https://wikileaks.org/plusd/ca...74GEORGE01076_b.html

FM AMEMBASSY GEORGETOWN TO SECSTATE WASHDC 9916 INFO AMEMBASSY BRIDGETOWN AMEMBASSY KINGSTON AMEMBASSY PORT OF SPAIN C O N F I D E N T I A L GEORGETOWN 1076 E.O. 11652: XGDS -2 TAGS: PINT, PINR, GY SUBJECT: MCLEAN NAMED DIRECTOR GENERAL OF GUYANA NATIONAL SERVICE PROGRAM REF: GEORGETOWN 0964

1. ACCORDING TO PRESS RELEASE FROM OFFICE OF PRIME MINISTER, NORMAN MCLEAN, ASSISTANT COMMISSIONER OF POLICE, WILL BE FIRST DIRECTOR GENERAL OF NATIONAL SERVICE. GUYANA DEFENCE FORCE (GDF) MAJOR DESMOND ROBERTS ALSO HAS BEEN NAMED AS ASSISTANT DIRECTOR. MCLEAN AND ROBERTS APPOINTMENTS COME AT TIME WHEN FINAL PREPARA- TIONS ARE BEING MADE FOR INTIAL INTAKE OF VOLUNTEERS FOR NATIONAL SERVICE (REFTEL). PRIOR TO THESE APPOINTMENTS, ELVIN MCDAVID AND GDF MAJOR DAVID GRANGER HAD PLAYED LEADING ROLES IN ORGANIZING BEGINNING OF NATIONAL SERVICE. MCDAVID REPORTEDLY WILL REMAIN AT NATIONAL SERVICE SECRETARIAT FOR SEVERAL WEEKS TO ENSURE SMOOTH TRANSITION AND GRANGER WILL RETURN TO POST WITH GDF.

2. COMMENT: MCLEAN IS CAREER POLICEMAN WHO HAS EXPERINCED UPS AND DOWNS WHILE SERVING WITH POLICE. HE HAS MANAGED TO RISE TO POSITION OF ASSISTANT COMMISSIONER DESPITE ALLEGED PARTICIPATION IN BEATING OF PRISONER, AUTO ACCIDENT, AND REPUTED INVOLVEMENT IN AUTO PARTS RACKET. HE IS NEVERTHELESS GENERALLY CONSIDERED TO BE COMPETENT POLICEMQN AND GOOD ADMINISTRATOR. WHILE MCLEAN IS

CONFIDENTIAL

PAGE 02 GEORGE 01076 272005Z

LOYAL TO PRIME MINISTER FORBES BURNHAM AND RULING PEOPLE'S NATIONAL CONGRESS (PNC), HIS APPOINTMENT AND APPARENT REMOVAL OF MCDAVID AND GRANGER MAY REPRESENT DEGREE OF DE-POLITICIZATION OF NATIONAL SERVICE. MCDAVID AND GRANGER HAVE REPUTATIONS AS IDEOLOGUES AND ANTI-EAST INDIAN RACISTS. MCLEAN, ALSO AFRO- GUYANESE, IS LESS WELL KNOWN, LESS IDENTIFIED WITH PNC, AND LESS CONTROVERSIAL. HE SEEMS FAVORABLY DISPOSED TOWARD U.S. MATTHEWS CONFIDENTIAL

If you can't take away the blackness from Granger's skin, how can you take away the racist from his mind? The soft core racist matured into a hardcore racist forty years later.

Suh how come he married a Chinese [Asian] ?

He just like Chinese like many others. Has nothing to do with racism. He just like what's in the pot for him.

Last edited by Billy Ram Balgobin

Why would he change?

Good question Uncle Billy.

Sometimes people can change when they realize hate is not good.

Well, according to Carib both major parties are racist so we can confidently say he has not changed since he remains faithful to the PNC through thick and thin.

Good point Uncle Billy,on the other hand Granger have some Indian friends.

Why would he change?

Well, according to Carib both major parties are racist so we can confidently say he has not changed since he remains faithful to the PNC through thick and thin.

When it comes to politics that thing about "show me your friends and I will tell you who you are" is not necessarily and accurate test.  I am sure Hitler could have pointed to some Jewish people as his friends. 

Why would he change?

When it comes to politics that thing about "show me your friends and I will tell you who you are" is not necessarily and accurate test.  I am sure Hitler could have pointed to some Jewish people as his friends. 

Damn some political people is like a razor blade.

If you can't take away the blackness from Granger's skin, how can you take away the racist from his mind? The soft core racist matured into a hardcore racist forty years later.

Suh how come he married a Chinese [Asian] ?

Was she in the National Service?

Not sure,i read he met her at a party.

Why would he change?

i got a little piece of advice for you "putageeman".  These Indians you see who are jumping for the new gov't. are not sincere.  They have an ulterior motive.

Most likely, the Officers used to Rape women in National Service and pressure them to give up Punani. FACT!!!

Burnham was doing what the Chinese did during the cultural revolution.  Mao's attempt to rid China of thousands of years of superstitions and old traditions failed along with the economy.  Today, China promotes itself culture to the world and ceased exporting Maoism.  It's all about the money that makes nations great. 

Why would he change?

i got a little piece of advice for you "putageeman".  These Indians you see who are jumping for the new gov't. are not sincere.  They have an ulterior motive.

Uncle Billy me thinks you mistake me fuh Cain.

I am Django an Indian to the bone.