Private sector calls on govt to stay closure of sugar estates

By
2 hours ago

The private sector today called on the government to stay its hand on any closure of estates citing the range of likely repercussions.

A statement from the Private Sector Commission follows:

The Private Sector Commission (PSC) and its affiliates, the Georgetown Chamber of Commerce & Industry (GCCI), the Guyana Manufacturing and Services Association, the Upper Corentyne Chamber of Commerce and Industry, the Linden Chamber of Industry, Commerce and Development, the Region 3 Chamber of Commerce and Industry, the Central Corentyne Chamber of Commerce and the Berbice Chamber of Commerce and Development Association
PRIVATE SECTOR EXTREMELY CONCERNED OVER DOWNSCALING OF SUGAR INDUSTRY AND CLOSURE OF ESTATES
The Guyana Sugar Corporation (Guysuco) came into being as a state owned entity in 1976, when it was nationalized. The sugar industry has continued to play a significant role in the overall economy of Guyana.
The industry remains the largest employer other than Government and the main foreign currency earner. Guysuco’s role has expanded to include providing Drainage and Irrigation for many communities and other sectors as well as providing community health services.
In recent years, however, the corporation has delivered financial losses and has become dependent on Government/taxpayers subvention to enable continued operation. Many factors have been attributed to the declining performance of the industry, not the least of which was the loss of the preferential pricing of the lucrative EU market. There is the view that these could be addressed to turn around the industry.
Government has expressed its intention to downscale the sugar industry and to commence with the closure of estates.
In recognition of the critical importance of the sugar industry, the private sector makes the following observations:
1. The Government-initiated Commissioner of Enquiry (COI) did not recommend closure of any estate but, on the contrary, recommended divestment into private hands (See Volume 1 of COI page 36, section 7, sub-section 1, 11,111,1V).

2. A review of Guysuco’s audited financial statements for the year 2015 reveals that more than G$10.0B would be removed from private employment income should Government proceed with the closure of estates. This, in turn, would have a direct negative effect on consumer spending in the communities which, directly or indirectly, depend upon income, from sugar. Such a decline in consumer spending would also have a diminishing impact upon all commerce with concomitant negative spin-off effects on the economy as a whole.

3. Guysuco is a major earner of foreign exchange. Closure of any estates would, therefore, severely impact upon the availability of foreign exchange and increase the price at which it is sold.

4. The restoration of Guyana’s economy is inevitably, and intimately, linked to the future of sugar.
It would be sad to lose the sugar industry and realize five years later that this would have been a success story. We must learn from the history of the scrapping of the railway which would have opened up our country to development
Our members are located across the length and breadth of Guyana and the survival of their businesses depends upon a public that spends on goods and services. Most income generation is derived from employment and when this is reduced significantly it affects the entire chain, from manufacturing and importation to household consumption.

The private sector calls on Government to hold its hand on the current approach towards closure of estates.
The private sector stands ready to place its considerable experience at the disposal of and to work with Government to explore all possible options to avert closure.

Sugar still makes economic sense for Guyana.  But the racist PNC sees the chance to defang the PPP, accelerate ethnic cleansing and remove the numerical threat of Indians transforming Guyana into a full Afro-majority state!  It is all about that, but they hide behind the skirt of a stand-alone loss-making entity with is only one half of the story!

Why don't those oligarchs buy out sugar if they think that the future is so assured. Governments have no business running ventures in the productive sectors. That's the role of the private sector. Gov'ts can offer subsidies or various incentives if it makes economic sense.

Guysuco is in this state because of the PPP.  So why do they think that continued ownership by the public sector makes sense. Guymine was privatized and so should sugar be.  Guyana's production costs are way above world prices and with the EU subsidy over and guaranteed access to those markets soon to be why keep sugar?

The Germans and the others see this as a UK issue and now with the UK leaving the EU there will be no advocates for Guyana.  Brexit raises issues for the UK so they have scant time for Guyana and other former colonies.

The EU was quite clear 15 years ago that guarantees for ACP sugar couldn't continue indefinitely. Trinidad and St Kitts pulled the plug and used EU $$$ to transition to other economic activities and to compensate workers for the loss of jobs. I understand that HUNDREDS of Guyanese were compensated by the St K gov't as they formed the bulk of the cane cutters on that island.  The locals had already seen the writing on the wall and had begun to leave the industry, if they could.

I suggest that the oligarchs make themselves useful and buy Guysuco if they think that sugar has a future in Guyana.  Otherwise let iyt just be phased out gradually, producing enough for the local and regional sugar and molasses markets.

There's hope for sugar if Tamil Chief's son-in-law steps in and gets new private owners. At least that's what some recent news reports suggest. Son-in-law is playing a "Finder" role. Solutions on the way. Allyuh hold strain.

Who is the " Tamil Chief "  ?   Why dont you say Moses and be done with it ?  Why do you always refer  to Tamils ?

The performance of the sugar industry depends a lot on the world demand. At one time there were over two hundred sugar factories operating in Guyana and as time went the demand dropped and eventually many countries suffered the downsizing of their factories. In Guyana mismanagement played a crucial role in the demise of this once vibrant industry. GUYSUCO failed to prepare the industry for diversification, the white elephant Skeldon sugar factory was bought in a less than transparent arrangement, the money to upkeep a malfunctioning Skeldon factory had to come from the funds set aside to maintain other factories like Wales, the mismanagement of the Norway funds, hiring of an unqualified political stooge as the chairman of the board, etc....all these contributed to sugar demise in Guyana. In the meantime there is no aggressive effort to seek new markets for sugar.

The Namakaram Crabdaag went to Skeldon with his stinking, LYING mouth and said to the people. Sugar will always be there, that he knows the importance of the Industry and he gave them his word( Stink LIES) that he will never see the Industry close!!!!!!!!!!

The industry is not being closed but restructured  !  If you are capable of understanding what restructure means you will not go calling people names.

How come this country's economy suddenly started to decline and the Private Sector began screaming about a national catastrophe ahead?  During the 2015 election campaign the political parties presently in power told us that the economy will thrive when they get in because the billions and billions being pilfered by the then PPP government would be reinvested in infra-structures, pay higher wages across the board, and the country's development would be guaranteed. What is happening now is nothing near to what they promised. Can this administration give an explanation?  

Churchill posted:

The performance of the sugar industry depends a lot on the world demand. At one time there were over two hundred sugar factories operating in Guyana and as time went the demand dropped and eventually many countries suffered the downsizing of their factories. In Guyana mismanagement played a crucial role in the demise of this once vibrant industry. GUYSUCO failed to prepare the industry for diversification, the white elephant Skeldon sugar factory was bought in a less than transparent arrangement, the money to upkeep a malfunctioning Skeldon factory had to come from the funds set aside to maintain other factories like Wales, the mismanagement of the Norway funds, hiring of an unqualified political stooge as the chairman of the board, etc....all these contributed to sugar demise in Guyana. In the meantime there is no aggressive effort to seek new markets for sugar.

Sounds like you wanted the job of managing Guysuco.

Churchill posted:

The Namakaram Crabdaag went to Skeldon with his stinking, LYING mouth and said to the people. Sugar will always be there, that he knows the importance of the Industry and he gave them his word( Stink LIES) that he will never see the Industry close!!!!!!!!!!

The industry is not being closed but restructured  !  If you are capable of understanding what restructure means you will not go calling people names.

I am being nice to dat Namakaram Crabdaag. That Parasite do not care Rat's ASS about the suffering Sugar Workers and I hope I have the opportunity to tell him to his face!!!

Churchill posted:

There's hope for sugar if Tamil Chief's son-in-law steps in and gets new private owners. At least that's what some recent news reports suggest. Son-in-law is playing a "Finder" role. Solutions on the way. Allyuh hold strain.

Who is the " Tamil Chief "  ?   Why dont you say Moses and be done with it ?  Why do you always refer  to Tamils ?

Point taken. Answer to last question: Because he got the Crown Jewel of World Tamils Award in India. No offence to Tamils.

Churchy Bhai, you can try spin it as restructuring or whatever camouflage you want to use, but we know what the PNC are capable of. Dat Parasite decided to join the PNC NOT ME.

I am not putting a spin on anything . I tell it like it is as I am not indebted to anyone . I know it is being restructured and the sad thing GAWU in their many rallies to whip up support against the govt never mentioned the offer to relocate the workers at Wales.

Churchill posted:

Point taken. Answer to last question: Because he got the Crown Jewel of World Tamils Award in India. No offence to Tamils.

Come one you are smarter than that . Being given an award from an Indian Tamil organisation does not make one a " Tamil Chief " . Several Tamils from Guyana and Surinam took offense at what you posted. I consider the matter closed with the expectation that you will be careful in future with your loose reference to Tamils.

Churchill posted:

Come one you are smarter than that . Being given an award from an Indian Tamil organisation does not make one a " Tamil Chief " . Several Tamils from Guyana and Surinam took offense at what you posted. I consider the matter closed with the expectation that you will be careful in future with your loose reference to Tamils.

I shall be careful. No more reference to T@#$%^.

How long has Guysuco been receiving subsidies from the government?

How much has Guysuco contributed to the national treasury over the last 50 years?

Guysuco has been bailed out since Jagdeo destroyed it. Guyana used to get preferential access to the UK and then the EU markets.

This no longer exists and Guyanese sugar is no longer globally competitive.  Guysuco should be treated exactly as Guymine was as it is a losing proposition.

Churchill posted:

Churchy Bhai, you can try spin it as restructuring or whatever camouflage you want to use, but we know what the PNC are capable of. Dat Parasite decided to join the PNC NOT ME.

Where does it show that Moses joined the PNC ?

HAHAHA  You making me Laff now. A slave to the PNC Policies, Programs and Governance I guess is simply a coincidence.

Dat FOOL also preached to Berbicians of he being the Check and Balance. YEAH RIGHT!!!

Churchill posted:

How much has Guysuco contributed to the national treasury over the last 50 years?

For several years now GUYSUCO has been receiving subsidies to keep afloat. Under Jagdeo several estates  closed eg Diamond .....

Had the PPP won they were going to close down all of the Demerara estates and in fact had already begun to close some. Long ago it was announced that sugar was going to be concentrated in Berbice as Demerara wasn't competitive.

So all of these squeals and wails from the PPP are just part of their "black man a kill ahbe" strategy, and they know that their base is stupid enough to buy it.

Churchill posted:

Many PNC/AFC surrogates use this site to advertise their resume ,hoping to seek attention by the Tamil Chief, Rumjaat and Granger and finally to get a job as advisor. If I AM CORRECT WE HAVE AN UNPAID ADVISOR ON THE SITE.

THis DUMMY needs to go to lil ABC. The Demerara Factories were the target of closure since all the Cane would have ended up at Skeldon which was anticipated to process all the Cane from different parts of the Country. We know how that idea ended. Grow  adamn brain before you write

The plan was to have two Mega Factories, first Skeldon and then one on East Coast, West Demerara was to become Cash crops industries, initially the land was to be leased to the people and help be given by the gov't in marketing etc.,  Churchill is talking about slavery days when there were 200 factories. Guyana needs more distilleries , their brand of Rum is known world wide, so use the factories to produce alcohol .

THis DUMMY needs to go to lil ABC. The Demerara Factories were the target of closure since all the Cane would have ended up at Skeldon which was anticipated to process all the Cane from different parts of the Country. We know how that idea ended. Grow  adamn brain before you write

Are you out of your mind, will it be cost effective to move cane form Demerara to Skeldon?

Concentration was Sugar Production in Courentyne Berbice,if the white elephant Skeldon Factory was functional to it's capacity.

Churchill posted:

For several years now GUYSUCO has been receiving subsidies to keep afloat. Under Jagdeo several estates  closed eg Diamond .....

Had the PPP won they were going to close down all of the Demerara estates and in fact had already begun to close some. Long ago it was announced that sugar was going to be concentrated in Berbice as Demerara wasn't competitive.

So all of these squeals and wails from the PPP are just part of their "black man a kill ahbe" strategy, and they know that their base is stupid enough to buy it.

There is one thing I believe that you say over and over , " black man a kill ahbe" It comes from the jackass's mouth , so that is true, they been doing that for ages and now in power they are doing it with authority. I will not dispute your words.

., West Demerara was to become Cash crops industries, initially the land was to be leased to the people and help be given by the gov't in marketing etc.,  Churchill is talking about slavery days when there were 200 factories. Guyana needs more distilleries , their brand of Rum is known world wide, so use the factories to produce alcohol .

The PPP did nothing about West Demerara before the elections and based on what they did on the East Bank, you bet that the lands would have been sold out, below cost to their friends.  They are just engaging in racial instigation to hide this fact. 

They said long ago that both Wales and Uitvlugt were to be closed down.  The fact that they didn't begin to transition the workers away from sugar to other crops suggests to me that they had no intention of doing so, now that West Dem has become an extension of the metro G/T and lands are increasingly valuable for real estate.

In fact DDL and/or Banks DIH could have been considered to do a partial buy out of Guysuco to secure the production of molasses for their brands.  Its specific brands that are well regarded and so there is no need to develop more distilleries.

There is one thing I believe that you say over and over , " black man a kill ahbe"..

I say in plain English what Jagdeo screams daily. The man went to rural Indians in 2016 and told them that if the PNC wins the GDF and the GPF were going to rape their daughters and kill them. This has been documented by the Carter Center.

Now if this assaults you tell your PPP that in a nation where the Indo population is declining, and where the mixed identified population is increasing rapidly it makes no sense for them to indulge in overtly racist behavior.

Churchill posted:

Many PNC/AFC surrogates use this site to advertise their resume ,hoping to seek attention by the Tamil Chief, Rumjaat and Granger and finally to get a job as advisor. If I AM CORRECT WE HAVE AN UNPAID ADVISOR ON THE SITE.

You are not correct . If you are referring to me I should let you know that I am not looking for a job . I do happen to know the decision makers on both sides of the political spectrum in Guyana and does not need GNI or any other medium to peddle my resume. I do not have a resume but am regarded in some quarters of being versed i some aspects of sugar. In fact in  August I will be in Cuba to look at the way they are restructuring some of their fields . In September I plan to be in Mauritius to look at their field operations . I saw the  remnants of the Barbados industry last summer. My input with reference to Guyana goes directly to specific non political persons.

The plan was to have two Mega Factories, first Skeldon and then one on East Coast, West Demerara was to become Cash crops industries, initially the land was to be leased to the people and help be given by the gov't in marketing etc.,  Churchill is talking about slavery days when there were 200 factories. Guyana needs more distilleries , their brand of Rum is known world wide, so use the factories to produce alcohol .

You may have a serious comprehension problem ! 

I was referring to the past twenty years where nothing was done to reverse the trend of decline. If one studies the industry from since there were over 300 factories he will see that the industry was able, because of astute management , to weather the economic storm. Now we eight grinding factories and efforts to consolidate production to survive are being resisted because of strong political interference instead of cooperation. 

Churchill posted:

I was referring to the past twenty years where nothing was done to reverse the trend of decline. If one studies the industry from since there were over 300 factories he will see that the industry was able, because of astute management , to weather the economic storm. Now we eight grinding factories and efforts to consolidate production to survive are being resisted because of strong political interference instead of cooperation. 

I believe Churchill used to be the trusted confidant and personal secretary for the former chairman of Guysuco, Dr. Rajendra Persaud, or Singh.  

Am I right Churchill?

Last edited by Billy Ram Balgobin
Churchill posted:

At one time there were over two hundred sugar factories operating in Guyana and as time went the demand dropped.

My comprehension is good, but you facts are not consistent, How many factories were there, 200 or 300, maybe it was 500. and you claim to be government advisor.

Churchill posted:

At one time there were over two hundred sugar factories operating in Guyana and as time went the demand dropped.

My comprehension is good, but you facts are not consistent, How many factories were there, 200 or 300, maybe it was 500. and you claim to be government advisor.

Sugar Cake factories are included

Churchill posted:

This last post of yours prove that you have a serious comprehension problem. Where did I claim to be a government advisor ?

Churchill posted:

I believe Churchill used to be the trusted confidant and personal secretary for the former chairman of Guysuco, Dr. Rajendra Persaud, or Singh.  

Am I right Churchill?

I am and was never an advisor to Rajendra Singh , the Jagdeo/Ramotar stooge who obtained a Phd from a diploma mill ( University without Walls ). 

Churchill posted:

Am I right Churchill?

I am and was never an advisor to Rajendra Singh , the Jagdeo/Ramotar stooge who obtained a Phd from a diploma mill ( University without Walls ). 

A friend just texted me and said that man Rajendra Singh goes by the name "Peel Alu". 

Why don't those oligarchs buy out sugar if they think that the future is so assured. Governments have no business running ventures in the productive sectors. That's the role of the private sector. Gov'ts can offer subsidies or various incentives if it makes economic sense.

You too dunce to get it and yes, the Govt is the only option for Sugar to be viable.  I think maybe you do get it, but you also fully understand Granger's and your racist PNC plan to cleanse the nation of more Indians.  This one is on a silver platter!