Ray, You gat a good point. He meet he match now. Imagine Dem Chinese infecting items for export especially on iPhones ? 
Dis is serious stuff, me na trust dem Chinese rass. 
Trump handled this very poorly from the beginning. He catching up though. Watch baseman fight we rass now 

This Coronavirus outbreak is another serious incident facing the world.

Current cases in Guyana - March 30, 2020 - 8 cases, - one death.

Of note --- The 1918 H1N1 epidemic was another serious outbreak where the estimated number of death worldwide was at least fifty (50) million.

It was estimated that about one-third of the then world population - about 500 million - were infected with the virus.

For Guyana ... former British Guyana

Publication by R. G. Rose; "The Influenza epidemic in British Guiana", The Lancet, 15 March 1919, page 421, Volume 193, Issue 4985 -- addressed the issues in the then British Guiana.

Would we want supplies from China now? Chinese who run restaurants here don't eat the shit they sell to schmucks who go to their restaurants. Maybe they have the same system about everything else.

But it brings up another issue. While outsourcing may be good for profits, it is terrible for prosperity and hopefully some lessons will be learned on how to have better sourcing balance in the future. 

alena06 posted:

An estimated 100k people might die, this is scary. â˜đïļ  Cuomo has his hands filled, but he is handling it well.  I can only imagine how many people picked up that virus in the subway.  They will need to sanitize everything like China did, and it does not seem to be starting  anytime soon.  

Flue kills 300k per year.

alena06 posted:

An estimated 100k people might die, this is scary. â˜đïļ  Cuomo has his hands filled, but he is handling it well.  I can only imagine how many people picked up that virus in the subway.  They will need to sanitize everything like China did, and it does not seem to be starting  anytime soon.  

So in addition is OK to kill another 300k?

alena06 posted:

We duz plan fuh dat. No one planned fuh dis. And we never had to stay in we house like dis before. I prefer to work in the office where I can batter kick peoples asses. I have been in the office for only a few hours one day in the past two weeks. 

alena06 posted:

So in addition is OK to kill another 300k?

No, Im saying the regular flu fills 300k.  Same type of people, old and with preexisting conditions.  The vaccines for the regular flu is usually 50% effective.

Tom posted:

True. It is now 50 percent. Baseman is right as To who going to win. Americans rally around their president in times of crisis. Biden is a poor choice, he rass don’t even remember where his is half of de time. 

It's the economy stupid. The stock market has been tanking most days and we are headed for a recession. I had to move all my IRA and 401k to money market funds for safekeeping. Lost quite a bit.

Tom posted:

True. It is now 50 percent. Baseman is right as To who going to win. Americans rally around their president in times of crisis. Biden is a poor choice, he rass don’t even remember where his is half of de time. 

It's the economy stupid. The stock market has been tanking most days and we are headed for a recession. I had to move all my IRA and 401k to money market funds for safekeeping. Lost quite a bit.

If you move now you will not be able to recover that 20-30% lost. You have to hold out and hope for a recovery.

Tom posted:

If you move now you will not be able to recover that 20-30% lost. You have to hold out and hope for a recovery.

I am going to wait to get back into the market. Even the Stable Genius Idiot said we are heading for a recession. Not that I believe a man who had failed marriages, bankruptcies, robbed his own charity, a failed airline, a failed university, a failed football league...

Tom posted:

Is all about big pharma making billions. Everybody is cashing in. 

China is cashing in, They are the supplier for ventilators,masts, gloves and gowns. Also China has the cash to buy companies that are on the brink of going under. Trump is begging China for supplies, he will have to lift the tariffs .

Many of the ventilators, masks, gloves and other medical supplies used in the USA are made By 3M, GE, Chrysler, and Abbott Labs in the US. 

Tom posted:

Don’t move any money. Stay put. The market will recover. Money market funds are the wrong place. They will not move up when the market turns around. 

To retool a factory for making ventilators will take up to three months. In the mean time they need these items like yesterday.  Doctors have adopted new protocols as to who get a ventilator.  Many more lives can be saved if there is adequate supply.

China has always been a supplier of masks,  gloves,and other medical PPE