Dondadda posted:

The Coalition Government was illegal since 2015 and so are all the laws passed since then. Only an idiot would think otherwise.

How so ?

taking your assumption  in to consideration the NCV by Charrandass Persaud is illegal.

The Chief Justice will/will not answer your question month end. Having said that, let me say that both the PPP and the APNU/AFC Coalition have colluded and conspired to ignore the provision of the Constitution of Guyana regarding who qualificies to sit in Parliament. They both need to clean house. As well, until a decision is made on this matter, it is premature for the Coalition to name Carl Grenidge as the Prime Minister (Ag) because he holds dual citizenship. I would be waiting to see if the PPP will challenge this in Court.

Dondadda posted:

The Coalition Government was illegal since 2015 and so are all the laws passed since then. Only an idiot would think otherwise.

They won. Some of the people they selected from their list  would not be legal if the courts ruled against the NCV on account of holding foreign citizenship. It would also mean that the legislation that these people voted on would be deemed invalid. They will have to go back to their list and fill it with legal legislators

They should not have been in power with their dual citizens

NO !!! Check the Electoral System of Guyana.

You cannot have it both ways.  

Then you have it the only way...refill the list with legislators what meet the criteria of the constitution.  After all they won and both sides had by custom and habit ignored the law. I would hope the court ruled the practice valid by common law convention. All of british law are deemed laws by practice. It the court rules that way they are out of office.

NO !!! Check the Electoral System of Guyana.

Now you speaking out of two sides of your mouth.  Mek up you mind before people think you mad.

Sorry, you would be thinking wit h one half of your brain. They are the legal government. All condition being the same they are voted out by the NCV. It the rule about dual citizens hold, they remain in office and both parties will have to go back to top up their list with constitutionally sound legislators.

Dondadda posted:

How so ?

taking your assumption  in to consideration the NCV by Charrandass Persaud is illegal.

The Chief Justice will/will not answer your question month end. Having said that, let me say that both the PPP and the APNU/AFC Coalition have colluded and conspired to ignore the provision of the Constitution of Guyana regarding who qualificies to sit in Parliament. They both need to clean house. As well, until a decision is made on this matter, it is premature for the Coalition to name Carl Grenidge as the Prime Minister (Ag) because he holds dual citizenship. I would be waiting to see if the PPP will challenge this in Court.

Since the both agree that the practice was not dangerous to the state and this has been the tradition and custom of the state since independence I think the judge should rule it valid. Since this is  more a political ruling than a judicial ruling the judge will side with the plaintiff and rule the NCV invalid. It means the legislators will either renounce their citizenship or be moved  and the seats filled with legal legislators.

Dondadda posted:

How so ?

Since the both agree that the practice was not dangerous to the state and this has been the tradition and custom of the state since independence I think the judge should rule it valid. Since this is  more a political ruling than a judicial ruling the judge will side with the plaintiff and rule the NCV invalid. It means the legislators will either renounce their citizenship or be moved  and the seats filled with legal legislators.

I believe the ruling will only apply on a going forward basis because there would be too much implications for bills passed by an illegal Parliament.  I won't be surprised if the NCV is upheld if we have honourable people making the decision.  I don't bet on anything honorable coming from Guyana and the CCJ though.

Is the Coalition illegal?

From past happenings which has now crystallized, it seems that many individuals could be considered as non-compliant with the laws.

Based on the deep-rooted issues and in going forward, a possible decision may be made in favor of the no-confidence vote with recommendation(s) for going forward.

Every party seem to have dual citizens, this has been ongoing forever but only now being challenged because of the NCV. Will we say everything since Independence has been illegal, where does it stop?

actually, since that clause was added into the constitution a few years back....

Actually, may even be since Independence because of all the PNC rigging

Every party seem to have dual citizens, this has been ongoing forever but only now being challenged because of the NCV. Will we say everything since Independence has been illegal, where does it stop?

actually, since that clause was added into the constitution a few years back....

Since independence, guyanese with dual citizens were considered full citizens in every way. Remember Burnham used the overseas vote to catapult himself into office when the coalition broke up. The PPP added this clause in but it was never followed. That is the reason I say that it has been tradition that this practice was used by both

VVP posted:
Dondadda posted:

How so ?

I believe the ruling will only apply on a going forward basis because there would be too much implications for bills passed by an illegal Parliament.  I won't be surprised if the NCV is upheld if we have honourable people making the decision.  I don't bet on anything honorable coming from Guyana and the CCJ though.

The PNCites holding out hope against hope.  Any ruling will be on a go forward basis with a line drawn under the NCV.  The NCV will remain standing!

Since independence, guyanese with dual citizens were considered full citizens in every way. Remember Burnham used the overseas vote to catapult himself into office when the coalition broke up. The PPP added this clause in but it was never followed. That is the reason I say that it has been tradition that this practice was used by both

The question needs to be clarified for those in key political decision making roles.  And is it left open for any dual citizens.  How about a Guyanese/Venezuelan dual?

Any ruling will be on a go forward basis with a line drawn under the NCV.  The NCV will remain standing!

you is wan real pray man

doan be so shrill and nervous bai

lol

Wasn’t it you guys who said the NCV had no chance.  â€œBring it on!!!”

So “once again”, don’t get your hopes up too much.  Ayuh might end up crying ðŸ˜Ē......again!!

Any ruling will be on a go forward basis with a line drawn under the NCV.  The NCV will remain standing!

you is wan real pray man

doan be so shrill and nervous bai

lol

Wasn’t it you guys who said the NCV had no chance.  â€œBring it on!!!”

So “once again”, don’t get your hopes up too much.  Ayuh might end up crying ðŸ˜Ē......again!!

that's not my point