Home > TOP STORY > Singh awaits approval for wind farm
Patrons view the model of the wind farm project at the Sophia Exhibition Complex last evening

Singh awaits approval for wind farm

By Alva Solomon

AS Government pursues its Green renewable energy plans, Total Energy Solutions Inc, the company which proposed the Hope Beach Wind Farm project, is anxiously awaiting the green light to operationalise the multi-million-dollar investment.Businessman Lloyd Singh, proprietor of the company, told this newspaper at the Sophia Exhibition Complex last evening that the project is ideally suited for Government’s plans to pursue its Green Development Strategy (GDS), but there is, regrettably, some hesitancy in embracing the project.

He said he had received the go-ahead for the project under the PPP administration, but that administration was also hesitant to embrace the project at the time.

“I believe that it has to do with if it (the project) can push the type of energy in reality”, Singh said. He noted that the US$70 investment is the alternative in this period of transition to a green economy.

Total Energy Solutions is proposing full financing of the project.

As regards the research done on the project, Singh said, as much as 15 years ago, wind energy was seen as a viable solution to fossil fuels. “Research can tell you that this is needed,” Singh said.

According to the company, there is a 69KVA power line near Hope Beach, and all the systems as laid out in its plans are ready for connectivity. The project schedule for the installation and operation of the wind farm is approximately one year. According to the company the turbines’ production and delivery will take some six months after proposed signing of the contract.

The foundations and construction of the wind farm will take some three months. Freight and transportation of the turbines and other equipment will take another three months, while the installation of the equipment will take approximately two months.

A month later, the farm can connect to the electricity grid with stable power.

As regards the wind availability, Singh said that the previous administration had concerns about the wind fluctuating in the Hope Beach area. But according to him, the area at Hope is ideally positioned. Trade winds are the prevailing pattern of easterly surface winds found in the tropics, the company said. The wind blows predominantly from the northeast in this hemisphere and strengthens during the cold weather. At Hope Beach wind power is always constant.

The company said the Hope Beach Wind Farm is a renewable energy investment opportunity which supports the energy plans of the Government. It can produce an installed capacity of 26 megawatts of power. In total, it can supply 10% of the energy needed for the Demerara Interconnected System of the Guyana Power & Light.

As regards the economic benefits, some 150 persons will be employed in the construction phase, should the project materialize; while 20 persons can gain full-time employment after installation. In addition, a direct benefit for the green initiatives is the large sums the country can receive as income for carbon credit, while at the same time millions of dollars will be saved by not generating power from fossil fuels.

Late last year, the Government, through Public Infrastructure Minister David Patterson, indicated its no- objection to reviewing the project, which was aimed at ensuring it meets the required criteria.

In January this year, Minister Patterson told the newly installed Board of GP&L that the greening of the country must also be among its focus area. The board, he said, will be tasked with transitioning to alternative energy needs.

While he noted that the Government’s plans include the creation of a 26-megawatt wind farm, Minister Patterson said that GPL is expected to be a part in the realisation of this goal.

Do we have enough breeze for this 

To generate enough electricity, a wind speed of about 18 kilometres per hour over a year is preferred.

Winds between 12 and 19 kilometres per hour (3.5 to 5.5 metres per second) are defined as a "gentle breeze” on the Beaufort Wind Force Scale. 

The Beaufort Wind Force Scale helps explain wind speed:

• A "gentle breeze" that causes leaves and small twigs to be constantly moving has wind between 12 and 19 kilometres per hour.
  • A "moderate breeze" that causes dust and loose paper to be raised and small branches begin to move has wind between 20 and 28 kilometres per hour.

MItwah and the AFC/PNC crew were boasting last year that they would implement this project and that Jagdeo in a fit of corruption blocked the project. It appears that the PNc boys up to the same tricks. Them hands stretch out but not enough grease. 

It appears that the PNc boys up to the same tricks. Them hands stretch out but not enough grease. 

So you finally admit that the PPP was incompetent and corrupt.  The fact that APNU AFC mightn't be any better doesn't change that fact.

It appears that the PNc boys up to the same tricks. Them hands stretch out but not enough grease. 

So you finally admit that the PPP was incompetent and corrupt.  The fact that APNU AFC mightn't be any better doesn't change that fact.

They are all corrupt, but in this scenario it was clearly indicated by Jagdeo that based on the studies it was not feasible. However you and your kind immediately started bragging about wind power when LLoyd Singh surfaced and claimed that the PPP blocked his project.

Now I know that you are a liar when you claim that I see salvation in wind power.

If the PPP was great for economic development, and the PNC does the same, then that makes them also great.  Not so?

The notion that the PPP is great for doing what they did (I am at a loss to know what that was) but the PNC isn't when they do the same thing, seems to be the usual druggie stupidity that we are long accustomed to.

Now I know that you are a liar when you claim that I see salvation in wind power.

If the PPP was great for economic development, and the PNC does the same, then that makes them also great.  Not so?

The notion that the PPP is great for doing what they did (I am at a loss to know what that was) but the PNC isn't when they do the same thing, seems to be the usual druggie stupidity that we are long accustomed to.

Who says the PPP doing great? They are no longer in power, the responsiblity of nation building is not the task of the PNC. So far they have done nothing, only take kickbacks from the business community and encourage sex predators to the country. Not to mention bacchanal and sport. 

Wind power is not feasible in Guyana.

Also from previous reports, the developer intends to build a project which the government must commit to have it tied into its system and then make guaranteed payments to his company.

He is just blowing lots of smoke in the wind.

Most of us who live on the Coast know that we usually get a moderate breeze once in a while and a gentle breeze for about 3-4 hours per day. This project is not feasible. BJ tell dem suh. Get Amalia falls back up.

What exactly is this project? Is it a private company wishing to compete against GPL? If so, how are they going to deliver electricity to the house of their customers? Or are they going to sell the electricity to GPL? The details are not disclosed. Can the salesmen on GNI for that company please clarify the financial and distribution arrangement?

Who says the PPP doing great? .. 

You do.  Every rant and grunt and wail from your lips was how great the PPP was.   You then say that the PNC is doing the same, and than babble about Guyana is gone to hell.

Hey.  If the PNC is doing what the PPP did, and Guyana has gone to hell, well clearly what has happened is that the PPP left Guyana in hell, and the PNC is keeping it there.

You really need to quit because your on going stupidity is amazing.

In addition I also invite you to find any positive comments of this gov't apart from repeating what the IMF said.  If you disagree with the IMF's assessment that public sector deficits have DECLINED and the fiscal position has IMPROVED, then go scream, rant, and have a mental breakdown with THEM!

If this man is doing this project, and not asking the gov't for anything, other than purchasing any electricity that he generated that is fine.

If the project doesn't work then he loses his investment, and the gov't loses nothing.

If it succeeds, and the gov't buys from him, provided that the price aren't higher than what it currently costs GPL to generate power.  If his price is too low, then that is his problem.  If he doesn't generated power, then there is nothing to buy.

Better than burdening Guyana with a $2 billion project, which is what it would have costs if the PPP had Amalia.  They spent millions on Fip and then had to re spend money for some one to do what Fip was supposed to do.  I bet they didn't demand that Fip reimburse them for money wasted on him.

If this man is doing this project, and not asking the gov't for anything, other than purchasing any electricity that he generated that is fine.

If the project doesn't work then he loses his investment, and the gov't loses nothing.

If it succeeds, and the gov't buys from him, provided that the price aren't higher than what it currently costs GPL to generate power.  If his price is too low, then that is his problem.  If he doesn't generated power, then there is nothing to buy.

Better than burdening Guyana with a $2 billion project, which is what it would have costs if the PPP had Amalia.  They spent millions on Fip and then had to re spend money for some one to do what Fip was supposed to do.  I bet they didn't demand that Fip reimburse them for money wasted on him.

He needs permission to set up the wind turbines on govt land. So far the PNc boys holding back the permits on account of too low bribe. 

Who says the PPP doing great? .. 

You do.  Every rant and grunt and wail from your lips was how great the PPP was.   You then say that the PNC is doing the same, and than babble about Guyana is gone to hell.

Hey.  If the PNC is doing what the PPP did, and Guyana has gone to hell, well clearly what has happened is that the PPP left Guyana in hell, and the PNC is keeping it there.

You really need to quit because your on going stupidity is amazing.

In addition I also invite you to find any positive comments of this gov't apart from repeating what the IMF said.  If you disagree with the IMF's assessment that public sector deficits have DECLINED and the fiscal position has IMPROVED, then go scream, rant, and have a mental breakdown with THEM!

There are some aspects where the PPP excelled in the past. But they are not in power currently so how could they be running the country and doing great in the present when the PNC/AFC are in control. 

But enough of the PPP, they are already in the political graveyard. What is the PNC doing to move the nation forward?  Were the promises by these folks while in opposition just hot air? To get any development done in the span of 5 years you have to start with a plan. So far we have seen none from these crooks in office.  Not even the plans. They recently bragged about a Nigerian market for rice only to have this swept under the rug. They have no plans to make sugar efficient.  Same with bauxite, timber and even gold. They were bragging about ethanol but now are quiet.  Now that they are in charge, the armchair Monday morning quarterback  rantings while in opposition holds no water. 

Caribbeanj why don't you get your self busy with a hot young lady and show her what a 1950s British Guiana artificial Englishman of color is all about.

Any progress with your Indesh, where you will put in place a plan to reject all who aren't "Indian enough"?

There are some aspects where the PPP excelled in the past. . 

The past was a mere on e year ago, yet you grunt about Burnham, who died 31 years ago.

Why are you so afraid of the PPP being discussed? Is it that you cannot outline exactly where they "excelled".  Fip Motilall.  Buddies. Marriott. Provident. Guysuco, Berbice Bridge. Skeldon factory. Mega airport with 8 jet ways when only 6 planes arrive in GEO over a 24 hour period?

The past was a mere on e year ago, yet you grunt about Burnham, who died 31 years ago.

Why are you so afraid of the PPP being discussed? Is it that you cannot outline exactly where they "excelled".  Fip Motilall.  Buddies. Marriott. Provident. Guysuco, Berbice Bridge. Skeldon factory. Mega airport with 8 jet ways when only 6 planes arrive in GEO over a 24 hour period?

So why you Carib- B afraid to talk about the period before 1992 and the 28 years of rigged elections?

His Excellency President Granger said he wants gree energy but the Minista Pattason said he want GREEN BACK dollars.  It is the dachna.

Ask him how he paying for the new mansion for the putagee sweet 'oman?

I will not be lured into your trap of deflection from the issue at hand, the incompetence of your PNC and lack of vision. The PNC are now in power, they are answerable for the future of the nation, instead you would rather look back and use this as a crutch. Why didn't the PNC tell the people that they will not be able to move the nation forward because the PPP did too much damage? Deceit to attain power and fill pockets is the plan of the PNC.   

Mr.T posted:

All this talk about a windmill or two providing electricity, but not a single word about the financial arrangement regarding the sale and distribution. Another PPP scam.

The ppp is not involved in this one. In fact they rejected this project due to not being feasible.  It is the pNC boys who are now in power and were bragging about bringing wind power that PPP blocked. Now it looks like the PNC boys have reached the same conclusion and block this deal too. Except if their hands were greased enough, they would give the go ahead to implement the project. 

KishanB posted:

So why you Carib- B afraid to talk about the period before 1992 and the 28 years of rigged elections?

Apparently you are a lying dog, and a fetid toad, because almost every day I call Burnham a monster.

FACT.  The economy began to experience strong growth in 1991, and 1992, due to Hoyte's reforms.  The impact of this lasted into the late 90s.  After which growth slowed, not to recovery until gold prices began to rise.

Once Hoyte got the Burnhamites out of the way, he installed reforms, and you really cannot deny the positive impact.

Too bad when Hoyte arrested the House of Israel criminals, and some of Hammie's thugs, Janet released them, and allowed some into top PPP positions!

David G with one foot in the grave scrambling for all he can get to pass on to his children and wife before kicking he bucket.  The Indian businessman is his favorite target as they have deep pockets and can pay. 

Granger comes cheaper than Jagdeo, so they prefer him.  He just wants to be comfortable. Not a multi millionaire like Jagdeo.