First Hindu Congresswoman, Tulsi Gabbard, a Democrat, meets Donald Trump

New York: The first Hindu elected to Congress, Tulsi Gabbard, crossed her Democratic party line to meet Republican-elect Donald Trump on Monday to discuss Syria, terrorism and national security matters and warn of the risk of a nuclear confrontation with Russia amid speculation that he may be checking out the war veteran for a position in his administration.

On economic and social issues, Gabbard belongs to the leftist wing of the Democratic Party, but she is closer to Trump's policies on fighting terror while avoiding foreign interventions and this makes her a prime candidate for the president-elect's efforts to reach out to his opposition.

Media reports said that she may be under consideration for defence or foreign policy position in Trump's government.

A major in the Army National Guard, Gabbard has served two tours of duty in Iraq. "I saw firsthand the cost of war, and the lives lost due to the interventionist warmongering policies our country has pursued for far too long," she said after the meeting with Trump who has criticised United States military entanglements abroad.

During this month's election, Republican Party leadership had helped Gabbard by withdrawing support for their own party's candidate Angela Kaaihue who made a bigoted attack on Gabbard with anti-Hindu vitriol calling her a pathetic Hindu 1,000 gods leader.

Trump's outreach to Gabbard illustrates the complexity of United States politics, where Trump is a dove when it comes to foreign interventions while extremely tough on Islamic terrorism, whereas his Democratic Party rival Hillary Clinton is a hawk advocating interventions abroad and a confrontation with Russia.

Gabbard said she told Trump about her concerns with enforcing a no-fly zone over Syria that Clinton, along with Democratic and Republican hawks, advocates to counter Bashar al-Assad and Russia. "It would lead to more death and suffering, exacerbate the refugee crisis, strengthen ISIS (Islamic State) and al-Qaeda, and bring us into a direct conflict with Russia which could result in a nuclear war," she said.

If the US were to enforce a no-fly zone it could be drawn into a direct confrontation with Russia, which conducts bombing raids over areas controlled by Islamic State terrorists.

Though Gabbard, who represents a constituency in Hawaii, is not of Indian descent, she is a second-generation Hindu by religion. She is only 35 years old and is considered a rising start in the Democratic Party.

"For years, the issue of ending interventionist, regime change warfare has been one of my top priorities," she said in a veiled attack on Clinton who has promoted an agenda of overthrowing governments from Egypt to Ukraine with disastrous results.

Gabbard made a scathing attack on Republican neo-conservative hawks like Paul Wolfowitz, the planner of the deadly Iraq War, who had crossed over to Clinton's side.

She said it was important for her to meet the President-elect now before the drumbeats of war that neocons have been beating drag us into an escalation of the war to overthrow the Syrian government - a war which has already cost hundreds of thousands of lives and forced millions of refugees to flee their homes in search of safety for themselves and their families.

She has previously expressed support for Russian bombing of Islamic State-held territories in Syria.

"While the rules of political expediency would say I should have refused to meet with President-elect Trump, I never have and never will play politics with American and Syrian lives," she added.

During the Democratic Party's presidential nomination race Gabbard was aligned with Bernie Sanders, the independent socialist who defied the party leadership to run against Clinton.

Gabbard resigned as vice chairwoman of the Democratic National Committee after clashing with the then-Chairwoman Debbie Wasserman Schultz, whom she accused of unfairly backing Clinton and working against Sanders.

This could make her a potential conduit to the discontented supporters of Sanders, who emerged a strong rival to Clinton with his populist platform appealing to the disempowered, the working class and foreign policy doves.

Underlining the differences with Trump on other matters, Gabbard said, "Where I disagree with President-elect Trump on issues, I will not hesitate to express that disagreement."

Gabbard has criticised President Barack Obama for his reluctance to label as Islamic extremism terrorist attacks carried out by some Muslim, a criticism Trump has also voiced.

She has advocated a tough line on Pakistan for its role in international terrorism and tried to get Congress to cut aid to Islamabad and increase pressure on it to stop this violence.

RiffRaff posted:

what exactly is UNthinkable?

Move from the far left of the Democratic Party to work for a Republican gov't.  She is a Democrat Congresswoman and is being considered for a position in Trump's cabinet.  Read the article.

Bibi you don't know how American politics/government work girl.  I will send you a copy of my book just send me your right name.

VVP posted:
RiffRaff posted:

Move from the far left of the Democratic Party to work for a Republican gov't.  She is a Democrat Congresswoman and is being considered for a position in Trump's cabinet.  Read the article.

Bibi you don't know how American politics/government work girl.  I will send you a copy of my book just send me your right name.

Oh lord, these runaway Guyana back-trackers now telling the Americans how to do things.  No wonder alyuh get the boots rass!!

Hail TRUMP!

The other two Obama appointees are card-carrying Republicans: Ray LaHood, a former congressman from Illinois, as secretary of transportation; and Sen. Judd Gregg of New Hampshire as commerce secretary (though he has not yet been confirmed).

And Obama is right. No other president has had this many.

For a little perspective, here's a rundown of the crossovers from a century's worth of presidential Cabinets:

â€Ē George W. Bush: Democrat Norman Mineta, transportation secretary.

â€Ē Bill Clinton: Republican William Cohen, defense secretary.

â€Ē George H. W. Bush: nada.

â€Ē Ronald Reagan: William Bennett was a Democrat when appointed as education secretary in 1985, but the following year, he became a Republican and has remained a conservative Republican voice ever since.

â€Ē Jimmy Carter: Republican James Schlesinger, who served as defense secretary under Republican presidents Richard Nixon and Gerald Ford, was tapped by Carter as America's first energy secretary.

â€Ē Richard Nixon: Daniel Patrick Moynihan served as ambassador to the United Nations, which at the time was not a Cabinet-level position.

â€Ē John F. Kennedy: Republicans C. Douglas Dillon as treasury secretary and Robert McNamara as defense secretary. McNamara wasn't such a stretch though, as Time magazine pointed out at the time, "In politics, McNamara is a lukewarm, liberal Republican who often contributes to Democratic candidates. This year he voted for Kennedy."

â€Ē Dwight D. Eisenhower: Democrat and Labor Secretary Martin Patrick Durkin, the "plumber" among Eisenhower's so called "Nine Millionaires and a Plumber" Cabinet. Durkin was replaced in 1953 by fellow Democrat James P. Mitchell, a so-called "Democrat-for-Eisenhower."

â€Ē Franklin D. Roosevelt: Republicans Frank Knox as secretary of the Navy and Henry Stimson, secretary of war.

"Nobody's got three," said presidential historian Richard Shenkman. "This is unprecedented."

Shenkman doesn't think you'll be hearing much from the secretaries of transportation or commerce any time soon — those Cabinet secretaries typically take a lower profile — but the appointment of Gates, he said, is "highly significant."

"I wouldn't call it tokenism," Shenkman said. "I think it's real. He (Obama) is making some kind of an effort there. And it comes at very little cost. It's a shrewd political move."

But Terry Sullivan, associate professor of political science at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, called the Obama appointments little more than political symbolism.

"The real question is not whether it's true or false (that Obama has appointed an unprecedented number of Republicans), but what it means," Sullivan said. "I don't know what having a bipartisan Cabinet gets you. I don't see that it gets you anything."

Yes, he said, it may mean a few Cabinet members can occasionally give a presidential policy some bipartisan cred. 

"I'm suggesting this is a very sophisticated political community," Sullivan said. It'd be one thing if Obama had appointed the Republican leader of the Senate to a high-level Cabinet position. That might move things toward some sort of reconciliation government, he said. "But governing is way more sophisticated than these symbolic gestures."

Whatever you make of the appointments, Obama is on solid ground when he said his three Republican Cabinet appointments were unprecedented. We rate his statement True.

RiffRaff posted:

see my post above to get a perspective that this stuff happens...it's not new...unless you start following politics same time as Trump

Bhai, the Bhagavat Gita and the Ramayan are BOTH clear on the teachings of HUMANITY, RESPECT, TOLERANCE, DIGNITY and COOPERATION

Jai Shree Ram!!

Bullshit...Krishna advised Arjuna to do as he wished to win or good because it is what you must do. He was worried about killing his  kinsmen but Krishna noted they were already dead given the weight of their karmic flaws.

You do what is right not what is convenient or cooperate for cooperation's sake.  Tulsi is a pacifist so in her world view one take a backward step. It might coincide with that of a nativist but not on with ethical basis.

Mrs C was Arjuna with Krishna as her charioteer. She would have done what must be done because it was for goodness sake and it was ethical and just.

Danyael posted:

Bhai, the Bhagavat Gita and the Ramayan are BOTH clear on the teachings of HUMANITY, RESPECT, TOLERANCE, DIGNITY and COOPERATION

Jai Shree Ram!!

Mrs C was Arjuna with Krishna as her charioteer. She would have done what must be done because it was for goodness sake and it was ethical and just.

Oh well, but she lost!!

ba$eman posted:
Danyael posted:

Oh well, but she lost!!

And the nation hiccuped and took a backward step. Lets hope it is not the beginning of a slide where what she stood for is  all that stands between us and the abyss.

ba$eman posted:

@Former Member, but this is Trump we talking, not any run-of-the-mill prezzy here!

Run of the mill ones would be failing for trying because they were poor leaders. This is a megalomaniac and a narcissist with a fascist bent so indeed he is not run of the mill. He is ethically challenged and  what one labels an anathema to reason and good sense.

Danyael posted:
ba$eman posted:

@Former Member, but this is Trump we talking, not any run-of-the-mill prezzy here!

Run of the mill ones would be failing for trying because they were poor leaders. This is a megalomaniac and a narcissist with a fascist bent so indeed he is not run of the mill. He is ethically challenged and  what one labels an anathema to reason and good sense.

He won, he is Prezzy...and that goes for you too!!

He is actually America's first "Independent" President, thinking of it!

Danyael posted:

Jai Shree Ram!!

Bullshit...Krishna advised Arjuna to do as he wished to win or good because it is what you must do. He was worried about killing his  kinsmen but Krishna noted they were already dead given the weight of their karmic flaws.

You do what is right not what is convenient or cooperate for cooperation's sake.  Tulsi is a pacifist so in her world view one take a backward step. It might coincide with that of a nativist but not on with ethical basis.

You are an atheist. Cut this sh*t out about Arjuana and Krishna. You should be talking shaman.

Danyael posted:

You are an atheist. Cut this sh*t out about Arjuana and Krishna. You should be talking shaman.

Atheism does not mean dumb like you....take heed. I do not know any hindu priest is outside the scope of shamanism.

Does atheism qualify you for being a dollar store stock boy then? Please let us know.

Danyael posted:

Jai Shree Ram!!

Actually, I agree with him and especially more with his closing analogy.

Danyael posted:

Atheism does not mean dumb like you....take heed. I do not know any hindu priest is outside the scope of shamanism.

Does atheism qualify you for being a dollar store stock boy then? Please let us know.

had a different answer but you do not count. Who is the "us" that wants to know?

Danyael posted:

Han....an ivy league degree

Through the mail.

Danyael posted:
skeldon_man posted

Through the mail.

As you would care to Imagine. Must give you folks the runs....went to boarding school also....sorry...you got your formal training on the knees of  a weed cutter...

Nah coolie hater. Making cassava bread and piwari.

Natural refuge of an ignoramus. Notice I am not the one taking the racist tact! What a pity....you are exactly what you imagine others to be!

BTW my piwari brewing, tibisiri weaving, Tocoma eating, turu drinking mama got a degree from univ of Manchester. Where did yours go again?

New York: The first Hindu elected to Congress, Tulsi Gabbard, crossed her Democratic party line to meet Republican-elect Donald Trump on Monday to discuss Syria, terrorism and national security matters and warn of the risk of a nuclear confrontation with Russia amid speculation that he may be checking out the war veteran for a position in his administration.

On economic and social issues, Gabbard belongs to the leftist wing of the Democratic Party, but she is closer to Trump's policies on fighting terror while avoiding foreign interventions and this makes her a prime candidate for the president-elect's efforts to reach out to his opposition.

Media reports said that she may be under consideration for defence or foreign policy position in Trump's government.

A major in the Army National Guard, Gabbard has served two tours of duty in Iraq. "I saw firsthand the cost of war, and the lives lost due to the interventionist warmongering policies our country has pursued for far too long," she said after the meeting with Trump who has criticised United States military entanglements abroad.

During this month's election, Republican Party leadership had helped Gabbard by withdrawing support for their own party's candidate Angela Kaaihue who made a bigoted attack on Gabbard with anti-Hindu vitriol calling her a pathetic Hindu 1,000 gods leader.

Trump's outreach to Gabbard illustrates the complexity of United States politics, where Trump is a dove when it comes to foreign interventions while extremely tough on Islamic terrorism, whereas his Democratic Party rival Hillary Clinton is a hawk advocating interventions abroad and a confrontation with Russia.

Gabbard said she told Trump about her concerns with enforcing a no-fly zone over Syria that Clinton, along with Democratic and Republican hawks, advocates to counter Bashar al-Assad and Russia. "It would lead to more death and suffering, exacerbate the refugee crisis, strengthen ISIS (Islamic State) and al-Qaeda, and bring us into a direct conflict with Russia which could result in a nuclear war," she said.

If the US were to enforce a no-fly zone it could be drawn into a direct confrontation with Russia, which conducts bombing raids over areas controlled by Islamic State terrorists.

Though Gabbard, who represents a constituency in Hawaii, is not of Indian descent, she is a second-generation Hindu by religion. She is only 35 years old and is considered a rising start in the Democratic Party.

"For years, the issue of ending interventionist, regime change warfare has been one of my top priorities," she said in a veiled attack on Clinton who has promoted an agenda of overthrowing governments from Egypt to Ukraine with disastrous results.

Gabbard made a scathing attack on Republican neo-conservative hawks like Paul Wolfowitz, the planner of the deadly Iraq War, who had crossed over to Clinton's side.

She said it was important for her to meet the President-elect now before the drumbeats of war that neocons have been beating drag us into an escalation of the war to overthrow the Syrian government - a war which has already cost hundreds of thousands of lives and forced millions of refugees to flee their homes in search of safety for themselves and their families.

She has previously expressed support for Russian bombing of Islamic State-held territories in Syria.

"While the rules of political expediency would say I should have refused to meet with President-elect Trump, I never have and never will play politics with American and Syrian lives," she added.

During the Democratic Party's presidential nomination race Gabbard was aligned with Bernie Sanders, the independent socialist who defied the party leadership to run against Clinton.

Gabbard resigned as vice chairwoman of the Democratic National Committee after clashing with the then-Chairwoman Debbie Wasserman Schultz, whom she accused of unfairly backing Clinton and working against Sanders.

This could make her a potential conduit to the discontented supporters of Sanders, who emerged a strong rival to Clinton with his populist platform appealing to the disempowered, the working class and foreign policy doves.

Underlining the differences with Trump on other matters, Gabbard said, "Where I disagree with President-elect Trump on issues, I will not hesitate to express that disagreement."

Gabbard has criticised President Barack Obama for his reluctance to label as Islamic extremism terrorist attacks carried out by some Muslim, a criticism Trump has also voiced.

She has advocated a tough line on Pakistan for its role in international terrorism and tried to get Congress to cut aid to Islamabad and increase pressure on it to stop this violence.

I love this women...she is smart and good looking. I hope she takes a security position with Trump.

ba$eman posted:

God bless her. We need many more Tulsi, red, pink, white, orange, red, purple.

Bai, I think Chief and Pointy seeing all them colors you mentioned up deh!

You guys seems scared more than mUslims.

TRUMP can bring on Gabbard and the rest of the Muslim hating crew , screw all of them!

Hate loves hate !in the meantime  as Mahatma Ghandi said peace will survive.

ba$eman posted:

God bless her. We need many more Tulsi, red, pink, white, orange, red, purple.

Bai, I think Chief and Pointy seeing all them colors you mentioned up deh!

You guys seems scared more than mUslims.

TRUMP can bring on Gabbard and the rest of the Muslim hating crew , screw all of them!

Hate loves hate !in the meantime  as Mahatma Ghandi said peace will survive.

I dont know if she is antiMuslim. I saw her on talk shows. She comes across as intelligent and proAmerica. I believe she served in the military...so she has some security experience. 

Tulsi is 75 percent white and 25% Samoan. But she is 100 Percent hindu to the core. Her mother was a hindu so she was born to a hindu mother.

Prash, I was there a few weeks ago and I saw her name and picture splashed on Billboards throughout the island. Her  siblings' names are Bhakti, Jai, Narayan, and Vrindavan and her father recites mantras and sings Kirtans.

Prem se bolo Satya Sanathan Dharam ki Jai.