyana.

Granger has done no less than did Jagdeo in attempting cross ethnic outreach.

The reality is that Afro Guyanese see themselves as Guyanese who have some ancient ancestry in various parts of Africa, but whose identity remains rooted in being a Guyanese/Caribbean people.

Indians see themselves as Indian, and merely see being Guyanese as describing the type of Indian they are, so unless an Indian government is in power, they don't care the slightest about Guyana.

And I remember all the wails that "Moses said that he is a Guyanese, and not an Indian" from last year. 

Clearly the cynical Jagdeo knew that this blatant lie would resonate with most Indians. He "forgot" of course that Moses said this in 2008, when he was a senior PPP official.  So when Moses said that he was primarily Guyanese by identity he was branded as a self hating Indian.

BTW how is Granger demonizing the Indo oligarchy?  Didn't they embed themselves with BK until people began to protest?

Harmon bai, datt banna and he young Indo gyal on fyah!!