I couldn't help noticing that Granger has just created a super Minister who will appear in Cabinet and Parliament as a presidential check on Nagamootoo. Pretty smart.

A note to you AFC cultists. It begins!

The PPP regime has thrown up the case for such a ministry at this moment in time. Under the structure set up by the PPP it's impossible to say who in the ministries is committing mischief. Lack of accountability has allowed for widespread fraud right under the noses of Ramotar. A super ministry will be able to poll each section of government and find out far quicker when such things as money leave one section of government, but never reach the other end.

The real effective Prime Minister in this new Government is Minister of State Joseph Harmon. He is the second man to Granger and the day to day Head od Government. Not Nagamootoo. Nagamootoo will be the Minister of Agriculture with a nice additional title. A kind of Indian Sam Hinds.

Nagamootoo "won" the Ministry of Agriculture because no PNCite wants to mess up his suit wading into muddy rice fields.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

I couldn't help noticing that Granger has just created a super Minister who will appear in Cabinet and Parliament as a presidential check on Nagamootoo. Pretty smart.

The PPP regime has thrown up the case for such a ministry at this moment in time. Under the structure set up by the PPP it's impossible to say who in the ministries is committing mischief. Lack of accountability has allowed for widespread fraud right under the noses of Ramotar. A super ministry will be able to poll each section of government and find out far quicker when such things as money leave one section of government, but never reach the other end.

Silly ole me was under the impression that Moses Nagamootoo was the "super Minister" in this Coalition.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Silly ole me was under the impression that Moses Nagamootoo was the "super Minister" in this Coalition.

Laad Ah Mercy.  Guyana story sweet laka Sumutoo

There is a difference in understanding with regards to Nagamootoo. He has more or less overall control of the day to day government, which is how it is in many countries like say the UK. But even in the Uk we have a ministry that overlooks all the others. The deviation in the case of the UK is that the PM is updated on what is going on in the different ministries, and he then has to go every Tuesday to see the Queen to tell her what is going on. 

On a side note: some months ago the PM made a bad joke about the Queen, which was picked up by a TV camera crew. Next thing you know the PM had to go to the palace, crawl to the Queen's chair, and apologize. Bai, they had a field day in the press with that. He lucky is not in the middle ages or he would have been in the Tower awaiting execution.

Last edited by Mr.T

* Nagamootoo and the AFC negotiated for the AFC Prime Minister to chair Cabinet--that will soothe Moses's ego----but Minister of State Harmon will be the President's deputy.

* Also under the current constitution the Prime Minister is nearly impotent.

* The Big Kahuna is Granger and his deputy will be Harmon.

* Nagamootoo and the AFC negotiated for the AFC Prime Minister to chair Cabinet--that will soothe Moses's ego----but Minister of State Harmon will be the President's deputy.

* Also under the current constitution the Prime Minister is nearly impotent.

* The Big Kahuna is Granger and his deputy will be Harmon.

It's the misuse of the constitution by successive presidents since Burnham that has turned things out to be that way. In countries without a prime minister the president runs everything. But where a pm exists, the pm runs the day to day government. Burnham and Jagdeo made mockery of the position of pm. Nagamootoo and Granger are sure to correct things. Granger is an army man and knows a lot more about team work than the PNC or PPP ever did.

This is actually a good thing...Harmon could be a buffer between 2 strong individuals...Granger & Nagas...Nagas is the PM, not assistant to the President...

Shaaitan just like to spin...spin...spin

"Minister of State" is a peculiar title to Guyana. In some countries it is used to designate senior ministers of first rank or even the Head of Government himself. I'm sure the PNC did not randomly pick up this idea of a "Minister of State"

Where is that written?

You fellas talkin out yuh arse

This is like a chief of staff in the US

* When Jagan died--Civic PM Hinds became President---then he resigned for PPP Janet to become President.

* If PNC granger dies---PM Nagamootoo would become president under the Brnham constitution---but then AFC Moses would have to resign the presidency and make way for PNC Harmon.

I doubt the President will do something stupid that will set the country back for 50 years. This is exactly what the PPP wants. Granger will not offer low hanging mangoes. The PPP has to reform and not wait for Granger to repeat the Burnham-D'Aguiar saga. It will not happen! I don't think Granger wants to leave a legacy of repeating 1964. Having said that, I find the new title of Minister of State interesting for economic development reasons. It appears like they are not going down the Desmond Hoyte path of a non-political head of the public service. Nevertheless, Shaitan raises an intriguing proposition here.

Where is that written?

* When Jagan died--Civic PM Hinds became President---then he resigned for PPP Janet to become President.

* If PNC granger dies---PM Nagamootoo would become president under the Brnham constitution---but then AFC Moses would have to resign the presidency and make way for PNC Harmon.

This hinges on whether AFC will still want to be part of coalition

* OK! We now know that if Granger were to kick the bucket while in office it is PNC Minister of State Joseph Harmon and not AFC Prime Minister Nagamootoo who will replace him as President.

Where is that written?

The prayers was for a change in government.

New prayers are needed: 

I hope Granger live long long.

And

Jagdeo and Ramotar exit the PPP real quick suh the PPP can rebuild with talented people. 

Originally Posted by TK:

Nevertheless, Shaitan raises an intriguing proposition here.

I'm not spinning for the PPP here or making some idle speculation.

This is what an intelligent strategically thinking PNC would do. You need someone in Cabinet to rival Nagamootoo. Makes perfect sense to me. I'm actually a little impressed. Create an imperial/imperious title for the Minister and raise the Presidency to the rank of a Ministry. Which other Minister would dare cross the Minister of State who heads the "Ministry of the Presidency"?

Nagamootoo may find himself as Minister "primus inter pares" but Harmon is Minister "imperium maius"

As President he would be stupid not to exert this kind of control to streamline how his government operates.

This is a very progressive and smart move by Granger. Give him credit again.

Where is that written?

Do not forget. This is a coalition. If Granger dies, the coalition falls apart.

New elections.

That is why the PPP must initiate the changes to the constitution. They have to get rid of Jagdeo and Ramotar first.

This new system being evolved-one of national government.

As President he would be stupid not to exert this kind of control to streamline how his government operates.

Face it chap. Ya'll won't be kicked out like Peter D'Agiar. It will be worse. AFC will be neutered/castrated and be de facto window dressers.

Don't worry though. The PNC will be happy to allow you cretins to tief. That's how it works. Allow the AFC to tief and hold onto the evidence.

It is the AFC that will decide if David Granger is a one term President.

* We know than under the Burnham constitution the AFC cannot bring down the government---if AFC MPs cross lines---they will be recalled by President Granger.

BOTTOM LINE:

* Granger is guaranteed 5 years.

I will guarantee you now the APNU+AFC will not be a one term govt.

Face it chap. Ya'll won't be kicked out like Peter D'Agiar. It will be worse. AFC will be neutered/castrated and be de facto window dressers.

Don't worry though. The PNC will be happy to allow you cretins to tief. That's how it works. Allow the AFC to tief and hold onto the evidence.

All hyperbole...not based on anything substantial

yeah yeah yeah shit stain doom and gloom we have heard it all.

yawn. Come up with some original idea aside from rehashing history over and over again.

I know you have a penchant for stirring shit round and around and around the bowl but seriously flush now please!

Glad to see the ghost of the PPP is alive and well in the AFC.

Originally Posted by TK:

I doubt the President will do something stupid that will set the country back for 50 years. This is exactly what the PPP wants. Granger will not offer low hanging mangoes. The PPP has to reform and not wait for Granger to repeat the Burnham-D'Aguiar saga. It will not happen! I don't think Granger wants to leave a legacy of repeating 1964. Having said that, I find the new title of Minister of State interesting for economic development reasons. It appears like they are not going down the Desmond Hoyte path of a non-political head of the public service. Nevertheless, Shaitan raises an intriguing proposition here.

But what is in place to stop the strong man PNC from doing just what Granger may not want after he is off the scene?  Do we rely on the "goodness of man" or the laws of the land?

* We know than under the Burnham constitution the AFC cannot bring down the government---if AFC MPs cross lines---they will be recalled by President Granger.

BOTTOM LINE:

And in AFC abandons ship in 2020, who will replace them, GDF?

Originally Posted by TK:

But what is in place to stop the strong man PNC from doing just what Granger may not want after he is off the scene?  Do we rely on the "goodness of man" or the laws of the land?

There is nothing to stop anyone. That's why the constitution has to be ditched and rewritten. Is the PPP going to reinvent itself by promoting constitution overhaul? Will Indos like you demand the PPP lobby for constitutional overhaul?

Why do you think that the APNU would be dumb enough to put 100% of its fate in the hands of a party consisting of disgruntled people from another party.  OBVIOUSLY the AFC has to be watched.  Just hearing the brays of the Moses cultists and Jagan, Jagan, Jagan merits that.

Nagamootoo has certainly roles as PM and Granger will be kept informed with what he is doing.

BOTTOM LINE:

I will guarantee you now the APNU+AFC will not be a one term govt.

With or without the AFC it's the PNC, with their GDF sidekick, who will decide how long they rule.  Not the people.

BOTTOM LINE:

And in AFC abandons ship in 2020, who will replace them, GDF?

Long before 2020, the GDF, Police and Security forces will be under the firm control of the PNC, with AFC out the door similar to the United Force in 1964 to 1970.

Why do you think that the APNU would be dumb enough to put 100% of its fate in the hands of a party consisting of disgruntled people from another party.  OBVIOUSLY the AFC has to be watched.  Just hearing the brays of the Moses cultists and Jagan, Jagan, Jagan merits that.

Nagamootoo has certainly roles as PM and Granger will be kept informed with what he is doing.

Alyuh read praperly what diss learned man saying.  And so it begins.

Face it chap. Ya'll won't be kicked out like Peter D'Aguiar.

And how exactly will that happen?  The AFC has 12 seats APNU has 21.  The PPP has 32.

Given all of that, how can the AFC be kicked out of the coalition with APNU retaining an upper hand.  Clearly APNU is in a very vulnerable position, so needs to monitor what people are doing.

Its time you people get over this "black man stupid" nonsense.

Originally Posted by TK:

There is nothing to stop anyone. That's why the constitution has to be ditched and rewritten. Is the PPP going to reinvent itself by promoting constitution overhaul? Will Indos like you demand the PPP lobby for constitutional overhaul?

* You're right about one thing---the PPP has to be involved in any re-writing of the constitution.

* We all know the AFC is determined to make changes to the constitution, but I am not sure the PPP and PNC will agree for the President's power to be severely diluted.

* INTERESTING TIMES AHEAD.

Originally Posted by TK:

Too late, horse out of the stable.  Well, I'm 100% sure you don't plan to move back now, do you?  Too risky.

They are out of power, will you lobby the PNC to make the changes?  No?

Alyuh read praperly what diss learned man saying.  And so it begins.

I admire the honesty of PNC supporters and Black people in general. You never have to wonder with them. They will tell you as it tis. And I'm inclined to listen and take them at their word.