Noting upcoming CCJ ruling, Jagdeo sayJune 23 2018s will remain GS of PPP

-will play active role in any future PPP gov't

Bharrat Jagdeo

June 23 2018

Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo today said that irrespective of Tuesday’s ruling by the CCJ as to whether he is eligible for a third term he will remain the General Secretary of the PPP and plans to take an active role in any future PPP government.

A statement issued by the PPP follow:

It is public knowledge, that on Tuesday, 26th July 2018, the Caribbean Court of Justice is scheduled to deliver its ruling in the constitutional case of Attorney General of Guyana v Cedric Richardson. Multitudes of supporters of the PPP/C and even across the political divide have made contact with me. Many concerns were raised, including the public statements of those in Government in respect of a particular outcome. As a result, I am moved to publicly assure that whatever the ruling is, I am and will remain the General Secretary of the PPP. In that capacity, I will continue to spearhead the Party’s struggle for a better life for all Guyanese, especially the working people, the poor and the under-privileged, for racial and national unity and for victory at the polls at the next Local Government, Regional and National Elections.
Unlike the 2011-2015 period, where I played no formal part in the PPP Administration, I intend to be a formal part of the next PPP government as we resume the implementation of plans to build a better country of which all our people can feel proud.
Ours is a Party not built on personalities but on policies, all designed to create a better life for our people, and forge racial, ethnic and class unity. I remain committed to these policies and causes and will continue to struggle with the Party to achieve them.
I remain absolutely humbled at the over-whelming confidence which the Guyanese people have continued to place in me and I remain eternally grateful for their continued support.

Clearly shows Jagdeo is behind the scheme challenging the changes to the constitution for two term presidency,either way the ruling goes,he wants to be GS for life.

Though days ahead for the PPP.

I think he probably suspect that the court might rule against a third term (this can go in any direction...but then again, what do I know).

However, Jardeo has a right to play a role in the future PPP, despite what his haters might say.

The problem, though, is that whoever emerge as the PPP candidate (irfan, Texeira, Anthony, Rohee??), Jagdeo’s presence will continue to overshadow that person.

Robert Persaud name was floating around as a possible presidential candidate. According to SNews, Robert said he is ready and willing to serve in any capacity that the people and PPP want him to serve.

Vishnu is correct. Jagdeo already knows how the court will rule next Tuesday. He is already informed from the people representing Jagdeo's case of what to expect. 

Robert Persaud name was floating around as a possible presidential candidate. According to SNews, Robert said he is ready and willing to serve in any capacity that the people and PPP want him to serve.

Vishnu is correct. Jagdeo already knows how the court will rule next Tuesday. He is already informed from the people representing Jagdeo's case of what to expect. 

Is Robert Persaud still a member of the PPP party?

cain posted:e 

How does one remain as General Secretary for a party? Does no one have a say as to who should be in this position or is it a position if BJ decides he can keep it till he retires?

The General Secretary is an elected position as stipulated by the bylaws of the Constitution of the PPP.   I am surprised as a hard core, know it all person, on politics in Guyana you did not know this.  This is basic Politics 101.  You need to step up you game.

Anyone from the Jagdeo cabal will only be a Jagdeo poodle!

FC posted:

Yes a masters degree from a Russian university. As useful as toilet paper. 

Robert Persaud did not receive his Masters Degree from a Russian University.   Russian Universties are among the best in the world in Post Graduate Math, Science, and Technology studies.  These are not toilet paper institutions.

Hey hey hey...dey had exam at Lambada Uni? Hey hey hey...Doh was a attend only skool. Hey hey hey...

Why are people so bent on disqualifying MP's who earn their academic credentials from Russia? Wasn't Jagdeo a good finance minister who earned his degree from Russia?

Hey hey hey...it still betta dan de August month skool me went to

Bhai you writing papers etc.

Doan see no papers from the Guyanese Russian trained ekaniamist.

Why are people so bent on disqualifying MP's who earn their academic credentials from Russia? Wasn't Jagdeo a good finance minister who earned his degree from Russia?

Hey hey hey...it still betta dan de August month skool me went to

Bhai you writing papers etc.

Doan see no papers from the Guyanese Russian trained ekaniamist.

Any papers from the PNC henchmen?