IS THIS HOW WE TREAT OUR NATIONAL HEROES?

March 29, 2015 | By | Filed Under Features / Columnists, Peeping Tom , Source

As of last Thursday, the fund that was launched by the Kaieteur News to benefit the children of the slain Courtney Crum Ewing had not yet reached one million dollars. This is surprising considering that there were large donations from a number of persons, including publisher of this newspaper, Glenn Lall.

A number of overseas-based Guyanese had also donated money. But where was the deluge of support for this fund from all those who went to the funeral of the slain man, those who were part of the protest vigil and the many more who were parroting the view that Courtney Crum-Ewing was a national hero who was killed because he was protesting against the People’s Progressive Party?

The government has made it clear that it had no part in the death of Courtney Crum-Ewing. The President went as far as saying that Courtney was more a nuisance than a threat. In other words, there was no reason for the government to have any motive for wanting him out of the way.

Unfortunately, poor journalism is now allowing another spin to be placed on the death of Courtney Crum-Ewing. There has been a claim that the President suggested that Courtney was a criminal. The President made no such suggestion.

What the President said was that Linden ‘Blackie’ London’s casket was draped with the national flag and the same thing was done with Courtney’s coffin. There are protocols involved in the use of the national flag. It is not acceptable for the national flag to be draped over the casket of any and every one. This is all that was being suggested.

The practice of draping a coffin with the national flag is a custom reserved for State funerals and military funerals. Neither Crum-Ewing nor ‘Blackie’ London was entitled to either.

Courtney Crum-Ewing was designated as a national hero by the Alliance for Change and this perhaps was why the national flag was wrongly draped over his coffin. He was designated a national hero, because there were those who felt that his death was politically orchestrated.

I have said before also that those making the claim that Courtney’s death was a political assassination have not produced one shred of evidence to support their claim. At his funeral, the claim was also made that it is naÏve for anyone to not believe that Courtney’s demise was related to his political activities.

Now if you are going to make such an assertion, at the least you should justify your contention. You should be able to explain why it is naÏve for anyone not to feel that Courtney’s death was political. Why is it naÏve for anyone to feel that his death was not related to his political activities?

When Courtney fell, there was a mad rush to claim him. The Alliance for Change rushed into the fray and said that he was wearing the AFC’s colours when he died. They claimed him. Never mind previous pictures on his Facebook page showing him in the same yellow jersey suggested that the jersey may have been more related to his support for the Brazilian football team.
Even though his family claims that he was not associated with any political party, on his Facebook page Courtney expressed his support for the AFC. In fact, it seems as if he had designated himself as the APNU-AFC representative in the Diamond area, going so far as to identity a building which he said would be the coalition’s office for the upcoming operations. There is no indication that this plan of his was ever approved by the coalition. He seemed to be a one-man show – doing his own thing in the name of the coalition.

Both parties should be wary of designating the late Courtney Crum-Ewing as a national hero. While it is said he died in the colours of the AFC, Courtney himself was highly intolerant of others having the right to wear their own colours. In one of his Facebook posts he indicates what he would do to anyone who comes near him dressed in the PPP’s colours. He also has disturbing views about East Indians. Is this the man that the opposition parties, promoting a national unity platform, want to hold up as a national hero?

But if they really care about Courtney, they would want to ensure that his family is taken care of. They should therefore lead by example, by giving handsomely to the fund started by Kaieteur News for his children. It is disappointing that despite the fact that so many persons condemned his death, and so many attended his funeral, yet one week after the fund started, there has not been an overwhelming pledge of financial support for the children of this “national hero.”

Neither of these 2 people are national heroes.  I liked Ewing's protests but that does not make him a hero.  People use the term so loosely.

Blackie was so bad he was hurling grenades at law enforcement.  That took criminality to a new level.

Which TV talk show had people with AK47s threatening the govt.?

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

Neither of these 2 people are national heroes.  I liked Ewing's protests but that does not make him a hero.  People use the term so loosely.

Blackie was so bad he was hurling grenades at law enforcement.  That took criminality to a new level.

Which TV talk show had people with AK47s threatening the govt.?

jay bharrat,

crawling on your belly to twin Crum-Ewing with Blackie London is foul, and reveals something nasty, unreconstructed, in your heart

the man was gunned down on the street exhorting people with his bullhorn to register and vote . . . a right that y'all hypocrites have made a political living reminding how Burnham denied it to us for all those many years

he was a flawed human being like all of us, but he was assassinated pursuing something noble, which took courage and sacrifice under the best of circumstances

yes. . . that's a hero in most everybody's book - despite the nervousness and outright hostility of some here who are uncomfortable with the idea of a 'Black' man protesting racism by an 'Indian' government

someone in the know, pls correct me if i assume wrong, but isn't Crum-Ewing, a former GDF officer, not entitled to a full military funeral?

Ramotar is the commander in chief and elements within the PPP assassinated the guy. So there is no way they would have given him a military funeral.

I hope the erect a statue for Courtney one day. Guyana needs more people like him who are prepared to speak up for the down trodden, dispossessed,  and marginalized.

"idea of a 'Black' man protesting racism by an 'Indian' government."

Is that what Ewing was doing?  Thought he was telling people, if you can't vote for Granger, vote for Moses.

In as much as I don't support the PPP, in all fairness, the PPP does not promote racism the way the old PNC institutionalised racism when you had to have  a PNC card to get food, job, etc.

PPP pissing on Jagan grave daily. He is supposed to be their so called hero.

All of Jagan's children cussin Jagdeo and the PPP for derogatory comments made regarding Jagan's life style where Jagdeo tried to equate his luxurious tax payer funded debauchery to Jagan's modest life style.

Muchless anything else? The PPP has shown they are willing to eat their own to satisfy the disgusting appetite Jagdeo has for corruption and thiefin.

Ask Ramkarran, Moses, Khemraj, Jagan's children and a litany of other supporters they have had all now squarely against the PPP and working to get rid of them.

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

"idea of a 'Black' man protesting racism by an 'Indian' government."

Is that what Ewing was doing?  Thought he was telling people, if you can't vote for Granger, vote for Moses.

In as much as I don't support the PPP, in all fairness, the PPP does not promote racism the way the old PNC institutionalised racism when you had to have  a PNC card to get food, job, etc.

first, don't twist what i say to support some stupidness u trying to deceive people with . . . what i said is that he was killed while exhorting people to vote

THAT is a fact!

second, hilited below is what i actually posted earlier to address the sly, sometimes silly rationales people like YOU are coming up with to 'justify' this man's murder:

"yes. . . that's a hero in most everybody's book - despite the nervousness and outright hostility of some here who are uncomfortable with the idea of a 'Black' man protesting racism by an 'Indian' government"

[u, after all, was the idiot calling Crum-Ewing "extremist" for being pissed over the renaming of Timehri Airport . . . many here, including yours truly, were offended that Linden was named after Burnham; is it OK and sane for the kabaka's admirers to label me an "extremist" too?]

finally, how is the old PNC "party card" system, discriminating by definition  against Indian Guyanese for public service jobs, etc., so much different "institutionally" from what what is known of the baleful PPP race 'system' in a State-driven 'contracts' economy, acknowledged by everyone (except u and the other wicked, wilfully blind) and punctuated by revelations in that tip-of-the-iceberg called the 'Kissoon/Jagdeo' libel matter!?

some of y'all ole bigots will carry the bitterness, the lies and the prejudices to y'all grave

smh

"As of last Thursday, the fund that was launched by the Kaieteur News to benefit the children of the slain Courtney Crum Ewing had not yet reached one million dollars."

Maybe Jagdeo should mek a donation from his pension considering he thiefin 200 Million per year.

Wha ya seh?

How about GNI's PNC supporters dig deep into their pockets to support their National hero ?

Done ahready. Done Donate that was not even a consideration.

But is time de big thiefman dem stand up and donate since they claim they had nothing to do with it.

If they didn't have anything to do with it you would have thought that they could have easily empathized with this man and run to donate to his family. But as you can see they clearly have a guilty conscience.

They hated them man then and they still hate him now. I think whoever is advising the PPP clearly are clueless. Must be a bunch of gold teeth clowns.