- Stabroek News - http://www.stabroeknews.com -

AFC won’t seek PPP/C help for Nagamootoo Speaker bid
Posted By Mark McGowan On December 29, 2011 @ 5:28 am In Local | Stabroek News

Although the AFC is continuing to lobby for Moses Nagamootoo to be Speaker when the new Parliament is convened, party leader Raphael Trotman yesterday insisted that it will not try to seek support from the PPP/C.

Trotman told Stabroek News yesterday that the AFC was against negotiating with the ruling party over the position of Speaker because it could have serious implications. Such a move, Trotman said, would be against the long term interests of the AFC and the parliamentary opposition as a whole. Trotman reiterated that the AFC wants the Speaker to come from the opposition benches. The other opposition party, APNU, is pushing for attorney Deborah Backer to be Speaker.

Recently, Nagamootoo told Stabroek News that the AFC should be given the speakership of the National Assembly even if it had to secure some votes from the PPP/C.

Moses Nagamootoo
“The Speaker of the National Assembly must receive at least 51 per cent of the votes of the House so it is up to APNU to endorse the AFC’s candidate. If not, it should be open season for the AFC to solicit the votes from the PPP for its candidate,” Nagamootoo said. Nagamootoo, who served for more than 50 years with the PPP, resigned from the party and joined the AFC weeks before the November 28 polls.

Trotman indicated that Nagamootoo’s statements were not the party’s position. “Nothing comes for free,” Trotman said, while indicating that seeking the support of the PPP/C on this matter would inevitably lead to the PPP/C requesting certain favours later. The AFC, Trotman added, had campaigned on certain issues, including curbing the excessiveness and abuse by the government and has a duty to the persons that voted for the party. He said that by seeking the support of the PPP/C on this matter, it may compromise the party’s ability to rein in the PPP/C on its abuses and excesses in the future.

Raphael Trotman
When Stabroek News contacted presidential advisor Gail Teixeira recently on the AFC’s lobby for Nagamootoo, she declined to comment. She had previously indicated, however, that a Speaker would selected by consensus.

APNU deputy leader Dr Rupert Roopnaraine indicated to Stabroek News last week that APNU and the AFC were closer to settling on a candidate, while indicating that the two parties hope to hammer out the issue before their next engagement with the government. Trotman also indicated that his party and APNU are still in negotiations as to who will be the nominee for the post and he said that the parties hope to settle on a nominee before they meet with government officials on Friday.

“Whoever we select should find favour with both sides of House, Trotman said. “It would be good to have the PPP’s blessings of the candidate,” he added, while saying this process is the first test for the opposition parties as to whether they can manage the responsibility given to them by the electorate in a mature and sober manner.

Meanwhile, Trotman again refuted the recent assertion by the PPP/C that by cooperating on the selection of a Speaker, APNU and AFC were being insincere about consensus-based governance. “This is varying from the practice of parliamentary democracies within the Commonwealth. In those countries it is the ruling party whose nominee gets the position while the deputy goes to the opposition. This was the practice while the PPP had the majority in Parliament as well,” the ruling party said.

Trotman, however, said that it was unfair of the PPP/C to want to control both the executive and the legislature, especially after President Donald Ramotar had rejected an offer from the opposition parties to pursue a national unity government. Trotman noted that in the past when Ralph Ramkarran was the PPP/C’s nominee for Speaker, the government never discussed it with the AFC. He said that while the party respected Ramkarran, it would not support his candidature under this dispensation.

The PPP/C for the first time since first coming to power in 1992 does not have control of the 65-seat National Assembly, after it secured 32 seats at the recent elections. The APNU and the AFC together control the remaining 33 seats.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Article printed from Stabroek News: http://www.stabroeknews.com

URL to article: http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...amootoo-speaker-bid/

Click here to print.
Copyright © 2010 Stabroek News. All rights reserved.

You need to understand something. The PPP doesnt need the AFC. The control all of organs of govt, except parliament.

The AFC only has relevance when they work with APNU. With 7 seats they are powerless.

The AFC needs to work with APNU to determine who the Speaker should be.

Understand something. Despite Kari's devotion for Nagamootoo, he is fundamentally a PPPite who is disgrunted because he wasnt selected to replace Cheddi and was subsequently ignored by Jagdeo. What will Naga do if the PPP transforms itself into something of his liking...quite likely return home to HIS party... the PPP.

The AFC needs to select a more mainstream AFC candidate. For THEIR own good.
Originally posted by Nuff:
Moses wants the wuk but he hasn't been with the opposition long enough to get it. Why should he jump the line?

Exactly. Next thing we hear he makes nice with the PPP and pretends to be "objective".
Originally posted by caribj:
You need to understand something. The PPP doesnt need the AFC. The control all of organs of govt, except parliament.

The AFC only has relevance when they work with APNU. With 7 seats they are powerless.

The AFC needs to work with APNU to determine who the Speaker should be.

Understand something. Despite Kari's devotion for Nagamootoo, he is fundamentally a PPPite who is disgrunted because he wasnt selected to replace Cheddi and was subsequently ignored by Jagdeo. What will Naga do if the PPP transforms itself into something of his liking...quite likely return home to HIS party... the PPP.

The AFC needs to select a more mainstream AFC candidate. For THEIR own good.
That is absolutely not the case. THe PPP can have positions shared by the AFC. If for example the option to reorganize GECOM under some strategy agreeable to the AFC anf the PPP is fine with it but the APNU disagree, should the AFC bite off their own heads?

It is clear that the APNU and the AFC are more on common grounds in dismantling the patristic and nepotistic system of the PPP. However there is no reason for them to not similarly find common ground with the AFC. Moses is right, it is to his advantage to get the speaker's role if the PPP will go along.
As the political entity holding the balance of power, AFC should be using its unique position to advance a legislative agenda for ALL Guyanese. It should co-operate and collaborate with either party-APNU or PPP-when the issue is in the nation's best interest. The AFC is not a member of APNU and should have no obligation to bow to APNU's demands. Trotman and Carrington are now looking like "snakes" in the grass, betraying the confidence of many AFC supporters who voted for change--change from APNC and PPP. The AFC must not concede the speakership to APNU! I don't care if it is a dog, but that position must be held by AFC.
Moses wants the wuk but he hasn't been with the opposition long enough to get it. Why should he jump the line?

I agree.

In his quest for revenge against the PPP,he messed up the lives of TK, SASE and GR.
Originally posted by Spice Girl:
As the political entity holding the balance of power, AFC should be using its unique position to advance a legislative agenda for ALL Guyanese. It should co-operate and collaborate with either party-APNU or PPP-when the issue is in the nation's best interest. The AFC is not a member of APNU and should have no obligation to bow to APNU's demands. Trotman and Carrington are now looking like "snakes" in the grass, betraying the confidence of many AFC supporters who voted for change--change from APNC and PPP. The AFC must not concede the speakership to APNU! I don't care if it is a dog, but that position must be held by AFC.

Why should it be held by the AFC. Their members are all Traitors to the PPP and PNC.

The AFC will be forced to vote for APNU's deborah backer or the PPP wins..

Exactly. Next thing we hear he makes nice with the PPP and pretends to be "objective".

Correct, never trust a coolie, no matter how much he cuss he mattie and talk foa alyuh Afros. Wenn he done, chew him up and spit him out. Word here in GT, AFC got F****ed by the PNC bais. Dem put up dem coolie bais in AFC foa cuss down and bruk up coolies in PPP, den dem Afros jump in and beat dem up and PNC nearly kick all abie rass.

Dem Afro mek rings around abie Coolies. Wen abie hate abie mattie coolie, den Afro love abie. Wenn we nah beat up pun mattie coolie, we lil moo dan cow dung. All dem coolie who like cuss coolie and like mek Afro smile, rememba, all skin teet nah laff. Wenn dem done wid alyuh, you nothing but daawg meat. Alyuh see how dem Afros ah jump roun' and seh only afro muss get datt jabb. Dem bais tink dem Afro own datt AFC 7 seats, Nagamootoo is now cow poo, but he bring most seats.
Originally posted by Ramakant_p:

Why should it be held by the AFC. Their members are all Traitors to the PPP and PNC.

The AFC will be forced to vote for APNU's deborah backer or the PPP wins..

Your vendetta is of no surprise. After all, you are jealous of AFC's success because they challenged the wrongdoings of your friends Jagdeo and Corbin.
I wish I could say "AFC Forever", but the way things look today I am not optimistic about the party's survival. I am very disappointed.
Originally posted by D2:
That is absolutely not the case. .

So you think that AFC can hand the Speaker role to the PPP and expect to have any input? The PPP will then control parliament and the executive.

My comments were limited to selection of who the Speaker will be. APNU and AFC will need to join to get this, or die while letting the PPP snatch it.

My dear lady you should have voted PPP.

The PPP controls the executive. Let them also determine who controls parliament and your AFC will have NOTHING!!!! Not even the ability to intimidate as APNU sometimes has.

SG with 7 seats the AFC cannot tell any one what to do. They have to woo one party or the other to their side and hope the big guys dont get together to ignore them.
Originally posted by Sledgehammer:
[]
Correct, never trust a coolie, no matter how much he cuss he mattie and talk foa alyuh Afros. .

Ok we got your point. You are a racist Afro pretending to be a racist Indo.

Corbin was treacherous and betrayed his supporters and he isnt Indo.
Originally posted by albert:
The P.P.P/C seems to be watching as the A.P.N.U and A.F.C plays tug-a-war of the speaker's chair....the Guyanese populace are also watching

The PPP is creating mischief hoping that the AFC will do as Nagamootoo wants them too...and thats ply fioosie with the PPP. That statement alone should disqualify him from being Speaker. Let Trotman take that slot.
The P.P.P/C seems to be watching as the A.P.N.U and A.F.C plays tug-a-war of the speaker's chair....the Guyanese populace are also watching

The PPP is creating mischief hoping that the AFC will do as Nagamootoo wants them too...and thats ply fioosie with the PPP. That statement alone should disqualify him from being Speaker. Let Trotman take that slot.

AFCites were ready to support Trotman for the job, but he declined. His actions point to some collusion with APNC. His sympathies are understandable but why undermine the party like this. He should leave AFC and return to APNC.
Caribj, you may be surprised that I find Corbin a very likeable person and good political strategist, but he does not earn my trust.
AFCites were ready to support Trotman for the job, but he declined. His actions point to some collusion with APNC. His sympathies are understandable but why undermine the party like this. He should leave AFC and return to APNC.
Caribj, you may be surprised that I find Corbin a very likeable person and good political strategist, but he does not earn my trust.
How can there be collusion.

It's only right that each party puts forward one and only one candidate. Moses want de wuk so does Trotman. You think the AFC is special. Send out your best warrior then let's pick from the field, but don't send two people.

Puleeeeze.

It's only right that each party puts forward one and only one candidate. Moses want de wuk so does Trotman. You think the AFC is special. Send out your best warrior then let's pick from the field, but don't send two people.

Puleeeeze.

Tell dem deh, AFC aint worth sh1t. Soon is all PNC and OPNC only. Mek lil hay in diss window. Coolie kech lil sense now.

Puleeeeze.

Rafael Trotman declined!
The Trotman who seems to want it is Rafael's father, Donald Trotman, alledgedly a PNC supporter.
Rafael Trotman declined!
The Trotman who seems to want it is Rafael's father, Donald Trotman, alledgedly a PNC supporter.

Its rather odd that you suspect Rafael to be an APNU sympthizer but dont believe that Nagamootoo mightnt have some plans involving the PPP in his near future. He clearly leans that way, especially now with Jagdeo playing a low profile.
Originally posted by seignet:
Originally posted by Inqubus:
never trust a coolie.

Caribj, Nuff and Inqubus -the Trinity Bruddahs.

I guess you would prefer we kiss your toes and demand to be your slaves.

Not going to happen.

You need to speak to sledgehammer though. He wants to be enslaved by blacks, so low in self esteem he seems to be.
Rafael Trotman declined!

Its rather odd that you suspect Rafael to be an APNU sympthizer but dont believe that Nagamootoo mightnt have some plans involving the PPP in his near future. He clearly leans that way, especially now with Jagdeo playing a low profile.

Don't know what gave you the impression that I "don't believe that Nagamootoo mightn't have some plans involving PPP..." What has Nagamootoo done or said to give such an impression?"
My position is that AFC should get the Speakership, considering APNU will get Opposition Leader, Majority Whip, Finance Committee Chair and possibly Deputy Speaker. Of course, PPP has gotten the Govt.
Is this APNU's version of shared governance? In my opinion, it is greed, arrogance and dishonesty. It is no different from PPP.

My position is that AFC should get the Speakership.

I have no problem with that. What I do know is the PPP isnt going to give it to them. Surely the PPP blames Naga for their current plight.

Unless the AFC convinces APNU to give up that slot they have nothing to get. And APNU will not get it either w/o the support of the AFC.

If the AFC and APNU dont agree then the PPP gets what they want. They dont need to beg AFC.

With a mere 10% of the votes I dont think that the AFC can make any demand for inclusion. They can negotiate it for it though.
Originally posted by André:
Trotman and Nagamootoo.already seems to be at log ahead...

What is log ahead? Confused newyear2
albert will soon be at loggerheads with you. Big Grin